Archived — Gazette Notice DGTP-006-05

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-006-05 — Policy to Promote Digital Roaming for Rural Subscribers

Intent

The purpose of this notice is to announce the Department's policy to promote digital roaming service for subscribers of cellular and Personal Communication Service (PCS) carriers operating in rural Canada. This decision takes into account the submissions received in the public consultation process initiated in Notice No. DGTP-007-03, the objectives of the Telecommunications Act and the economic challenges in the provisioning of advanced communication in rural areas.

Background

Over the years, in the licensing processes of cellular and PCS services, the Department has promoted the provision of mobile telephony services to all regions of Canada. In particular, steps have been to promote the roll-out of services across Canada through the issuance of national service licences, and to promote inter-carrier roaming and resale of analogue cellular and resale of digital PCS. This has assisted the PCS carriers in achieving a national service for their customers. Equally important, stand-alone rural analogue cellular carriers, which include the many independent telephone companies and new regional entrants, have been integrated with the national wireless networks.

The national carriers have developed different strategies to compete in an open marketplace including differentiating their network deployments, service offerings and tariffs. The current cellular and PCS networks are well established with coverage to over 94 percent of the population. Nevertheless, more than 70 percent of the Canadian geography, does not have any cellular or PCS coverage.

In 1998, the Department established the Policy for the Provision of Cellular Services by New Parties (RP-019), to extend the provision of 800 MHz analogue cellular services to unserved and underserved areas. The new party cellular policy enables entities, other than the cellular carriers initially authorized in 1985, to use part of the 800 MHz spectrum that remains unused, to offer cellular services and fixed wireless access. This policy remains successful in providing cellular spectrum to new carriers proposing to serve rural communities.

The Department notes that national analogue cellular networks are being converted to offer integrated digital services and that analogue cellular equipment, including analogue terminals, will be discontinued by most major manufacturers within 3-5 years. Already, some of the national operators are discontinuing the sale of analogue cellular service. Subscribers to rural networks will be adversely affected if the rural networks are not integrated with the national digital networks.

Some rural carriers have expressed concern that in some cases, national cellular and PCS carriers are reluctant to provide digital roaming service or service agreements with them because it could set a precedent that may require the national carrier to offer a similar arrangement to their national competitors on a non-discriminatory basis.

Consultation

In the paper Consultation on the Spectrum for Advanced Wireless Services and Review of the Mobile Spectrum Cap, announced in Notice No. DGTP-007-03, the Department requested comments on measures to promote advanced mobile telephony services in rural Canada.

The Department remarked in its consultation paper that digital telephony roaming service is commonly available to foreign visitors in Canada and to Canadians travelling in many regions of the world. Since Canadian rural carriers serving a specific territory may be in a similar situation as a foreign service provider in that they are not direct competitors to the national carriers, it has been argued that they should be able to benefit from similar roaming services. As mobile telephony services have become an essential service to many Canadians, it is important that, without affecting or distorting competition in the wireless industry, these rural networks continue to be fully integrated into the national telecommunications networks.

Specifically the Department requested comments on:

  1. The proposal to afford preferential commercial roaming arrangements to small rural carriers with national and regional cellular and PCS carriers where the rural carriers:
    1. do not compete in the same serving territories having network facilities; and
    2. operate solely in an unserved or underserved area.
  2. The mechanisms that may best implement this proposal.

In the Policy for the Provision of Cellular Services by New Parties, the Department defined an unserved area as a geographic area that is not being served by any cellular service provider, and an underserved area as one that is being served by only one cellular service provider.

There were ten specific responses on the roaming issue. Submissions were received from rural carriers, telecommunications associations and from national cellular and PCS operators. There was general agreement with the proposal and several respondents encouraged the Department to develop a policy in this matter.

It was suggested that roaming should reflect industry norms and be fair to both parties. Another comment was that a standard agreement should be developed to help reduce the costs of such agreements for small rural operators. It was mentioned that possibly a group, such as the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association, could develop such an agreement. One respondent suggested that the policy should not be limited to small regional (rural) carriers and that there be complete access to 800 MHz spectrum via digital roaming throughout Canada. This suggestion goes further than the Department's proposal and several respondents indicated that they agreed with the Department's proposal on the condition that the proposal remains as written in the consultation paper. As to the method of implementation, there was general support for the issuance of a policy statement to promote the development of communications services to rural areas.

Discussion

One of the objectives of the Telecommunications Act is to promote the availability of reliable and affordable telecommunications services to all regions of Canada. Another policy objective is to foster increased reliance on market forces for the provision of telecommunications services and to ensure that regulation, where required, is efficient and effective. Due to the economics of rural communications, the availability of advanced telecommunications services, including cellular and PCS services, tends to lag behind the services available in urban areas and vicinities. Over the years, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) and the Department have taken particular actions to bridge the disparities between urban and rural areas and to promote the development of telecommunications services in rural areas.

