Archived — Notice No. DGRB-002-02

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act, S.C. 1985, c. r-2

Notice No. DGRB-002-02 — Determination of Interference for Equipment that defeats the conditional access system of Broadcast Satellite (Direct-to-Home or DTH) Receivers (section 50 Radiocommunication Regulations)

Introduction

The Department of Industry has received several complaints of interference to public safety radiocommunication services across Canada.

The Department has made investigations at known interference sites and has conducted laboratory tests of suspect equipment. These analyses have demonstrated that certain devices used to defeat conditional access systems of DTH broadcast satellite receivers will, when used in conjunction with such receivers, cause the emission of radio frequency signals of sufficient strength that interference is caused or is likely to be caused to radiocommunication, including that used for law enforcement and search and rescue. For example, these excessive emissions have interfered with the communications of law enforcement agencies and emergency response teams.

Accordingly, the Minister of Industry has, under section 50 of the Radiocommunication Regulations, made a Determination of Interference (through investigations and laboratory analyses) for several models of equipment used to defeat conditional access systems. Conditional access systems are used by direct-to-home (DTH) broadcasters to protect their transmissions from unauthorized reception. The decoding of encrypted subscription programming signals from direct-to-home (DTH) broadcast satellite facilities must be performed under and in accordance with an authorization from a person who has a lawful right in Canada to transmit the signal and to authorize its decoding. Various types of equipment, such as pirate smart cards or modules, may be employed to gain unauthorized access to satellite television signals. Equipment of this type has also been found to adversely affect the technical performance of the broadcast satellite receiver with respect to radio frequency emissions.

This Determination, as specified in the following notice, will assist in safeguarding radiocommunication services, including those used by police and search and rescue, from interference.

In accordance with section 50 of the Regulations, when there is a determination that a model or several models of equipment cause or are likely to cause interference to radiocommunication, the Minister shall give notice of the determination to persons who are likely to be affected thereby: in this case, persons who manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, sell, install or who use equipment referred to in this notice.

For further details respecting the applicable models of equipment please refer to the Annex of this notice and to the "List of Models of Equipment Subject to a Determination of Interference (s.50 Radiocommunication Regulations)" published by the Department. The list of the models of equipment subject to this notice may be amended from time to time and is available at the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/direct-to-home

Hard copies of the documents are available, for a fee, from DLS, St. Joseph Print Group Inc. , 45 Sacré-C.Aur Boulevard, Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7, 1-888-562-5561 Canada toll-free telephone: , 1-800-565- 7757 (Canada toll-free facsimile), 819-779-4335 (Worldwide telephone), 819-779-2833 (Worldwide facsimile).

Notice

Notice is hereby given, that the Minister of Industry has, under section 50 of the Radiocommunication Regulations, made a determination that the models of equipment listed in the Annex to this notice cause or are likely to cause interference to radiocommunication. The list may be amended from time to time and the most recent version can be found at the following Industry Canada Web page: http://www.ic.gc.ca/direct-to-home. Effective the date of publication of this notice, persons who manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, sell, install or use the listed equipment are subject to section 50 of the Radiocommunication Regulations.

In accordance with subsection 50(3) of the Regulations, no person shall manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, sell, install or use equipment in respect of which notice has been given. Persons who do not comply with section 50 of the Regulations may also be in breach of other applicable provisions of the Radiocommunication Actand Regulations or other statutes, such as the Criminal Code.

Failure by a person to comply with the Minister's notice, issued pursuant to section 50, is an offence under the Radiocommunication Act. Section 10(1)(d) of the Radiocommunication Actprovides for sentencing of up to $5000 and/or one year in prison for individuals and fines up to $25,000 for corporations. Under section 10(3) of the Radiocommunication Acta person may be convicted for a separate offence for each day on which the offence is committed or continued. The Contraventions Actis also applicable in those provinces where it is in force.

