Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB)

Evaluation of GTA Proposals from Imagineering Ltd.

4 June 2001 DBCP

In the Toronto GTA area, the 1998 DRB Plan has allocated 7 Groups of DRB stations. As each Group accommodates 5 DRB stations, the GTA has been allocated 35 stations. As there is provision for each of the existing 30 AM/FM stations, the 1998 DRB Plan has room for 5 brand-new stations in the GTA.

In the Imagineering report, 3 new Toronto GTA Groups were proposed, over-and-above the 1998 DRB Plan. Each Imagineering Proposal is evaluated below.


Executive Summary

  • Imagineering Proposal #1
    Unacceptable as proposed (refer to para. #1 below)
  • Imagineering Proposal #2
    Unacceptable as proposed (refer to para. #2 below)
  • Imagineering Proposal #3
    Acceptable, if the 31 sq-km interference area in Scarborough is tolerable by client. (refer to para. #3 below)

ALTERNATIVE: By redesigning the default parameters of the proposed DRB Groups (ie. the transmitter, location and antenna), it may be possible to specify a smaller GTA contour, which would cover a reduced portion of the GTA (for instance, coverage for the east-end only).


Detailed Evaluation

1) Imagineering Proposal #1

Proposal: Insert a new GTA DSA on CH=16.

The GTA FRC overlaps the DSAs of ON084 (Penetanguishene) and ON107 (Tillsonberg) by 0.8% and 2.4% respectively. This is likely a tolerable interference, as it occurs on the outer fringe of the two DSAs.

However, Imagineering did not consider the interference into the GTA DSA once ON107 and ON084 came on the air. The interference from ON084 would affect the towns of Vaughn and Woodbridge. On a percentage basis, approximately 33.3% of the GTA DSA would be overlapped by ON107 Tillsonberg. As part of the GTA DSA is over Lake Ontario, an analysis was done of the land-area only. The land-portion of the GTA DSA is 3107 sq-km, while the land-portion that is overlapped by ON107 is 493 sq-km. Therefore the percentage interference over the land-portion only, is 15.8%.

Conclusion: Unacceptable as proposed

2) Imagineering Proposal #2

Proposal: Insert a new GTA DSA on CH=14.

The GTA FRC overlaps the DSAs of ON086 (Lindsay) and ON303 (Orangeville) by about 15% and 35% respectively.

However, Imagineering did not consider the interference into the GTA DSA once ON086 and ON303 come on the air. On a percentage basis, approximately 10% of the GTA DSA would be overlapped by ON303. It gets worse… once ON086 comes on the air, more than 50% of the GTA DSA would be overlapped.

Conclusion: Unacceptable as proposed.

3) Imagineering Proposal #3

Proposal:

  1. Move ON085 (Peterborough) from CH=11 to CH=17
  2. Move ON158 (St.Catherines) from CH=1 to CH=11
  3. Insert a new GTA DSA on CH=1

The first step is to determine if ON085 (Peterborough) could be moved from CH=11 to CH=17. On visual inspection, the answer is "yes".

The next step is to determine if ON158 (St.Catherines) could be moved from CH=1 to CH=11. (Note that ON085 would no longer be CH=11, as it had earlier been moved to CH=17). On visual inspection, the answer is "yes".

The crux of suggestion #3 is: Can the new GTA Group exist as CH=1 ?

On analysis, the FRC of the new GTA does not cause any interference into any adjacent DSA. However the new DSA does receive interference from ON078 in Mount Forest. The amount of interference received is only 1.1%. Normally, this is considered marginally acceptable, except, in this case, the interference area is 31 sq-km and falls right in the middle of the GTA, specifically the southern portion of Scarborough. (The size of the entire new GTA DSA is 6456 sq-km.)

Conclusion: Acceptable, if the broadcaster agrees to accept interference to the southern part of Scarborough.

