Industry Canada Seeks Public Advice On Cell Phone Silencers

OTTAWA, March 9, 2001 – Industry Canada is seeking public advice on cellular phone silencers. Cell phone silencers, or jammers, are devices capable of interfering with or blocking cellular, radio and personal communications services. These devices can eliminate the ringing and/or operation of cell phones in a variety of public and private environments.

To date, only law-enforcement agencies have been given licenses for cell phone silencers. This public consultation is intended to give all interested parties the opportunity to express their views and offer advice as to whether, and under what conditions, other license applications for these devices should be considered.

Mobile phones have become an integral part of Canadians' personal and business lives. There are currently over nine million Canadians who use cellular and/or PCS phone services. The number of new subscribers continues to grow at a rapid pace. By 2005 it is estimated that over 50 per cent of all phone calls and Internet connections in Canada will be done through wireless devices.

Industry Canada seeks a broad perspective on this issue and has released a information bulletin (Gazette Notice DGTP-002-01) which outlines the issues and questions that need to be considered. This bulletin is available online at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum or by calling 613-998-3949.

Submissions on this issue should cite the Canada Gazette Notice reference number DGTP-002-01 and be sent by email to Wireless@ic.gc.ca, or in writing to Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 16th floor, Jean Edmonds Tower North, 300 Slater St., Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8, or by fax to 613-998-1256. Submissions must be received on or before July 12, 2001 to receive full consideration.

For more information, please contact:

Heidi Bonnell
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

David E. Warnes
Senior Advisor, Spectrum Policy
Industry Canada
Telecommunications Policy Branch
613-998-4010

Date modified:

Industrie Canada demande conseil au public au sujet des neutralisateurs de téléphone cellulaire

OTTAWA, le 9 mars 2001 – Industrie Canada consultera le public au sujet des neutralisateurs de téléphone cellulaire. Ces appareils permettent de faire interférence aux services de communications personnelles, radios ou cellulaires, voire de les bloquer. Ils peuvent empêcher les téléphones cellulaires de sonner et/ou de fonctionner dans divers endroits publics ou privés.

Pour le moment, seuls les organismes chargés d'appliquer la loi ont le droit de détenir une licence d'utilisation de tels neutralisateurs. Cette consultation publique permettra à toutes les parties intéressées par la question de s'exprimer et d'offrir des conseils quant à savoir s'il y a lieu de délivrer des licences à d'autres parties et, le cas échéant, à quelles conditions.

Les téléphones mobiles font désormais partie intégrante de la vie personnelle et commerciale des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. À l'heure actuelle, plus de neuf millions de Canadiens utilisent des services de téléphonie cellulaire et/ou de communications personnelles (SCP). Le nombre des abonnés augmente rapidement. On estime que, d'ici 2005, plus de la moitié de toutes les communications par téléphone et par Internet se feront au moyen d'appareils sans fil.

Industrie Canada cherche à obtenir une grande vue d'ensemble sur cette question; le Ministère a publié, dans la Gazette du Canada, un avis (DGTP-002-01) qui décrit sommairement les questions et les aspects à examiner. Cet avis est accessible sur Internet, à (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre); on peut aussi composer le 613-998-3949 pour en obtenir un exemplaire.

Quiconque veut présenter un mémoire sur cette question doit citer le numéro de référence de l'avis DGTP-002-01 paru dans la Gazette du Canada et faire parvenir son texte par courriel à (Wireless@ic.gc.ca), ou, par écrit, au Directeur général – Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, Tour Jean Edmonds Nord, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8, ou encore par télécopieur, au 613-998-1256. Les mémoires doivent être reçus au plus tard le 12 juillet 2001 pour être dûment pris en considération.

Renseignements :

Heidi Bonnell
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

David E. Warnes
Conseiller principal, Politique du spectre
Industrie Canada
Direction générale, Politique des télécommunications
613-998-4010

Date de modification :