To continue to give regard to these objectives, the Department proposed in its consultation paper, that new measures should be taken to promote the development of digital roaming agreements between rural, stand-alone carriers and the national/regional operators. There was general agreement to this proposal from all parties who responded to the consultation paper.

With the availability of 800 MHz cellular and 2 GHz PCS spectrum, carriers may be operating in unserved and/or underserved rural and remote parts of Canada where the provisioning of advanced communications is of importance to these citizens.

Conclusion and Decision

The comments received supported the Department's view that rural carriers which do not compete in serving areas of national cellular or PCS carriers, warrant special consideration in reaching commercial digital roaming arrangements to assist the integration of rural services with national or regional telecommunications networks.

The Department believes that the public interest, convenience and necessity would be served if rural wireless carriers operating in the 800 MHz cellular or 2 GHz PCS spectrum would be afforded commercial roaming arrangements with the digital networks of the national or regional carriers. Special consideration is justified in cases where the rural carriers do not compete with the national or regional carriers in their network serving territories.

Subscribers to non-competing rural cellular and PCS networks should have the same roaming privileges afforded to the subscribers of foreign carriers when they travel to any part of Canada.

Having given consideration to the concerns of small rural wireless carriers, the Department wishes to make the following policy statement:

"The Department continues to support roaming and resale service arrangements among cellular/PCS carriers. It is important for Canadian subscribers to benefit from extended service coverage across Canada.

In particular, the Department encourages regional and national cellular/PCS carriers to provide special consideration, such as the provision of digital roaming arrangements, to non-competing rural wireless carriers to integrate their services. This will permit rural subscribers to benefit from extended coverage across Canada and advanced communication services."

The policy does not affect any ongoing commercial roaming and resale arrangements or any action by the CRTC under the Telecommunications Act.

The Department believes that issuing this policy statement is sufficient to better enable rural wireless cellular/PCS networks to be integrated with larger wireless networks. A voluntary approach in developing commercial roaming arrangements between carriers with minimal government or regulatory intervention is the most desirable method of implementation. As such, the Department will not, at this time, impose a new condition of licence on the existing national and regional PCS carriers. The Department will continue to encourage and monitor the implementation of services in rural areas.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site. The comments on the AWS consultation paper.

Official printed copies of Canada Gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at
819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

July 21, 2005



____________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunication Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGTP-006-05

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-006-05 — Politique pour promouvoir la prestation de services numériques d'itinérance aux abonnés dans les régions rurales

But

Le présent avis a pour but d'annoncer la politique du Ministère sur la promotion de la prestation de service numérique d'itinérance aux abonnés des entreprises de télécommunications cellulaires et (services de communications personnelles) offrant des services en milieu rural au Canada. Cette politique prend en considération les soumissions reçues dans le processus de consultation publique annoncé dans l'avis no DGTP-007-03, les objectifs de la Loi sur les télécommunications et les défis économiques associés à la fourniture de services de communication évolués dans les régions rurales.

Contexte

Au fil des ans, dans le processus de délivrance de licences de services de téléphonie cellulaire et de SCP, le Ministère a encouragé la fourniture de services de téléphonie mobile dans toutes les régions du Canada. Tout particulièrement, il a pris des mesures pour promouvoir la mise en place de services au Canada en délivrant des licences nationales ainsi que l'itinérance inter-entreprises et la revente de services cellulaires analogiques et de SCP numériques. Cela a permis d'aider les entreprises de SCP à mettre sur pied un service national pour leurs clients. D'égale importance, des entreprises rurales autonomes fournissant des services cellulaires analogiques ont été intégrées aux réseaux sans fil nationaux. Parmi celles-ci, se retrouvent un bon nombre d'entreprises téléphoniques indépendantes et de nouveaux entrants régionaux.

Les entreprises nationales ont développé différentes stratégies de concurrence dans un marché ouvert, y compris se distinguer en ce qui a trait au déploiement de leurs réseaux, à leurs offres de service et à leurs tarifs. Les réseaux actuels de services cellulaires et SCP sont bien établis et desservent au-delà de 94 % de la population. Toutefois, plus de 70 % du territoire canadien ne bénéficie pas de couverture pour les services cellulaires et SCP.

