Archived—Backgrounder Information — Industry Canada's Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

On September 20, 2003 the Minister of Industry announced the release of the paper entitled Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands. The purpose of this licensing process is to facilitate the growth of Wireless Communication Services (WCS) in the 2300 MHz band and Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) in the 3500 MHz band in both rural and urban areas, and to facilitate the implementation of new and innovative services. The above-noted paper initiates the licensing process for this additional spectrum by calling for completed application forms and financial deposits.

In proceeding with an auction of these bands at this time, Industry Canada (the Department) reflected on the commitments the Government of Canada made in the Speech from the Throne 2001, to work with the private sector to achieve the goal of making broadband access widely available to citizens, businesses, public institutions and to all communities by 2005. With the release of this spectrum, the Department is taking an important step towards fulfilling the Government of Canada's goal. This spectrum provides an opportunity to complement and improve local network distribution facilities for the delivery of a range of telecommunication services.

Selection and Licensing Process

Industry Canada will be assigning spectrum licences for WCS and FWA through an auction process. The auction will be held via the Internet, using the latest software encryption technology to guarantee the authenticity of the bids. At the close of the auction, the high bidder on each licence will be declared the provisional winner of the licence. The document entitled Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01626.html) outlines the approach that Industry Canada will take whenever spectrum is assigned by auction.

A Webcast will be made available in the weeks following the publication of the policy, to provide a general overview of the licensing process. Interested parties are invited to visit the Spectrum Auctions page of Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrumauctions to obtain further information on these sessions.

WCS and FWA Consultation Process

On August 3, 2001, the Department released DGRB-006-01 entitled Consultation on the Auction of Spectrum Licences for Wireless Communication Services in the 2300 MHz Band and Fixed Wireless Access in the 3500 MHz Band - Proposed Policy, Licensing Procedures and Technical Considerations. Comments and reply comments were received by November, 2001.

Spectrum to be Auctioned

There are five spectrum licences available in 172 service areas across the country (with the exception of the 3500 MHz licences on Vancouver Island): one 15+15 MHz licence in the 2300 MHz band; three 25+25 MHz licences and one 25 MHz licence in the 3500 MHz band, as indicated in diagrams.

Figure 1. WCS

Diagram of availble frequencies for Wireless Communication Services in the 2300 MHz band

Figure 2. FWA

Diagram of available frequencies for Fixed Wireless Access in the 3500 MHz band

For detailed descriptions of the spectrum blocks see Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands.

Exceptions

FWA tiers in the 3500 MHz band may be subject to occasional interference due to radiolocation services (radars) operating in the band 3400-3650 MHz in Canada, along the Canada-U.S. border and in Canadian coastal waters. Due to these radiolocation services FWA tiers on Vancouver Island (Tiers 4-153, 4-154 and 4-155) will not be available for licensing through the spectrum auction. In addition, FWA tiers in Halifax, Dartmouth, Vancouver and nearby coastal areas including those communities that are along the Strait of Georgia (Tiers 4-010, 4-151, 4-156 and 4-157), may be susceptible to an increased potential of interference.

For detailed descriptions of the exceptions see Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands.

Overview of Attributes of 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Licences

  • 5 licences will be auctioned within 172 areas of the country (with the exception of FWA systems on Vancouver Island);
  • Ten year licence terms;
  • Transferability and divisibility;
  • Spectrum aggregation limit - 100 MHz to all participating companies, their Affiliates and Associated Entities
  • Implementation requirement - licensee must demonstrate to the Department that the spectrum has been put to use at a level acceptable to the Department, within 5 years of receipt of licence;
  • R&D requirement - 2% of adjusted gross revenue with the exception of small businesses with less than $5 million in annual gross operating revenues;
  • Open eligibility - successful bidders must be eligible to become radiocommunication carriers; and
  • Other standard conditions of licence will apply (e.g. interference management, ownership and control, international and domestic coordination).

Critical Deadlines

To participate in the auction, a potential bidder must submit completed application forms along with a financial deposit to the Department by November 17, 2003. The auction is expected to begin in January, 2004. Information regarding the auction schedule is available on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Copies of the document entitled Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands, the associated Canada Gazette notice (DGRB-003-03) and other reference documents are also available on the above mentioned Web site.

Archivé — Information contextuelle — Industrie Canada annonce une mise aux enchères de licences de spectre dans les bandes 2 300 MHz et 3 500 MHz

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 20 septembre 2003, le ministre de l'Industrie a annoncé la publication du document intitulé Politique et procédures pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 2300 MHz et de 3500 MHz. Le but de ce processus de délivrance de licences est de faciliter la croissance des services de communications sans fil (SCSF) dans la bande 2 300 MHz et d'accès fixe sans fil (AFSF) dans la bande 3 500 MHz, à la fois dans les régions urbaines et rurales, et de faciliter également la mise en oeuvre de nouveaux services innovateurs. Le document susmentionné lance le processus de délivrance de licences visant ce spectre supplémentaire en invitant les parties intéressées à remplir les formulaires de demande et à faire les dépôts requis.

