Changes to the 1991 Working Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America Relating to the FM Broadcasting Service

TBAA/TRAA
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy
Terrestrial Broadcasting Agreements and Arrangements/
Terrestrial Radiocommunication Agreements and Arrangements

Note

All persons making use of this consolidation are reminded that the documents included herein are provided only for convenience of reference. This consolidation is for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. The information contained in this document is subject to change without notice. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. For more details, please contact the Spectrum Engineering Branch.

All notes in square brackets [ ] were added for clarification purposes.

Prepared by:

Industry Canada
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

via e-mail: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All spectrum publications are available on the Internet at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Publication Date: February 2001

Canadian Embassy
Ambassade du Canada

No. UNEC 0195

Washington, D.C., July 9, 1997

Madam,

I have the honour to refer to your Note, dated July 9, 1997, with its attachment, which reads as follows:

"I have the honor to refer to the Exchange of Notes (November 26, 1990 and February 25, 1991) constituting an Agreement between the Government of the United States of America and the Government of Canada concerning the use of the 88 to 108 megahertz frequency band for frequency modulation broadcasting (FM) (hereinafter referred to as the "1991 Agreement") and to discussions between representatives of both Governments concerning revisions to the Working Arrangement "Working Arrangement for the allotment and assignment of FM broadcasting channels under the Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America relating to the FM broadcasting service", which forms an integral part of that Agreement. In the interests of improved use of the FM Broadcasting Band, I propose that certain provisions of the Working Arrangement for the allotment and assignment of FM broadcasting channels be amended in accordance with the attachment to this Note.

Accordingly, I propose that this Note, with its attachment, and your affirmative reply, shall constitute an Agreement to amend the 1991 Agreement which shall enter into force on the date of your reply.

Accept, Excellency, the renewed assurances of my highest consideration."

I have the further honour to inform you that the Government of Canada accepts the proposals contained in your Note and attachment. Accordingly, your Note and this reply, which is equally authentic in English and French, shall constitute an Agreement to amend the 1991 Agreement which shall enter into force on the date of this Note.

Accept the renewed assurances of my highest consideration.

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY

Raymond Chrétien
Ambassador

Attachment: Amendment to the Working Arrangement

The Honourable Madeleine K. Albright
Secretary of State
Washington, D.C. 20520


Proposed Changes to the 1991 FM Working Arrangement

  1. In the Preamble, the date in the parentheses at the end of the first sentence which reads "1989" shall read "1991".
  2. In section 2.2.1, add a Class A1 with effective radiated power of 0.25 kilowatts and an antenna height above average terrain of 100 meters. Change the effective radiated power for Class A from 3 to 6 kilowatts. In the parenthetical expression, delete the last sentence beginning with "Canadian Class A1 shall…".
  3. In section 2.4, replace the table of "Minimum Distance Separation Requirements" with the attached table, and delete the last sentence of the text within parentheses, which begins with "Canadian Class A1 shall…".
  4. In section 3.5.2, the text within parentheses which reads "see 5.2.1" shall read "see 5.2.2.".
  5. In section 4.2, end the sentence after "300" and delete the rest of the current text.
  6. In section 4.3, change the effective radiated power from 50 to 250 watts and the interference contour from 32 to 60 km.
  7. In section 4.4, replace the existing text with " For coordination purposes, all proposals for such stations whose interference contour (34 dBu) would extend beyond the common border need to be referred for concurrence.".
  8. In sections 5.1.1 and 5.4, replace "the Department of Communications" with "Industry Canada".
  9. In section 5.2.2.1, add Class A1 with a field strength of 0.5 mV/m (54 dBu) and a maximum distance of 18 km. Change the maximum distance of Class A from 33 to 38 km. Delete the last sentence of the text within parentheses, which begins "Canadian Class A1 shall…".
  10. In section 5.2.2.3, add Class A1 to the classes listed.

2.4 Minimum Distance Separation

Minimum Distance Separation Requirements (In kilometres)

Maximum Distance Separation Requirements in km
Co-Channel Adjacent Channels I.F.
Relation 0 kHz 200 kHz 400 kHz 600 kHz 10.6/10.8 MHz
A1-A1 78 45 24 20 4
A1-A 131 78 44 40 7
A1-B1 164 98 57 53 9
A1-B 190 117 71 67 12
A1-C1 223 148 92 88 19
A1-C 227 162 103 99 26
A-A 151 98 51 42 10
A-B1 184 119 64 55 12
A-B 210 137 78 69 15
A-C1 243 168 99 90 22
A-C 247 182 110 101 29
B1-B1 197 131 70 57 24
B1-B 223 149 84 71 24
B1-C1 256 181 108 92 40
B1-C 259 195 116 103 40
B-B 237 164 94 74 24
B-C1 271 195 115 95 40
B-C 274 209 125 106 40
C1-C1 292 217 134 101 48
C1-C 302 230 144 111 48
C-C 306 241 153 113 48

(U.S. Class C2 shall be considered as Class B for the purposes of the above table.)

Date modified:

Modification à l'entente officieuse de 1991 entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique relative au service de radiodiffusion FM

ARRT/EART
Gestion du spectre et Politique des télécommunications
Accords et arrangements relatifs à la radiodiffusion de Terre/
Ententes et arrangements relatifs aux radiocommunications de Terre

On rappelle aux lecteurs que les documents de la présente codification ont été réunis aux seules fins d'en faciliter la consultation. La présente codification est un guide à l'intention des personnes qui s'occupent de radiocommunications au Canada. Les renseignements contenus dans la présente codification peuvent être modifiés sans préavis. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour en assurer l'exactitude, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou implicitement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction du génie du spectre.

Toute remarque mise entre crochets [ ] a été ajoutée pour apporter des précisions.

