Archived — Interim Arrangement Concerning the Sharing between Canada and the United States of America on Local Multipoint Communication Systems, the Local Multipoint Distribution Service and Certain Other Services in Parts of the Frequency Bands 27.35‑28.35 GHz, 29.1‑29.25 GHz, and 31.0‑31.3 GHz

TRAA
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy
Terrestrial Radiocommunication Agreements and Arrangements

Note

All persons making use of this consolidation are reminded that the documents included herein are provided only for convenience of reference. This consolidation is for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. The information contained in this document is subject to change without notice. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. For more details, please contact the Spectrum Engineering Branch.

All notes in square brackets [ ] were added for clarification purposes.

Prepared by:

Industry Canada
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

via e-mail: spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

All spectrum publications are available on the Internet at:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Publication Date: March 2001

Confirmation of Acceptance

The attached document is the interim sharing arrangement between the Federal Communications Commission, the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and the Department of Industry (Industry Canada) concerning Local Multipoint Communication systems, the Local Multipoint Distribution Service and certain other services in parts of the 27.35 - 28.35 GHz, 29.1 - 29.25 GHz and 31.0 - 31.3 GHz frequency bands. The Federal Communications Commission, NTIA and Industry Canada intend to implement the attached arrangement, to the extent permissible under their respective domestic laws, pending the amendment of the Agreement Concerning the Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies Above Thirty Megacycles per Second, with Annex, as amended,Footnote 1 to incorporate the arrangement's terms.

space to insert signature
Donald Abelson
Chief, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission

Date: December 1, 2000

space to insert signature
William T. Hatch
Associate Administrator
Spectrum Management
National Telecommunications and Information Administration

Date: December 4, 2000

space to insert signature
Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies & Telecommunications
Industry Canada

Date: December 21, 2000

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Exchange of Notes at Ottawa, Canada, October 24, 1962. Entered into force October 24, 1962. See USA: Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS) 5205; CAN: Canada Treaty Series (CTS) 1962 No. 15. Agreement revision Technical Annex to the Agreement of October 24, 1962 (TIAS 5205/CTS 1962 No. 15) Effected by Exchange of Notes at Ottawa, Canada, June 16 and 24, 1965. Entered into force June 24, 1965. USA: TIAS 5833/CAN: CTS 1962 No. 15, as amended June 24, 1965.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

PDF Readers
top of page

1. Scope

1.1 This interim arrangement (Arrangement) between the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) of the United States of America (U.S.) and the Department of Industry of Canada (Industry Canada), herein referred to as the Agencies, concerns the sharing between Local Multipoint Communication systems (LMCS), the Local Multipoint Distribution Service (LMDS), and certain other services in parts of the 27.35 - 28.35 GHz, 29.1 - 29.25 GHz and 31.0 - 31.3 GHz bands.Footnote 1

1.2 The responsible coordinating agency for the U.S. is NTIA for the 27.35 - 27.5 GHz band and the FCC for all other bands covered by this Arrangement. The responsible coordinating agency for Canada is Industry Canada.

1.3 This Arrangement is subject to review at any time at the request of either Administration.

2. Use of the Bands

2.1 In Canada, the 27.35 - 28.35 GHz (27 GHz) band is designated for LMCS. In the U.S., the 27.35 - 27.5 GHz portion of the band is designated for Federal Government fixed and mobile systems and inter-satellite service and the 27.5 - 28.35 GHz portion is designated for LMDS.

2.2 The 29.1 - 29.25 GHz (29 GHz) band is designated for LMDS in the U.S. and is allocated to fixed and mobile services in Canada.Footnote 2 The 31.0 - 31.3 GHz (31 GHz) band is designated for LMDS and fixed point-to-point microwave systems in the U.S. and is allocated to fixed and mobile services in Canada. As of the date of this Arrangement, Canada had not designated a radio service use for the 29 and 31 GHz bands.Footnote 3 This Arrangement does not apply to mobile services in these bands.

