Archived — Notice No. DGTP-001-02

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-001-02Consultation on Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 3-30 GHz Frequency Range

The purpose of this Notice is to announce a consultation paper on proposals for revisions to the spectrum utilization policies for services in certain bands in the frequency range 3-30 GHz. These proposals are in response to a number of expressions of interest for the introduction of new services and applications in the spectrum above 3 GHz.

A number of changes are occurring in this spectrum range. For example, the requirement for exclusive bands to support heavy route microwave systems in the 4 and 6 GHz range has greatly diminished with the availability of other transport options such as fibre systems. In the Ku bands (11 and 14 GHz) there is interest in the provision of new broadband access services via multimedia satellite. Similarly in the Ka band (18 and 28 GHz) there are plans for multimedia satellite systems to be in operation in the next 1-3 years. In addition to these requirements, there is a demand for spectrum for new terrestrial wireless-access services including licence-exempt applications.

As a result of these and other developments, a review of various aspects of the bands between 3 and 30 GHz is warranted. Based on the results of this public consultation, Industry Canada will establish spectrum utilization policies to respond to these needs.

Invitation to Comment

The Department of Industry invites submissions, preferably in electronic format, from all interested parties on the issues raised for comments in the consultation paper. This Notice is available electronically at the following address: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum or can be obtained in hard copy, for a fee from:

Organization:
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Address:
2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7 Canada
toll-free telephone: 
1-800-267-4862
United States toll-free telephone: 
1-800-574-0137
Worldwide telephone: 
613-822-0740
Facsimile: 
613-822-1089

and

Organization:
DLS, St-Joseph Print Group Inc.
Address:
45 Sacré-CoeurBoulevard Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7 Canada
toll-free telephone:
 1-888-562-5561
Canada toll-free facsimile: 
1-800-565-7757
Worldwide telephone:
 819-779-4335
Worldwide facsimile:
 819-779-2833

Respondents are strongly encouraged to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the Department's Web site. Documents submitted should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All comments should make reference to "Comments - Gazette Notice DGTP-001-02" at the following Internet address: Wireless@ic.gc.ca.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette, Part  I, publication date, the title, and the Notice reference number (DGTP-001-02).

To ensure there is time to consider all comments, submissions should be received no later than April 30, 2002.

Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received in response to this Notice will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-001-02

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-001-02 —  Consultation sur les révisions aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans la gamme de fréquences 3-30 GHz

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication d'un document de consultation sur des propositions de révision des politiques d'utilisation du spectre visant des services exploités dans certaines bandes de la gamme de fréquences 3-30 GHz. Ces propositions répondent à un certain nombre de déclarations d'intérêt concernant l'introduction de nouveaux services et de nouvelles applications dans les bandes au-dessus de 3 GHz.

Un certain nombre de changements se produisent dans cette gamme de fréquences. Par exemple, l'exigence de bandes exclusives pour les systèmes micro-ondes à fort trafic dans les gammes 4 et 6 GHz a grandement diminué grâce à la disponibilité de supports de transmission de rechange tels que les systèmes à fibres optiques. Dans les bandes Ku (11 et 14 GHz), il y a un intérêt considérable pour la fourniture de nouveaux services d'accès à large bande par satellite multimédia. De même, pour la bande Ka (18 et 28 GHz), il y a des plans pour la mise en oeuvre de systèmes à satellites multimédias d'ici un à trois ans. En plus de ces exigences, il y a une demande de fréquences pour de nouveaux services d'accès sans fil de Terre, y compris des applications exemptes de licence.

Compte tenu de ces changements et d'autres développements, un examen de divers aspects de l'exploitation des bandes comprises entre 3 et 30 GHz est justifié. Industrie Canada établira ensuite des politiques d'utilisation du spectre fondées sur les résultats de la présente consultation publique.

Invitation à présenter des observations

Le Ministère invite tous les intéressés à présenter des observations, de préférence sur support électronique, relativement aux questions soulevées dans le document de consultation. Le présent avis et le document de consultation sont disponibles à l'adresse Internet suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre ou on peut également obtenir les documents sur support papier, contre paiement, en s'adressant à :

Organisation : 
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Addresse : 
2714, chemin Fenton Gloucester (Ontario) K1T 3T7
courriel : 
sales1@tyrellpress.ca
numéro de téléphone sans frais au Canada : 
1-800-267-4862
numéro sans frais aux É.-U.  : 
1-800-574-0137
numéro mondial : 
613-822-0740
numéro de télécopieur : 
613-822-1089

et

Organisation : 
DLS, Le groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph
Addresse : 
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7
numéro sans frais au Canada : 
1-888-562-5561
numéro de télécopieur sans frais au Canada : 
1-800-565-7757
numéro mondial : 
819-779-4335
numéro de télécopieur mondial : 
819-779-2833

Les intéressés sont invités à soumettre leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT ) pour en faciliter l'affichage sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents soumis doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, le numéro de la version et le système d'exploitation utilisés. Toutes les observations doivent être précédées de la mention « Observations - Avis DGTP-001-02 de la Gazette », et elles doivent être transmises à l'adresse suivante : Wireless@ic.gc.ca.

Les observations écrites doivent être adressées au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. Le titre, la date de parution et le numéro de l'avis (DGTP-001-02) publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada doivent figurer sur tous les documents présentés.

Pour que les soumissions reçoivent toute l'attention qu'elles méritent, elles doivent être reçues au plus tard le 30avril 2002.

Toutes les observations reçues en réponse au présent avis seront affichées sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre) peu après la clôture de la période de présentation des observations.

Michael Helm
Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

Date de modification :