Archived—Backgrounder Information for the 2001 Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Wireless communications continues to be one of Canada's great success stories. Canadians have benefitted greatly from the additional choice created with the introduction of two new competitors through the 1995 licensing of Personal Communications Services, commonly referred to as PCS. Today, over 94% of the Canadian population has access to an analogue cellular network, over 88% has access to a secure digital cellular network and over 50% of the population has access to one of the PCS networks licensed in 1995.

Canada enjoys one of the lowest rates for wireless services in the world and Canadian companies continue to offer innovative services to the benefit of all Canadians. Over 7 million Canadians (nearly one in four) currently have a wireless phone, with one million of them becoming users in the last seven months. This phenomenal growth demonstrates that wireless phones have become an integral part of our daily lives. Canadians have come to count on these tools for convenience and business productivity, as well as safety and security. In order to keep pace with this incredible growth, Industry Canada, the Department responsible for granting access to the spectrum resource required for wireless services, has established policies that encourage a fair, efficient and competitive marketplace.

As we move forward, the importance of getting these policies right becomes even more important as the power of the Internet will soon be untethered and Canadians will demand access to the Internet, anywhere, anyplace, and anytime through a portable wireless device. Predictions are that wireless devices will replace the desktop and laptop computers as the preferred means for accessing the Internet. Canada leads the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) nations in our adoption of the Internet and Canadians will no doubt embrace the wireless Internet. Canadian companies, service providers, manufacturers, software developers and content providers are at the crest of the wireless wave and are well positioned to take a global leadership role in defining the wireless Internet.

With that in mind, Industry Canada consulted the industry, evaluated the evolution of the current and future market for wireless devices, examined the best interests of the public, and now releases the framework for the auction of an additional 40 MHz of PCS spectrum. The official policy document, The Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range, will be published on the department's web site shortly. This policy will allow for the expansion of existing networks and sets the stage for the introduction of third generation Personal Communications Services (3G PCS). Third generation wireless services will enable the delivery of more advanced wireless services and innovative Internet-based multimedia applications to meet the growing business and consumer demand for advanced communications: whatever, wherever, and whenever they choose.

Consistent with our policy to foster competitive telecommunications markets, all entities are eligible to apply to participate. Our open entry policy will foster competition, provide opportunities for existing companies to get additional spectrum and will open up opportunities for new entrants with viable business plans. The department strongly believes that the demand for this spectrum will exceed the available supply and that the reliance on market forces to select licensees is in the public interest. Therefore, the department has decided to use an auction, similar to the one that was successfully used for broadband wireless spectrum in 1999. Auctions offer a number of advantages such as their ability to promote economically efficient use of spectrum, their openness and objectivity as an assignment mechanism, their procedural efficiency, and their ability to return appropriate compensation to Canadian taxpayers for the use of a public resource.

We will be licensing four blocks of 10 megahertz of spectrum. These four licences will be made available in each of 14 areas which cover all of Canada. The auction is to begin on January 15, 2001.

By proceeding now, we will allow timely access to spectrum that will enable the enhancement of existing systems, provide for the introduction of new third-generation-like services and stimulate innovation in the dynamic wireless environment.

The Evolution of PCS in Canada

In 1985, Rogers Cantel Inc. and Canada's local telephone companies were licensed to provide 800 MHz cellular telephony services in Canada. Rogers Cantel Inc. and the local telephone companies each received 25 MHz of spectrum.

In 1995, four spectrum licences were awarded to provide PCS in the 2 GHz band. Two new entrants, Clearnet PCS Inc. and Microcell Networks Inc., were each granted 30 MHz of spectrum, while Rogers Cantel Inc. and the major local telephone cellular operators were each granted 10 MHz. To ensure that a competitive environment would be maintained, at the time of this licensing process, the department placed a limit on the amount of spectrum that any one entity or its affiliates could hold. This spectrum aggregation limit, commonly referred to as a spectrum cap, was set at 40 MHz and consisted of frequency assignments for PCS at 2 GHz, cellular radiotelephony, and similar public high-mobility radiotelephony services in the 800 MHz range such as Enhanced Specialized Mobile Radio Services (ESMR).

In the 1995 PCS licensing process decision, two licences were held in reserve: one 30 MHz licence (block C/C') and one 10 MHz licence (block E/E'). In awarding licences for the four PCS spectrum blocks, the Minister noted that the decision would promote a strong base from which to enhance competition in the provision of wireless telecommunications services. By reserving the remaining blocks, the Department provided an opportunity to respond to future innovations in a timely fashion.