3. General Principles

3.1 The 27 GHz, 29 GHz and 31 GHz bands are to be shared on an equal basis along the border and, to the extent possible, the Administrations shall have full use of these frequencies or sub-bands within their respective countries.

3.2 Licensees are expected to take full advantage of interference mitigation techniques such as antenna discrimination, polarization, frequency offset, shielding, site selection, and/or power control to facilitate the coordination of systems.

3.3 All results of analyses and/or licensee agreements shall be retained by the licensees and be made available to the Agencies upon request.

3.4 If a license is transferred, the sharing agreement(s) (see Section 4) or coordination agreement(s) (see Section 5) developed by the former licensee shall continue to apply with respect to the new licensee until a new agreement is reached.

3.5 The Agencies reserve the right to impose appropriate technical limitations to facilitate reasonable implementation and operation of proposed or existing systems.

top of page

4. Coordination in the 27 GHz Band

4.1 27.5 - 28.35 GHz Band - Coordination of LMDS and LMCS systems in the 27.5-28.35 GHz band shall be carried out by the licensees for the respective service areas on both sides of the border, as indicated in Appendix A. This coordination shall be in accordance with Sections 4.3-4.5.

4.2 27.35 - 27.5 GHz Band - For the purposes of coordinating Canadian LMCS systems and U.S. fixed and mobile systems in the band 27.35-27.5 GHz, the NTIA represents the U.S. fixed and mobile use of this band.Footnote 4 Coordination of U.S. fixed and mobile stations with Canadian LMCS systems shall be carried out by NTIA, and the appropriate LMCS licensee(s), as indicated in Appendix A, through Industry Canada. This coordination shall be in accordance with Sections 4.3-4.5. In addition, fixed stations operating in Canada and the U.S., and U.S. inter-satellite systems, are subject to the technical limits described in Appendix D.

4.3 Cross Border Sharing Agreements - Licensees on both sides of the border are encouraged to develop sharing agreements that will facilitate reasonable and timely development of LMDS and LMCS.Footnote 5 These agreements should allow for the provision of service by each licensee within its licensed service area to the maximum extent possible. If there is a sharing agreement between the licensees, that agreement shall be followed rather than the coordination process set forth in Section 4.4.

4.4 Coordination in the Absence of a Sharing Agreement - If there is no sharing agreement between the licensees, then proposed facilities shall be coordinated on an individual basis according to the process described below.

4.4.1 The following power flux density (pfd) levels from the emissions of each transmitting station shall apply:

4.4.1.a Power flux density A ('pfd A') has a value of -114 dBW/m2 in any 1 MHz band.

4.4.1.b Power flux density B ('pfd B') has a value of -94 dBW/m2 in any 1 MHz band.

4.4.1.c Power flux density is calculated at the service area boundary of the neighboring service area(s) on the other side of the border.Footnote 6 Power flux density is calculated using accepted engineering practices, taking into account such factors as propagation loss, atmospheric loss, curvature of the Earth, and gain of the antenna in the direction of the service area boundary. The pfd level at the service area boundary shall be the maximum value for elevation points up to 500 meters above local terrain elevation. (See Appendix B for a sample calculation of power flux density at the service area boundary.)

4.4.2 If calculations demonstrate that facilities would generate a power flux density less than or equal to pfd A at the applicable service area boundary(ies), then no coordination is required.

4.4.3 If calculations demonstrate that facilities would generate a power flux density greater than pfd A, but less than or equal to pfd B at the applicable service area boundary(ies), then deployment of facilities is subject to successful coordination between the affected licensees in accordance with the following coordination process:Footnote 7

4.4.3.a The licensee must notify the respective licensee(s), by registered mail, of its intention to deploy facilities and include the appropriate information necessary to conduct an interference analysis. If no licensee exists in affected service areas on the other side of the border, deployment may proceed.

