Notice No. DGRB-003-01

Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1

Radio Authorization Fees for Narrowband Multipoint Communications Systems (N-MCS) that Operate in the 1.4 GHz Frequency Range to Provide Fixed Telemetry Applications

Introduction

Narrowband Multipoint Communications Systems (N-MCS) that operate in the 1.4 GHz frequency range are wireless communications systems. These systems provide narrowband wireless telecommunications services that are capable of being used for fixed telemetry applications such as automatic meter reading of hydro and gas utilities.

On October 9, 1999, Industry Canada issued a policy and consultation document, entitled Amendments to the Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policy in the 1-3 GHz Frequency Range (Gazette Notice DGTP-006-99). This policy paper addresses spectrum for narrowband multipoint communications systems at 1.4 GHz for fixed telemetry applications.

The policy specifies that the designation of new spectrum at 1.4 GHz to support fixed telemetry applications for automatic meter reading came into effect on March 1, 2000, and that licensing applications have been considered as of that date on a first-come, first-served basis. Moreover, if there is more spectrum demand than supply in certain urban areas, the department may proceed with a competitive licensing process after consulting with the applicants.

The department outlined particular licensing provisions for fixed telemetry applications at 1.4 GHz in order to proceed efficiently with a first-come, first-served process and the department also invited comments, by December 31, 1999, on proposed annual fees of $10.00/MHz/1000 households for a spectrum licence in the bands 1427-1430 MHz and 1493.5-1496.5 MHz.

These proposed fees were developed in consultation with industry and reflect the relative fee level for the implementation of wireless networks providing comparable telecommunications services in other frequency bands.

In response to this consultation, one submission was received from the Fixed Wireless Communications Committee (FWCC) of the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC). The FWCC found the fee to be reasonable but suggested that for greater equity among different sized urban areas, the department consider a multi-tiered fee structure defined by population density with the highest fee not exceeding $10/MHz/1000 households.

In light of this comment and the economic benefits that the deployment of automatic meter reading system may bring, the department has modified its proposal in accordance with the suggestion of the RABC. Complete details of the fees, established in accordance with the licensing policy for N-MCS used for fixed telemetry applications, are set out in the following fee schedule.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective the date of publication of this Notice in the Canada Gazette. The fees are applicable to radio authorizations issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish wireless telemetry communications systems in accordance with the terms of the authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule, "cell" means a hexagonal cell with an area of 25 km2; "service area" means the defined geographic area specified in the radio authorization; "specified frequencies" means the range of frequencies, or portion thereof, in the frequency bands 1427-1430 MHz and 1493.5-1496.5 MHz specified in the radio authorization; "household" has the same meaning as defined by Statistics Canada in the 1996 Census; "household density" means the average number of households per square kilometre in a cell; "wireless telemetry communications system" means a narrowband multipoint communications system that operates on specified frequencies and is used primarily for fixed telemetry applications; and "renewal fee" means the annual fee payable for the continuance in force of the radio authorization until the radio authorization expires.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

2. The annual radio authorization fee payable in respect of the specified frequencies assigned to a wireless telemetry communications system is for each 1 MHz, or portion thereof, the applicable fee set out in items 1 to 4 of Schedule I for the applicable household density in respect of each cell in the authorized service area.

Schedule I

Item Column I Column II
Household Density of Cell Annual Fee
1. 2,501 and above 480
2. from 251 to 2,500 120
3. from 26 to 250 12
4. from 0 to 25 6

Initial Annual Radio Authorization Fee

3. The prorated balance of the then-current fiscal year's authorization fee for the applicable specified frequencies per authorized service area is due on the date of the issuance of the radio authorization.

4. The month that the Minister issues the initial annual radio authorization determines the applicable prorated fee.

5. The prorated fee is 1/12 of the total applicable annual authorization fee for each month until March 31 of the then-current fiscal year.

Renewal Fee

6. The renewal fee is the applicable annual radio authorization fee.

General Notes

1. The aggregate fees are rounded to the nearest dollar.

2. The annual renewal fees are due on or before March 31 for the subsequent year commencing on April 1.

3. These fees may be revised from time to time as circumstances warrant or as more recent census data become available.

4. Maps of the service areas for narrowband MCS are on the Industry Canada Strategis Web site.

Brian Tobin
Minister of Industry

Date modified:

Avis no DGRB-003-01

Loi sur le Ministère de l'Industrie, L.C. 1995, ch. 1

Droits d'autorisation de radiocommunication pour les systèmes de communications multipoint à bande étroite (SCM-E) fonctionnant dans les bandes hertziennes de 1,4 GHz et destinés à des applications fixes de télémesure

Introduction

Les systèmes de communications multipoint à bande étroite (SCM-E) fonctionnant dans les bandes hertziennes de 1,4 GHz sont des systèmes de communications sans fil. Ces systèmes fournissent des services de télécommunications sans fil à bande étroite qui peuvent s'utiliser pour des applications fixes de télémesure, comme la lecture automatique des compteurs d'électricité et de gaz.

Le 9 octobre 1999, Industrie Canada publiait un document de politique et de consultation intitulé Modifications aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre micro-ondes dans les bandes hertziennes de 1-3 GHz (avis dans la Gazette nº DGTP-006-99). Ce document de politique porte sur le spectre des systèmes de communications multipoint à bande étroite fonctionnant à 1,4 GHz et destinés à des applications fixes de télémesure.

La politique précise que la désignation de nouvelles bandes hertziennes à 1,4 GHz pour des applications fixes de télémesure, nommément de lecture automatique de compteurs, entre en vigueur le 1er mars 2000 et que les demandes de licences seront, à compter de cette date, considérées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Par ailleurs, si la demande de spectre excède l'offre dans certaines zones urbaines, le Ministère pourra lancer un processus concurrentiel de délivrance de licences après avoir consulté les requérants.

Le Ministère a établi des dispositions particulières en matière de délivrance de licences pour des applications fixes de télémesure à 1,4 GHz afin que le processus puisse se dérouler efficacement selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi, et il a également invité les intéressés à lui faire part, jusqu'au 31 décembre 1999, de leurs commentaires en ce qui a trait aux droits annuels proposés de 10,00 $/MHz/1 000 ménages 1 427-1 430 MHz et 1 493,5-1 496,5 MHz.

Ces droits proposés ont été établis en consultation avec l'industrie et reflètent le niveau relatif des droits visant la mise en oeuvre de réseaux sans fil assurant des services de télécommunications comparables dans d'autres bandes de fréquences.

Dans le cadre de cette consultation, une réponse a été reçue du Comité sur les communications fixes sans fil (CCFSF) du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR). Le CCFSF était d'avis que les droits étaient raisonnables, mais il a proposé qu'afin d'obtenir une meilleure équité entre les zones urbaines de différentes tailles, le Ministère envisage une structure de droits à plusieurs niveaux, définie en fonction de la densité de la population et dont le niveau 10,00 $/MHz/1 000 ménages.

À la lumière de ces commentaires et des avantages économiques que pourrait apporter un système automatique de lecture des compteurs, le Ministère a modifié sa proposition en tenant compte des suggestions du CCCR. Le barème ci-dessous donne des détails complets sur les droits établis conformément à la politique de délivrance de licences pour les SCM-E servant à des applications fixes de télémesure.

Barème de droits

En vertu de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le ministre de l'Industrie établit par la présente le barème suivant, en vigueur à compter de la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada. Les droits s'appliquent aux autorisations de radiocommunication délivrées par le Ministre en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication dans le but d'établir des systèmes de communications de télémesure sans fil conformément à l'autorisation.

Interprétation

1. Aux fins du présent barème de droits, « cellule  » désigne une cellule hexagonale à superficie de 25 km2; « zone de service » désigne la zone géographique définie qui est spécifiée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication; « fréquences spécifiées  » désigne la gamme des fréquences, ou une partie 1 427-1 430 MHz et 1 493,5-1 496,5 MHz qui est spécifiée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication; « ménage » a la même signification que dans le Recensement de 1996 de Statistique Canada; « densité de ménages » désigne le nombre moyen de ménages par kilomètre carré dans une cellule; « système de communications de télémesure sans fil » désigne un système de communications multipoint à bande étroite fonctionnant sur des fréquences spécifiées et utilisé principalement pour des applications fixes de télémesure; et « droits de renouvellement » désigne les droits annuels à acquitter pour que l'autorisation de radiocommunication demeure en vigueur, jusqu'à l'expiration de cette autorisation.

Droits d'autorisation annuelle de radiocommunication

2. Les droits d'autorisation annuelle de radiocommunication à acquitter pour les fréquences spécifiées assignées à un système de communications de télémesure sans fil s'appliquent à chaque tranche de 1 MHz, ou partie d'une telle tranche, et sont énoncés aux articles 1 à 4 du barème I pour la densité de ménages applicable dans chaque cellule de la zone de service autorisée.

Barème I

Article Colonne I Colonne II
Densité des ménages de la cellule Droits annuels
1. 2 501 et plus 480
2. de 251 à 2 500 120
3. de 26 à 250 12
4. de 0 à 25 6

Droits d'autorisation initiale annuelle de radiocommunication

3. Le solde au prorata des droits d'autorisation de l'année financière en cours pour les fréquences spécifiées pertinentes par zone de service autorisée doit être acquitté à la date de délivrance de l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

4. Le mois durant lequel le ministre délivre l'autorisation initiale annuelle de radiocommunication détermine les droits au prorata applicables.

5. Les droits au prorata correspondent à 1/12 du total des droits d'autorisation annuelle applicables pour chaque mois, jusqu'au 31 mars de l'année financière en cours.

Droits de renouvellement

6. Les droits de renouvellement sont les droits annuels applicables à l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

Notes générales

1. Les droits globaux sont arrondis au dollar le plus près.

2. Les droits annuels de renouvellement doivent être acquittés par ou avant le 31 mars pour l'année 1er avril.

3. Ces droits peuvent être révisés de temps à autre, si les circonstances le justifient ou si des données de recensement plus récentes deviennent disponibles.

4. Les cartes des zones de service des SCM à bande étroite sont disponibles sur le site Web Strategis d'Industrie Canada.

Le ministre de l'Industrie,
Brian Tobin

Date de modification :