Protocol Concerning the Transmission and Reception of Signals from Satellites for the Provision of Fixed-Satellite Services in Canada and the Argentine Republic

November 2000

Table of Contents


Note

All persons making use of this document are reminded that it is provided only for convenience of reference and is for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. For more details, please contact the International Telecommunications Policy and Coordination Directorate of the Telecommunications Policy Branch.

This Agreement and associated Protocols have been negotiated under the authority of the Government of Canada by Industry Canada.

Prepared by:

Industry Canada
Telecommunications Policy Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

via email: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All spectrum publications are available on the Internet.

Publication Date: November 2000


Recognizing the long standing bonds of friendship and co-operation between the Governments of Canada and the Argentine Republic;

Pursuant to the Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Argentine Republic Concerning the Provision of Satellite Facilities and the Transmission and Reception of Signals to and from Satellites for the Provision of Satellite Services to Users in Canada and the Argentine Republic, signed at, the 17th of October 2000, (herein referred to as the "Agreement");

Recognizing the sovereign right of countries to regulate their telecommunications, including the use and operation of the radio spectrum within their territory;

Emphasizing that there has been a long standing and successful bilateral relationship of both countries through the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), and that both Parties will apply these same positive efforts and expertise in the future coordination of Satellites licensed by the Government of Canada (herein referred to as "Canada") and by the Government of the Argentine Republic (herein referred to as "Argentina"), which are subject to this Protocol;

Recognizing the enhanced opportunities for the provision of Satellite Services in Canada and in Argentina arising from the World Trade Organization General Agreement on Trade in Services, the growing needs of the Satellite communications industries, and the public interest in the development of these services; and

In order to establish the conditions for the transmission and reception of signals from Satellites for the provision of domestic and international Fixed-Satellite Services, as defined herein, to users in Canada and in Argentina,

The Government of Canada and the Government of the Argentine Republic (the "Parties") agree as follows:

Article I — Purposes

  1. The purposes of this Protocol are:
    • 1.1 To establish conditions and technical criteria for the use of Canadian and Argentine licensed Satellites and Earth Stations for the provision of Fixed-Satellite Services, as defined herein, to, from, and within the territories of the Parties.
    • 1.2 To facilitate the provision of Fixed-Satellite Services covered by this Protocol to, from, and within Canada and Argentina via Satellites licensed by either Party.

Article II — Scope

  1. The provisions of this Protocol are without prejudice to the rights and obligations of Canada and Argentina under the Constitution and Convention of the ITU (Geneva, 1992) and its Radio Regulations and the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) of the World Trade Organization, in particular the Fourth Protocol on Basic Telecommunication Services.
  2. This Protocol applies, on a reciprocal basis, to the use within the territory of both countries of Satellites licensed by Canada and Satellites licensed by Argentina.
  3. This Protocol does not apply to the Satellite Services, provided through Satellites discussed in Article I(1), that are regulated pursuant to the Broadcasting Act of Canada, where such services are intended for direct reception by the public, and pursuant to the Ley Federal de Radiodifusion No. 22.285 of Argentina.

Article III — Definitions

  1. The terms defined in the Agreement are applicable to this Protocol. In addition, for the purposes of this Protocol:
    • 1.1 "Fixed-Satellite Services" ("FSS") means any radiocommunication signals that are transmitted and/or received by Earth Stations, located at specified fixed positions or at any fixed point within a specified area, using one or more Satellites licensed by either Party;
    • 1.2 FSS include feeder links and other radiocommunication signals in direct support of signals of Article III(1.1);
    • 1.3 FSS include, but is not limited to, signals carrying video or video/audio distributed to cable television head-end and multipoint distribution service facilities;
    • 1.4 The terms Advanced Published and Coordination shall have the meanings given to such terms in the ITU Radio Regulations.

Article IV — Implementing Entities

  1. As provided for in Article III(2) of the Agreement, the Administrations responsible for implementing this Protocol shall be:
    • 1.1 For Canada, the Department of Industry; and
    • 1.2 For Argentina, Secretaria de Comunicaciones.

