SP 2285 MHz — Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for Services in the Frequency Range 2285-2483.5 MHz

June 2001

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. Spectrum Policy Provisions for the Bands 2285–2483.5 MHz
  4. Implementation

Industry Canada
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-003-01 — Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for Services in the Frequency Range 2285–2483.5 MHz

The purpose of this Notice is to announce the revisions to the spectrum utilization policy for services in certain bands in the frequency range 2285–2483.5 MHz. This Notice follows the recent consultation paper Proposed Revision to the Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP 120 GHz) for Services in the Band 2285–2483.5 MHz released in March 2000.

A number of demands pertaining to the use of this frequency range were raised in the initial consultation, which included designating the bands 2305–2320 MHz and 2345–2360 MHz for Wireless Communication Systems (WCS), and permitting license exempt microwave transmitters using directional antennas in the band 2400–2483.5 MHz. The Department has received a number of comments relating to the various proposals. Based on these interests the Department is announcing certain spectrum utilization policy decisions in the band 2285–2483.5 MHz which are contained in the policy document.

The policy document entitled Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Services in the Band 2285–2383.5 MHz is available electronically via the Internet at:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

or can be obtained in hard copy, for a fee from: Tyrell Press Ltd., 2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7, email: sales1@tyrellpress.ca, 1-800-267-4862 (Canada toll-free telephone), 1-800-574-0137 (United States toll-free telephone), 613-822-0740 (Worldwide telephone), 613-822-1089 (Facsimile); DLS, St. Joseph Print Group, 45 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard, Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7, 1-888-562-5561 (Canada toll-free telephone), 1-800-565-7757 (Canada toll-free facsimile), 819-779-4335 (Worldwide telephone), 819-779-2833 (Worldwide facsimile).

June 1, 2001

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


1.0 Introduction

This policy document announced in Gazette Notice DGTP-003-01 makes revisions to the spectrum utilization policy for services in the frequency range 2285–2483.5 MHz.

With the release of this policy, provisions are established among other things, to facilitate the operation of license exempt microwave devices in the band 2400–2483.5 MHz, to designate spectrum for wireless communication systems (WCS) and to permit the operation of TV pickup and surveillance purposes from airborne platforms. Additional provisions for the operation of mobile aeronautical telemetry systems are also included.

2.0 Background

In January 1995, Industry Canada released a spectrum utilization policy entitled Revisions to Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the Range of 1–20 GHz (SP 1–20 GHz) that made substantial revisions to the spectrum policy for the microwave frequency bands in the 1–20 GHz range. This document established new policy directions to accommodate increasing new spectrum demand by existing and emerging services, addressed the convergence to digital facilities, and provided greater flexibility for both service providers and equipment manufacturers to access the frequency spectrum.

In August 1997, due to new demands that had emerged, a public consultation paper, entitled Proposals to Provide New Opportunities for the Use of the Radio Spectrum in the 1–20 GHz Frequency Range (DGTP-006-97), was released. In August 1998, Industry Canada announced a spectrum policy entitled Spectrum Policy and Licensing Provisions for Fixed Wireless Access Systems in Rural Areas in the Frequency Range 3400–3700 MHz (DGTP-013-98) which represented the first set of amendments to the 1–20 GHz policy. In June 1999, Industry Canada also announced a spectrum policy entitled Policy and Licensing Procedures — Multipoint Communications Systems in the 2500 MHz Range (DGRB-006-99). Most recently Industry Canada announced a spectrum policy entitled Amendments to the Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 1–3 GHz Frequency Range (DGTP-006-99) which addressed several issues, including new spectrum for mobile satellite service.

The latest consultation paper Proposed Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for Services in the Band 2285–2483.5 MHz (DGTP-003-2001) was released in March 2000. The proposals in that paper were made in response to a number of requirements including innovative wireless access for Internet and LAN services. Major aspects pertaining to this band include the Canada/US agreement on spectrum for Digital Audio Broadcasting (DAB) and US Digital Audio Radio Services (DARS) by satellite in the band 2320–2345 MHz, the US designation of Wireless Communication Services (WCS) and licence exempt devices and systems. As a result of the public comments and the pressing need to accommodate new wireless devices, the Department is proceeding to establish relevant spectrum utilization policies in the 2285–2483.5 MHz range.

