John Manley Announces the Awarding of Multipoint Communications Systems Licences

Ottawa, – –John Manley, Minister of Industry, today announced the awarding of 13 licences for Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) in the 2500 MHz band, opening the door to new opportunities for high speed access to the Internet for consumers and small businesses.

In 12 of the 13 available service areas, licences will be awarded to Inukshuk Internet Inc. and Partners, a new company created in partnership with existing local Canadian companies across the country. In Saskatchewan, the licence will be awarded to SaskTel, the province's local, long distance and mobile telephone company.

In their submissions, both Inukshuk and SaskTel indicated they would offer wireless high-speed Internet service and that their wireless high-speed Internet service would be available in their respective service areas by the end of the third year of deployment. By the end of the fifth year of deployment, SaskTel projects a total investment of more than $40 million, and Inukshuk of $525 million.

"The licensing of Inukshuk and SaskTel will give new avenues for Canadians to connect to each other and to the world in a way that is affordable and accessible, and will provide additional means for small businesses to conduct electronic commerce," said Minister Manley.

In keeping with the lifelong learning element of the Government of Canada's Connectedness agenda, successful applicants were required to demonstrate their plans to provide commercially viable telecommunications service while also supporting local learning needs. To this end Inukshuk and SaskTel, in direct consultation with local learning stakeholders, developed Learning Plans which commit to promote learning across each company's area of service. Inukshuk proposes the establishment of a Learning Fund worth $20 million over five years and the development of a Learning Portal and course development tools to facilitate the creation and delivery of learning content over the Internet. SaskTel proposes to offer high-speed Internet access to 95 per cent of Saskatchewan's population and service more than 500 schools and libraries throughout the province by their third year of deployment. Inukshuk's and SaskTel's complete Learning Plans are available on Industry Canada's web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Eight companies submitted a total of 52 applications which were evaluated according to criteria outlined in the policy and licensing procedures document Demonstrated Competencies, Business Plan and Learning. This policy as well as other related documents are also available on Industry Canada's web site.

For more information, please contact: 

Mélanie Robert
Telecommunications Analyst
Industry Canada
613-998-3837

Jennifer Sloan
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Date modified:

M. John Manley annonce la délivrance de licences d’exploitation de systèmes de communications multipoints

Ottawa, le – – M. John Manley, ministre de l'Industrie du Canada, a annoncé aujourd'hui la délivrance de 13 licences d'exploitation de systèmes de télécommunications multipoints (STM) dans la bande de 2 500 Mhz, ce qui créera de nouvelles possibilités d'accès rapide à Internet pour les consommateurs et les petites entreprises.

Dans 12 des 13 aires de service offertes, les licences seront attribuées à Inukshuk Internet Inc. and Partners, nouvelle entreprise créée en partenariat avec des sociétés canadiennes locales existantes de toutes les régions du pays. En Saskatchewan, la licence a été délivrée à SaskTel, la société provinciale assurant les services de téléphone locaux, interurbains et mobiles.

Dans leur soumission, Inukshuk et SaskTel ont toutes deux indiqué qu'elles offriraient un service rapide d'accès sans fil à Internet et que ce service existerait dans leurs aires de service respectives d'ici la fin de la troisième année de déploiement. D'ici la fin de la cinquième année de déploiement, SaskTel estime qu'elle aura investi en tout plus de 40 millions de dollars, et Inukshuk, 525 millions.

« Grâce aux licences délivrées à Inukshuk et à SaskTel, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens auront de nouveaux moyens de se raccorder les uns aux autres et au monde à un prix abordable, et les petites entreprises bénéficieront de nouveaux outils pour s'adonner au commerce électronique », a déclaré le ministre Manley.

Comme l'apprentissage continu constitue un volet important du programme fédéral Un Canada branché, les candidats retenus ont dû prouver qu'ils pourraient fournir un service de télécommunications viable tout en encourageant l'apprentissage au niveau local. Afin de satisfaire à ces conditions, Inukshuk et SaskTel ont, en consultant directement les milieux locaux de l'enseignement, dressé des plans d'apprentissage dans lesquels elles s'engagent à promouvoir l'apprentissage dans toutes les régions qu'elles desserviront respectivement. Inukshuk propose de mettre sur pied un Fonds de l'apprentissage de 20 millions de dollars en cinq ans et de concevoir un portail et des outils d'élaboration de cours pour faciliter la création et la diffusion d'éléments de contenu didactique sur Internet. Quant à elle, SaskTel propose d'offrir un accès rapide à Internet à 95 p. 100 de la population de la Saskatchewan et de desservir plus de 500 écoles et bibliothèques de la province d'ici sa troisième année de déploiement. Les plans d'apprentissage complets des deux entreprises figurent sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Huit entreprises ont présenté en tout 52 demandes qui ont été évaluées d'après les critères énoncés dans la Politique et les procédures de délivrance de licences intitulée Compétences manifestes, plan d'affaires et apprentissage. La politique et d'autres documents connexes sont diffusés sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada.

Renseignements :

Mélanie Robert
Analyste des télécommunications
Industrie Canada
613-998-3837

Jennifer Sloan
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie du Canada
613-995-9001

Date de modification :