On November 5, 1999, the Minister of Industry announced that the spectrum aggregation limit applying to PCS would be raised from 40 MHz to 55 MHz, and that 40 MHz of additional spectrum for PCS would be licensed by auction. The 40 MHz of additional spectrum consists of PCS spectrum blocks C/C' and E/E', which had been held in reserve in 1995. These actions were taken to ensure the availability of adequate spectrum resources to meet the needs of the expanding PCS market, and also to enable the implementation of new offerings such as 3G PCS.

A public consultation paper on the policy and licensing procedures for the auction of the additional PCS spectrum was published on December 17, 1999, and the framework for the PCS auction was announced on June 28,2000.

The Department will continue working with the wireless industry to ensure timely access to the spectrum required in order to continue offering Canadians the latest in advanced mobile wireless services. This will include developing the licensing process for the release of additional spectrum such as that identified at the International Telecommunication Union's World Radio Conference that was held in Istanbul, Turkey in May 2000.

Personal Communications Services

Archivé — Information contextuelle pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP supplémentaires de l'an 2001

Le Canada continue de connaître un succès retentissant dans le domaine des communications sans fil. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens ont profité grandement de l'élargissement du choix qu'a entraîné l'arrivée de deux nouveaux concurrents à l'issue de la délivrance de licences pour services de communications personnelles (SCP) en 1995. Aujourd'hui, plus de 94 p. 100 de la population du pays a accès à un réseau cellulaire analogue, plus de 88 p. 100, à un réseau cellulaire numérique protégé, et plus de la moitié, à un des réseaux SCP autorisés en 1995.

Pour les services sans fil, le Canada bénéficie de tarifs parmi les plus bas du monde, et les entreprises canadiennes continuent d'offrir des services novateurs dont toute la population profite. Plus de sept millions de Canadiens et de Canadiennes (près du quart) possèdent un téléphone sans fil, et un million d'entre eux s'en sont procuré un au cours des sept derniers mois. Cette croissance phénoménale montre que ces appareils font désormais partie intégrante de notre vie quotidienne. Les Canadiens comptent sur cet outil en raison de sa valeur pratique, pour accroître la productivité des entreprises et pour des motifs de sécurité. Afin de suivre le rythme de cette formidable expansion, Industrie Canada, ministère chargé d'accorder l'accès aux ressources spectrales nécessaires pour assurer les services sans fil, a adopté des politiques qui encouragent l'existence d'un marché équitable, efficient et compétitif.

À mesure que le pays progresse, l'importance d'adapter judicieusement ces politiques grandit davantage; en effet, la puissance d'Internet sera bientôt illimitée, et les Canadiens exigeront l'accès à l'inforoute en tout temps et en tout lieu par le biais d'un appareil sans fil portatif. D'aucuns prédisent que les appareils sans fil remplaceront l'ordinateur personnel et portatif en tant que moyen privilégié pour se brancher à Internet. Le Canada devance les pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) quant à l'adoption d'Internet, et il n'y a pas à douter que les Canadiens adopteront de même l'Internet sans fil. Les entreprises, fournisseurs de services, fabricants, concepteurs de logiciels et fournisseurs d'éléments de contenu du Canada dominent la vague du sans-fil et sont très bien placés pour montrer au monde la voie à suivre afin de définir les paramètres d'Internet sans fil.

Conscient de ces faits, le Ministère a consulté l'industrie et jaugé l'évolution du marché actuel et à venir des appareils sans fil, et s'est interrogé sur ce qui favoriserait au maximum l'intérêt public. Il publie maintenant la processus de la mise aux enchères d'une autre tranche de 40 MHz du spectre réservé aux SCP. La politique officielle, intitulée Politique et procédures pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP supplémentaires dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz, sera publié sur le site Web du Ministère sous peu. Elle permettra l'expansion des réseaux existants et préparera la venue des services de communications personnelles de la troisième génération (SCP 3G). Ce nouvel atout permettra d'assurer des services sans fil plus perfectionnés et d'utiliser des applications novatrices multimédias axées sur Internet qui répondront, quels que soient le lieu, l'heure ou la nature du besoin, à la demande grandissante des entreprises et des consommateurs au chapitre des communications de pointe.