3.0 Spectrum Policy Provisions for the Bands 2285–2483.5 MHz

3.1 Bands 2305–2320 MHz and 2345–2360 MHz

In the policy announced in Gazette Notice DGTP-003-2000, Industry Canada placed a moratorium on the licensing of any new fixed and mobile systems in the band 2285–2360 MHz1. Comments were solicited on a proposal to align the designation of the bands 2305–2320 MHz and 2345–2360 MHz with the U.S. for point-to-multipoint systems known as Wireless Communication Services or WCS.

A number of respondents indicated that the Department should designate this spectrum for WCS and proceed expeditiously to licence systems. It was clear from the submissions received that there is good support to harmonize the spectrum and service applications with the U.S. in order to benefit from a larger equipment market. One Multipoint Distribution System (MDS) operator indicated that this spectrum could provide out-of-band return spectrum to the MDS band 2596–2686 MHz for interactive broadcast and non-broadcast services.

There was however, both interest and concern expressed in the public consultation with regard to the potential use of this spectrum for audio broadcasting satellite i.e. DARS. The development of a satellite-based DARS service in this spectrum would require extensive public consultation and more support than has been expressed. It would also involve negotiating provisions in the international allocations for Canada. On the other hand, there is significant interest by the industry to develop fixed multipoint WCS service offerings. More wireless access spectrum is needed below 10 GHz, with good reach and propagation characteristics to provide advanced data networks including high-speed internet access. The Department has concluded that the public interest is best served by designating this spectrum for WCS rather than holding out for additional satellite broadcasting interest to develop.

While U.S. licensing decisions in the bands 2305–2320 MHz and 2345–2360 MHz enable fixed and mobile services, the domestic allocations retain all services currently in the table, including radiolocation and broadcast-satellite (sound) communication services. The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations has fixed, mobile and radiolocation services allocated on a primary basis in the band 2300–2483.5 MHz, with the mobile aeronautical telemetry service (MATS) having priority over other mobile service uses by international footnote S5.394. In SP 1-20 GHz the mobile service utilization of the bands 2300–2360 MHz and 2400–2483.5 MHz was limited to the Government of Canada (GOC) telemetry applications. In DGTP-003-2000, the Department designated the band 2360–2400 MHz for GOC MATS exclusive use with access to the band 2400–2483.5 MHz on a no protection basis. The issue of retaining access to the band 2300–2360 MHz for MATS on a secondary basis is treated in section 3.4.

Industry Canada is making the following policy provisions:

The spectrum in the bands 2305–2320 MHz and 2345–2360 MHz is re-assigned from conventional microwave radio systems (point-to-point) to Wireless Communication Service applications. A policy framework and competitive licensing process will be developed to authorize WCS systems in these bands. Licensing is anticipated in 2002.

In the band 2300–2360 MHz, the current footnote for the primary mobile allocation gives preference to MATS operations. MATS will need to be restricted to operating on a secondary basis with respect to WCS operations to facilitate broadband service implementation (see section 3.4).

The defining line between fixed and mobile services is becoming less distinct in some scenarios envisaged for local broadband networks. Provision for applications which have elements of both services, depending on the user location or situation, are included in several broadband requirements. The Department wishes to provide full flexibility for the development of local broadband networks in this band and does not want to predetermine or prescribe the type of commercial services to be offered. However, Industry Canada envisages that the spectrum designated for WCS services will be used predominantly for the provision of local broadband access applications in fixed service point-to-multipoint configurations.

3.2 Band 2320–2345 MHz

Industry Canada solicited input on the opportunities available for using the band 2320–2345 MHz in Canada. The views varied widely. It is noted that this band is subject to the sharing conditions of the Agreement on Coordination between U.S. Satellite Digital Audio Radio Service and Canadian Fixed Service and Mobile Aeronautical Telemetry Service in the Band 2320–2345 MHz.

Some respondents supported the moratorium on licensing any new fixed and mobile systems in the band 2320–2345 MHz. Some expressed interest to further study this spectrum as potential allocation for Canadian audio broadcasting satellite-DARS. Other respondents indicated that the Department should initiate a public consultation concerning the use of the band 2310–2360 MHz for DARS in Canada. In addition there was interest to consider the use of U.S. DARS satellite capacity in the band 2320–2345 MHz to provide broadcasting services in Canada.

