Archived — Notice No. DGRB-001-01

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Amendments to the Technical Requirements set out in the Radiocommunication Information Circular 2 (RIC-2), "Standards for the Operation of Radio Stations in the Amateur Radio Service"

Notice No. DGRB-001-01 — A Proposal to Grant Full Operating Privileges in all Amateur Radio Frequency Bands Below 30 MHz to Amateur Radio Operators Holding a 5 word per minute (w.p.m.) Morse Code Qualification

Introduction

In accordance with the Radiocommunication Regulations, made pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act, the Amateur Radio Service is "… a radiocommunication service in which radio apparatus are used for the purpose of self-training, intercommunication or technical investigation by individuals who are interested in radio technique solely with a personal aim and without pecuniary interest."

Amateur radio operators enjoy communicating domestically and worldwide with other amateur radio operators. They experiment with various radio modulation techniques ranging from elementary modes involving the on-off transmission of continuous wave (CW) radio emissions using the International Morse code, to more complex emissions such as slow scan television and packet radio communication techniques. The amateur radio service is, by virtue of the potential for global propagation of amateur signals in high frequency (HF) bands, an international service, and it is governed internationally by regulations of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), of which Canada is a signatory nation. ITU regulations require that all amateur radio operators be familiar with the International Morse code in order to use frequencies below 30 MHz.

Industry Canada has recently received a number of petitions from individuals who contend that the current regulatory requirement for maintaining an operator proficiency in the transmission and reception of Morse code at a speed of 12 words per minute can no longer be justified. Their view is that CW is an outdated modulation technique and that proficiency in the Morse code should no longer be the basis upon which amateurs are granted enhanced operating privileges. Many have also questioned the logic of maintaining a regulatory regime whereby operator proficiency in the Morse code is the standard applied in order to grant Canadian amateurs enhanced operating privileges in telephony.

Over the years, officials of the Department have worked with amateur radio operators and their organizations to foster the development of the service. As part of this effort, the Department consults with the amateur community through regular meetings with Radio Amateurs of Canada Inc. (RAC), the national association representing Canadian amateurs. The issue of the Morse code requirement was brought forward by RAC during the April 27, 2000 meeting of the Canadian Amateur Radio Advisory Board. A formal proposal to eliminate the 12 w.p.m. Morse code requirement in order to grant amateurs full HF operating privileges on frequencies below 30 MHz was received by Industry Canada in a letter from RAC dated June 15th, 2000.

In that letter, the RAC noted that:

"this proposal would give Canadian radio amateurs operating privileges similar to those currently accorded to United States amateurs who successfully pass a 5 w.p.m. Morse test". RAC also emphasized the "ongoing debate in the amateur radio community concerning the validity of the retention of the international radio regulations' requirement for Morse Code competency for operation below 30 MHz., given the (recent) removal of Morse for international maritime communications and its declining use by government and military organizations. A number of administrations have proposed that a review of the international regulations governing the Amateur Services be placed on the agenda of the World Radio Conference scheduled for 2003. The Proposed review is supported by the International Amateur Radio Union, which has consulted with its member organizations in over 180 countries during the past four years".

The letter also pointed out that:

"RAC has consulted with the Canadian Amateur Community in various ways including web site surveys, message boards, analysis of e-mail and postal correspondence and letters to the editor of The Canadian Amateur magazine, as well as on-the-air discussions and fora. It is evident that a majority of Canadian Amateurs are supportive of dropping the 12 w.p.m. test."

Apart from the international trend to amend the ITU Radio Regulations, many European countries including the United Kingdom, as well as the United States, Australia and South Africa, have decided to decrease their Morse code proficiency requirements or are currently considering such action. A decision by Canada to reduce the 12 w.p.m. Morse code qualification would be consistent with what is happening in other parts of the world and would therefore simplify the process of implementing reciprocal operating agreements for Canadian amateurs with other administrations.

