Archived — Gazette Notice No. DGRB-003-04

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-003-04 - Consultation on "Recommendations from Radio Amateurs of Canada to Industry Canada Concerning Morse Code and Related Matters"

The purpose of this Notice is to solicit public comments on the above noted proposal that, if adopted, may result in modifications to the regulatory framework for the amateur service in Canada, for example, to Radiocommunication Information Circular 2, Standards for the Operation of Radio Stations in the Amateur Radio Service (RIC-2), the standard that relates to this service.

Introduction

In accordance with the Radiocommunication Regulations, made pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act, the Amateur Radio Service is "... a radiocommunication service in which radio apparatus are used for the purpose of self-training, intercommunication or technical investigation by individuals who are interested in radio technique solely with a personal aim and without pecuniary interest."

Amateur radio operators enjoy communicating domestically and worldwide with other amateur radio operators. They experiment with various radio modulation techniques ranging from elementary modes involving the on-off transmission of continuous wave (CW) radio emissions using the International Morse code, to more complex emissions such as slow scan television and packet radio communication techniques. The amateur radio service is, by virtue of the potential for global propagation of amateur signals in high frequency (HF) bands, an international service, and is governed internationally by regulations of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), of which Canada is a signatory nation.

Historically, the ITU regulations required all amateur radio operators to be familiar with the International Morse code in order to use frequencies below 30 MHz.

At the World Radiocommunication Conference in 2003 (WRC-2003), the member administrations of the ITU made the decision to remove from the International Radio Regulations the mandatory requirement for proficiency in Morse code as a qualification for the Amateur Service, but left the continuation of Morse code proficiency requirements to the discretion of individual administrations. Since WRC-2003, led by Switzerland on July 5, 2003, more than twenty administrations have removed the Morse code qualification requirement for access to the HF amateur bands below 30 MHz.

Over the years, officials of the Department have worked with amateur radio operators and their organizations to foster the development of the service. As part of this effort, the Department consults with the amateur community through regular meetings with Radio Amateurs of Canada Inc. (RAC), the national association representing Canadian amateurs.

In July and August 2003, to form a basis for a recommendation to Industry Canada, RAC conducted a survey via the Internet of Canadian radio amateurs to ascertain their wishes concerning the deletion or retention of the Morse code qualification. More than 1 400 valid responses, a statistically significant sample of the approximately 51 500 Canadian amateur community, were received. