Archived — Notice No. DGRB-004-01

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-004-01 — Granting Full Operating Privileges in all Amateur Radio Frequency Bands Below 30 MHz to Amateur Radio Operators Holding a 5 Word Per Minute (w.p.m.) Morse Code Qualification

Amendments to the Technical Requirements set out in the Radiocommunication Information Circular 2 (RIC-2), "Standards for the Operation of Radio Stations in the Amateur Radio Service."

This notice is associated with an earlier notice DGRB-001-01 that solicited comments on a proposal to grant full operating privileges in all amateur radio frequency bands below 30 MHz to amateur radio operators holding the basic and 5 w.p.m. Morse code qualification.

The Department received 363 submissions related to this proposal, of which 267 were supportive, 67 non-supportive and the remainder being either neutral or not directly related to the proposal. Many respondents raised the potential of completely eliminating a Morse code requirement for amateur radio operators, and some suggested changes to the examination structure that would emphasize additional technical and operational aspects of amateur operation. While these issues were outside the scope of this proposal, the comments have been noted and may be considered by Industry Canada in respect to any future modifications of the examination requirements for amateur radio operators. All comments are available for viewing on Industry Canada's Web site: World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf05413.html.

The amateur radio operator qualifications listed in RIC-2 have been amended as proposed. All amateurs holding an amateur radio operator certificate with basic and Morse code 5 w.p.m. qualification may now operate with full privileges in all amateur radio frequency bands below 30 MHz. Operating privileges for amateurs holding an amateur radio operator certificate with Morse code 12 w.p.m. qualification remain unchanged.

Copies of the revised RIC-2 are available from the Industry Canada Internet Web site at the following address: World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01226.html.

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGRB-004-01

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-004-01 — Reconnaissance aux radioamateurs titulaires d'un certificat avec compétence en morse de cinq mots/minute (m.p.m.) des pleins privilèges d'exploitation dans toutes les bandes de fréquences du service de radioamateur au-dessous de 30 MHz

Modifications apportées aux exigences techniques énoncées dans la Circulaire d'information sur les radiocommunications 2 (CIR-2), "Normes sur l'exploitation des stations radio autorisées dans le service de radioamateur".

Le présent avis fait suite à l'avis no DGRB-001-01 dans lequel le Ministère a invité le public à se prononcer sur la proposition visant à accorder aux radioamateurs titulaires d'un certificat avec compétence en morse de cinq mots/minute (m.p.m.) de pleins privilèges d'exploitation dans toutes les bandes de fréquences du service de radioamateur au-dessous de 30 MHz.

Le Ministère a reçu 363 observations relatives à la proposition. Parmi elles, 267 étaient favorables, 67 étaient défavorables et les autres étaient neutres ou sans rapport étroit avec la proposition. De nombreux répondants ont suggéré que l'exigence de compétence en morse soit tout simplement éliminée; d'autres ont proposé que la structure d'examen soit modifiée de manière à mettre davantage l'accent sur les aspects techniques et opérationnels du travail des radioamateurs. Même si cette dernière question débordait du cadre de la proposition à l'étude, Industrie Canada a pris bonne note des observations et pourra en tenir compte lors d'une éventuelle révision des exigences d'examen applicables aux radioamateurs. Toutes les observations reçues peuvent être consultées sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse : World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf05413.html.

Les compétences des radioamateurs indiquées dans la CIR-2 ont été modifiées conformément à la proposition. Désormais, tous les radioamateurs titulaires d'un certificat avec compétence de base et compétence en morse de cinq m.p.m. disposent de pleins pouvoirs d'exploitation dans toutes les bandes de fréquences du service de radioamateur au-dessous de 30 MHz. Les compétences des radioamateurs indiquées dans la CIR-2 ont été modifiées conformément à la proposition. Les privilèges accordés au titulaire d'un certificat d'opérateur radioamateur avec compétence en Morse douze m.p.m demeurent inchangés.

La version révisée de la CIR-2 est affichée sur le site Internet d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse : World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01226.html.

Le

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date de modification :