Préparé par :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la Réglementation des
radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

par courrier électronique : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de la gestion du spectre sont disponibles sur l'Internet à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Date de publication : février 2001

Canadian Embassy
Ambassade du Canada

no UNEC 0195

Washington, D.C., le 9 juillet 1997

Madame,

J'ai l'honneur de me référer à votre Note du 9 juillet 1997, avec la pièce qui y est annexée, et qui, en français, se lit comme suit :

« J'ai l'honneur de me référer à l'Échange de Notes (des 26 novembre 1990 et 25 février 1991) constituant un Accord entre le gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique et le gouvernement du Canada concernant l'utilisation de la bande de fréquences de 88 à 108 mégahertz pour la radiodiffusion en modulation de fréquence (FM) (ci-après dénommé « l'Accord de 1991 ») ainsi qu'aux entretiens qui ont eu lieu entre les représentants des deux gouvernements au sujet de la révision de l'Arrangement de travail « Entente officieuse relative à l'allotissement et à l'assignation des canaux de radiodiffusion FM selon l'Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique relatif au service de radiodiffusion FM », lequel fait partie intégrante de l'Accord. Dans l'intérêt d'un meilleur emploi de la bande de diffusion FM, je propose que certaines dispositions de l'Arrangement de travail concernant l'allotissement et l'assignation des canaux de radiodiffusion FM soient modifiées comme il est indiqué dans la pièce annexée à la présente.

Aussi ai-je l'honneur de proposer que la présente Note, avec la pièce qui y est annexée, et votre réponse affirmative, constituent un Accord modifiant l'Accord de 1991, entrant en vigueur à la date de votre réponse.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Excellence, l'assurance renouvelée de ma considération la plus haute. »

J'ai en outre l'honneur de vous informer que le gouvernement du Canada accepte les propositions contenues dans votre Note et la pièce qui y est annexée. En conséquence, votre Note et la présente réponse, dont les versions française et anglaise font également foi, constituent un Accord modifiant l'Accord de 1991, lequel entre en vigueur à la date de la présente Note.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Madame, l'assurance renouvelée de ma considération la plus haute.

ORIGINAL SIGNÉ PAR

Raymond Chrétien
L'Ambassadeur

Pièce annexée :
Modification à l'Arrangement de travail

L'honorable Madeleine K. Albright
Secrétaire d'État
Washington, D.C. 20520


Proposition de modification à l'Arrangement de travail FM de 1991

  1. Dans le Préambule, remplacer la date entre parenthèses à la fin de la première phrase, à savoir « 1989 », par la suivante : « 1991 ».
  2. Au point 2.2.1, ajouter une classe A1, de puissance apparente rayonnée de 0/25 kilowatts et de hauteur d'antenne au-dessus du sol moyen de 100 mètres. Faire passer la puissance apparente rayonnée de la classe A de 3 à 6 kilowatts. À l'alinéa in fine entre parenthèses, supprimer la dernière phrase commençant par « La classe A1 au Canada sera… ».
  3. Au point 2.4, remplacer le tableau des distances minimales de séparation, intitulé « Distances minimales requises », par le tableau ci-joint et supprimer la dernière phrase de la disposition in fine entre parenthèses commençant par « La classe A1 au Canada sera… ».
  4. Au point 3.5.2, remplacer la disposition in fine entre parenthèses, à savoir « (voir 5.2.1) », par la suivante « (voir 5.2.2) ».
  5. Au point 4.2, terminer la phrase après « FMFP » et supprimer le reste du texte actuel.
  6. Au point 4.3, faire passer la puissance apparente rayonnée de 50 à 250 watts et le contour de brouillage de 32 à 60 km.
  7. Au point 4.4, remplacer le texte actuel par le suivant : « Aux fins de la coordination, tous les projets de stations dont le contour de brouillage (34 dBu) s'étendrait au-delà de la frontière commune doivent faire l'objet d'une demande d'approbation ».
  8. Aux points 5.1.1 et 5.4, remplacer les termes « le ministère des Communications » par les termes « Industrie Canada ».
  9. Au point 5.2.2.1, ajouter la classe A1, avec une intensité de champ de 0,5 mV/m (54 dBu) et une distance maximale de 18 km. Faire passer la distance maximale de la classe A de 33 à 38 km et supprimer la dernière phrase du texte, in fine, entre parenthèses, commençant par : « La classe A1 au Canada sera… ».
  10. Au point 5.2.2.3, ajouter la classe A1 aux classes qui y sont énumérées.

2.4 Distances minimales de séparation

Distances minimales de séparation requises (en kilomètres)

Distances minimales de séparation requises en km
Même canal Canaux adjacents F.I.
Relation 0 kHz 200 kHz 400 kHz 600 kHz 10,6/10,8 MHz
A1-A1 78 45 24 20 4
A1-A 131 78 44 40 7
A1-B1 164 98 57 53 9
A1-B 190 117 71 67 12
A1-C1 223 148 92 88 19
A1-C 227 162 103 99 26
A-A 151 98 51 42 10
A-B1 184 119 64 55 12
A-B 210 137 78 69 15
A-C1 243 168 99 90 22
A-C 247 182 110 101 29
B1-B1 197 131 70 57 24
B1-B 223 149 84 71 24
B1-C1 256 181 108 92 40
B1-C 259 195 116 103 40
B-B 237 164 94 74 24
B-C1 271 195 115 95 40
B-C 274 209 125 106 40
C1-C1 292 217 134 101 48
C1-C 302 230 144 111 48
C-C 306 241 153 113 48

(Aux fins du tableau ci-dessus, la classe C2 des États-Unis sera considérée comme la classe B.)

Date de modification :