Any inquiries regarding this notice should be directed to the local Industry Canada District Office, which is listed in the government blue pages of the telephone directory under "Radio Licensing" or on Industry Canada's Strategis web site, at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting
Regulatory Branch

R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering

Annex

(section 50 of the Radiocommunication Regulations)

Equipment used to defeat Conditional Access Systems of Satellite Broadcast Receivers
Card type :  Markings found on the card : 
AVR3 A305T Rel. 01
AVR4 S500 REL 01
AVR Wafer ZEUS-X Technologies
LMV305 R5
Made in Canada
AVR6 VCT E44
Made in Canada
AVR6 AUTOROLL AVR6
AVR6 PP21012000
AVR-006
an L-shaped Logo, followed by 5 94V 0
AVR8 XTREME AVR8
AUTO ROLL - 2 X 4 MEG.
ATmega Wafer EFA ATmega Card 1.0d

Notes : 

The public may wish to consult the following technical standards and technical notes pertaining to this Notice of Determination. These are published by Industry Canada, and are posted on the Department's web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum for the English version and http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre for the French version.

Technical Standards and Requirements for Radio Apparatus Capable of Receiving Broadcasting(BETS-7)

Investigative Report on Satellite Broadcast Receivers Employing Encryption Defeating Conditional Access Modules

List of Models of Equipment Subject to a Determination of Interference

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGRB-002-02

Ministère de l'industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication, S.C. 1985, ch. r-2

Avis no DGRB-002-02 — Détermination de l'existence de brouillage pour un matériel servant à contourner le système d'accès conditionnel des récepteurs de radiodiffusion par satellite (radiodiffusion directe à domicile) (article 50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication)

Introduction

Le ministère de l'Industrie a reçu plusieurs plaintes relatives au brouillage causé aux services de radiocommunication liés à la sécurité publique dans tout le Canada.

Le Ministère a mené des enquêtes sur l'emplacement connu du brouillage et a effectué des essais en laboratoire du matériel suspect. Ces analyses ont montré que certains appareils utilisés pour mettre en échec les systèmes d'accès conditionnel des récepteurs de radiodiffusion directe à domicile par satellite causeront, lorsqu'ils sont utilisés avec de tels récepteurs, l'émission de signaux de radiofréquence d'une puissance telle que la radiocommunication est brouillée ou risque d'être brouillée, notamment celle dont on se sert pour l'application de la loi et les activités de recherche et de sauvetage. Par exemple, ces émissions excessives ont brouillé les communications des organismes d'exécution de la loi et des équipes d'intervention d'urgence.

Par conséquent, le ministre de l'Industrie, en vertu de l'article 50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, a rendu une décision au sujet du brouillage (au moyen d'enquêtes et d'analyses dans les laboratoires) en ce qui concerne plusieurs modèles de matériel utilisés pour mettre en échec les systèmes d'accès conditionnel. Les organismes de radiodiffusion directe à domicile utilisent les systèmes d'accès conditionnel pour protéger leurs transmissions de la réception non autorisée. Le décodage des signaux d'abonnement chiffrés à partir des systèmes de radiodiffusion directe à domicile (DTH) par satellite doit être réalisé conformément à une autorisation émanant d'une personne qui a un droit légitime au Canada de transmettre le signal et d'autoriser son décodage. Divers types de matériel, comme les cartes à puce ou modules piratés, peuvent être employés pour avoir un accès non autorisé aux signaux de télévision par satellite. On a aussi découvert que ce genre de matériel nuit à la performance technique du récepteur de radiodiffusion par satellite en ce qui concerne les émissions de radiofréquences.

Cette détermination, énoncée dans l'avis suivant, permettra de protéger du brouillage les services de radiocommunication, y compris ceux qui sont utilisés par la police et les services de recherche et de sauvetage.

Conformément à l'article 50 du Règlement, lorsque le Ministre détermine qu'un ou plusieurs modèles de matériel brouillent ou sont susceptibles de brouiller la radiocommunication, il en donne avis aux intéressés : en l'occurrence les personnes qui fabriquent, importent, distribuent, louent, mettent en vente, vendent, installent ou qui utilisent le matériel dont il est question dans l'avis.