Proposal

In light of the foregoing, Industry Canada proposes that Radio Information Circular 2 (RIC-2), Standards for the Operation of Radio Stations in the Amateur Radio Service be amended to remove the requirement that amateur radio operators hold the 12 w.p.m Morse code qualification to operate an amateur radio station on frequencies below 30 MHz. It is also proposed that RIC-2 be amended so that full operating privileges in all amateur bands will be granted to amateur radio operators holding the basic and 5 w.p.m. morse code qualification.

Industry Canada invites comments, preferably in electronic format, from all interested parties. Submissions should be addressed to the Chief, Authorization, at the following Internet address:

dospaa@ic.gc.ca

Submissions can also be sent by mail to the Chief, Authorization, Spectrum Management Operations Directorate, Room 1588D, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. To ensure consideration of comments, submissions must be received within 60 days of the date of publication of this Notice. All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette Part 1 Notice publication date, title and the Notice reference number.

All submissions received in response to this Notice will be made available for public viewing on Industry Canada's web site noted below.

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGRB-001-01

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Modifications apportées aux exigences techniques énoncées dans la Circulaire d'information sur les radiocommunications 2 (CIR-2), « Normes sur l'exploitation des stations radio autorisées dans le service de radioamateur »

Avis nº DGRB-001-01 — Proposition visant à accorder aux radioamateurs titulaires d'un certificat avec compétence en morse de 5 mots/minute (m.p.m.) de pleins privilèges d'exploitation dans toutes les bandes de fréquences du service de radioamateur au-dessous de 30 MHz

Introduction

Conformément au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, pris en application de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le service de radioamateur est un «  …service de radiocommunication qui a pour objet l'utilisation d'appareils radio pour la formation personnelle, l'intercommunication ou les recherches techniques par des individus qui s'intéressent à la radiotechnique uniquement à des fins personnelles et sans but lucratif ».

Les radioamateurs aiment communiquer avec d'autres radioamateurs au pays et partout dans le monde. Ils utilisent diverses techniques de modulation radio allant des modes élémentaires, qui comprennent la modulation par tout ou rien d'ondes radio entretenues en faisant appel au code morse international, à des modes plus complexes, comme les techniques de communication utilisées pour la télévision à balayage lent et la radiocommunication par paquets. Le service de radioamateur est, en raison du potentiel de propagation mondiale de signaux d'amateur dans les bandes de hautes fréquences (HF), un service international, et il est régi à l'échelle internationale par le règlement de l'Union international des télécommunications (UIT), dont le Canada est un pays membre. Le règlement de l'UIT exige que tous les radioamateurs connaissent le code morse international pour utiliser les fréquences inférieures à 30 MHz.

Industrie Canada a récemment reçu un certain nombre de pétitions de personnes soutenant que l'exigence actuelle de la réglementation selon laquelle un opérateur doit posséder une compétence en morse de 12 mots/minute pour l'émission et la réception n'est plus justifiée. Ces personnes considèrent que la technique de modulation en ondes entretenues est périmée et que la compétence en morse ne devrait plus être un critère de base pour l'attribution aux amateurs de privilèges d'exploitation accrus. Bon nombre de personnes ont aussi mis en doute le bien-fondé du maintien d'un régime de réglementation dans lequel la compétence en matière d'utilisation du morse constitue la norme appliquée pour l'attribution de privilèges accrus aux amateurs canadiens dans le domaine de la téléphonie.

Au fil des ans, les représentants du Ministère ont travaillé en collaboration avec les radioamateurs et leurs organisations pour promouvoir le développement du service. Dans le cadre de cet effort, le Ministère consulte la collectivité des radioamateurs en tenant des réunions périodiques avec l'association Radio Amateurs du Canada Inc. (RAC), l'association nationale qui représente les radioamateurs canadiens. La question de l'exigence relative au code morse a été soulevée par la RAC à la réunion du 27 avril 2000 du Comité consultatif sur la radio amateur canadienne. Une proposition officielle visant à éliminer l'exigence de compétence en morse de 12 mots/minute pour l'attribution aux amateurs de pleins privilèges d'exploitation des fréquences HF au-dessous de 30 MHz a été reçue par Industrie Canada dans une lettre provenant de la RAC et datée du 15 juin 2000.

