Information Bulletin - Issuance of a spectrum licence to the Railway Association of Canada

OTTAWA, March 31, 2000 -- Industry Canada today announced that a single omnibus radio authorization, the first spectrum licence in the land mobile service, will be issued to the Railway Association of Canada (RAC) under the Radiocommunication Act. The RAC, which represents more than 98 per cent of the Canadian railway industry, will be issued this single licence that will replace approximately 4,900 radio licences currently issued to its members.

This initiative is intended to make the railway industry more competitive in a north-south business environment by giving them the flexibility to play a more active role in the organization, expansion and deployment of their radio networks.

To ensure the necessary coordination of radio frequencies, the railway industry will take advantage of Canada's advanced Information Highway infrastructure. All transactions associated with the spectrum licence will be conducted over the Internet.

This partnership between Industry Canada and the Railway Association of Canada paves the way for other large users with extensive radio frequency holdings, such as wireless service providers, wide area network operators and government users. This constitutes another step in Government of Canada's Connecting Canadians Strategy - aimed at making Canada the most connected nation in the world.

For more information, please contact:

Darius Breau
Manager, Operational Policies
Industry Canada
Telephone: 613-990-4736

Information 2190-e

Date modified:

Bulletin d'information - Délivrance d'une licence de spectre à l'Association des Chemins de fer du Canada

OTTAWA, le 31 mars 2000 – Industrie Canada a annoncé aujourd'hui qu'il délivrera à l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC) une autorisation de radiocommunication générale unique, la première licence d'exploitation du spectre dans le service mobile terrestre, en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication. L'ACFC, qui représente plus de 98 p. 100 de l'industrie ferroviaire canadienne, recevra une seule licence qui remplacera les quelque 4 900 licences radio détenues actuellement par ses membres.

Cette initiative vise à accroître la compétitivité de l'industrie ferroviaire dans un contexte d'affaires Nord-Sud en lui accordant la souplesse nécessaire pour jouer un rôle plus actif dans l'organisation, l'expansion et le déploiement de ses réseaux de radiocommunication.

Afin d'assurer la coordination indispensable des fréquences radio, l'industrie ferroviaire profitera de l'infrastructure ultra-moderne de l'inforoute canadienne. Toutes les opérations relatives à la gestion de la licence se feront sur Internet.

Ce partenariat entre Industrie Canada et l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada ouvre la voie à l'établissement de partenariats avec d'autres utilisateurs importants qui occupent de larges blocs de fréquences, comme les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications sans fil, les exploitants de réseaux à grande étendue et les administrations gouvernementales. De la sorte, Industrie Canada progresse encore plus vers son objectif, qui est de faire du Canada le pays le plus branché au monde.

Renseignements :

Darius Breau
Gestionnaire, Politiques d'exploitation
Industrie Canada
Téléphone : 613-990-4736

Information 2190-f

Date de modification :