Pour obtenir plus de détails au sujet des modèles de matériel applicables, veuillez vous reporter à l'Annexe du présent avis, « Liste des modèles de matériel faisant l'objet d'une détermination de brouillage (art. 50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication) », publiée par le Ministère. La liste des modèles de matériel qui font l'objet de cet avis peut être modifiée de temps en temps et se trouve sur le site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf05562.

On peut se procurer des copies papier des documents, moyennant des frais, auprès de DLS, St. Joseph Print Group Inc. , 45, boulevard Sacré-C.Aur, Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7, 1-888-562-5561 Téléphone sans frais, Canada :  1-800-565- 7757 (télécopieur sans frais, Canada), 819-779-4335 Téléphone, autres pays : 819-779-2833 (télécopieur, autres pays).

Avis

Avis est par les présentes donné que le ministre de l'Industrie, aux termes de l'article  50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, a rendu une décision selon laquelle les modèles de matériel figurant à l'Annexe du présent avis brouillent ou sont susceptibles de brouiller la radiocommunication. La liste peut être modifiée de temps en temps et la version la plus récente se trouve sur la page Web d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf05562.html. À compter de la date de publication du présent avis, les personnes qui fabriquent, importent, distribuent, louent, mettent en vente, vendent, installent ou utilisent le matériel énuméré sont assujettis à l'article 50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

Conformément au paragraphe 50(3) du Règlement, il est interdit de fabriquer, d'importer, de distribuer, de louer, de mettre en vente, de vendre, d'installer ou d'utiliser du matériel au sujet duquel un avis a été donné. Les personnes qui n'observent pas l'article 50 du Règlement peuvent aussi contrevenir à d'autres dispositions applicables de la Loi sur la radiocommunicationet du Règlement ou d'autres lois, comme le Code criminel.

L'inobservation de l'avis du Ministre, émis en vertu de l'article 50, constitue une infraction à la Loi sur la radiocommunication. L'alinéa 10(1) d)de la Loi sur la radiocommunicationprévoit une amende maximale de 5 000 $ ou une peine d'un an de prison pour les particuliers et une amende maximale de 25 000 $ pour les entreprises. Conformément au paragraphe 10(3) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, une personne peut être punie pour une infraction distincte à chaque jour où l'infraction est commise ou poursuivie. La Loi sur les contraventionsest aussi applicable dans les provinces où elle est en vigueur.

Toute demande d'information concernant cet avis doit être adressée au bureau de district local d'Industrie Canada qui figure dans les pages bleues des gouvernements de l'annuaire téléphonique sous la rubrique « Délivrance de licences radio » ou sur le site Web Strategis d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html.

Jan Skora
Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

R.W. McCaughern
Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre,

Annexe

(article 50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication)

Matériel utilisé pour compromettre les systèmes à accès conditionnel des récepteurs de radiodiffusion par satellite
Type de carte :  Marques trouvées sur la carte : 
AVR3 A305T Rel. 01
AVR4 S500 REL 01
AVR Wafer ZEUS-X Technologies
LMV305 R5
Made in Canada
AVR6 VCT E44
Made in Canada
AVR6 AUTOROLL AVR6
AVR6 PP21012000
AVR-006
logo en forme de L, suivi de 5 94V 0
AVR8 XTREME AVR8
AUTO ROLL - 2 X 4 MEG.
ATmega Wafer EFA ATmega Card 1.0d

Notes : 

Le public voudra peut-être consulter les normes et notes techniques suivantes se rapportant à l'avis de détermination. Celles-ci sont publiées par Industrie Canada et affichées sur le site Web du Ministère, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum (version anglaise) et à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre (version française).

Normes et exigences techniques à l'égard des appareils de radiocommunications pouvant recevoir des émissions de radiodiffusion télévisuelle (NTMR-7)

Rapport d'enquête sur les récepteurs de radiodiffusion par satellite utilisant un chiffrement entravant les modules d'accès conditionnel

Liste des modèles de matériel faisant l'objet d'une détermination de brouillage

Date de modification :