Information Bulletin — Minister Manley delegates to the Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS) the authority to issue Restricted Operator Certificates (Maritime)

Ottawa, September 1, 2000 – John Manley, Minister of Industry, today announced that Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS) has been delegated authority to issue Restricted Operator Certificates (Maritime) to pleasure craft operators. In conjunction with this delegation, CPS will administer all aspects of the examination program to ensure that radio operators have successfully demonstrated a knowledge of marine radiocommunication procedures.

In administering this program, CPS will interact with approximately 900 accredited examiners located across Canada who provide service to the boating public by offering training and conducting examinations on marine radiocommunication procedures. CPS will issue a wallet size radio operator certificate to qualified candidates. Industry Canada will continue its role of assuring regulatory compliance by radio operators who use the marine band frequencies.

This partnership between Industry Canada and CPS is consistent with the Government of Canada's objective of, where practicable, fostering partnerships with private organizations to improve services to Canadians.

CPS is a volunteer, not-for-profit organization with approximately 40,000 members across Canada. Its mission is to increase awareness and knowledge of safe boating by educating and training members and the public, by fostering fellowship among members and establishing partnerships and alliances with organizations and agencies interested in boating.

For more information, please contact: 

Tom Jones
Chief, Authorization
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada
613-990-4747

This information and other documents are available on the CPS internet site at: 

http://www.cps-ecp.ca
Information 2197–e

Date modified:

Bulletin d'information — Le ministre Manley délègue aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance (ECP) le pouvoir de délivrer des certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime)

Ottawa, le 1er septembre 2000 – Le ministre de l'Industrie du Canada, M. John Manley, a délégué aujourd'hui aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance (ECP) le pouvoir de délivrer des Certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime) aux conducteurs de bateaux de plaisance. En même temps que d'exercer ce pouvoir, les ECP administreront tous les aspects du programme d'examen pour s'assurer que les opérateurs radio fournissent la preuve qu'ils connaissent les méthodes de communication radiomaritime.

En administrant ce programme, les ECP travailleront avec quelque 900 examinateurs accrédités dans toutes les régions du pays, qui fournissent un service au public intéressé en offrant une formation et en menant des examens concernant les méthodes de communication radiomaritime. Elles délivreront un certificat d'opérateur radio (format portefeuille) aux candidats qualifiés. Industrie Canada continuera de remplir sa fonction concernant le respect des règlements par les opérateurs radio qui utilisent la bande de fréquences maritime.

Le partenariat entre Industrie Canada et les ECP correspond à l'objectif d'Industrie Canada qui consiste à encourager, dans la mesure du possible, les partenariats avec les organismes privés afin d'améliorer les services offerts aux Canadiens.

Les ECP sont un organisme bénévole, à but non lucratif, qui compte quelque 40 000 membres au Canada. L'organisme a pour mission d'accroître la connaissance de la navigation de plaisance en toute sécurité en offrant une éducation et une formation aux membres et au public, en encourageant la solidarité parmi les membres et en établissant des partenariats et des alliances avec les organismes qui s'intéressent à la navigation de plaisance.

Renseignements :

Tom Jones
Chef, Autorisation
Direction générale de la réglementation
des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada
613-990-4747

Le présent communiqué et d'autres documents se trouvent sur le site Internet des ECP à :

http://www.cps-ecp.ca

Date de modification :