Article V — Fixed-Satellite Service Frequencies

  1. This Protocol applies solely to Fixed-Satellite Services using the frequency bands typically paired as set forth in the appendix to this Protocol (the "Appendix").
  2. The use of the frequency bands set forth in the Appendix must comply with the applicable Canadian and Argentine laws, regulations, policies, and procedures, conditions set forth in this Protocol, and the respective national frequency allocation tables. In specific geographic areas, coordination involving specific systems currently operating in these frequency bands will be necessary.
  3. This Protocol does not apply to frequency bands not listed in the Appendix.

Article VI — Conditions of Use

  1. Licences for FSS shall be issued as efficiently and expeditiously as possible by the Administrations for transmit and/or receive Earth Stations (including Blanket Licences for transmit and/or receive Earth Stations and any other applicable Licence for the provision of Satellite Services).
  2. Each Party shall apply its domestic laws, regulations, policies, and procedures in a transparent and non-discriminatory manner to the Satellites licensed by either Party, and to all applications for a Licence to transmit and/or receive FSS signals, including licences for transmit/receive and receive-only Earth Stations, via Satellites licensed by either Party.
  3. Non-conformance to the applicable laws, regulations, policies, and procedures of a Party may result in loss of the Licence granted by that Party.
  4. The principal laws, regulations, policies, and procedures of the Parties, which are applicable to this Protocol, are indicated below:
    • 4.1 For Canada, the laws, regulations, policies, and procedures for the grant of Licences in Canada to transmit or receive FSS signals via Satellites licensed by either Party, include the Industry Canada Act, the Radiocommunication Act, the Telecommunications Act, the Broadcasting Act, their subordinate regulations and related policies, as amended from time to time, related to this service.
    • 4.2 For Argentina, the laws, regulations, policies, and procedures are the Ley de Telecomunicaciones No. 19.798, the Ley Federal de Radiodifusion No. 22.285, Decrees 62/90, 264/98 and 465/2000, Resolucion No. 1913/95 of the former Comision Nacional de Telecomunicaciones (CNT), and Resolucion No. 3609/99 of the Secretaria de Comunicaciones, as amended from time to time, related to these services.
    • 4.3 The Administrations will exchange the most up-to-date official texts of national laws, regulations, policies, and procedures related toFSS at the time of signature of this Protocol, and on June 1 of every year thereafter.
  5. Nothing in this Protocol shall be construed to permit interim or permanent limits on the number of:
    • 5.1 FSS Satellites licensed by either Party which may transmit to, from, and/or within the territory of either Party pursuant to this Protocol or the Agreement;
    • 5.2 Entities granted a Licence in Canada to transmit and/or receive FSS signals via Satellites licensed by either Party; and
    • 5.3 Entities granted a Licence in Argentina to transmit and/or receive FSS signals via Satellites licensed by either Party.
    • 5.4 Earth Stations which may transmit and/or receive FSS signals to, from, and/or within the territory of either Party via Satellites licenced by either Party.
  6. Each Administration shall permit FSS signals to be delivered directly to Earth Stations through Satellites licensed by either Party without requiring that they be retransmitted over an intermediary Satellite System, or through an intermediary Earth Station.
  7. The Parties will apply their respective laws, regulations, policies, and procedures governing the distribution of signals for the provision of cable television service and multipoint distribution service.
  8. FSS signals may be provided for transmission and/or reception between either Party and third countries. Transmission or reception of such signals to or from third countries shall be subject to each Party's applicable laws, regulations, policies, and procedures, applied in a non-discriminatory and transparent manner, regardless of which Party licensed the relevant Satellite.