However, there was some strong opposition by the Digital Audio Broadcasters (DAB) community with respect to making any allocation for DARS in Canada in this band. It was believed that the implementation of DARS would directly compete with DAB service and create economic hardship to the commercial roll-out of DAB services in Canada. Some went as far as to recommend that the Department continue to licence fixed service applications to prevent any potential of DARS service.

Given the uncertain environment the Department has decided to maintain flexibility for the time being. Accordingly:

The moratorium on the licensing of new fixed systems in the band 2320–2345 MHz will be retained in order to allow flexibility in deciding future use for this spectrum. Parties wishing to explore the possibility of providing broadcasting services by satellite in this band in Canada should make their interest known to the Department.

3.3 Band 2285–2305 MHz

The Department also sought comments on the interest in the band 2285–2305 MHz, noting the U.S. policy decision to include 2300–2305 MHz with new emerging technology spectrum.

The Department wishes to note the following US allocations:

  1. The band 2285–2290 MHz is designated for use by the federal government for space science applications. Non-government space science applications are permitted on a restricted basis.
  2. The band 2290–2300 MHz is designated for use by the federal government for fixed, mobile and deep space research use, as well as, for non-government space research applications.
  3. The band 2300–2305 MHz is allocated to the amateur service on a secondary basis. This band is on reserve until new opportunities or technology prospects arise.

Comments on the interest in this band varied. Suggestions were made to designate the band 2285–2305 MHz for fixed point-to-point and point-to-multipoint return links in combination with the WCS bands, future emerging technologies, and for commercial or fixed applications in the medium/long term.

Most agreed however that it is unclear what technologies will be developed for this spectrum and that making any provisions for new allocations or utilization would be premature.

Industry Canada is making the following interim decision:

The Department will retain the moratorium on the licensing of any new fixed systems in the band 2285–2305 MHz. The band 2285–2305 MHz will be kept in reserve until future prospects become clearer. In the interim the Department may consider applications for innovative use of parts of the spectrum to enhance existing systems.

1 The Department is making the following policy provision : A moratorium on the licensing of any new fixed and mobile systems in the band 2285–2360 MHz. Modifications to and/or extensions of existing systems may be permitted on a case-by-case basis.


Date modified:

PS 2285 MHz — Révisions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la gamme de fréquences 2285-2483,5 MHz

Juin 2001

Table de matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Contexte
  3. Dispositions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les bandes de la gamme 2285–2483,5 MHz
  4. Mise en oeuvre

Industrie Canada
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-003-01 — Révisions à la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la gamme de fréquences 2285–2483,5 MHz

Le présent avis a pour but d'annoncer les révisions apportées à la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans certaines bandes de la gamme de fréquences 2285–2483,5 MHz. Il fait suite au document de consultation publié en mars 2000 sous le titre Projet de révision de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS 1–s20 GHz) pour les services exploités dans la bande 2285–2483,5 MHz.

Un certain nombre de demandes concernant l'utilisation de cette gamme de fréquences ont été soulevées lors de la consultation initiale, dont la désignation des bandes 2305–2320 MHz et 2345–2360 MHz pour les services de communications sans fil (SCSF) et l'autorisation d'émetteurs hyperfréquences exempts de licence utilisant des antennes directives dans la bande 2400–2483,5 MHz. Le Ministère a reçu un certain nombre d'observations sur les diverses propositions. Compte tenu de ces observations, le Ministère annonce, dans le document de politique, certaines décisions relatives à la politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande 2285–2483,5 MHz.

Le document de politique intitulé Révisions à la Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la bande 2285–2383,5 MHz est disponible à l'adresse électronique suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

On peut également obtenir les documents sur support papier, contre paiement, en s'adressant à :

Tyrell Press Ltd., 2714, chemin Fenton, Gloucester (Ontario) K1T 3T7, courriel : sales1@tyrellpress.ca, 1-800-267-4862 (téléphone sans frais, Canada), 1-800-574-0137 (téléphone sans frais, États-Unis), 613-822-0740 (téléphone, autres pays), 613-822-1089 (télécopieur); ou DLS, Groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph, 45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur, Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7, 1-888-562-5561 (téléphone sans frais au Canada), 1-800-565-7757 (télécopieur sans frais au Canada), 819-779-4335 (téléphone, autres pays), 819-779-2833 (télécopieur, autres pays).