En 1998, le Ministère a établi la Politique concernant la fourniture de services cellulaires par des nouvelles entreprises (PR-019), pour étendre la fourniture de services cellulaires analogiques de 800 MHz à des régions non desservies ou mal desservies. Cette politique permet à des entités, autres que les entreprises de télécommunications offrant des services cellulaires initialement autorisées en 1985, à employer une partie inutilisée de la bande de 800 MHz pour offrir des services cellulaires et d'accès fixe sans fil. Cette politique continue d'assurer la fourniture de fréquences cellulaires aux nouvelles entreprises de télécommunications qui proposent de desservir les collectivités rurales.

Le Ministère signale la conversion des réseaux nationaux de services cellulaires analogiques en vue d'offrir des services numériques intégrés et que, d'ici trois à cinq ans, la majorité des principaux fabricants cesseront de fabriquer des appareils cellulaires analogiques, y compris les terminaux analogiques. Déjà, certaines entreprises nationales ont cessé de vendre des services cellulaires analogiques. Les abonnés aux réseaux ruraux seront désavantagés si ces réseaux ne sont pas intégrés aux réseaux numériques nationaux.

Des entreprises desservant les régions rurales ont exprimé leur inquiétude car, dans certains cas, des entreprises de télécommunications cellulaires et SCP hésitent à fournir des services numériques d'itinérance ou à conclure des ententes de services avec elles, parce que cela pourrait créer un précédent obligeant une entreprise nationale à offrir des ententes similaires à leurs concurrents nationaux sans discrimination.

Consultation

Dans le document intitulé Consultation sur l'attribution de fréquences aux services sans fil évolués et Examen de la politique de plafonnement des fréquences du service mobile, annoncé dans l'avis no DGTP-007-03, le Ministère a demandé qu'on lui présente des commentaires sur les mesures de promotion des services de téléphonie mobile évolués dans le secteur rural au Canada.

Dans son document de consultation, le Ministère a indiqué que des visiteurs étrangers au Canada ou des Canadiens voyageant à travers le monde ont couramment accès à des services numérique d'itinérance. Étant donné que les entreprises canadiennes de télécommunications rurales qui desservent un territoire particulier peuvent se trouver dans une situation similaire à celle d'un fournisseur de services étranger, c'est-à-dire qu'elles ne seraient pas des concurrents directs des entreprises nationales, il a été avancé qu'elles devraient pouvoir offrir des services d'itinérance similaires. Comme le service de téléphonie mobile est devenu un service essentiel pour beaucoup de Canadiens et Canadiennes, il est important que, sans nuire ou causer de distorsion à la concurrence dans l'industrie canadienne de téléphonie sans fil, ces réseaux ruraux demeurent entièrement intégrés aux réseaux de télécommunications nationaux.

Précisément, le Ministère a demandé qu'on lui présente des commentaires sur les points ci-dessous :

  1. La proposition selon laquelle une entreprise de télécommunications nationale ou une entreprise régionale offrant des services cellulaires et SCP pourrait conclure, sur une base préférentielle, des ententes commerciales d'itinérance avec une petite entreprise de télécommunications rurale, lorsque l'entreprise en question :
    1. ne lui fait pas concurrence dans les territoires où elle a des installations réseautées;
    2. est exploitée uniquement dans une région non desservie ou mal desservie.
  2. Les meilleurs mécanismes qui permettraient de mettre en application cette proposition.

Dans la Politique concernant la fourniture de services cellulaires par des nouvelles entreprises, le Ministère définit le terme région non desservie comme étant une zone n'étant pas desservie par aucun fournisseur de services cellulaires et le terme région mal desservie comme étant une zone desservie par un seul fournisseur de services cellulaires.

On a reçu dix commentaires sur la question spécifique aux services d'itinérance. Ils provenaient d'entreprises de télécommunications rurales, d'associations de télécommunications et d'exploitants nationaux de télécommunications cellulaires et SCP. Tous étaient d'accord avec la proposition. Plusieurs répondants encourageaient le Ministère à élaborer une politique sur ce sujet. On a suggéré que les services d'itinérance devraient refléter les normes de l'industrie et être équitables pour les deux parties.

On a aussi mentionné qu'un accord standard devrait être élaboré pour réduire les coûts de tels accords pour les petites entreprises de télécommunications rurales et que vraisemblablement un groupe, comme l'Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil, pourrait s'en charger. Un répondant a suggéré que la politique ne devrait pas s'appliquer seulement aux petites entreprises régionales (en milieu rural), et que les services numériques d'itinérance devraient pouvoir utiliser toute la bande de 800 MHz dans l'ensemble du Canada. Cette suggestion va plus loin que la proposition du Ministère, et plusieurs ont souligné qu'ils sont d'accord avec la proposition que le Ministère a présentée dans son document de consultation, à condition que celle-ci demeure inchangée. Quant à la méthode de mise en oeuvre, tous appuyaient la publication d'un énoncé de politique pour promouvoir le développement des services de télécommunications dans les régions rurales.