Article VII — Technical Coordination Procedures

  1. Nothing in this Protocol shall affect the rights and obligations of a Party to frequency assignments and associated orbital positions already assigned to it in accordance with the ITU Radio Regulations, including Appendices S30, S30A, and S30B.
  2. Nothing in this Protocol shall affect the rights and obligations of a Party regarding the technical coordination of frequencies and associated orbital positions of Satellites of the other Party or third parties not covered by this Protocol, pursuant to the ITU Radio Regulations.
  3. Any Satellite licensed by one of the Parties that is in the Advance Publication or Coordination stage or in operation in accordance with the relevant ITU Radio Regulations, shall continue to have its appropriate status under the ITU Radio Regulations notwithstanding the provisions of this Protocol.
  4. Each Administration agrees to exert its best efforts to assist the other Administration in the technical coordination of new, and modifications to current, Satellite Network frequency assignments and associated orbital positions. Each Administration shall concur with the requests of the other Administration made through the ITU for coordination of Satellite Networks, and modifications thereto, provided that such requests are consistent withITU rules and regulations and applicable national technical rules and regulations, and result in technical compatibility of the affected Satellite Networks and terrestrial systems of the Administrations.
  5. This Protocol shall not obligate either Administration to require that any operator of a Satellite licensed by one of the Parties substantially alter its ongoing operations and technical characteristics in order to accommodate new Satellites licensed by either Party for the provision of FSS.
  6. In the event that there is harmful interference to a Satellite licensed by one of the Parties, notification shall be made to the Administration responsible for licensing the interfering Satellite or Earth Station. Both Administrations shall analyze the information on the interfering signal, shall consult on solutions, and shall seek to agree on the appropriate actions to resolve the interference.

Article VIII — FSS and Related Authorizations

  1. Canada agrees to permit Satellites licensed by Argentina to provide FSS signals to, from, and within Canada, subject to compliance with the conditions set forth in Article IV(1.1) of the Agreement. In order to receive a Licence in Canada to transmit and/or receive FSS signals via Satellites licensed by either Party (including Licences for Canadian transmit/receive and receive-only Earth Stations communicating with such Satellites), entities must comply with applicable Canadian laws, regulations, policies, and procedures.
  2. Argentina agrees to permit Satellites licensed by Canada to provide FSS signals to, from, and within Argentina, subject to compliance with the conditions set forth in Article IV(1.2) of the Agreement. In order to receive a Licence in Argentina to transmit and/or receive FSS signals via Satellites licensed by either Party (including Licences for Argentine transmit/receive and receive-only Earth Stations communicating with such Satellites), entities must comply with applicable Argentine laws, regulations, policies and procedures.

Article IX — Entry into Force, Amendment and Termination

  1. This Protocol shall enter into force upon signature by both Parties and shall remain in force so long as the Agreement is in force.
  2. The Appendix to this Protocol may be amended by an exchange of letters between the Administrations.
  3. Notwithstanding Article IX(1), this Protocol may, by mutual agreement of the Parties, be replaced by a new Protocol, or it may be terminated in accordance with Article XI of the Agreement.
  4. Termination of this Protocol shall enter into effect six months after receipt of notification.
  5. Upon termination of this Protocol, an Administration may, at its discretion, terminate any Licence issued pursuant to this Protocol.

In witness whereof, the respective representatives have signed the present Protocol.

Done in duplicate at, the 17th day of October 2000, in the English, French and Spanish languages, all texts being equally authentic.

space to insert signature
For the Government of Canada
space to insert signature
For the Government of the Argentine Republic

Appendix

  1. The following FSS frequency bands are referred to by Article V of this Protocol:

    FSS frequency bands
    Uplink Frequencies Downlink Frequencies
    5.925 – 6.425 GHz 3.700 – 4.200 GHz
    14.0 – 14.5 GHz 11.7 – 12.2 GHz
    12.75 – 13.25 GHz 10.70 – 10.95 GHz
    11.20 – 11.45GHz
    13.75 – 14.00 GHz 11.45 – 11.70 GHz
    10.95 – 11.20GHz
    27.50 – 30.00 GHz 17.70 – 20.20 GHz
  2. Consistent with Article VI, Paragraph 4 of this Protocol, the use of the frequency bands listed above, in the territory of a Party, must comply with the applicable Canadian and Argentine laws, regulations, policies, and procedures, conditions set forth in this Protocol and the respective national frequency allocation tables and take into consideration the systems currently operating in these frequency bands and any applicable international agreements of the Parties.
  3. This Protocol does not apply to frequency bands not listed above.
Date modified:

