Archived — Notice No. DGTP-009-01

Industry Canada

November 21, 2001 — Industry Canada hereby announces that the deadline of December 11, 2001, for submissions in response to Canada Gazette Notice No. DGTP-009-01, has been extended to December 28, 2001, and that the December 28, 2001 deadline for the submission of reply comments on the initial submissions has been extended to January 13, 2002.

Gazette Notice No. DGTP-009-01Consultation on an Application to Use Mobile Satellite Spectrum to Provide Complementary Terrestrial Mobile Service to Improve Satellite Coverage

Radiocommunication Act

The Department has received an application from TMI Communications and Company, Limited Parternship (TMI) for approval of a joint venture with an Motient corporation, an American corporation, to develop and operate a new generation of multi-beam mobile satellites using part of the L-band (1525-1559/1626.5-1660.5 MHz) to replace the MSAT satellite. This notice announces the release of a consultation paper inviting comments on a particular aspect of TMI's application, namely the proposal to deploy a digital terrestrial mobile service, as in-fill or complementary service, to the mobile satellite service.

The terrestrial component, which would be implemented in conjunction with the deployment of the next generation of satellites, would extend the service in urban areas where the satellite coverage may be blocked by high-rise buildings. The first of two satellites is planned to be in operation in about four years after the approvals have been granted by the Canadian and American regulators.

Invitation to Comment

The Department of Industry invites submissions, preferably in electronic format, from all interested parties on the issues raised for comments in the consultation paper. This Notice is available electronically at the following address:

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home

or can be obtained in hard copy, for a fee from:

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714 Fenton Road
Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7
Email: sales1@tyrellpress.ca
1-800-267-4862 (Canada toll-free telephone)
1-800-574-0137 (United States toll-free telephone)
613-822-0740 (Worldwide telephone)
613-822-1089 (Facsimile)

and

DLS, St. Joseph Print Group
45 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard
Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7
1-888-562-5561 (Canada toll-free telephone)
1-800-565-7757 (Canada toll-free facsimile)
819-779-4335 (Worldwide telephone)
819-779-2833 (Worldwide facsimile)

Respondents are strongly encouraged to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the Department's Web site. Documents submitted should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All comments should make reference to "Comments - Gazette Notice DGTP-009-01" at the following Internet address: Wireless@ic.gc.ca.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title, and the Notice reference number (DGTP-009-01). To ensure there is time to consider all comments, submissions should be received no later than December 11, 2001.

Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received in response to this Notice will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Web site: (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home).

Reply comments on these initial submissions will then be invited and should be sent to the Internet address Wireless@ic.gc.ca no later than December 28, 2001. Reply comments will also be made available to the public via Industry Canada's Web site. All submissions must cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title and the Notice reference number (DGTP-009-01). Submissions can also be submitted to the Director by mail at: 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

October 19, 2001

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-009-01

Industrie Canada

Le 21 novembre 2001 — Par la présente, Industrie Canada annonce que la date d'échéance du 11 décembre 2001, pour la sousmission des commentaires à l'avis no DGTP-009-01 publié dans la Gazette du Canada, sera prolongée jusqu'au 28 décembre 2001, et que la date d'échéance du 28 décembre 2001 pour les commentaires en réponse aux commentaires initiaux sera prolongée jusqu'au 13 janvier 2002.

Avis nº DGTP-009-01Consultation sur une demande d'utilisation du spectre du service mobile par satellite dans le but d'assurer un service mobile de Terre complémentaire améliorant la couverture par satellite

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le Ministère a reçu de TMI Communications and Company, Limited Partnership (TMI) une demande d'autorisation d'une coentreprise avec la société Motient, des États-Unis, en vue d'établir et d'exploiter une nouvelle génération de satellites multi-faisceaux du service mobile dans une partie de la bande L (1 525-1 559/1 626,5-1 660,5 MHz) pour remplacer le satellite MSAT. Le présent avis annonce la publication d'un document de consultation invitant les intéressés à faire part de leurs commentaires sur un aspect particulier de la demande de TMI, soit la proposition de mettre sur pied un service mobile de Terre numérique, comme service d'appoint ou complémentaire au service mobile par satellite.

La composante de Terre, qui serait mise en service en même temps que la prochaine génération de satellites, étendrait le service dans les régions urbaines où la couverture par satellite peut être bloquée par des immeubles de grande hauteur. Le premier des deux satellites prévus devrait entrer en service environ quatre ans après que les organismes de réglementation du Canada et des États-Unis auront accordé leurs autorisations.

Invitation à présenter des commentaires

Le ministère de l'Industrie invite tous les intéressés à lui faire part de leurs commentaires sur les questions que soulève le document de consultation, préférablement sous forme électronique. Ce document est disponible sous forme électronique à l'adresse Internet suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil

On peut également l'obtenir sur papier, moyennant des frais, aux adresses suivantes :

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714, chemin Fenton
Gloucester (Ontario) K1T 3T7
courriel : sales1@tyrellpress.ca
numéro sans frais au Canada : 1-800-267-4862
numéro sans frais aux É.-U. : 1-800-574-0137
numéro mondial : 613-822-0740
numéro de télécopieur : 613-822-1089

et

DLS, Le groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur
Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7
numéro sans frais au Canada : 1-888-562-5561
numéro de télécopieur sans frais au Canada : 1-800-565-7757
numéro mondial : 819-779-4335
numéro de télécopieur mondial : 819-779-2833

Les répondants sont fortement encouragés à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) afin d'en faciliter l'affichage sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents envoyés doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, le numéro de version et le système d'exploitation utilisés. Tous les commentaires doivent s'accompagner de la mention « Commentaires - Avis dans la Gazette DGTP-009-01 » et être envoyés à l'adresse Internet suivante : Wireless@ic.gc.ca.

Les commentaires peuvent aussi être envoyés par courrier ordinaire au Directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8. Ils doivent tous préciser la date de publication de l'avis dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, ainsi que le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis. Afin que suffisamment de temps soit disponible pour l'examen de tous les commentaires, ceux-ci doivent être reçus au plus tard le 11 décembre 2001.

Tous les commentaires reçus à la suite de la publication du présent avis seront affichés sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil) peu après la fin de la période de commentaires.

Des commentaires en réponse aux commentaires initiaux seront ensuite sollicités et devraient être envoyés à l'adresse Internet Wireless@ic.gc.ca au plus tard le 28 décembre 2001. Les commentaires en réponse seront également affichés sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada. Ils doivent tous préciser la date de publication de l'avis dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, ainsi que le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis. Les commentaires en réponse peuvent aussi être envoyés par courrier ordinaire au Directeur général, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Le 19 octobre 2001

Directeur général,
Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :