Archived — Notice No. DGTP-003-00

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-003-2000 —  Proposed Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP 1-20 GHz) for Services in the Band 2285-2483.5 MHz

The purpose of this Notice is to announce a consultation paper on proposals for revisions to the spectrum utilization policy and to advance certain policy decisions for services in the band 2285-2483.5 MHz. These modifications and proposals are in response to a number of requirements including innovative wireless access and LAN services for Internet.

This Notice follows the August 1997 consultation paper entitled, Proposals to Provide New Opportunities for the Use of the Radio Spectrum in the 1-20 GHz Frequency Range(DGTP-006-97), which solicited comments on numerous proposals throughout the 1-20 GHz frequency range.

In response to the August 1997 consultation paper, the Department received a wide range of submissions relating to the 1-3 GHz frequency range which were taken into consideration. In addition, several issues pertaining to the use of this frequency range have emerged, including the Canada/US agreement on spectrum for Digital Audio Broadcasting and US Digital Audio Radio Service (DARS) by satellite in the band 2320-2345 MHz, the US designation of Wireless Communication Services (WCS) to the bands 2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz as well as the increased usage of licence-exempt devices in the band 2400-2483.5 MHz. In particular, the proposals and provisions included in this paper, address issues which affect fixed and mobile services (particularly mobile aeronautical telemetry services) as well as licence-exempt devices.

Based on the results of this public consultation, Industry Canada will establish spectrum utilization policies to respond to Canadian needs. Submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8 and must be received by June 23, 2000 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, title and the Notice reference number DGTP-003-2000.

Respondents are strongly encouraged to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the Department's Web site. Documents submitted via electronic media should be sent to the following address:
spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca.

All submissions should cite Canada Gazette Notice reference number DGTP-003-2000.

This consultation paper is available via the Internet at the following address: World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home or in hard copy, for a fee, from: 

Organization:
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Address:
2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7 Canada
toll-free telephone: 
1-800-267-4862
United States toll-free telephone: 
1-800-574-0137
Worldwide telephone: 
613-822-0740
Facsimile: 
613-822-1089

and

Organization:
Canada Communications Group
Address:
45 Sacré-CoeurBoulevard Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7 Canada
toll-free telephone:
 1_888_562_5561
Canada toll-free facsimile: 
1-800-565-7757
Worldwide telephone:
 819-779-4335
Worldwide facsimile:
 819-779-2833

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-003-00

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-003-2000 —  Projet de révision de la politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS 1-20 GHz) pour les services exploités dans la bande 2285-2483,5 MHz

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication d'un document de consultation exposant des révisions qu'il est projeté d'apporter à la politique d'utilisation du spectre et certaines décisions liées à la politique d'utilisation du spectre, applicables aux services exploités dans la bande 2285-2483,5 MHz. Ces modifications et propositions répondent à différents besoins, notamment en matière de services innovateurs de réseau local (LAN) et d'accès sans fil associés à l'Internet.

Le présent avis fait suite au document de consultation publié en août 1997, intitulé Propositions portant sur de nouvelles possibilités d'utilisation des fréquences radioélectriques de la bande 1-20 GHz(DGTP-006-97), par lequel le Ministère sollicitait des observations concernant différentes nouvelles propositions d'utilisation des fréquences radio de la gamme 1-20 GHz.

Le Ministère a tenu compte de la vaste gamme d'observations traitant de la gamme de fréquences 1-3 GHz, qu'il a reçues en réponse au document de consultation publié en août 1997. En outre, de nombreux points liés à l'utilisation de cette gamme de fréquences ont fait surface, y compris l'accord Canada-États-Unis sur la radiodiffusion audionumérique et le service de radiodiffusion audionumérique américain (DARS) par satellite dans la bande 2320-2345 MHz, la désignation, par les É.-U., des bandes 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz pour les services de communications sans fil (WCS) et l'utilisation accrue de dispositifs exempts de licence dans les bandes 2400-2483,5. Les propositions et les politiques décrites dans ce document traitent des questions qui touchent les services fixe et mobile (plus particulièrement les services mobiles aéronautiques de télémesure) ainsi que les dispositifs exempts de licence.

Compte tenu des résultats de la consultation publique lancée par le présent avis, Industrie Canada définira des politiques d'utilisation du spectre qui répondront aux besoins du Canada. Les intéressés sont invités à faire parvenir leurs observations au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8. Les observations doivent être reçues au plus tard le 23 juin 2000 pour être prises en considération. Tous les mémoires doivent citer la date de parution du présent avis de la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, son titre et son numéro de référence (DGTP-003-2000).

Les répondants sont vivement encouragés à communiquer leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) pour faciliter leur affichage sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents soumis par voie électronique doivent être envoyés à l'adresse suivante: spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca.

Toutes les soumissions doivent citer le numéro de référence de l'avis de la Gazette du Canada DGTP-003-2000.

Le document de consultation annoncé dans le présent avis est disponible à l'adresse Internet suivante : World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre ou on peut également en obtenir un exemplaire papier, moyennant contrepartie, à l'une des deux adresses suivantes 

Organisation : 
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Addresse : 
2714 chemin Fenton, Gloucester, (Ontario) K1T 3T7 Canada
Numéro de téléphone sans frais : 
1-800-267-4862
numéro sans frais aux É.-U.  : 
1-800-574-0137
Numéro de téléphone mondia : 
613-822-0740
Numéro de télécopieur : 
613-822-1089

et

Organisation:
Groupe Communication Canada
Addresse : 
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7 Canada
Numéro de téléphone sans frais : 
 1-888-562-5561
numéro de téléphone sans frais au Canada : 
1-800-565-7757
Numéro de téléphone mondial : 
 819-779-4335
Numéro detélécopieur mondial : 
 819-779-2833

Le

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :