Letter of Understanding Between the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and Industry Canada Related to the Use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz and 470-806 MHz Bands for the Digital Television Broadcasting Service Along the Common Border

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy
Terrestrial Broadcasting Agreements and Arrangements/
Terrestrial Radiocommunication Agreements and Arrangements

Note

All persons making use of this consolidation are reminded that the documents included herein are provided only for convenience of reference. This consolidation is for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. The information contained in this document is subject to change without notice. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. For more details, please contact the Spectrum Engineering Branch.

All notes in square brackets [ ] were added for clarification purposes.

Prepared by:

Industry Canada
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

via email: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All spectrum publications are available on the Internet at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Publication Date: January 2001


Letter of Understanding Between the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and Industry Canada Related to the Use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz and 470-806 MHz Bands for the Digital Television Broadcasting Service Along the Common Border

Considering that there is currently in effect an Agreement Between the Government of the United States of America and the Government of Canada Relating to the TV Broadcasting Service, Nov. 3, 1993 - Jan. 5, 1994 (the existing Agreement);

Considering that discussions have taken place between the Federal Communications Commission and Industry Canada (hereafter the "Administrations") on the use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz and 470- 806 MHz bands to permit television broadcasting services utilizing digital techniques along the common border;

Considering that the Federal Communications Commission released a United States (U.S.) Table of Allotments for digital television (DTV) on February 23, 1998, and that Industry Canada released a Canadian DTV Transition Allotment Plan in a Canada Gazette Notice dated April 24, 1999;

Considering that there is general agreement by both Administrations that the entries contained in the two Tables of Allotments are deemed mutually acceptable, and that both the Federal Communications Commission and Industry Canada are prepared to bring into service DTV stations listed therein; and

Considering that allocations have been made to other services in the 470-806 MHz band,

The representatives of the Federal Communications Commission and Industry Canada have reached the following understanding on the use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz and 470- 806 MHz bands within 400 kilometers of the common border:

1. This letter of understanding is subject to the existing Agreement. The existing Agreement, therefore, will apply to relations between analog stations in the two countries. Insofar as the existing Agreement was not intended to govern digital stations, this understanding will apply to relations between analog and digital stations or allotments and between digital stations or allotments.

2. Each DTV allotment in the Plan contained in Appendix 1 was examined to determine if it is mutually acceptable. Some of the allotments did not meet the requirements of the distance separation tables in Appendix 2, but were deemed to be acceptable. All proposed allotments of both countries were accepted, although, in a few cases, acceptance was based on adjustments noted in the Plan. The procedure used in arriving at their acceptance is shown in Appendix 3.

3. When an Administration intends to implement a DTV allotment that is listed in the Plan, and the proposed parametersFootnote * do not exceed those specified in the Plan, then the initiating Administration will notify the other Administration, by registered mail or mutually accepted electronic means, that it is implementing that DTV allotment. The notified parameters will be considered to be already approved and operation of the notified parameters may begin 21 days after the date on which the notification is sent.

4. When an Administration intends to implement a DTV allotment that is listed in the Plan, and the proposed parameters exceed those specified in the Plan, but meet the spacing requirements in Appendix 2 that are consistent with the modified parameters, then the initiating Administration will notify the other Administration, by registered mail or mutually accepted electronic means, that it is implementing that DTV allotment. The notified parameters will be considered to be approved unless the affected Administration objects, stating the reason for the objection, within 21 days of the date on which the notification is sent. In the case of an objection, discussions to resolve the situation will follow.

5. When an Administration intends to implement a DTV allotment that is listed in the Plan, and the proposed parameters exceed those specified in the Plan, but do not meet the spacing requirements in Appendix 2, then the initiating Administration will notify the other Administration, by registered mail or mutually accepted electronic means, that it intends to implement that DTV allotment. A study using pertinent HAAT obtained from terrain data and TV propagation curves will be performed. If the study shows interference, then a study using the Longley- Rice propagation model will be performed. The appropriate terrain data and Longley-Rice model are specified in Appendix 2. Such studies may take into account additional relevant technical factors, including actual antenna patterns and beam tilting. The results of any studies will be included with the notification.

  1. Operation of the notified parameters may begin only after a favorable response is received, or there is no response within the time period specified in subparagraph b below.
  2. A response to the notification will be delivered within forty-five (45) days from the date of receipt; if no response is received by the end of the forty-five (45) day period, it will be assumed by the notifying Administration that the notification has been approved
  3. If the receiving Administration objects to a notification, the reasons for the objection will be given. While all requests will be judged for acceptability on a case-by-case basis and every attempt will be made to reasonably accommodate requests, the Administrations agree that changes that result in new interference to any station or allotment which affects the population or area coverage by 2% or less, provided that the cumulative interference into the affected station or allotment is not excessive, will generally be deemed acceptable.

6. When an Administration intends to implement a DTV allotment that is new (not listed in the Plan) and meets the spacing requirements in Appendix 2, the initiating Administration will notify the other Administration, by registered mail or mutually accepted electronic means, that it intends to implement that new DTV allotment. The notified parameters will be considered to be approved unless the affected Administration objects, stating the reason for the objection, within 21 days of the date the notification is sent. In the case of an objection, discussions to resolve the situation will follow.

7. When an Administration intends to implement a DTV allotment that is new (not listed in the Plan) and does not meet the spacing requirements in Appendix 2, the initiating Administration will notify the other Administration, by registered mail or mutually accepted electronic means, that it intends to implement that new DTV allotment. A study using pertinent HAAT obtained from terrain data and TV propagation curves will be performed. If that study shows interference, then a study using the Longley-Rice propagation model will be performed. The appropriate terrain data and Longley-Rice model are specified in Appendix 2. Such studies may take into account additional relevant technical factors, including actual antenna patterns and beam tilting. The results of any studies will be included with the notification.

  1. Operation with the notified parameters may begin only after a favorable response is received, unless there is no response within the time period specified in subparagraph b below.
  2. A response to the notification will be delivered within forty-five (45) days from the date of receipt; if no response is received by the end of the forty-five (45) day period, it will be assumed by the notifying Administration that the notification has been approved.
  3. If the receiving Administration objects to a notification, the reasons for the objection will be given. While all requests will be judged for acceptability on a case-by-case basis and every attempt will be made to reasonably accommodate requests, the Administrations agree that changes that result in new interference to any station or allotment which affects the population or area coverage by 2% or less, provided that the cumulative interference into the affected station or allotment is not excessive, will generally be deemed acceptable.

8. For responses under paragraphs 4 through 7, if an Administration is unable to complete its evaluation of a notification within the deadlines specified, it may request an extension of up to 30 days.

9. When an Administration wants to implement a DTV allotment to which an objection is timely filed pursuant to paragraphs 4 through 7, coordination between the Administrations will be required.

10. When a new allotment or a modification to an existing allotment is accepted, the Plan will be updated accordingly.

11. Future Accommodation of Out-of-Core Allotments

Considering that some stations have allotments in spectrum that is designated or planned to be recovered for other uses, i.e., TV channels 52-69 in the US, and Canada is also independently considering a reduction of the spectrum allocated to television after cessation of analog operation, both Administrations agree to continue to review the entries in their respective DTV tables of allotments and to make reasonable efforts to accommodate such stations with new allotments, to the extent possible, during the transition and in the development of a revised post-transition Plan.

12. Low Power Analog or DTV Stations

As in the existing Agreement, low power television stations are secondary relative to regular power television stations. Proposed analog low power television stations within 32 km of the common border or digital low power television stations within 100 km of the common border will be referred to the other Administration for approval. They will also be referred if the pertinent interfering contour would fall within the territory of the other country. A response to the referral of a low power station proposal will be delivered within forty-five (45) days from the date of receipt; if no response is received by the end of the forty-five (45) day period, it will be assumed by the notifying Administration that the proposal has been approved.

13. Additional Allocations or Services

Until a separate agreement is reached on non-broadcast uses, such new services shall not claim protection from DTV stations or analog TV stations established in accordance with the existing Agreement. Furthermore, such services in the 746-806 MHz band shall provide a protection ratio of 40 dB to co-channel and 0 dB to adjacent channel analog TV, and 17 dB to co-channel and -23 dB to adjacent channel DTV. Protection is to the 64 dBμV/m contour of analog TV stations and the 41 dBμV/m contour of DTV stations and is based on interference at 50% of locations no more than 10% of the time.

14. For the purpose of calculating interference, the basic principles specified in paragraphs 3.1.2 and 3.1.3 of the existing Agreement will apply.

This Letter of Understanding will be effective upon signature by both parties.

This Letter of Understanding will remain in effect until the entry into force of a binding bilateral agreement, or until notice of termination is given by either Administration.