Le 1er juin 2001

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications,
Michael Helm


1.0 Introduction

Le présent document de politique, annoncé dans l'avis dans la Gazette DGTP-003-01, porte sur les révisions apportées à la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la gamme de fréquences 2285–2483,5 MHz.

En vertu de cette politique, des dispositions sont prises notamment pour faciliter l'exploitation de dispositifs hyperfréquences exempts de licence dans la bande 2400–2483,5 MHz, désigner les bandes aux services de communications sans fil (SCSF) et permettre l'exploitation de liaisons de reportage télévisé et de surveillance au moyen de plates-formes aéroportées. La politique comporte également des dispositions additionnelles pour l'exploitation de systèmes mobiles aéronautiques de télémesure.

2.0 Contexte

En janvier 1995, Industrie Canada a publié une politique d'utilisation du spectre, intitulée Révisions aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1 à 20 GHz (PS 1–20 GHz), qui comportait d'importantes révisions aux dispositions de politique du spectre visant les bandes hertziennes de la gamme 1–20 GHz. Ce document définissait de nouvelles orientations stratégiques pour répondre à la demande croissante de nouvelles fréquences par les services existants et en émergence, abordait la conversion à des installations numériques et donnait une plus grande souplesse d'accès au spectre aux fournisseurs de services et aux fabricants de matériel.

En août 1997, en raison de nouvelles demandes, un document de consultation publique, intitulé Propositions portant sur de nouvelles possibilités d'utilisation des fréquences radioélectriques de la bande 1–20 GHz (avis DGTP-006-97), a été publié. En août 1998, Industrie Canada a annoncé une politique du spectre, intitulée Politique du spectre et dispositions sur l'attribution de licences pour les systèmes fixes d'accès sans fil dans les régions rurales dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 400 à 3 700 MHz (avis DGTP-013-98), qui présentait la première série de modifications apportées à la PS 1–20 GHz. En juin 1999, Industrie Canada a annoncé une nouvelle politique du spectre visant la gamme 1–20 GHz, intitulée Politique et procédures de délivrance de licences — Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint dans la bande 2500 MHz (avis DGRB-006-99). Dernièrement, Industrie Canada annonçait une autre politique d'utilisation du spectre visant cette gamme, intitulée Modifications aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1–3 GHz (avis DGTP-006-99), qui traitait de plusieurs questions, y compris de nouvelles fréquences pour le service mobile par satellite.

Le dernier document de consultation, intitulé Projet de révision de la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la bande 2285–2483,5 MHz (avis DGTP-003-2000), a été publié en mars 2000. Les propositions qui y sont présentées ont été préparées en réponse à un certain nombre de besoins, dont l'accès sans fil novateur pour services Internet et de réseau local. Parmi les principaux points liés à l'utilisation de cette bande, notons l'accord Canada-États-Unis sur la radiodiffusion audionumérique et le service de radiodiffusion audionumérique américain (DARS) par satellite, dans la bande 2320–2345 MHz, la désignation, par les États-Unis, de bandes pour les services SCSF et l'utilisation de dispositifs et de systèmes exempts de licence. Compte tenu des observations du public et du besoin pressant de permettre de nouveaux dispositifs sans fil, le Ministère établit les politiques pertinentes d'utilisation du spectre pour la bande 2285–2483,5 MHz.

3.0 Dispositions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les bandes de la gamme 2285–2483,5 MHz

3.1 Bandes 2305–2320 MHz et 2345–2360 MHz

Dans le document de politique, annoncé dans l'avis dans la Gazette DGTP-003-2000, Industrie Canada a imposé un moratoire sur l'autorisation de tout nouveau système fixe ou mobile dans la bande 2285–2360 MHz1. On a sollicité du public des commentaires sur un projet visant à aligner la désignation des bandes 2305–2320 MHz et 2345–2360 MHz sur la pratique en vigueur aux États-Unis pour un service point-multipoint connu comme le service de communications sans fil (SCSF).

Un certain nombre de répondants ont indiqué que le Ministère devrait désigner cette bande pour l'exploitation du service SCSF et délivrer sans tarder des licences à des systèmes. Il est clairement ressorti des observations présentées qu'il existe déjà un appui solide pour l'harmonisation des fréquences et des services avec l'usage permis aux États-Unis, afin qu'il soit possible de tirer tous les avantages d'un vaste marché de l'équipement. Un exploitant de systèmes de distribution multipoint (SDM) a indiqué que des fréquences de cette bande pourraient servir de fréquences de retour hors bande pour la bande 2596–2686 MHz réservée aux systèmes SDM pour les services de radiodiffusion interactive et les services autres que de radiodiffusion.

Des répondants ont fait part à la fois d'intérêts et de préoccupations, en ce qui concerne l'utilisation possible de cette bande pour le service audionumérique de radiodiffusion (DARS) par satellite. L'exploitation d'un service DARS par satellite dans cette bande devrait faire l'objet de vastes consultations et jouir d'un appui plus important que celui qui a été manifesté. Cela supposerait également la négociation de dispositions pour le Canada dans les attributions internationales. Par contre, on a noté dans l'industrie un intérêt important pour la prestation de services SCSF fixes multipoint. Il existe un besoin pour d'autres fréquences d'accès sans fil au-dessous de 10 GHz, avec une bonne portée et une bonne propagation, afin de permettre la mise sur pied de réseaux perfectionnés de transmission de données, y compris l'accès rapide à l'Internet. Le Ministère a conclu qu'on sert mieux l'intérêt public en désignant cette bande pour le service SCSF qu'en attendant un intérêt additionnel pour la radiodiffusion par satellite.

Aux États-Unis, les décisions de délivrer des licences dans les bandes 2305–2320 MHz et 2345–2360 MHz ont rendu possible les services fixe et mobile, mais les attributions intérieures demeurent en vigueur pour tous les services actuellement prévus au tableau, y compris la radiolocalisation et les services de radiodiffusion (sonore) par satellite. Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences accorde une attribution à titre primaire aux services fixe, mobile et de radiolocalisation dans la bande 2300–2483,5 MHz, où le service mobile aéronautique de télémesure (SMAT) a la priorité sur d'autres utilisations du service mobile en vertu du renvoi international S5.394. La PS 1–20 GHz restreint davantage l'utilisation des bandes 2300–2360 MHz et 2400–2483,5 MHz, réservées aux applications de télémesure du gouvernement du Canada. Dans l'avis DGTP-003-2000, le Ministère a désigné la bande 2360–2400 MHz pour l'utilisation exclusive par le SMAT du gouvernement du Canada avec un accès à la bande 2400–2483,5 MHz en régime de non-protection. La question de la conservation de l'accès du SMAT à la bande 2300–2360 MHz à titre secondaire fait l'objet de la section 3.4.

Industrie Canada prend les dispositions de politique suivantes :

Les fréquences des bandes 2305–2320 MHz et 2345–2360 MHz sont réassignées des systèmes hertziens classiques (point-à-point) aux applications du service de communications sans fil. Un cadre de politique et des modalités de délivrance de licences en régime concurrentiel seront élaborés pour permettre l'autorisation de systèmes SCSF dans ces bandes. Des licences devraient être délivrées en 2002.

Dans la bande 2300–2360 MHz, le renvoi actuel pour l'assignation du service mobile primaire accorde un statut prioritaire aux opérations du SMAT. Le SMAT devra être limité à une exploitation à titre secondaire à l'égard des opération du service SCSF pour permettre la mise en oeuvre des services à large bande (voir section 3.4).

La ligne de démarcation entre les services fixe et mobile devient moins distincte dans certains scénarios envisagés pour les réseaux locaux à large bande. Des dispositions pour les applications qui comprennent des éléments des deux services, selon l'emplacement ou la situation de l'utilisateur, sont comprises dans plusieurs exigences relatives à la large bande. Le Ministère désire assurer la souplesse maximale pour le développement dans cette bande de réseaux locaux à large bande et ne veut pas prédéterminer ni prescrire le type de services commerciaux à offrir. Cependant, Industrie Canada prévoit que la bande désignée pour les services SCSF sera utilisée principalement pour la fourniture d'applications d'accès local à la large bande dans des configurations point-multipoint du service fixe.

3.2 Bande 2320–2345 MHz

Industrie Canada a demandé les observations du public sur les possibilités d'utiliser la bande 2320–2345 MHz au Canada. Les avis étaient très partagés. Il est à noter que cette bande est assujettie aux conditions de partage de l'Entente de coordination entre le service américain de radio audionumérique par satellite et les services canadiens fixe et mobile aéronautique de télémesure dans la bande 2320–2345 MHz.