Protocole concernant la transmission et la réception de signaux en provenance de satellites pour la fourniture de services par satellite fixes au Canada et en république Argentine

Novembre 2000

Table des matières


Remarque

On rappelle aux lecteurs que les documents de la présente codification ont été réunis aux seules fins d'en faciliter la consultation. La présente codification est un guide à l'intention des personnes qui s'occupent de radiocommunications au Canada. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour en assurer l'exactitude, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou implicitement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction de la Politique et coordination des télécommunications internationales de la Direction générale de la Politique des télécommunications.

Cet accord et les protocoles connexes ont été négociés par Industrie Canada, sous l'autorité du gouvernement du Canada.

Préparé par :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

par courrier électronique : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de la gestion du spectre sont disponibles sur l'Internet à l'adresse suivante.

Date de publication : novembre 2000


Reconnaissant les durables liens d'amitié et de collaboration existant entre les gouvernements du Canada et de la République argentine;

En vertu de l'Accord conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République argentine concernant la fourniture d'installations de satellite de même que la transmission et la réception de signaux à destination et en provenance de satellites pour la fourniture de services par satellite aux utilisateurs de la République argentine et du Canada signé à , le 17 octobre 2000, (ci-après appelé « l'Accord »);

Reconnaissant le droit souverain des pays de réglementer leurs télécommunications, y compris l'utilisation et l'exploitation du spectre des radiofréquences sur leur territoire;

Soulignant le fait qu'il existe depuis longtemps des relations bilatérales fructueuses entre les deux pays dans le cadre de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), et que les deux parties déploieront les mêmes efforts constructifs et la même compétence dans la coordination à venir des satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence du gouvernement canadien (ci-après appelé « le Canada ») et du gouvernement de la République argentine (ci-après appelé « l'Argentine »), soumis au présent Protocole;

Reconnaissant les occasions accrues pour la fourniture de services par satellite au Canada et en Argentine découlant de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, des besoins croissants des industries des communications par satellite ainsi que de l'intérêt public qu'il y a à développer ces services; et

Afin d'établir les conditions pour la transmission et la réception de signaux en provenance de satellites pour la fourniture, aux utilisateurs du Canada et de l'Argentine, de services nationaux et internationaux par satellite fixe définis aux présentes;

Le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République argentine (les « parties ») conviennent de ce qui suit :

Article premier — Objet

  1. Le présent Protocole a pour objet :
    • 1.1 D'établir les conditions et les critères techniques pour l'utilisation des satellites et des stations terrestres, auxquels une licence a été attribuée par le Canada ou par l'Argentine, pour la fourniture de services par satellite fixes, tels que définis aux présentes, à destination et en provenance du territoire des parties, et sur celui-ci.
    • 1.2 Faciliter la fourniture des services par satellite fixes régis par le présent Protocole en provenance, à destination et à l'intérieur du Canada et de l'Argentine au moyen de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence par l'une ou l'autre partie.

Article II — Champ d'application

  1. Les dispositions du présent Protocole sont établies sous toute réserve des droits et des obligations du Canada et de l'Argentine aux termes de la Constitution et de la Convention de l'UIT (Genève, 1992) et de son Règlement sur les télécommunications, et de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, en particulier du Quatrième protocole sur les services de télécommunications de base.
  2. Le présent Protocole s'applique, sur une base réciproque, à l'utilisation, sur le territoire des deux pays, de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence du Canada et de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'Argentine.
  3. Le présent Protocole ne s'applique pas aux services par satellite offerts par le truchement des satellites indiqués au paragraphe 1 de l'article premier qui sont régis par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion du Canada, lorsque ces services sont destinés à être reçus directement par le public, et par la Ley Federal de Radiodifusion no 22.285 d'Argentine.