FOR THE FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
FOR INDUSTRY CANADA
space to insert signature
William E. Kennard
Chairman
Federal Communications Commission
space to insert signature
Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies & Telecommunications
Industry Canada

Washington, D.C.
September 12, 2000

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
September 22, 2000

Attachments:

Appendix 1 - The Plan

Appendix 2 - Planning and Separation Criteria

Appendix 3 - Initial Allotment Acceptance Procedure

Date modified:

Lettre d'entente entre la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d'Amérique et Industrie Canada concernant l'exploitation des bandes de fréquences 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz par le service de radiodiffusion télévisuelle numérique le long de la frontière américano-canadienne

Gestion du spectre et Politique des télécommunications
Accords et arrangements relatifs à la radiodiffusion de Terre/
Ententes et arrangements relatifs aux radiocommunications de Terre

Remarque

On rappelle aux lecteurs que les documents de la présente codification ont été réunis aux seules fins d'en faciliter la consultation. La présente codification est un guide à l'intention des personnes qui s'occupent de radiocommunications au Canada. Les renseignements contenus dans la présente codification peuvent être modifiés sans préavis. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour en assurer l'exactitude, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou implicitement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction du génie du spectre.

Toute remarque mise entre crochets [ ] a été ajoutée pour apporter des précisions.

Préparé par :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

par courrier électronique : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

Toutes les publications de la gestion du spectre sont disponibles sur l'Internet à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Date de publication : janvier 2001


Lettre d'entente entre la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d'Amerique et Industrie Canada concernant l'exploitation des bandes de fréquences 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz par le service de radiodiffusion télévisuelle numérique le long de la fontière américano-canadienne

Considérant qu'il y a déjà une entente en vigueur, intitulée Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique relatif au service de radiodiffusion télévisuelle (3 nov. 1993, 5 janv. 1994) (l'Accord existant);

Considérant que des discussions ont eu lieu entre la Federal Communications Commission et Industrie Canada (ci-après appelés les Administrations) relativement à l'exploitation des bandes 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz aux fins des services de radiodiffusion télévisuelle en mode numérique le long de la frontière entre les deux pays;

Considérant que la Federal Communications Commission a publié un tableau américain (É.-U.) d'allotissements pour la télévision numérique (TVN) le 23 février 1998, et qu'Industrie Canada a publié un plan canadien d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique dans un avis dans la Gazette du Canada daté du 24 avril 1999;

Considérant que les deux Administrations reconnaissent d'un commun accord que les entrées dans les deux tableaux d'allotissements sont acceptables pour les deux parties, et que la Federal Communications Commission et Industrie Canada sont prêts à mettre en service les stations TVN énumérées dans la présente; et

Considérant qu'il y a eu des attributions à d'autres services dans la bande 470-806 MHz;

Les représentants de la Federal Communications Commission et d'Industrie Canada sont arrivés à l'entente ci-dessous concernant l'exploitation des bandes 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz en-deçà de 400 km de la frontière commune :

1. La présente lettre d'entente est soumise aux dispositions de l'Accord existant. En conséquence, l'Accord existant continuera de s'appliquer aux rapports entre les stations analogiques des deux pays. Étant donné que l'Accord existant n'a pas été conçu pour régir les stations numériques, la présente entente s'appliquera aux rapports entre les stations ou allotissements analogiques et les stations ou allotissements numériques et aux rapports entre les stations ou allotissements numériques.

2. Chaque allotissement TVN du Plan présenté à l'annexe 1 a fait l'objet d'un examen pour établir s'il était acceptable par les deux parties. Certains allotissements ne respectaient pas les dispositions des tableaux de distances d'espacement de l'annexe 2, mais ont toutefois été jugés acceptables. Tous les allotissements proposés par les deux pays ont été acceptés, mais, dans quelques cas, l'acception est soumise aux modifications notées dans le Plan. Les étapes qui ont mené à l'acceptation des allotissements proposés sont décrites à l'annexe 3.

3. Quand une Administration compte mettre en oeuvre un allotissement TVN inscrit dans le Plan, et que les paramètres proposésNote de bas de page * ne dépassent pas les valeurs spécifiées dans le Plan, cette Administration doit aviser l'autre Administration, par courrier recommandé ou par un moyen électronique acceptable par les deux parties, qu'elle met en oeuvre l'allotissement TVN. Les paramètres indiqués dans l'avis sont considérés comme déjà approuvés, et l'exploitation fondée sur ces paramètres peut débuter 21 jours après l'envoi de l'avis.