Des répondants ont appuyé le moratoire à l'égard de la délivrance de licences de nouveaux systèmes fixes et mobiles dans la bande 2320–2345 MHz. Certains répondants ont dit être intéressés à poursuivre l'étude de cette bande pour son attribution possible au service de radiodiffusion audionumérique (DARS) par satellite au Canada. D'autres répondants ont indiqué que le Ministère devrait entreprendre une consultation publique au sujet de l'utilisation de la bande 2310–2360 MHz pour le service DARS au Canada. Certains se sont même montrés intéressés à étudier l'utilisation de la capacité des satellites DARS américains dans la bande 2320–2345 MHz pour offrir des services de radiodiffusion au Canada.

Une forte opposition a cependant été manifestée par le milieu des radiodiffuseurs audionumériques au sujet des attributions possibles dans cette bande au service DARS au Canada. On croit que la mise en place du DARS ferait directement concurrence au service de radiodiffusion audionumérique (RAN) et causerait des difficultés économiques au service RAN au moment de son lancement commercial au Canada. Certains ont même recommandé au Ministère de continuer à délivrer des licences aux applications du service fixe, afin d'éliminer toute possibilité de prestation du service DARS.

Étant donné le climat d'incertitude qui règne, le Ministère a décidé de maintenir une certaine souplesse pour le moment. Par conséquent :

Le moratoire sur l'octroi de licences pour les nouveaux systèmes fixes dans la bande 2320–2345 MHz sera maintenu afin de permettre une certaine marge de manoeuvre concernant l'utilisation future de ce spectre. Les parties qui désirent examiner la possibilité d'offrir des services de radiodiffusion par satellite dans cette bande au Canada devraient manifester leur intérêt au Ministère.

3.3 Bande 2285–2305 MHz

Le Ministère a sollicité des observations sur l'intérêt à l'égard de la bande 2285–2305 MHz, compte tenu de la décision prise par les États-Unis d'inclure la bande 2300–2305 MHz dans la gamme réservée aux nouvelles technologies émergentes.

Le Ministère veut prendre bonne note des attributions suivantes en vigueur aux États-Unis :

  1. La bande 2285–2290 MHz est désignée pour utilisation par le gouvernement fédéral pour des applications spatiales. Les applications spatiales non gouvernementales sont permises à titre restreint.
  2. La bande 2290–2300 MHz est désignée pour utilisation par le gouvernement fédéral pour des recherches sur les services fixe et mobile ainsi que sur l'espace lointain, de même que pour des recherches spatiales non gouvernementales.
  3. La bande 2300–2305 MHz est attribuée au service amateur à titre secondaire. Cette bande est gardée en réserve jusqu'à ce que de nouvelles possibilités ou perspectives technologiques se présentent.

Les observations ont varié sur l'intérêt à l'égard de cette bande. Certains répondants ont proposé de désigner la bande 2285–2305 MHz pour les liaisons de retour entre points fixes et point-multipoint en combinaison avec la bande prévue pour les services SCSF, les technologies qui émergeront plus tard et les applications commerciales ou fixes à moyen ou à long terme.

La plupart des répondants étaient cependant d'accord pour dire qu'il n'est pas clair quelles technologies seront mises au point pour ces fréquences, et qu'il serait prématuré de prévoir des dispositions pour de nouvelles attributions ou utilisations.

Industrie Canada prend la décision provisoire suivante :

Le Ministère maintiendra le moratoire décrété à l'égard de la délivrance de licences pour tout nouveau système fixe dans la bande 2285–2305 MHz. La bande 2285–2305 MHz sera gardée en réserve jusqu'à ce que les perspectives deviennent plus claires. En attendant, le Ministère peut prendre en considération des demandes visant une utilisation novatrice de certaines parties du spectre en vue d'améliorer des systèmes existants.

1 Le Ministère prend la disposition de politique suivante : Un moratoire est imposé sur l'autorisation de tout nouveau système fixe ou mobile dans la bande 2285–2360 MHz. La modification ou l'expansion des systèmes existants pourra être autorisée de façon ponctuelle.


Date de modification :