Par le processus de mise aux enchères de ces fréquences, Industrie Canada (le Ministère) a fait suite aux engagements pris par le gouvernement dans son discours du Trône de 2001- c'est-à-dire de collaborer avec le secteur privé pour rendre, d'ici 2005, l'accès à large bande généralement accessible aux citoyens, aux entreprises, aux institutions publiques et à toutes les collectivités. En rendant disponibles ces nouvelles fréquences, le Ministère franchit une étape importante dans l'atteinte de l'objectif du gouvernement du Canada. Ce spectre permet d'offrir un complément et une amélioration aux installations de distribution de réseau local pour la prestation des services de télécommunications.

Processus de sélection et de délivrance de licences

Industrie Canada délivrera des licences de spectre pour les bandes SCSF et AFSF en recourant aux enchères. Cette vente aux enchères aura lieu sur Internet à l'aide du plus récent logiciel d'encryptage, lequel garantira l'authenticité des soumissions. À la clôture de l'enchère, les soumissionnaires ayant fait l'offre la plus élevée pour chaque licence seront déclarés adjudicataires provisoires pour ces licences. Le document intitulé Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01626.html) expose les grandes lignes de l'approche qu'entend adopter Industrie Canada pour toute enchère du spectre.

Une diffusion Web sera disponible au cours des semaines suivant la publication de la présente politique. La présentation donne un aperçu général du processus de délivrance de licences. Les parties intéressées sont invitées à visiter la page des Enchères du spectre du site Web d'Industrie Canada - Gestion du spectre et télécommunications, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/encheresduspectre, afin d'obtenir plus de renseignements sur les présentations.

Processus de consultation concernant les bandes de fréquence SCSF et AFSF

Le 3 août 2001, Industrie Canada a publié l'avis DGRB-006-01, intitulé Consultation sur la mise aux enchères de licences de spectre pour les services de télécommunications sans fil dans la bande 2 300 MHz et pour l'accès fixe sans fil dans la bande 3 500 MHz - Projet de politique, procédures d'autorisation et considérations techniques. Les commentaires ainsi que les réponses ont été reçus en novembre 2001.

Spectre mis aux enchères

Cinq licences de spectre sont disponibles dans 172 zones de service partout au pays (à l'exception des licences dans la bande 3 500 MHz sur l'île de Vancouver), soit : une licence 15+15 MHz dans la bande 2 300 MHz, de même que trois licences 25+25 MHz et une licence 25 MHz dans la bande 3 500 MHz, tel qu'indiqué sur les graphiques.



Figure 1. SCSF

Licences de spectre disponibles dans la bande 2 300 MHz (SCSF)

Figure 2. AFSF

Licences de spectre disponibles dans la bande 3 500 MHz (AFSF)

Pour les descriptions détaillées sur les blocs de spectre, veuillez consulter la Politique et procédures pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz.

Exceptions

Les zones de services AFSF dans la bande de 3 500 MHz peuvent être exposés au brouillage occasionnel causé par les services de radiolocalisation (radars) exploités dans la bande 3 400-3 650 MHz au Canada, le long de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis et dans les eaux côtières canadiennes. En raison de la présence de ces services de radiolocalisation, aucune licence pour les zones de service AFSF de l'île de Vancouver (zones 4-153, 4-154 et 4-155) ne sera offerte aux enchères. De plus, les zones de service AFSF situées à Halifax, Darmouth, Vancouver et les régions côtières avoisinantes, y compris les collectivités situées le long du détroit de Géorgie (zones 4-010, 4-151, 4-156 et 4-157) peuvent être exposées à un risque accru de brouillage.

Pour les descriptions détaillées sur les exceptions, veuillez consulter la Politique et procédures pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz.

Aperçu des caractéristiques des licences des bandes 2 300 MHz et 3 500 MHz

  • Cinq licences seront mises aux enchères dans 172 zones du pays (à l'exception des systèmes AFSF sur l'île de Vancouver).
  • Licences valides pour une période de dix ans.
  • Transférabilité et divisibilité.
  • Limite de regroupement de fréquences de 100 MHz pour toutes les entreprises participantes et leurs affiliés et entités associées.
  • Exigences de mise en oeuvre - les titulaires de licence doivent prouver au Ministère que leurs fréquences sont utilisées à un niveau acceptable et ce dans un délai de 5 ans à compter de la réception de la licence.
  • Exigence de R et D - 2 p. cent du revenu brut rajusté à l'exception des petites entreprises dont les recettes d'exploitation annuelles brutes sont inférieures 5 millions de dollars.
  • Admissibilité ouverte - les soumissionnaires retenus doivent être admissibles à devenir des transporteurs de radiocommunication.
  • D'autres conditions de licence standard s'appliqueront (par ex. gestion du brouillage, propriété et contrôle, coordination internationale et nationale).

Dates limites importantes

Pour participer à la vente aux enchères, tout soumissionnaire éventuel doit présenter un formulaire de participation dûment rempli ainsi qu'un dépôt au Ministère d'ici le 17 novembre 2003. La vente aux enchères devrait commencer en janvier 2004. Les personnes intéressées peuvent obtenir le calendrier de la vente aux enchères sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada - Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Il est possible d'obtenir des exemplaires du document Politique et procédures pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz, l'avis de la Gazette du Canada à ce sujet (DGRB-003-03) ainsi que d'autres documents de référence en consultant le site Web susmentionné.