4. Quand une Administration compte mettre en oeuvre un allotissement TVN inscrit dans le Plan, et que les paramètres proposés dépassent les valeurs spécifiées dans le Plan, mais respectent les exigences d'espacement de l'annexe 2 associées aux paramètres modifiés, cette Administration doit aviser l'autre Administration, par courrier recommandé ou par un moyen électronique acceptable par les deux parties, qu'elle met en oeuvre l'allotissement TVN. Les paramètres indiqués dans l'avis sont considérés comme approuvés, sauf si l'Administration touchée s'y oppose en donnant les raisons de son opposition dans les 21 jours suivant l'envoi de l'avis. En cas d'opposition, des discussions sont engagées pour régler le différend.

5. Quand une Administration compte mettre en oeuvre un allotissement TVN inscrit dans le Plan, et que les paramètres proposés dépassent les valeurs spécifiées dans le Plan et ne respectent pas les exigences d'espacement de l'annexe 2, cette Administration doit aviser l'autre Administration, par courrier recommandé ou par un moyen électronique acceptable par les deux parties, qu'elle compte mettre en oeuvre l'allotissement TVN. Une étude fondée sur la HASM pertinente, calculée à partir de données de terrain, et sur les courbes de propagation TV doit être réalisée. Si l'étude fait état de brouillage, une nouvelle étude, fondée sur le modèle de propagation Longley-Rice, doit être effectuée. Les données de terrain pertinentes et le modèle Longley-Rice figurent à l'annexe 2. Les résultats de l'étude ou des études doivent accompagner l'avis.

  1. L'exploitation fondée sur les paramètres proposés dans l'avis peut débuter seulement après la réception d'une réponse favorable ou si aucune réponse n'est reçue dans les délais spécifiés au sous-alinéa b ci-dessous.
  2. La réponse à l'avis doit être fournie dans un délai de quarante-cinq (45) jours suivant la réception de l'avis. Si aucune réponse n'est reçue à la fin de cette période de quarante-cinq (45) jours, l'Administration notifiante considérera l'avis comme accepté.
  3. Si l'Administration notifiée s'oppose à l'avis, elle doit donner les raisons de son opposition. L'examen des allotissements visés par ces avis se fait au cas par cas et les Administrations s'efforceront de répondre favorablement aux demandes. À cet effet, les Administrations conviennent que toute modification qui cause, à toute station ou allotissement, un nouveau brouillage touchant 2 % ou moins de la population ou de la zone de couverture, sous réserve que le brouillage cumulatif de la station ou de l'allotissement touché ne soit pas excessif, sera normalement considérée comme acceptable.

6. Quand une Administration compte mettre en oeuvre un nouvel allotissement TVN (non inscrit dans le Plan) qui respecte les exigences d'espacement de l'annexe 2, cette Administration doit aviser l'autre Administration, par courrier recommandé ou par un moyen électronique acceptable par les deux parties, qu'elle compte mettre en oeuvre le nouvel allotissement TVN. Les paramètres indiqués dans l'avis doivent être considérés comme approuvés, sauf si l'Administration touchée s'y oppose en donnant les raisons de son opposition dans les 21 jours suivant l'envoi de l'avis. En cas d'opposition par l'Administration touchée, des discussions sont alors engagées pour régler le différend.

7. Quand une Administration compte mettre en oeuvre un nouvel allotissement TVN (non inscrit dans le Plan) qui ne respecte pas les exigences d'espacement de l'annexe 2, cette Administration doit aviser l'autre Administration, par courrier recommandé ou par un moyen électronique acceptable par les deux parties, qu'elle compte mettre en oeuvre le nouvel allotissement TVN. Une étude fondée sur la HASM pertinente, calculée à partir de données de terrain, et sur les courbes de propagation TV doit être réalisée. Si l'étude fait état de brouillage, une nouvelle étude, fondée sur le modèle de propagation Longley- Rice, doit être effectuée. Les données de terrain pertinentes et le modèle Longley-Rice figurent à l'annexe 2. Ces études peuvent tenir compte de facteurs techniques supplémentaires pertinents, y compris les diagrammes de rayonnement d'antenne réels et l'inclinaison du faisceau. Les résultats de l'étude ou des études doivent accompagner l'avis.

  1. L'exploitation fondée sur les paramètres proposés dans l'avis peut débuter seulement après la réception d'une réponse favorable ou si aucune réponse n'est reçue dans les délais spécifiés au sous-alinéa b ci-dessous.
  2. La réponse à l'avis doit être fournie dans un délai de quarante-cinq (45) jours suivant la réception de l'avis. Si aucune réponse n'est reçue à la fin de cette période de quarante-cinq (45) jours, l'Administration notifiante considérera l'avis comme accepté.
  3. Si l'Administration notifiée s'oppose à l'avis, elle doit donner les raisons de son opposition. L'examen des allotissements visés par ces avis se fait au cas par cas et les Administrations s'efforceront de répondre favorablement aux demandes. À cet effet, les Administrations conviennent que toute modification qui cause, à toute station ou allotissement, un nouveau brouillage touchant 2 % ou moins de la population ou de la zone de couverture, sous réserve que le brouillage cumulatif de la station ou de l'allotissement touché ne soit pas excessif, sera normalement considérée comme acceptable.