Article III — Définitions

  1. Les termes définis à l'Accord sont applicables au présent Protocole. En outre, aux fins du présent Protocole, s'appliquent les définitions suivantes :
    • 1.1 « Services par satellite fixes » (SSF) Tous signaux de télécommunications émis et/ou reçus par des stations terrestres, implantées en des emplacements fixes définis ou en tout point fixe dans une zone définie, et faisant appel à un ou à plusieurs satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie;
    • 1.2 Les SSF incluent les liaisons de connexion et les autres signaux de télécommunications nécessaires à l'appui direct des signaux définis au paragraphe 1.1 de l'article III;
    • 1.3 Les SSF incluent, non limitativement, les signaux porteurs de vidéo ou de vidéo/audio distribués aux installations de tête de ligne de télévision par câble et de service de distribution multipoint;
    • 1.4 Les termes « publication avancée et coordination » ont la même signification que dans le Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT.

Article IV — Organismes chargés de la mise en oeuvre

  1. Tel que stipulé au paragraphe 2 de l'article III de l'Accord, les administrations chargées de la mise en oeuvre du présent Protocole sont :
    • 1.1 Pour le Canada, le ministère de l'Industrie;
    • 1.2 Pour l'Argentine, la Secretaria de Comunicaciones.

Article V — Fréquences des services par satellite fixes

  1. Le présent Protocole s'applique uniquement aux services par satellite fixes utilisant les bandes de fréquences normalement appariées tel qu'indiqué en son annexe (« l'Annexe »).
  2. Les bandes de fréquences définies à l'Annexe devront être utilisées en conformité avec les lois, les règlements, les politiques, les procédures applicables du Canada et de l'Argentine, les conditions énoncées au présent Protocole, et en conformité avec les tableaux nationaux d'affectations de fréquences. Dans certaines régions géographiques, il conviendra de coordonner cette utilisation avec des systèmes particuliers fonctionnant actuellement sur ces bandes de fréquences.
  3. Le présent Protocole ne s'applique pas aux bandes de fréquences qui ne sont pas mentionnées à l'Annexe.

