RSS-132 — Cellular Telephone Systems Operating in the Bands 824-849 MHz and 869-894 MHz

Issue 3

January 2013

Preface

Radio Standards Specification 132, Issue 3, Cellular Telephone Systems Operating in the Bands 824-849 MHz and 869-894 MHz, replaces RSS-132, Cellular Telephones Employing New Technologies Operating in the Bands 824-849 MHz and 869-894 MHz, Issue 2, dated September 2005.

This document will be in force as of the publication date of Notice No. SMSE-003-13 in Canada Gazette, Part I. Upon publication, the public has 120 days to submit comments. Comments received will be taken into account in the preparation of the next version of the document.

Listed below are the changes:

  1. The stated requirement that RSS-132 be used in conjunction with RSS-Gen, General Requirements and Information for the Certification of Radio Apparatus, has been moved from the Preface section to Section 3.1.
  2. The cordless base provision has been removed.
  3. The Electronic Serial Number (ESN) feature has been removed.
  4. The mobile equipment identifier (MEID) and international mobile equipment identity (IMEI) to identify mobile equipment have been added.
  5. The specification that equipment’s transmit power shall be measured in terms of average power has been added. The transmitter’s peak-to-average power ratio is also specified.
  6. The alternative unwanted emission limit for base station equipment with bandwidth greater than 4 MHz has been removed. Equipment shall comply with the same limit regardless of its bandwidth.

Issued under the authority of
the Minister of Industry

space to insert signature
Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch



1. Scope

This Radio Standards Specification (RSS) sets out the requirements for certification of transmitters and receivers for cellular telephone systems in the bands 824-849 MHz and 869-894 MHz.


2. General Information

Equipment certified under this standard is classified as Category I equipment and a technical acceptance certificate (TAC), issued by the Certification and Engineering Bureau of Industry Canada, or a certificate issued by a Certification Body (CB) is required.

2.1 Licensing Requirements

The equipment covered by this standard is subject to licensing, pursuant to subsection 4(1) of the Radiocommunication Act.

2.2 Related Documents

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on Industry Canada’s website at http://ic.gc.ca/spectrum, under Official Publications.

The following Industry Canada document should be consulted:

SRSP-503
Technical Requirements for Cellular Radiotelephone Systems Operating in the Bands 824-849 MHz and 869-894 MHz

SRSP - Standard Radio System Plan


3. General Requirements

3.1 RSS-Gen Compliance

RSS-132 shall be used in conjunction with RSS-Gen, General Requirements and Information for the Certification of Radio Apparatus, for general specifications and information relevant to the equipment for which this standard applies.


4. General Standard Specifications

4.1 External Controls

Section 5.4of RSS-Gen only applies to mobile station equipment, and not to base station equipment that is intended to be under the control of a service provider.

4.2 Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) or International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI)

The 56-bit MEID developed in 3GPP2 (3rd Generation Partnership Project 2) and the IMEI developed in 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project) will be accepted by Industry Canada as complying with the requirements of this section.

  1. Each mobile transmitter in service shall have a unique MEID or IMEI.
  2. The MEID or IMEI host component shall be permanently attached to a main circuit board of the mobile transmitter and the unit’s operating software must not be alterable. The MEID or IMEI must be isolated from fraudulent contact and tampering. If the MEID or IMEI host component does not contain other information, that component must not be removable, and its electrical connections must not be accessible. If the MEID or IMEI host component contains other information, the MEID or IMEI must be encoded using one or more of the following techniques:
    1. multiplication or division by a polynomial;
    2. cyclic coding;
    3. the spreading of MEID or IMEI bits over various non-sequential memory locations.
  3. The MEID or IMEI must be factory set and not alterable, transferable, removable or otherwise able to be manipulated. Cellular mobile equipment must be designed such that any attempt to remove, tamper with, or change the MEID or IMEI chip, its logic system, or firmware originally programmed by the manufacturer will render the mobile transmitter inoperative.

5. Transmitter Standard Specifications

5.1 Frequency Sub-bands

The frequency bands 824-849 MHz and 869-894 MHz are divided into sub-bands as described in SRSP-503. These sub-bands are:

  • 824-835 MHz, 835-845 MHz, 845-846.5 MHz, and 846.5-849 MHz for mobile transmit; and
  • 869-880 MHz, 880-890 MHz, 890-891.5 MHz, and 891.5-894 MHz for base transmit.

5.2 Types of Modulation

Equipment certified under this standard shall use digital modulation.

5.3 Frequency Stability

The carrier frequency shall not depart from the reference frequency in excess of ±2.5 ppm for mobile stations and ±1.5 ppm for base stations.

In lieu of meeting the above stability values, the test report may show that the frequency stability is sufficient to ensure that the occupied bandwidth stays within each of the sub-bands (see Section 5.1) when tested to the temperature and supply voltage variations specified in RSS-Gen.