Nous cherchons toujours à stimuler la concurrence sur les marchés des télécommunications; par conséquent, tous les intéressés peuvent demander à participer aux enchères. Notre politique d'inscription libre encouragera la concurrence, donnera aux entreprises existantes une occasion d'accroître leur gamme de fréquences et créera des débouchés pour les nouveaux venus munis d'un plan d'affaires viable. Le Ministère croit fermement que la demande de cette bande du spectre dépassera l'offre et que miser sur le jeu des forces du marché pour choisir les fournisseurs est dans l'intérêt public. Le Ministère a donc décidé d'organiser des enchères semblables à celles utilisées en 1999 pour attribuer des fréquences du spectre pour les services sans fil à large bande. La vente aux enchères présente divers avantages : elle encourage l'utilisation rentable du spectre; c'est un mécanisme d'attribution ouvert et objectif et c'est une procédure efficace, car les contribuables canadiens y trouvent leur compte, du fait qu'une ressource publique est utilisée d'une façon judicieuse.

Le Ministère délivrera des licences à l'égard de quatre blocs de 10 MHz du spectre. Ces licences seront accessibles dans chacune des 14 zones qui couvrent tout le Canada. La vente aux enchères doit commencer le 15 janvier 2001.

En agissant maintenant, nous favoriserons à point nommé l'accès à une partie du spectre qui améliorera les systèmes existants, qui permettra l'arrivée de nouveaux services de la troisième génération et qui stimulera l'innovation dans le dynamique secteur du sans-fil.

L'évolution des SCP au Canada

En 1985, Rogers Cantel Inc. et les sociétés canadiennes locales de téléphone ont été autorisées à offrir au pays des services de téléphonie cellulaire dans la bande de 800 MHz. Rogers Cantel Inc. et les sociétés de téléphone ont chacune reçu 25 MHz de spectre.

En 1995, quatre licences de spectre ont été délivrées à des fournisseurs qui allaient assurer des SCP dans la bande de 2 GHz. Deux nouveaux venus, soit Clearnet PCS Inc. et Microcell Networks Inc., ont chacun reçu 30 MHz de spectre, tandis que Rogers Cantel Inc. et les principales sociétés locales de téléphonie cellulaire ont chacune obtenu 10 MHz. Afin de conserver son caractère compétitif au marché, au moment où ce processus de délivrance de licences a été lancé, le Ministère a limité la part du spectre qu'un fournisseur donné ou ses affiliés pourrait détenir. Cette quantité cumulative maximale de fréquences, communément appelée « plafond de fréquences », a été fixée à 40 MHz et comprenait les fréquences assignées pour les SCP dans la bande de 2 GHz, pour la radiotéléphonie cellulaire et pour des services publics semblables de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité dans la bande de 800 MHz (par ex., la radio mobile spécialisée améliorée).

Quand la décision de délivrer des licences SCP a été prise en 1995, deux licences ont été gardées en réserve : une licence pour 30 MHz (bloc C/C') et une pour 10 MHz (bloc E/E'). En accordant les licences à l'égard des quatre blocs de fréquences SCP, le Ministre a souligné que cette décision permettrait éventuellement d'accroître la concurrence dans le secteur des services de télécommunications sans fil. En gardant en réserve les deux blocs susmentionnés, le Ministère se donnait la possibilité de réagir promptement aux innovations à venir.

Le 5 novembre 1999, le ministre de l'Industrie a annoncé que le plafond de fréquences SCP passerait de 40 MHz à 55 MHz et que 40 MHz de spectre supplémentaire réservé aux SCP seraient mis aux enchères. Il s'agissait en fait des deux blocs C/C' et E/E' gardés en réserve en 1995. Ces mesures ont été prises afin de garantir la disponibilité de ressources spectrales suffisantes pour répondre aux besoins du marché grandissant des SCP, et de permettre la mise en œuvre de nouveaux services, tels que les SCP 3G.

Le 17 décembre 1999, le Ministère a publié un document de consultation publique sur la politique et les procédures de délivrance des licences pour la mise aux enchères d'une tranche supplémentaire du spectre des SCP. Le 28 juin 2000, le Ministère a annoncé le cadre de travail pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP.

Le Ministère continuera de collaborer avec le secteur du sans-fil afin de garantir l'accès en temps voulu aux fréquences du spectre nécessaires pour offrir à la population canadienne les tout derniers services mobiles sans fil. Dans cet ordre d'idées, il élaborera le processus de délivrance des licences à l'égard d'autres parties du spectre, dans la foulée de la Conférence mondiale de la radio, organisée par l'Union internationale des télécommunications, à Istanbul en Turquie, en mai 2000.

Services de communications personnelles

Date de modification :