4.4.3.b The recipient of the notification must respond within 30 days of receipt to indicate any objection to the deployment. Such objections may be based only on harmful interference to existing systems.Footnote 8

4.4.3.c If there is no objection raised, the deployment may proceed.

4.4.3.d If an objection is raised, the respective licensee(s) must work in collaboration to develop an agreement regarding the proposed facilities before their deployment. It is expected that the time frame to develop such an agreement should not exceed 30 days.

4.4.3.e Proposed facilities must be operational within 6 months from the conclusion of coordination, otherwise coordination must be re-initiated pursuant to Section 4.

4.4.4 If calculations demonstrate that facilities would generate a power flux density greater than pfd B at the applicable service area boundary(ies), then deployment of facilities is subject to the consent of the licensee(s) for that (those) service area(s) on the other side of the border.Footnote 9 If no licensee exists in the affected service area(s) on the other side of the border, deployment of facilities may proceed. In the event that new licensee(s) are authorized in the affected service area(s), the facilities must be modified in a timely manner to meet the pfd B level, unless an agreement can be reached between the affected parties.

4.5 In the event a satisfactory sharing agreement or a successful coordination between the licensees is not reached, then the respective Administrations shall be informed.

5. Coordination in the 29 GHz and 31 GHz Bands

5.1 Each station of fixed systems in Canada and LMDS or fixed systems in the U.S. generating a pfd signal of less than or equal to –105 dBW/m2 in any 1 MHz band at the Canada/U.S. border does not require coordination. Stations with emissions exceeding the pfd value of –105 dBW/m2 in any 1 MHz band at the Canada/U.S. border will require prior coordination before deployment.Footnote 10 For the purposes of coordination with Canada, coordination is to be carried out with Industry Canada.Footnote 11 For the purposes of coordination with the U.S., coordination is to be carried out with the U.S. licensee(s) in the Basic Trading Area(s) (BTA(s))Footnote 12 where the pfd signal exceeds –105 dBW/m2 in any 1 MHz.

5.2 Power flux density is calculated at the Canada/U.S. border.Footnote 13 Power flux density is calculated using accepted engineering practices, taking into account such factors as propagation loss, atmospheric loss, curvature of the Earth, and gain of the antenna in the direction of the Canada/U.S. border. The pfd level at the Canada/U.S. border shall be the maximum value for elevation points up to 500 meters above local terrain elevation. (See Appendix C for a sample calculation of power flux density at the Canada/U.S. border.)

Date modified:

Archivé — Arrangement de partage provisoire entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique concernant les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux, le service de distribution multipoint local et certains autres services exploités dans les bandes de fréquences de 27,35‑28,35 GHz, 29,1‑29,25 GHz et 31,0‑31,3 GHz

EART
Gestion du spectre et Politique des télécommunications
Ententes et arrangements relatifs aux radiocommunications de Terre

On rappelle aux lecteurs que les documents de la présente codification ont été réunis aux seules fins d'en faciliter la consultation. La présente codification est un guide à l'intention des personnes qui s'occupent de radiocommunications au Canada. Les renseignements contenus dans la présente codification peuvent être modifiés sans préavis. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour en assurer l'exactitude, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou implicitement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction du génie du spectre.

Toute remarque mise entre crochets [ ] a été ajoutée pour apporter des précisions.

Préparé par :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

par courrier électronique : spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

Toutes les publications de la gestion du spectre sont disponibles sur l'Internet à l'adresse suivante :

http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Date de publication : mars 2001

Confirmation d'acceptation

Le document ci-joint constitue l'Arrangement de partage provisoire entre la Federal Communications Commission, la National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) et le ministère de l'Industrie (Industrie Canada) concernant les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux, le service de distribution multipoint local et certains autres services exploités dans les bandes de fréquences de 27,35 - 28,35 GHz, 29,1 - 29,25 GHz et 31,0-31,3 GHz. La Federal Communications Commission, la NTIA et Industrie Canada comptent mettre en oeuvre l'Arrangement ci-joint, dans la mesure où le permettent leurs lois nationales respectives, en attendant la modification de l'Accord relatif à la coordination et à l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde et de son Annexe, dans leur version modifiée,Note en bas de page 1 qui intégreront les dispositions de l'Arrangement.