Article VI — Conditions d'utilisation

  1. Les licences SSF seront attribuées aussi efficacement et rapidement que possible par les administrations pour les stations terrestres d'émission et/ou de réception (y compris les licences générales pour les stations terrestres d'émission et/ou de réception et toute autre licence applicable à la fourniture de services par satellite).
  2. Chaque partie appliquera ses lois, ses règlements, ses politiques et ses procédures de manière transparente et non discriminatoire aux satellites faisant l'objet d'une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie, et à toutes les demandes de licence d'émission et/ou de réception de signaux SSF, y compris aux licences pour les stations terrestres d'émission/réception et de réception seulement, fonctionnant avec les satellites aux quels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie.
  3. Le non-respect des lois, des règlements, des politiques et des procédures applicables d'une partie peut entraîner la perte de la licence attribuée par cette partie.
  4. Les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les procédures principaux des parties applicables au présent Protocole sont indiqués ci-dessous :
    • 4.1 Pour le Canada, les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les procédures régissant au Canada l'attribution des licences d'émission ou de réception des signaux SSF faisant l'objet d'une licence attribuée par l'une ou l'autre partie comprennent la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, la Loi sur les radiocommunications, la Loi sur les télécommunications, la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, ainsi que leurs règlements d'application et les politiques qui s'y rapportent, tels que modifiés de temps à autre, qui s'appliquent à ce service.
    • 4.2 Pour l'Argentine, les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les procédures sont la Ley de Telecomunicaciones no 19798, la Ley Federal de Radiodiffusion no 22 285, les Décrets 62/90, 264/98 and 465/2000, les Résolutions 1913/95 de l'ancienne Comision Nacional de Telecomunicaciones (CNT), et la Résolution 3609/99 du Secretaria de Comunicaciones, tels que modifiés de temps à autre, et applicables à ces services.
    • 4.3 Les administrations s'échangeront les derniers textes officiels parus de leurs lois, de leurs règlements, de leurs politiques et de leurs procédures nationaux applicables aux SSF lors de la signature du présent Protocole, et le 1er juin de chaque année par la suite.
  5. Aucune disposition du présent Protocole ne saurait permettre d'établir des limites provisoires ou permanentes au nombre des :
    • 5.1 Satellites SSF auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie autorisés à émettre à destination, en provenance ou à l'intérieur du territoire de l'une ou de l'autre partie en vertu du présent Protocole ou de l'Accord;
    • 5.2 Entités auxquelles est attribuée au Canada une licence les autorisant à émettre et/ou à recevoir des signaux SSF au moyen de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie;
    • 5.3 Entités auxquelles est attribuée en Argentine une licence les autorisant à émettre et/ou à recevoir des signaux SSF au moyen de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie;
    • 5.4 Stations terrestres autorisées à émettre et/ou à recevoir des signaux SSF à destination, en provenance et/ou à l'intérieur du territoire de l'une ou de l'autre partie au moyen de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie.
  6. Chaque administration permettra que les signaux SSF puissent être livrés directement aux stations terrestres au moyen des satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie sans exiger qu'ils soient retransmis par un système de satellite intermédiaire, ou par une station terrestre intermédiaire.
  7. Les parties appliqueront leurs lois, leurs règlements, leurs politiques et leurs procédures respectifs régissant la distribution des signaux pour la fourniture du service de télévision par câble et du service de distribution multipoint.
  8. Les signaux SSF peuvent être fournis pour la transmission et/ou la réception entre l'une ou l'autre partie et des pays tiers. L'émission ou la réception desdits signaux à destination ou en provenance de pays tiers sera assujettie aux lois, règlements, politiques et procédures applicables de chaque partie, appliqués de manière transparente et non discriminatoire, quelle que soit la partie ayant délivré la licence pour le satellite utilisé.

Article VII — Procédures de coordination technique

  1. Aucune disposition du présent Protocole ne saurait influer sur les droits et les obligations d'une partie au regard des affectations de fréquences, et des positions orbitales qui leur sont associées, lesquelles lui ont déjà été attribuées conformément au Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT, y compris ses Annexes S30, S30A et S30B.
  2. Aucune disposition du présent Protocole ne saurait influer sur les droits et les obligations d'une partie au regard de la coordination technique des fréquences, et des positions orbitales qui leur sont associées, des satellites de la partie cocontractante ou des tiers qui ne sont pas couvertes par le présent Protocole, en vertu du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT.
  3. Tout satellite auquel a été attribuée une licence de l'une des parties qui se trouve au stade Publication avancée ou Coordination, ou en exploitation conformément aux dispositions du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT pertinentes, maintiendra son statut au titre du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT, nonobstant les dispositions du présent Protocole.
  4. Chaque administration convient de s'efforcer de prêter assistance à l'autre pour la coordination technique des nouvelles affectations de fréquences, et des positions orbitales qui leur sont associées, du réseau de satellites, ou des modifications apportées à celles en vigueur.

    Chaque administration accédera aux demandes de l'autre, effectuées par le truchement de l'UIT, pour la coordination des réseaux de satellites, et pour leurs modifications, à la condition que ces demandes soient conformes aux règles et aux règlements de l'UIT et aux règles et aux règlements techniques nationaux applicables, et permettent la compatibilité technique de réseaux de satellites et des systèmes terrestres visés des administrations.
  5. Le présent Protocole n'oblige aucune des administrations à exiger qu'un exploitant de satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une des parties modifie substantiellement ses opérations et ses caractéristiques techniques courantes afin d'accommoder de nouveaux satellites auxquels a été attribuée une licence de l'une ou de l'autre partie pour la fourniture de SSF.
  6. En cas d'interférence préjudiciable à un satellite auquel a été attribuée une licence d'une des parties, avis en sera donné à l'administration qui a accordé la licence pour le satellite ou pour la station terrestre responsable de l'interférence. Les deux administrations analyseront les données du signal interférant, elles se consulteront sur les solutions possibles et elles s'efforceront de trouver un accord sur les mesures à prendre pour éliminer l'interférence.