Discussion

Un des objectifs de la Loi sur les télécommunications est de promouvoir la disponibilité de services de télécommunications fiables et à des prix abordables dans toutes les régions du Canada. Un autre objectif de la politique est d'encourager le recours aux forces du marché pour la prestation de services de télécommunications et de veiller à ce que toute réglementation soit efficace. En raison des aspects économiques des télécommunications en milieu rural, les services de télécommunications évolués, y compris les services cellulaires et SCP, tendent à ne pas être disponibles aussi rapidement que dans les zones urbaines et les régions environnantes. Au cours des années, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) et le Ministère ont pris des mesures particulières pour combler l'écart entre les régions urbaines et rurales et pour promouvoir le développement de services de télécommunications en milieu rural.

Pour continuer à viser ces objectifs, le Ministère a proposé dans son document de consultation de prendre des nouvelles mesures pour promouvoir l'élaboration d'ententes concernant la prestation des services numériques d'itinérance entre, d'une part, les entreprises de télécommunications rurales autonomes et, d'autre part, les opérateurs nationaux ou régionaux. Toutes les parties qui ont commenté le document de consultation étaient d'accord avec la proposition.

La disponibilité de la bande de 800 MHz pour les services cellulaires et de la bande de 2 GHz pour le SCP pourrait permettre aux entreprises d'exercer leurs activités dans une région rurale ou éloignée du Canada non desservie ou mal desservie, où la fourniture de services de télécommunications évolués est importante pour les habitants.

Conclusion et décision

Les commentaires reçus appuyaient le point de vue du Ministère selon lequel les entreprises rurales qui ne font pas concurrence aux entreprises nationales de services cellulaires ou de SCP méritent une considération spéciale dans l'établissement d'ententes commerciales sur les services numériques d'itinérance pour faciliter l'intégration des services ruraux aux réseaux de télécommunications nationaux ou régionaux.

Le Ministère croit que permettre aux entreprises de télécommunications sans fil rurales offrant des services cellulaires dans la bande de 800 MHz et des services SCP dans la bande de 2 GHz de conclure des ententes commerciales de services d'itinérance avec les réseaux numériques des entreprises nationales ou régionales seraient dans l'intérêt du public, en plus d'être pratique et de répondre aux besoins. L'octroi d'une considération spéciale aux entreprises offrant des services en milieu rural est justifiée dans les cas où celles-ci ne font pas concurrence aux entreprises nationales et régionales dans les territoires desservis par leur réseau.

Les abonnés des réseaux cellulaires et SCP ruraux non concurrents devraient avoir les mêmes privilèges d'itinérance qui sont accordés aux abonnés des entreprises de télécommunications étrangères qui voyagent au Canada.

Compte tenu des préoccupations des petites entreprises de télécommunications sans fil rurales, le Ministère a formulé l'énoncé de politique suivant : 

« Le Ministère continue d'appuyer l'établissement d'ententes de service d'itinérance et de revente entre entreprises de télécommunications sans fil et SCP. Il est important que les abonnés canadiens bénéficient d'une plus grande zone de desserte au Canada.

Le Ministère encourage tout particulièrement les entreprises de télécommunications cellulaires/SCP régionales ou nationales d'accorder une considération spéciale aux entreprises de télécommunications sans fil rurales non concurrentes en leur permettant d'intégrer leurs services, au moyen d'ententes de service numérique d'itinérance, par exemple. Cela permettra aux abonnés des régions rurales de bénéficier d'une plus grande zone de desserte au Canada et de services de communications évolués.  »

Cette politique n'a aucun effet sur les ententes commerciales d'itinérance et de revente en vigueur ou sur toute mesure pouvant être prise par le CRTC en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Le Ministère croit que le présent énoncé de politique suffit pour faciliter l'intégration des réseaux ruraux sans fil cellulaires et SCP aux réseaux sans fil de plus grande envergure. Le principe de volontariat pour le développement d'ententes commerciales d'itinérance entre entreprises de télécommunications sans trop d'intervention gouvernementale ou réglementaire convient le mieux à la mise en oeuvre de la présente politique. Pour le moment, le Ministère n'imposera pas à cet effet une nouvelle condition de licence aux entreprises SCP nationales ou régionales existantes. Il continuera cependant à encourager et à surveiller la mise en oeuvre des services dans les régions rurales.

Pour obtenir des copies

Des exemplaires du présent avis et des documents cités en référence sont disponibles en format électronique sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et des Télécommunications. Les commentaires présentés à l'égard du document de consultation sur les Services sans fil évolués.

On peut aussi demander des copies officielles des avis sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada, ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 21 juillet 2005

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications



__________
Larry Shaw

Date de modification :