Champ de saisie de la signature
Donald Abelson
Chief, International Bureau
Federal Communications
Commission

Date : 1er décembre 2000

Champ de saisie de la signature
William T. Hatch
Associate Administrator
Spectrum Management
National Telecommunications and Information Administration
Industrie Canada

Date : 4 décembre 2000

Champ de saisie de la signature
Michael Binder
Sous-ministre adjoint
Spectre, Technologies de l'information et télécommunications

Date : 21 décembre 2000

Notes en bas de page

Note en bas de page 1

Échange de Notes à Ottawa, Canada, le 24 octobre 1962. Entrée en vigueur le 24 octobre 1962. Voir USA : Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS) 5205; CAN : Recueil des traités du Canada (RTC) 1962 No 15. Entente révisant l'Annexe technique de l'Entente du 24 octobre 1962 (TIAS 5205/RTC 1962 No 15). Conclu par Échange de Notes à Ottawa, Canada, les 16 et 24 juin 1965. Entré en vigueur le 24 juin 1965. USA : TIAS 5833/CAN : RTC 1962 No 15, modifié le 24 juin 1965.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1

Lecteurs PDF
haut de la page

1. Portée

1.1 Le présent Arrangement provisoire (Arrangement) entre la Federal Communications Commission (FCC), la National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) des États-Unis d'Amérique et le ministère de l'Industrie du Canada (Industrie Canada), ci-après appelés Agences, concernant les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML), le service de distribution multipoint local (SDML) et certains autres services exploités dans les bandes de fréquences de 27,35 - 28,35 GHz, 29,1- 29,25 GHz et 31,0 - 31,3 GHz.Note en bas de page 1

1.2 L'agence responsable de la coordination pour les É.-U. est la NTIA pour la bande 27,35 - 27,5 GHz, et la FCC pour toutes les autres bandes visées par le présent Arrangement. L'agence responsable de la coordination pour le Canada est Industrie Canada.

1.3 Le présent Arrangement peut être révisé n'importe quand, à la demande de l'une ou l'autre des Administrations.

2. Utilisation des bandes

2.1 Au Canada, la bande de 27,35 - 28,35 GHz (27 GHz) est désignée pour les STML. Aux États-Unis, la partie 27,35 - 27,5 GHz de la bande est désignée pour le service inter-satellites et les systèmes fixes et mobiles du gouvernement fédéral, et la partie 27,- 28,35 GHz de la bande est désignée pour le SDML.

2.2 La bande de 29,1 - 29,25 GHz (29 GHz) est désignée pour le SDML aux États-Unis et est attribuée aux services fixe et mobile au Canada.Note en bas de page 2 La bande de 31,0 - 31,3 GHz (31 GHz) est désignée pour le SDML et les systèmes micro-ondes fixes point à point aux États-Unis, et est attribuée aux services fixe et mobile au Canada. À la date du présent Arrangement, le Canada n'avait pas désigné d'utilisation par un service de radiocommunications spécifique pour les bandes de 29 et 31 GHz.Note en bas de page 3 Le présent Arrangement ne s'applique pas aux services mobiles exploités dans ces bandes.

3. Principes généraux

3.1 Les bandes de 27 GHz, 29 GHz et 31 GHz seront partagées également le long de la frontière et, dans la mesure du possible, les deux Administrations doivent pouvoir utiliser ces fréquences ou sous-bandes sans restrictions dans leur pays respectif.

3.2 Les titulaires de licence devraient tirer pleinement profit des techniques d'atténuation du brouillage, comme la discrimination d'antenne, la polarisation, le décalage de fréquence, le blindage, la sélection d'emplacement et/ou la commande de puissance en vue de faciliter la coordination des systèmes.