5.4 Transmitter Output Power and Equivalent Isotropically Radiated Power

The transmitter output power shall be measured in terms of average power. The equivalent isotropically radiated power (e.i.r.p.) for mobile equipment shall not exceed 11.5 watts. Refer to SRSP-503 for base station e.i.r.p. limits.

In addition, the peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) of the transmitter shall not exceed 13 dB for more than 0.1% of the time using a signal corresponding to the highest PAPR during periods of continuous transmission.

5.5 Transmitter Unwanted Emissions

Mobile and base station equipment shall comply with the limits in (i) and (ii) below.

  1. In the first 1.0 MHz band immediately outside and adjacent to each of the sub-bands specified in Section 5.1, the power of emissions per any 1% of the occupied bandwidth shall be attenuated (in dB) below the transmitter output power P ( dBW) by at least 43 + 10 log10p (watts).
  2. After the first 1.0 MHz immediately outside and adjacent to each of the sub-bands, the power of emissions in any 100 kHz bandwidth shall be attenuated (in dB) below the transmitter output power P (dBW) by at least 43 + 10 log10 p (watts). If the measurement is performed using 1% of the occupied bandwidth, power integration over 100 kHz is required.

5.6 Receiver Spurious Emissions

Receiver spurious emissions shall comply with the limits specified in RSS-Gen.

Date modified:

CNR-132 — Systèmes de téléphones cellulaires fonctionnant dans les bandes 824-849 MHz et 869-894 MHz

3e édition

Janvier 2013

Préface

La présent Cahier des normes radioélectriques 132, 3e édition, Systèmes de téléphones cellulaires fonctionnant dans les bandes 824-849 MHz et 869-894 MHz remplace la 2e édition du CNR-132, datée du mois de septembre 2005, Téléphones cellulaires utilisant de nouvelles technologies fonctionnant dans les bandes 824-849 MHz et 869-894 MHz.

Le présent document entre en vigueur à la date de publication de l'avis SMSE-003-13 dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I. À compter de la date de publication, le public dispose de 120 jours pour présenter des observations. Les observations ainsi reçues seront prises en considération dans la préparation de la prochaine édition du document.

Voici les modifications apportées au document :

  1. L’exigence précisant que le CNR-132 soit utilisé conjointement avec le CNR-Gen, Exigences générales et information relatives à la certification des appareils radio, a été déplacée de la préface à la section 3.1.
  2. On a retiré la disposition relative à une base sans fil.
  3. On a retiré la spécification sur le numéro de série électronique (NSE).
  4. On a ajouté la spécification quant à l’identificateur de matériel mobile (MEID) et l’identité internationale de l’équipement mobile (IIEM) afin d’identifier le matériel mobile.
  5. On a ajouté la spécification sur la mesure de la puissance émettrice en termes de puissance moyenne. De plus, on a précisé le rapport de puissance crête à moyenne de l’émetteur.
  6. On a retiré la limite de rechange sur les émissions indésirables qui visent l’équipement de station de base dont la largeur de bande est supérieure à 4 MHz; tout le matériel doit être conforme à la même limite, sans égard à sa largeur de bande.

Publié avec l'autorisation
du ministre de l'Industrie

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

space to insert signature
Marc Dupuis


1. Objet

Le présent Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) établit les exigences de certification applicables aux émetteurs et aux récepteurs utilisés dans des systèmes de téléphones cellulaires dans les bandes 824-849 MHz et 869-894 MHz.


2. Généralités

Le matériel certifié en vertu de la présente norme est classé comme matériel de catégorie I et requiert un certificat d'approbation technique (CAT) délivré par le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques d'Industrie Canada, ou un certificat délivré par un organisme de certification (OC) reconnu.

2.1 Exigences relatives à la livraison de licences

Le matériel régi par la présente norme doit faire l’objet d’une licence conformément au paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

2.2 Documents connexes

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse http://ic.gc.ca/spectre, sous la rubrique Publications officielles.

Le document ci-dessous est cité à titre de référence :

PNRH-503
Prescriptions techniques relatives aux systèmes radiotéléphoniques cellulaires fonctionnant dans les bandes de 824 à 849 MHz et de 869 à 894 MHz

PNRH - Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens


3. Exigences générales

3.1 Conformité au CNR-Gen

Le CNR-132 doit être utilisé conjointement avec le CNR-Gen, intitulé Exigences générales et information relatives à la certification des appareils radio, pour les spécifications générales et l'information relatives au matériel visé par la présente norme.


4. Spécifications générales

4.1 Commandes externes

La section 5.4 du CNR-Gen, ne s’applique qu’à l’équipement des stations mobiles, et non à l’équipement des stations de base destinées à être sous le contrôle d’un fournisseur de services.

