Backgrounder

Interference to Public Safety Radiocommunication Systems from Pirate Devices used in Direct–to–Home (DTH) Satellite Equipment

The Department of Industry has received several complaints of interference to public safety radiocommunication services across Canada.

The Department has made investigations at known interference sites and has conducted laboratory tests of suspect equipment. These analyses have demonstrated that certain devices used to defeat conditional access systems of DTH broadcast satellite receivers will, when used in conjunction with such receivers, cause the emission of radio frequency signals of sufficient strength that interference is caused or is likely to be caused to radiocommunication, including that used for law enforcement and search and rescue. For example, these excessive emissions have interfered with the communications of law enforcement agencies and emergency response teams.

All television receivers and appliances, including satellite television decoders, must meet applicable technical standards that limit the emission levels of radiated signals that could cause interference.

Pirate cards are manufactured or imported in an underground black market. Manufacturers or importers typically do not test these devices to determine whether or not they conform to the applicable technical standards.

Generic AVR pirate cards substitute the legitimate smart card used in satellite television receivers in order to receive satellite television programming without payment of subscription fees. The cards are typically in the form of a circuit board, a portion of which remains outside the receiver card slot because it has one or more computer chips on the card. They may also have a connector for a computer cable to connect the AVR card to a personal computer and they may include a separate slot for the legitimate smart card.

Both Bell ExpressVu and Star Choice receivers were found not to cause interfering signals when used in an legitimate manner by a subscriber.

Apart from the interference issue, it should also be noted that in any case unauthorized decoding is prohibited under the Radiocommunication Act.


The following photos are examples of typical AVR cards. AVR cards that are named on the "List of Models of Equipment Subject to a Determination of Interference" may look slightly different and have different componants.

AVR3

photograph of an AVR3 card

photograph of an AVR3 card

AVR6

photograph of an AVR6 card

photograph of an AVR6 card

Date modified:

Contexte

Brouillage des systèmes de radiocommunication des services de sécurité publique par des cartes pirates lorsque utilisées avec de l'équipement du service de radiodiffusion directe par satellite

Le ministère de l'Industrie a reçu plusieurs plaintes relatives au brouillage causé aux services de radiocommunication liés à la sécurité publique dans tout le Canada.

Le Ministère a mené des enquêtes sur l'emplacement connu du brouillage et a effectué des essais en laboratoire du matériel suspect. Ces analyses ont montré que certains appareils utilisés pour mettre en échec les systèmes d'accès conditionnel des récepteurs de radiodiffusion directe à domicile par satellite causeront, lorsqu'ils sont utilisés avec de tels récepteurs, l'émission de signaux de radiofréquence d'une puissance telle que la radiocommunication est brouillée ou risque d'être brouillée, notamment celle dont on se sert pour l'application de la loi et les activités de recherche et de sauvetage. Par exemple, ces émissions excessives ont brouillé les communications des organismes d'exécution de la loi et des équipes d'intervention d'urgence.

Tous les récepteurs et les appareils de télévision, y compris les décodeurs de télévision par satellite, doivent répondre aux normes techniques en vigueur qui limitent les niveaux d'émission de signaux rayonnés pouvant causer de l'interférence.

Les cartes pirates sont fabriquées ou importées sur le marché noir. Généralement, les fabricants ou les importateurs de ces dispositifs ne les testent pas pour s'assurer qu'ils respectent les normes techniques en vigueur.

Les cartes « AVR » pirates génériques remplacent les cartes à mémoire légitimes utilisées dans les récepteurs de télévision par satellite en vue de capter les signaux de télédiffusion par satellite sans payer les frais d'abonnement. Ces cartes se présentent habituellement sous la forme d'une carte de circuits imprimés, dont une partie reste à l'extérieur du logement de carte du récepteur parce qu'elles sont munies de puces informatiques. Elles peuvent également être munies d'un connecteur permettant de les relier à un ordinateur personnel et comporter un emplacement séparé pour loger la carte à mémoire légitime.

Les essais ont montré que les récepteurs Bell ExpressVu et Star Choice ne produisent aucun signal de brouillage lorsque les abonnés les utilisent de manière légitime.

En plus de la question des interférences, on doit aussi noter que, dans tous les cas, le décodage non autorisé est interdit en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.


Les photos suivantes sont des exemples de cartes AVR typiques. Les cartes AVR qui figurent sur la « Liste des modèles de matériel faisant l'objet d'une détermination de brouillage » peuvent présenter une apparence légèrement différente et avoir des composantes différentes.

AVR3

photo d'une carte AVR3

photo d'une carte AVR3

AVR6

photo d'une carte AVR6

photo d'une carte AVR6.

Date de modification :