Introduction to Amateur Radio Service

The "amateur radio service" is a radiocommunication service in which radio apparatus are used for the purpose of self-training, intercommunication or technical investigation by individuals who are interested in radio technique solely with a personal aim and without pecuniary interest.

Traditionally, amateur radio operators were issued two separate authorizations, an Amateur Radio Operator Certificate and a radio station licence. The Amateur Radio Operator Certificate was valid for life and had no fee associated with it, while the radio licence was issued on a yearly basis, and a licence renewal fee was charged

In the interest of reducing unnecessary administrative tasks, Industry Canada has combined these documents into one, the Amateur Radio Operator Certificate. This certificate is the complete authority for an amateur to operate radio apparatus in the amateur radio service.

Effective April 1, 2000, amateur radio operators will no longer be issued a radio station licence on an annual basis or be charged a licence renewal fee. Individuals who were holders of valid amateur radio licence(s) for the fiscal year 1999-2000 will be issued a new amateur certificate which includes the radio station call sign(s) issued to the holder.

This certificate serves the function of both the traditional amateur radio station licence and operator certificate and is the only authorization required to operate an amateur radio station. All existing amateur radio operator certificates remain in force, however, to obtain a new amateur certificate with call sign(s), you require the Amateur Basic Qualification.

For additional information refer to the Amateur Certification – Fact Sheet.

Email to a Friend

Your email address has not been added to any list, and has not been retained on our site.

Préambule aux service de radio amatéur

Le « service de radioamateur » est un service de radiocommunication qui a pour objet l'utilisation d'appareils radio pour la formation personnelle, l'intercommunication ou les recherches techniques par des individus qui s'intéressent à la radiotechnique uniquement à des fins personnelles et sans but lucratif.

Traditionnellement, on délivrait aux opérateurs radioamateurs deux autorisations distinctes : un Certificat d'opérateur radioamateur et une licence de station radio. Le Certificat d'opérateur radioamateur était valide à vie et ne comportait pas de frais connexes, tandis que la licence radio était délivrée chaque année et des frais de renouvellement étaient perçus.

Afin de réduire le fardeau administratif, Industrie Canada a combiné ces documents en un seul : le Certificat d'opérateur radioamateur. Ce certificat est l'autorisation complète dont un radioamateur a besoin pour faire fonctionner un appareil radio dans le service de radioamateur.

À partir du 1er avril 2000, les opérateurs radioamateurs ne recevront plus de licence de station radio annuelle ni ne seront facturés pour le renouvellement de la licence. Les titulaires de licence(s) d'opérateur radioamateur valide(s) pour l'exercice financier 1999-2000 recevront un nouveau certificat de radioamateur comportant l'indicatif d'appel de station émis au titulaire.

Ce certificat remplit à la fois le rôle de la licence radio et du Certificat de radioamateur et il est la seule autorisation nécessaire pour faire fonctionner une station de radioamateur. Tous les certificats de radioamateur existants restent en vigueur; toutefois, pour obtenir un nouveau certificat de radioamateur, avec un indicatif d'appel, il faut au moins la compétence de base de radioamateur.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à la Fiche d'information sur la certification des radioamateurs

Envoyer à un(e) ami(e)

Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas ajoutée à une liste d'envoi ni retenue sur notre site.