Archived—Notice No. DGTP-009-00

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-009-00Proposed Spectrum Policy for Licence Exempt Wireless Devices in the Bands 46.7-46.9 GHz, 57-64 GHz and 76-77 GHz

The purpose of this Notice is to invite public comments on spectrum policy proposals for the introduction of new licence exempt wireless devices in the frequency bands 46.7-46.9 GHz, 57-64 GHz and 76-77 GHz. These bands may support a wide range of innovative licence exempt (LE) products, services and applications. Of particular interest is the provisioning of short range high capacity wireless communication devices for the delivery of multimedia applications in the 59-64 GHz band, and commercial vehicle mounted field disturbance sensors for vehicle radiolocation (radar) applications in the bands 46.7-46.9 GHz and 76-77 GHz. The consultation on the introduction of these devices includes proposals for the technical provisions which would be incorporated in Radio Standards Specifications 210 (RSS-210).

Industry Canada will pursue its policy formulation activity regarding LE devices taking into account the developments in other countries with respect to these devices and applications. Given that a number of administrations have already made provisions for these types of licence exempt devices for consumer applications, the Department expects to move quickly on this issue.

The document entitled Proposed Spectrum Policy for Licence Exempt Wireless Devices in the bands 46.7-46.9 GHz, 57-64 GHz and 76-77 GHz is available for public comment. These comments will provide the basis for the adoption of spectrum policy provisions and technical standards. This document is available electronically on the Internet at the following address:

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home

or can be obtained in hard copy (for a fee), from:

Organization:
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Address:
2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7 Canada
toll-free telephone: 
1-800-267-4862
United States toll-free telephone: 
1-800-574-0137
Worldwide telephone: 
613-822-0740
Facsimile: 
613-822-1089

and

Organization:
DLS, St-Joseph Print Group Inc.
Address:
45 Sacré-CoeurBoulevard Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7 Canada
toll-free telephone:
 1-888-562-5561
Canada toll-free facsimile: 
1-800-565-7757
Worldwide telephone:
 819-779-4335
Worldwide facsimile:
 819-779-2833

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments on the Consultation Paper issued through this Notice. To ensure that all comments are duly considered, submissions must be received no later than January 8, 2001. All comments will be posted on the Industry Canada spectrum Web site (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home). Shortly after the close of the comment period, all submissions received will also be available in hard copy, for a fee, from the addresses listed above.

Interested parties are encouraged to submit their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the department's Web site. Documents submitted should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All comments should make reference to "Comments - Gazette Notice DGTP-009-00" and be sent to DGTP-DSRS@ic.gc.ca. Written submissions must be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. They must cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, the title and the Notice reference number (DGTP-009-00).

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-009-00

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-009-00Politique du spectre proposée pour les dispositifs sans fil exempts de licence dans les bandes 46,7-46,9 GHz,57-64 GHz et 76-77 GHz

Le présent avis a pour objet d'inviter le public à faire connaître son opinion sur les propositions de politique du spectre concernant l'introduction de nouveaux dispositifs sans fil exempts de licence dans les bandes de fréquences 46,7-46,9 GHz, 57-64 GHz et 76-77 GHz. Ces bandes peuvent accueillir un large éventail de produits, services et applications innovateurs exempts de licence (EL). La fourniture de dispositifs de communication sans fil de courte portée et à grande capacité pour l'exploitation d'applications multimédia dans la bande 59-64 GHz et les détecteurs de perturbation de champ montés à bord des véhicules commerciaux destinés à des applications de radiolocalisation (radar) des véhicules dans les bandes 46,7-46,9 GHz et 76-77 GHz présente un intérêt particulier. La consultation relative à l'introduction de ces dispositifs comprend des propositions de dispositions techniques qui seraient intégrées au Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 210 (CNR-210).

Industrie Canada poursuivra ses activités d'élaboration de politiques relatives aux dispositifs EL en tenant compte des progrès de ces dispositifs et applications dans les autres pays. Étant donné qu'un certain nombre d'administrations ont déjà pris des mesures relativement à ces types de dispositifs exempts de licence pour des applications utilisées par le public, le Ministère prévoit prendre rapidement des dispositions à cet égard.

Le document intitulé Politique du spectre proposée pour les dispositifs sans fil exempts de licence dans les bandes 46,7-46,9 GHz, 57-64 GHz et 76-77 GHz est à la disposition du public pour commentaires. Les commentaires reçus constitueront la base en vue de l'adoption de dispositions d'une politique du spectre et de normes techniques. Ce document est disponible sous forme électronique à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

ou on peut en obtenir un exemplaire imprimé (moyennant paiement) auprès de :

epic action="include" file="EDUL-8XCHZE" title="Notice - Paper Copies: Address 2/l'Addresse: Documents papier 2">

Invitation à présenter des observations

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à faire connaître leur opinion et leurs observations sur le document de consultation annoncé par le présent avis. Afin que tous les commentaires soient examinés avec le soin qui leur est dû, les présentations doivent être transmises au plus tard le 8 janvier 2001. Tous les commentaires seront publiés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre d'Industrie Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre). Peu après la fin de la période de commentaire, tous les commentaires reçus seront aussi disponibles sous forme imprimée, moyennant paiement, aux adresses données ci-dessus.

Les intéressés sont invités à présenter leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou .txt ASCII) afin de faciliter la publication sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents transmis devraient être communiqués avec une note précisant le nom du logiciel, sa version et le système d'exploitation utilisé. Tous les commentaires doivent être adressés à « Commentaires - Avis de la Gazette DGTP-009-00 » et être envoyés à DGTP-DSRS@ic.gc.ca. Les commentaires écrits doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Direction de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8. Les intervenants doivent indiquer la date de publication du présent avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, son titre ainsi que le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-009-00).

Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Directeur général
Gestion du spectre

R.W. McCaughern

Date de modification :