La traduction des observations faites par la RAC dans cette lettre est fournie ci-dessous :

« l'acceptation de cette proposition donnerait aux radioamateurs canadiens des privilèges d'exploitation similaires à ceux qui sont donnés actuellement aux radioamateurs américains qui réussissent un test de morse à 5 mots/minute ». La RAC soulignait également le « débat actuel dans la collectivité des radioamateurs sur le bien-fondé du maintien de l'exigence du règlement international sur les radiocommunications relative à une compétence en morse pour l'exploitation aux fréquences au-dessous de 30 MHz, compte tenu de l'élimination (récente) du morse dans les communications maritimes internationales et de son utilisation décroissante par les organisations gouvernementales et militaires. Un certain nombre d'administrations ont proposé qu'un examen du règlement international régissant les services de radioamateur soit mis à l'ordre du jour de la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications prévue en 2003. La proposition d'examen est appuyée par l'Union internationale des radio-amateurs, qui a consulté ses organisations membres dans plus de 180 pays au cours des quatre dernières années. »

La lettre soulignait également que la :

« RAC a consulté la collectivité des radioamateurs canadiens de diverses façons, notamment par des sondages sur le site Web, des babillards électroniques, l'analyse de courrier électronique, la correspondance postale et l'envoi de lettres au rédacteur en chef de la revue The Canadian Amateur, ainsi que par des discussions en ondes et des forums. Il est évident qu'une majorité de radioamateurs canadiens sont en faveur de l'élimination du test de 12 mots/minute. »

En plus de la tendance observée à l'échelle internationale ayant trait à la modification du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT, bon nombre de pays européens, y compris le Royaume-Uni, de même que les États-Unis, l'Australie et l'Afrique du Sud, ont décidé de réduire leurs exigences relatives aux compétences en morse ou envisagent actuellement de le faire. Une décision du Canada à l'effet de réduire l'exigence de compétence en morse qui est actuellement de 12 mots/minute serait conforme à ce qui se fait ailleurs et simplifierait par conséquent le processus de mise en oeuvre, avec d'autres administrations, des accords d'exploitation réciproques visant les amateurs canadiens.

Proposition

Pour les raisons susmentionnées, Industrie Canada propose que la Circulaire d'information sur les radiocommunications 2 (CIR-2), Normes sur l'exploitation des stations radio autorisées dans le service de radioamateur, soit modifiée de façon à éliminer l'exigence en vertu de laquelle les opérateurs radioamateurs doivent posséder une compétence en morse de 12 mots/minute pour exploiter une station de radioamateur dans les fréquences au-dessous de 30 MHz. Il est également proposé que la CIR-2 soit modifiée de façon à ce que de pleins privilèges d'utilisation soient accordés, dans toutes les bandes réservées aux amateurs, aux opérateurs radioamateurs possédant la compétence de base et la compétence en morse de 5 mots/minute.

Industrie Canada invite tous les intéressés à faire part de leurs observations, de préférence sous forme électronique. Les observations doivent être envoyées au Chef de l'autorisation, à l'adresse Internet suivante :

dospaa@ic.gc.ca

On peut aussi utiliser le courrier et envoyer ses observations au Chef de l'autorisation, Direction de l'Exploitation de la gestion du spectre, à la pièce 1588D, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8. Pour qu'elles soient toutes prises en considération, les observations doivent être reçues par le Ministère dans les 60 jours suivant la date de publication du présent avis. Toutes les observations doivent indiquer la date de publication du présent avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, son titre et son numéro de référence.

Toutes les observations reçues en réponse au présent avis seront mises à la disposition du public, qui pourra les consulter sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada dont l'adresse est indiquée ci-après :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil

Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

Jan Skora

Date de modification :