3.3 Tous les résultats d'analyses et/ou les ententes de titulaires doivent être conservés par les titulaires et, sur demande, mises à la disposition des Agences.

3.4 Dans le cas d'un transfert de licence, les ententes de partage (voir section 4) ou de coordination (voir section 5) conclues par l'ancien titulaire continueront de s'appliquer au nouveau titulaire jusqu'à l'établissement d'une nouvelle entente.

3.5 Les Agences se réservent le droit d'imposer des limites techniques appropriées pour faciliter la mise en oeuvre et le fonctionnement raisonnables de systèmes projetés ou existants.

haut de la page

4. Coordination dans la bande de 27 GHz

4.1 Bande de 27,5 - 28,35 GHz - La coordination des systèmes SDML et STML dans la bande de 27,5-28,35 GHz doit être assurée par les titulaires de licence des zones de service respectives, de part et d'autre de la frontière, conformément à l'Annexe A. Cette coordination doit se faire conformément aux sections 4.3, 4.4 et 4.5.

4.2 Bande de 27,35 - 27,5 GHz - Pour les fins de la coordination des systèmes STML canadiens et des systèmes fixes et mobiles des États-Unis dans la bande de 27,35-27,5 GHz, la NTIA représente les États-Unis en ce qui concerne l'utilisation de cette bande par les services fixe et mobile des États-Unis.Note en bas de page 4 La coordination des stations fixes et mobiles des É.-U. avec les systèmes STML canadiens sera assurée par la NTIA et par les titulaires de licence STML, comme il est indiqué à l'Annexe A, par l'intermédiaire d'Industrie Canada. Cette coordination se fera conformément aux sections 4.3, 4.4 et 4.5. En outre, les stations fixes exploitées au Canada et aux États-Unis, et les systèmes inter-satellites des É.-U., sont assujettis aux limites techniques décrites dans l'Annexe D.

4.3 Ententes de partage transfrontalier - Les titulaires de licence de part et d'autre de la frontière sont encouragés à établir des ententes de partage qui faciliteront le développement raisonnable, au moment approprié, de systèmes SMDL et STML.Note en bas de page 5 Ces ententes devraient, dans toute la mesure du possible, permettre à chaque titulaire d'assurer un service dans la zone autorisée. S'il existe une entente de partage entre des titulaires de licence, cette entente doit s'appliquer à la place du processus de coordination décrit dans la section 4.4.

4.4 Coordination en l'absence d'entente de partage - S'il n'existe aucune entente de partage entre les titulaires de licence, les installations projetées seront coordonnées cas par cas, selon le processus décrit ci-dessous.

4.4.1 Les niveaux suivants de puissance surfacique (pfd) doivent s'appliquer aux émissions de chaque station d'émission :

4.4.1.a La puissance surfacique A (« pfd A ») doit avoir une valeur de -114 dBW/m2 dans n'importe quelle plage de 1 MHz.

4.4.1.b La puissance surfacique B (« pfd B ») doit avoir une valeur de -94 dBW/m2 dans n'importe quelle plage de 1 MHz.

4.4.1.c La puissance surfacique se calcule à la limite des zones de service voisines, de l'autre côté de la frontière.Note en bas de page 6 Le calcul s'effectue selon les pratiques d'ingénierie reconnues, compte tenu de facteurs comme l'affaiblissement de propagation, l'affaiblissement dû à l'atmosphère, la courbure de la Terre et le gain de l'antenne en direction de la limite de la zone de service. La puissance surfacique à la limite de la zone de service doit correspondre à la valeur maximale à des hauteurs atteignant 500 mètres au-dessus du sol local. (L'Annexe B donne un exemple de calcul de la puissance surfacique à la limite de la zone de service.)

4.4.2 Si les calculs démontrent que les installations produiraient une puissance surfacique inférieure ou égale à la puissance surfacique A à la limite des zones de service applicables, aucune coordination n'est requise.