4.2 Identificateur de matériel mobile (MEID) ou identité internationale d’équipement mobile (IIEM)

Le MEID de 56 bits mis au point par le groupe 3GPP2 (3rd Generation Partnership Project 2) et le IIEM mis au point par le groupe 3GPP (3rd Generation Partnership Project) seront acceptés par Industrie Canada comme étant conformes aux exigences indiquées dans la présente section.

  1. Chaque émetteur mobile opérationnel doit posséder un MEID ou un IIEM unique.
  2. Le dispositif ayant un MEID ou un IIEM doit être fixé en permanence à une carte de circuit principale de l'émetteur mobile, et le logiciel d'exploitation de l'unité doit être inviolable. Le dispositif ayant un MEID ou un IIEM doit être protégé contre tout contact frauduleux et contre toute intervention non autorisée. Si le dispositif ayant un MEID ou un IIEM ne renferme pas d'autres informations, il doit être installé à demeure et ses connexions électriques doivent être inaccessibles. S'il renferme d'autres renseignements, le MEID ou le IIEM doit être codé à l'aide d'une ou de plusieurs des techniques suivantes :
    1. multiplication ou division par un polynôme;
    2. codage cyclique;
    3. étalement des bits MEID ou IIEM dans divers emplacements de mémoire à accès non séquentiels.
  3. Le MEID ou IIEM doit être réglé en usine et impossible à modifier, à transférer, à extraire ou à manipuler de quelque manière que ce soit. Le matériel mobile cellulaire doit être conçu de manière à ce que toute tentative de retrait, de manipulation sans autorisation ou de modification du circuit intégré MEID ou IIEM, de son système logique ou du micrologiciel tel que programmé originalement par le fabricant mette l’émetteur mobile hors service.

5. Spécifications générales des émetteurs

5.1 Sous bandes de fréquences

Les bandes de fréquences de 824 à 849 MHz et de 869 à 894 MHz sont divisées en sous bandes, comme indiqué dans le PNRH-503, soit :

  • de 824 à 835 MHz, de 835 à 845 MHz, de 845 à 846,5 MHz et de 846,5 à 849 MHz pour la transmission mobile;
  • de 869 à 880 MHz, de 880 à 890 MHz, de 890 à 891,5 MHz et de 891,5 à 894 MHz pour la transmission de base.

5.2 Types de modulation

Les dispositifs certifiés selon la présente norme doivent utiliser la modulation numérique.

5.3 Stabilité de fréquence

La fréquence porteuse ne doit pas s’écarter de la fréquence de référence de plus de ±2,5 ppm pour les stations mobiles et ±1,5 ppm pour les stations de base.

Au lieu de se conformer aux valeurs de stabilité indiquées ci-dessus, le rapport d’essai peut montrer que la stabilité de fréquence est suffisante pour garantir que la largeur de bande occupée demeure à l’intérieur de chaque sous bande (voir la section 5.1), lorsque les essais de stabilité sont faits suivant les variations de température et de tension d’alimentation indiquées dans le CNR-Gen.

5.4 Puissance de sortie de l’émetteur et la puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente

La puissance de sortie de l’émetteur doit être exprimée en puissance moyenne. La puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente (p.i.r.e) de l’équipement mobile ne doit pas excéder 11,5 watts. Les limites de p.i.r.e liées aux stations de base figurent dans le PNRH-503.

De plus, le rapport de puissance crête à moyenne (RPCM) doit être inférieur à 13 dB pendant plus de 0,1 % du temps, en utilisant un signal correspondant au RPCM maximal durant des périodes de transmission continue.

5.5 Rayonnements non désirés de l’émetteur

L’équipement de station mobile et de station de base doit être conforme aux limites dans (i) et (ii) ci dessous.

  1. Dans les premières bandes de 1,0 MHz immédiatement à l=extérieur et adjacentes au chaque sous bande précisée à la section 5.1, on doit atténuer la puissance des émissions (en dB) pour toute tranche de 1 % de la largeur de bande occupée à un niveau d=au moins 43 + 10 log10p(watts) inférieur à la puissance de sortie P (dBW) de l'émetteur.
  2. Après la première bande de 1,0 MHz immédiatement à l’extérieur de chaque sous bande et adjacente à celle ci, on doit atténuer la puissance des émissions (en dB) de toute largeur de bande de 100 kHz à un niveau d’au moins 43 + 10 log10p (watts) inférieur à la puissance de sortie P de l’émetteur (dBW). Si la mesure est prise à partir de 1 % de la largeur de bande occupée, une intégration de puissance de plus de 100 kHz est nécessaire.

5.6 Émissions non essentielles du récepteur

Les émissions non essentielles du récepteur doivent satisfaire aux limites établies dans le CNR-Gen.

Date de modification :