DRB PLAN as Published on Strategis

  1. The official gazetted 1998 DRB Plan is found on Strategis (www.ic.gc.ca).
  2. Public files available on Strategis:
    1. DRBLISTP.ZIP
      Allotment plan for digital radio broadcasting (DRB) in DBF format – November 1998
    2. ANNEX1.ZIP
      Annex1 to the allotment plan for digital radio broadcasting in DBF format – November 1998
    3. PDF Adobe file of DRB PLAN ISSUE 2 NOV. 1998 (read-only)
    4. DRBPLAN_98_E.ZIP
      This is the zipped Plan document in WordPerfect format.
    5. DSA_FRC_98.ZIP
      Digital Service Areas (DSA) & Frequency Reuse Contours (FRC) for all DRB Channel Groups in Canada – November 1998
    6. FFSET_MIDMIF.ZIP
      Offsets Files of DRB FRC Contours (MAPINFO Format) Parameters included are: XY offsets, View Scale, Long/Lat of screen centre – November 1998
  3. When the file DSA_FRC_98.ZIP is unzipped, the following file can be imported into MapInfo
    • DRBLIST.TAB
      DSA and FRC contours for all Groups (Also includes excess interference percentage: IRBA, ICBC.)
  4. SFN_LIST

    To generate the DRB Plan, a working file, SFN_LIST.TAB, is used by the Industry Canada DRBPLAN planning software. This file is an internal working file only, and is thus not published. A sub-set of this file, containing the same DSA & FRC contours and the allotted Channel numbers, is published on Strategis, and is called DRB_FRC_98.ZIP.

    The file SFN_LIST.TAB is sorted in priority order as to the importance and location of the Groups. The highest priority Groups are those containing existing AM/FM stations, which are within a major metropolitain area, ie. Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver. These Groups are alloted a channel first; then the Groups adjacent to major cities, then the balance of the Groups. The lowest priority Groups are those which contain only allotments.

    The Allotment Plan thus grows outward from the major cities. Groups containing AM/FM stations are given a higher priority than Groups containing only allotments.

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB)

Évaluation des Propositions d'Imagineering Ltd. pour la RGT

4 juin 2001 DBCP

Dans la région du Grand Toronto (RGT), le plan DRB de 1998 allottit des fréquences à sept groupes de stations DRB. Comme chaque groupe comprend cinq stations DRB, 35 stations en tout sont visées pour la RGT. Des dispositions étant prévues pour chacune des 30 stations AM/FM existantes, le plan permet l'accueil de cinq stations entièrement nouvelles dans la RGT.

Dans le rapport d'Imagineering, trois nouveaux groupes sont proposés pour la RGT, en plus des prévisions du plan DRB de 1998. Les trois propositions sont évaluées ci-dessous.


Sommaire

  • 1re proposition d'Imagineering
    Inacceptable telle que proposée (voir par. 1 ci-dessous)
  • 2e proposition d'Imagineering
    Inacceptable telle que proposée (voir par. 1 ci-dessous)
  • 3e proposition d'Imagineering
    Acceptable, si la zone de brouillage de 31 km carrés à Scarborough est tolérable pour le client. (voir par. 3 ci-dessous)

Autre solution : En redéfinissant les paramètres par défaut des groupes DRB proposés (émetteur, emplacement et antenne), il pourrait être possible de déterminer un contour RGT plus petit, qui couvrirait une partie réduite de la RGT (par exemple, l ' Est seulement).

Évaluation détaillée

1) 1re Proposition d'Imagineering

Proposition : Insérer une nouvelle ADN pour la RGT sur le canal 16.

Les pourcentages de chevauchement des ADN d'ON084 (Penetanguishene) et d'ON107 (Tillsonberg) par le CRF de la RGT sont respectivement de 0,8 % et 2,4 %. Ces pourcentages pourraient sans doute être tolérés puisqu'ils s'appliquent au périmètre extérieur des deux ADN.

Toutefois, Imagineering n'a pas tenu compte du brouillage dans l'ADN de la RGT après l'entrée en ondes d'ON107 et d'ON084. Le brouillage provenant d'ON084 toucherait les villes de Vaughn et de Woodbridge. Le pourcentage de chevauchement d'ON107 Tillsonberg par l'ADN de la RGT serait d'environ 33,3 %. Comme une partie de l'ADN de la RGT se situe au-dessus du lac Ontario, une analyse a été faite seulement pour la zone terrestre. Celle-ci couvre 3 107 km carrés, tandis que la partie terrestre que chevauche ON107 est de 493 km carrés. Par conséquent, le pourcentage de chevauchement sur la partie terrestre seulement est de 15,8 %.

Conclusion : Inacceptable telle que proposée.

2) 2e Proposition d'Imagineering

Proposition : Insérer une nouvelle ADN pour la RGT sur le canal 14.

Les pourcentages de chevauchement des ADN d'ON086 (Lindsay) et d'ON303 (Orangeville) par le CRF de la RGT sont respectivement d'environ 15 % et 35 %.