8. Dans le cas des réponses aux avis donnés en vertu des alinéas 4 à 7, si l'Administration ne peut pas terminer son évaluation dans les délais prescrits, elle peut demander une prolongation d'une durée maximale de 30 jours.

9. Quand une Administration désire mettre en oeuvre un allotissement TVN faisant l'objet d'une opposition présentée dans les délais prescrits aux alinéas 4 à 7, l'allotissement doit faire l'objet d'une coordination entre les Administrations.

10. Quand un nouvel allotissement ou la modification d'un allotissement existant est accepté, le Plan est mis à jour en conséquence.

11. Prise en charge future des allotissements périmés

Étant donné que l'allotissement de certaines stations se trouve dans une bande de fréquences désignée à d'autres fins ou qui doit être désignée à d'autres fins, par exemple les canaux de télévision 52-69 aux É.-U., et que le Canada envisage de réduire le nombre de fréquences attribuées à la télévision après la cessation du service analogique, les deux Administrations conviennent de revoir régulièrement leur tableau d'allotissements TVN respectif et de faire tout effort raisonnable pour donner un nouvel allotissement à ces stations déplacées, dans la mesure du possible, pendant la période de transition et lors de l'élaboration d'un Plan révisé post-transition.

12. Stations analogiques ou TVN de faible puissance

Conformément à l'Accord existant, les stations de télévision de faible puissance sont exploitées à titre secondaire par rapport aux stations de télévision de puissance normale. Les stations de télévision analogiques de faible puissance proposées en-deçà de 32 km de la frontière commune et les stations de télévision numériques de faible puissance proposées en-deçà de 100 km de la frontière commune doivent être soumises à l'approbation de l'autre Administration. Les stations dont le contour de brouillage s'étend dans le pays voisin doivent également être approuvées par l'Administration du pays touché. La réponse à un avis donné relativement à une station de faible puissance doit être fournie dans un délai de quarante-cinq (45) jours suivant la réception de l'avis. Si aucune réponse n'est reçue à la fin de cette période de quarante-cinq (45) jours, l'Administration notifiante considérera l'avis comme accepté.

13. Attributions ou services additionnels

En attendant la signature d'un accord distinct sur l'exploitation des fréquences par des services autres que de radiodiffusion, ces nouveaux services ne peuvent pas demander de protection contre le brouillage que pourraient causer les stations de télévision analogiques ou les stations TVN mises en place conformément à l'Accord existant. De plus, les stations de ces services fonctionnant dans la bande 746-806 MHz doivent offrir un rapport de protection de 40 dB aux stations de télévision analogiques fonctionnant dans le même canal et de 0 dB aux stations de télévision analogiques fonctionnant dans un canal adjacent, de même qu'un rapport de protection de 17 dB aux stations TVN fonctionnant dans le même canal et de -23 dB aux stations TVN fonctionnant dans un canal adjacent. La protection doit être accordée jusqu'au contour de 64 dbμV/m des stations analogiques de télévision et jusqu'au contour de 41 dbμV/m des stations TVN, et elle doit se fonder sur un brouillage à 50 % des emplacements moins de 10 % du temps.

14. Les principes de base définis aux paragraphes 3.1.2 et 3.1.3 de l'Accord existant s'appliquent au calcul du brouillage.

La présente lettre d'entente entre en vigueur à la date de sa signature par les deux parties.

La présente lettre d'entente demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à l'entrée en vigueur d'un accord bilatéral ayant force obligatoire ou jusqu'à ce que l'une des deux Administrations la dénonce par voie de notification.

POUR LA FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
POUR INDUSTRIE CANADA

Le président
Federal Communications Commission

Le sous-ministre adjoint,
Spectre, technologies de l'information et télécommunications,
Industrie Canada
Champ de saisie de la signature
William E. Kennard

Washington (DC), États-Unis
12 septembre 2000

Champ de saisie de la signature
Michael Binder

Ottawa (Ontario), Canada
22 septembre 2000


Pièces jointes :

Annexe 1 - Le Plan

Annexe 2 - Critères de planification et d'espacement

Annexe 3 - Procédure d'approbation initiale des allotissements

Date de modification :