Telecommunications Terminal Equipment — Declaration of Conformity — Information you should know...

Introduction

This brochure is intended to inform industry and the general public about the Industry Canada regulatory requirements that terminal equipment must meet before it can be connected to Canadian telecommunications networks.

Background

Under the Telecommunications Act, as amended in 1998, it is specified that no person can distribute, lease, offer for sale, sell or import telecommunications apparatus where technical requirements are to be met and markings are required, unless the apparatus complies with those requirements.

The technical requirements referred to in the Telecommunications Act and the Telecommunications Apparatus Regulations ensure that the electrical energy transmitted by the terminal equipment does not harm the carrier's equipment, is not hazardous to the carrier's personnel, and does not degrade the service quality of other users. They also ensure that hearing impaired persons can obtain terminal equipment that will provide them with reasonable access to telecommunications networks.

Requirements

In order to be compliant with the Telecommunications Apparatus Regulations, terminal equipment must meet the following requirements:

Declaration of Conformity (DoC):

DoC is a process by which the party responsible for the equipment's compliance declares to Industry Canada that the terminal equipment meets the applicable technical specifications.

As a confirmation that a DoC was properly submitted to Industry Canada, the declared equipment will be registered in the Terminal Equipment List.

A compliance folder must be kept by the declaring party and submitted to Industry Canada upon request. These requirements are explained in more detail in the Procedure for Declaration of Conformity and Registration of Terminal Equipment (DC-01).

Testing:

Terminal equipment must be tested by a recognized testing laboratory to ensure that it complies with the applicable technical specifications. Terminal equipment specifications, such as CS-03, are listed in the Terminal Equipment - Technical Specifications List.

A list of recognized testing laboratories is maintained by Industry Canada.

Marking:

The terminal equipment registration and model identification must be marked or affixed in a visible location on the terminal equipment. The generic form at of the Industry Canada registration number is:

IC: Company No.-Unique Product No.

Example: IC:123A-1234AB

Enforcement

Industry Canada has implemented market surveillance and import monitoring to verify that the above requirements are met.

The Telecommunications Act provides for inspections, investigations and enforcement including fines and forfeiture of equipment.

Telecommunications carriers are allowed, through their general tariffs, to refuse or disconnect services to a client using equipment that is not compliant with the applicable technical requirements.

Additional Information

Please consult the following for more information:

Date modified:

Équipement terminal detélécommunication — Déclaration de conformité — Ce que vous devriez savoir...

Introduction

La présente brochure vise à renseigner les membres de l'industrie et le grand public sur les exigences réglementaires d'Industrie Canada (IC) auxquelles l'équipement terminal, ou matériel terminal, doit se conformer avant d'être relié à un réseau de télécommunication d'une entreprise canadienne.

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications, modifiée en 1998, il est interdit de distribuer, louer, mettre en vente, vendre ou importer tout appareil de télécommunication qui ne respecte pas les spécifications techniques ou de marquage qui lui sont imposées.

Les spécifications techniques mentionnées dans la Loi sur les télécommunications et le Règlement sur les appareils de télécommunication visent à assurer que l'énergie électrique transmise par l'équipement terminal n'endommagera pas l'équipement de l'entreprise de télécommunication, qu'elle n'est pas dangereuse pour le personnel de l'entreprise de télécommunication et qu'elle ne dégrade pas la qualité du service des autres utilisateurs. Les spécifications techniques doivent également garantir que les personnes malentendantes peuvent obtenir l'équipement terminal leur permettant de bénéficier d'un accès raisonnable aux réseaux de télécommunication.

Exigences

Pour être conforme au Règlement sur les appareils de télécommunication, l'équipement terminal doit satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

Déclaration de conformité (DC)

La partie responsable de la conformité de l'équipement déclare à Industrie Canada que l'équipement terminal respecte les spécifications techniques applicables.

Pour confirmer qu'une déclaration de conformité a été présentée à IC selon les règles, l'information relative à l'équipement terminal est enregistrée dans la Nomenclature du matériel terminal.

La partie responsable de l'équipement doit conserver un dossier de conformité et le présenter à Industrie Canada sur demande. Ces exigences sont expliquées en détail dans la Procédure de déclaration de conformité et d'enregistrement du matériel terminal (DC-01).

Essai

L'équipement terminal doit être mis à l'essai par un laboratoire d'essai reconnu afin de s'assurer qu'il respecte les spécifications techniques applicables. Les spécifications s'appliquant à l'équipement terminal, comme la spécification SC-03, sont énumérées dans Équipements terminaux – Liste de spécifications techniques.

La liste des laboratoires d'essai reconnus est tenue à jour par Industrie Canada.

Marquage

Le numéro d'enregistrement de l'équipement terminal et d'identification du modèle doit être inscrit ou apposé à un endroit visible. La composition type du numéro d'enregistrement à Industrie Canada est la suivante :

IC:No d'entreprise-No de produit unique

Exemple : IC:123A-1234AB

Surveillance du marché

Industrie Canada mène des activités liées à la surveillance du marché et des importations afin de vérifier si les exigences précitées sont respectées.

La Loi prévoit des inspections, des enquêtes et le contrôle de l'application, y compris des amendes et la confiscation de l'équipement.

Le tarif général permet aux entreprises de télécommunication de refuser d'offrir les services à un client utilisant de l'équipement qui ne respecte pas les spécifications techniques applicables ou de débrancher les services dont il bénéficie.

Renseignements additionnels

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter :

  • le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre
  • le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada le plus près de chez vous; l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone des bureaux de district se trouvent dans l'annuaire téléphonique
  • le Secrétariat du Comité consultatif du programme de raccordement de matériel terminal à tapac-ccprt@ic.gc.ca