4.4.3 Si les calculs démontrent que les installations produiraient une puissance surfacique supérieure à la puissance surfacique A, mais inférieure ou égale à la puissance surfacique B, à la limite des zones de service applicables, le déploiement des installations exige une coordination appropriée entre les titulaires de licence touchés, conformément au processus de coordination suivant :Note en bas de page 7

4.4.3.a Le titulaire de licence doit, par courrier recommandé, aviser les autres titulaires touchés de son intention de déployer des installations et inclure l'information nécessaire pour effectuer une analyse du brouillage. S'il n'y a aucun titulaire de licence de l'autre côté de la frontière, le déploiement peut avoir lieu.

4.4.3.b Les titulaires qui reçoivent cet avis doivent répondre dans les 30 jours suivant la réception pour soulever toute objection au déploiement. Les objections ne peuvent porter que sur le brouillage préjudiciable aux systèmes existants.Note en bas de page 8

4.4.3.c Si aucune objection n'est soulevée, le déploiement peut avoir lieu.

4.4.3.d Si une objection est soulevée, les titulaires doivent, en collaboration, établir une entente relative aux installations projetées avant que le déploiement puisse s'effectuer. On s'attend à ce que le délai nécessaire pour en arriver à cette entente ne dépasse pas 30 jours.

4.4.3.e Les installations projetées doivent être opérationnelles dans les six mois suivant la fin de la coordination, à défaut de quoi la coordination devra être reprise conformément à la section 4.

4.4.4 Si les calculs démontrent que les installations produiraient une puissance surfacique supérieure à la puissance surfacique B à la limite des zones de service applicables, le déploiement des installations devra recevoir l'assentiment des titulaires des zones de service touchées de l'autre côté de la frontière.Note en bas de page 9 S'il n'existe pas de titulaire de licence dans les zones de service touchées de l'autre côté de la frontière, le déploiement des installations peut avoir lieu. Dans le cas où de nouveaux titulaires sont autorisés dans les zones de service touchées, ces installations devront subir des modifications dans des délais appropriés afin de ne pas dépasser le niveau de la puissance surfacique B, à moins que les parties concernées ne concluent une entente.

4.5 Si les titulaires ne peuvent conclure une entente de partage satisfaisante ou établir une coordination appropriée, les Administrations respectives en seront informées.

5. Coordination dans les bandes de 29 GHz et 31 GHz

5.1 Chaque station faisant partie de systèmes fixes au Canada et du SDML ou de systèmes fixes aux États-Unis, produisant un signal de puissance surfacique inférieure ou égale à -105 dBW/m2 dans n'importe quelle plage de 1 MHz à la frontière Canada/É-.U., n'a pas à faire l'objet d'une coordination. Les stations dont les émissions dépassent la valeur de -105 dBW/m2 dans n'importe quelle plage de 1 MHz à la frontière Canada/É-.U. devront faire l'objet d'une coordination avant le déploiement.Note en bas de page 10 La coordination avec le Canada se fera avec Industrie Canada.Note en bas de page 11 La coordination avec les É.-U. se fera avec les titulaires de licence des É.-U. des BTA (Basic Trading Areas : zones de commerce de base)Note en bas de page 12 quand le signal dépassera une puissance surfacique de -105 dBW/m2 dans n'importe quelle plage de 1 MHz.

5.2 La puissance surfacique se calcule à la frontière Canada/É-.U.Note en bas de page 13 Le calcul s'effectue suivant les pratiques d'ingénierie reconnues, en tenant compte de facteurs tels que l'affaiblissement de propagation, l'affaiblissement dû à l'atmosphère, la courbure de la Terre et le gain de l'antenne dans la direction de frontière Canada/É-.U. La puissance surfacique à la frontière Canada/É-.U doit correspondre à la valeur maximale à des hauteurs atteignant 500 mètres au-dessus du sol local. (L'Annexe C donne un exemple de calcul de la puissance surfacique à la frontière Canada/É-.U.)

Date de modification :