Toutefois, Imagineering n'a pas tenu compte du brouillage dans l'ADN de la RGT après l'entrée en ondes d'ON086 et d'ON303. Le pourcentage de chevauchement d'ON303 par l'ADN de la RGT serait d'environ 10 %. Mais il y a pire… après l'entrée en ondes d'ON086, le chevauchement couvrirait plus de 50 % de l'ADN de la RGT.

Conclusion : Inacceptable telle que proposée.

3) 3e Proposition d'Imagineering

Proposition :

  1. Déplacer ON085 (Peterborough) du canal 11 au canal 17.
  2. Déplacer ON158 (St. Catherines) du canal 1 au canal 11
  3. Insérer une nouvelle ADN pour la RGT sur le canal 1

Dans un premier temps, il s'agit de déterminer si ON085 (Peterborough) peut être déplacé du canal 11 au canal 17. Sur la base d'une inspection visuelle, la réponse est affirmative.

Dans un deuxième temps, on déterminerait si ON158 (St. Catherines) peut être déplacé du canal 1 au canal 11. (Rappelons qu'ON085 ne correspondrait plus alors au canal 11, puisqu'un premier déplacement au canal 17 aurait été fait). Sur la base d'une inspection visuelle, la réponse est affirmative.

Essentiellement, la question est la suivante : le nouveau groupe de la RGT pourrait-il utiliser le canal 1?

À l'analyse, le CRF de la nouvelle RGT ne cause de brouillage dans aucune ADN adjacente. Toutefois, la nouvelle ADN reçoit du brouillage d'ON078 de Mount Forest. Le pourcentage de brouillage n'est que de 1,1 %. Normalement, ce pourcentage est jugé passable, mais dans le cas présent la zone de brouillage est de 31 km carrés et se situe au milieu de la RGT, soit dans la partie sud de Scarborough. (La superficie de l'ensemble de la nouvelle ADN de la RGT est de 6 456 km carrés.)

Conclusion: Acceptable, si le radiodiffuseur accepte le brouillage dans la partie sud de Scarborough.

Plan DRB publié dans Strategis

  1. La version officielle du plan DRB de 1998, publiée dans la Gazette, se trouve dans Strategis (www.ic.gc.ca).
  2. Fichiers publics disponibles dans Strategis :
    1. DRBLISTP.ZIP
      Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB) en format DBF – novembre 1998
    2. ANNEX1.ZIP
      Annexe 1 au plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique en format DBF – novembre 1998
    3. Fichier PDF Adobe du Plan DRB, 2e édition, Nov. 1998 (lecture seule)
    4. DRBPLAN_98_E.ZIP
      Compression Zip du plan en format WordPerfect.
    5. DSA_FRC_98.ZIP
      MAPINFO Aire de desserte numérique (ADN) et contour de réutilisation de fréquence (CRF) pour tous les groupes de canaux DRB du Canada – novembre 1998
    6. OFFSET_MIDMIF.ZIP
      Fichiers des décalages pour les contours de réutilisation de fréquence DRB (format MAPINFO). Les paramètres suivants sont compris : décalages XY, échelle, long./lat. du centre de l'écran – novembre 1998
  3. Après décompression du fichier DSA_FRC_98.ZIP, on peut importer le fichier suivant dans MapInfo :

    DRBLIST.TAB

    ADN et CRF pour tous les groupes (Comprend également le pourcentage de brouillage excédentaire : IRBA, ICBC.)

  4. SFN_LIST

    Pour générer le plan DRB, le logiciel de planification DRBPLAN d'Industrie Canada utilise un fichier de travail, SFN_LIST.TAB. Comme il s'agit uniquement d'un fichier de travail, il n'est pas publié. Un sous-ensemble de ce fichier, contenant les mêmes ADN et CRF ainsi que les numéros des canaux allotis, est publié dans Strategis sous le nom DRB_FRC_98.ZIP.

    Le fichier SFN_LIST.TAB est trié dans l'ordre de priorité selon l'importance et l'emplacement des groupes. Cet ordre est le suivant : stations AM/FM existantes des grands centres métropolitains (Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver); groupes adjacents aux grandes villes, et finalement les autres groupes. En dernier lieu viennent les groupes qui ne comprennent que des allotissements.

    Le plan d'allotissement se déploie donc à partir des grandes villes. Les groupes comprenant des stations AM/FM sont prioritaires par rapport aux groupes qui ne comprennent que des allotissements.