Archived — Notice No. SMBR-001-00

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMBR-001-00 — Broadcasting Procedures and Rules Part 7 (BPR-7), Issue 1, Draft: Application Procedures and Rules for Digital Television (DTV) Undertakings

Industry Canada announces publication for comments of Broadcasting Procedures and Rules Part 7 (BPR-7), Issue 1, Draft: Application Procedures and Rules for Digital Television (DTV) Undertakings.

On April 15th 1999, the Department published the DTV (Digital Television) Transition Allotment Plan, Issue 2 in Notice No. SMBR-002-99.

The Department adopted the A/53 Digital TV Standard as the DTV standard for Canada with the publication of Gazette Notice No. SMBR-004-97, Adoption of Standard for Digital Television (DTV) Broadcasting in Canada, on November 22, 1997.

BPR-7, Issue 1, Draft sets forth the Department's application and operational requirements for Digital Television (DTV) Undertakings. These requirements are based on criteria developed in government/industry discussions and include the recommendations of the Ad Hoc Group on DTV Planning Parameters.

All technical submissions for DTV undertakings must include an engineering brief prepared according to the requirements in BPR-7, Issue 1. Although a Technical Acceptance Certificate (TAC) is not required in respect of DTV transmitters, digital television transmitting equipment must conform to the technical requirements outlined in BPR-7.

BPR-7 is issued for public comments at this time. However, the document may be used on an interim basis by applicants proposing DTV undertakings.

Interested parties may submit comments on BPR-7, Issue 1, Draft, to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering Branch, Department of Industry, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8, or at the following Internet address: broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca. Comments should be submitted no later than 90 days from the date of publication of this notice. Comments received will be made available on written request to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering Branch, Department of Industry, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

Copies of this Gazette Notice and of Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Part 7, Issue 1, Draft, are available electronically on the Internet at the following address: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home for the English version and http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre for the French version.

R. W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no SMBR-001-00

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMBR-001-00 — Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 7 (RPR-7), 1re édition, ébauche : Règles et procédures de demande relatives aux entreprises de télévision numérique (TVN)

Industrie Canada annonce la publication du document de Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 7 (RPR-7), 1re édition, ébauche, Règles et procédures de demande relatives aux entreprises de télévision numérique, en vue de recevoir des observations.

Le 15 avril 1999, le Ministère a annoncé la publication du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN), 2e édition, dans l'avis SMBR-002-99.

Le Ministère adopta la norme A/53 de télévision numérique en tant que norme de TVN pour le Canada avec la publication de l'Avis SMBR-004-97 dans la Gazette du Canada le 22 novembre 1997 sous le titre Adoption d'une norme sur la télévision numérique (TVN) au Canada.

Le document RPR-7, 1re édition, ébauche, établit les exigences du Ministère en ce qui concerne les demandes de licence et l'exploitation des entreprises de télévision numérique (TVN). Ces exigences s'inspirent des critères adoptés suite à des discussions entre le gouvernement et l'industrie, y compris les recommandations du groupe spécial sur les paramètres de planification de la télévision numérique.

Toutes les présentations techniques pour les entreprises de TVN doivent comprendre un mémoire technique préparé conformément aux indications énoncées dans le document RPR-7, 1re édition. Bien qu'un Certificat d'acceptation technique (CAT) ne soit pas requis pour les émetteurs de TVN, les équipements d'émission de TVN doivent être conformes aux exigences techniques définies dans le document RPR-7.

La présente annonce de publication du document RPR-7 est faite en vue de solliciter les observations du public. Les requérants projetant l'exploitation d'entreprises de TVN peuvent toutefois utiliser ce document à titre provisoire.

Les intéressés peuvent faire parvenir leurs observations sur le document RPR-7, 1re  édition, ébauche, au Directeur général, Direction générale du génie du spectre, Ministère de l'industrie, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8, ou à l'adresse Internet suivante :  broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca. Les observations doivent être soumises au plus tard 90 jours après la publication du présent avis. Les observations reçues seront publiées sur demande écrite présentée au Directeur général, Direction générale du génie du spectre, Ministère de l'industrie, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

On peut obtenir des copies du présent avis de la Gazette et du document de Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 7 (RPR-7), 1re édition, ébauche, par voie électronique sur Internet aux adresses suivantes : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre pour la version française et http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home pour la version anglaise.

Le Directeur général
Direction générale du génie du spectre

R. W. McCaughern

Date de modification :