Article VIII — SSF et autorisations connexes

  1. Le Canada convient de permettre aux satellites auquel a été attribuée une licence de l'Argentine de fournir des signaux SSF à destination, en provenance et à l'intérieur du Canada, sous réserve que soient respectées les dispositions du paragraphe 1.1 de l'article IV de l'Accord. Pour pouvoir obtenir une licence au Canada pour émettre et/ou recevoir des signaux SSF au moyen de satellites auxquels l'une ou l'autre partie a attribué une licence, (y compris les licences pour les stations terrestres canadiennes d'émission/réception ou de réception seulement communiquant avec lesdits satellites), les entités requérantes doivent se conformer aux lois, aux règlements, aux politiques et aux procédures canadiennes applicables.
  2. L'Argentine convient de permettre aux satellites auxquels a été attribué une licence du Canada de fournir des signaux SSF à destination, en provenance et à l'intérieur de l'Argentine, sous réserve que soient respectées les conditions fixées au paragraphe 1.2 de l'article IV de l'Accord. Pour pouvoir obtenir une licence en Argentine pour émettre et/ou recevoir des signaux SSF au moyen de satellites auxquels l'une ou l'autre partie a attribué une licence, (y compris les licences pour les stations terrestres argentines d'émission/réception ou de réception seulement communiquant avec lesdits satellites), les entités requérantes doivent se conformer aux lois, aux règlements, aux politiques et aux procédures argentines applicables.

Article IX — Entrée en vigueur, amendement et dénonciation

  1. Le présent Protocole entre en vigueur au moment de sa signature par les deux parties; il le demeure tant que l'Accord est en vigueur.
  2. L'annexe au présent Protocole peut être amendée par échange de lettres entre les administrations.
  3. Malgré le paragraphe 1, le présent Protocole peut, par accord mutuel entre les parties, être remplacé par un nouveau, ou il peut être éteint ou dénoncé conformément à l'article XI de l'Accord.
  4. La dénonciation du présent Protocole prend effet six mois après réception de sa notification.
  5. En cas d'extinction du présent Protocole, les administrations ont chacune le pouvoir discrétionnaire de résilier toute licence attribuée sur son fondement.

En foi de quoi, les représentants respectifs ont signé le présent Protocole.

Fait en double exemplaire à , ce 17e jour d'octobre 2000, en langues française, anglaise et espagnole, chaque version faisant également foi.

Champ de saisie de la signature
Pour le Gouvernement du Canada
Champ de saisie de la signature
Pour le Gouvernement de la République argentine

Annexe

  1. L'Article V du présent Protocole porte sur les bandes de fréquences suivantes :

    Bandes de fréquences du SFS
    Fréquences montantes Fréquences descendantes
    5,925 – 6,425 GHz 3,700 – 4,200 GHz
    14,0 – 14,5 GHz 11,7 – 12,2 GHz
    12,75 – 13,25 GHz 10,70 – 10,95 GHz
    11,20 – 11,45 GHz
    13,75 – 14,00 GHz 11,45 – 11,70 GHz
    10,95 – 11,20 GHz
    27,50 – 30,00 GHz 17,70 – 20,20 GHz
  2. Conformément au paragraphe 4 de l'article VI du Protocole, l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences énumérées ci-dessus, sur le territoire d'une partie, doit être conforme aux lois, aux règlements, aux politiques et aux procédures canadiens et argentins applicables, aux conditions fixées par le Protocole et aux tableaux nationaux respectifs d'affectation de fréquences, et elle doit tenir compte des systèmes actuellement en exploitation dans ces bandes de fréquences et de tout accord international applicable contracté par les parties.
  3. Le Protocole ne s'applique pas aux fréquences ne figurant pas au tableau ci-dessus.
Date de modification :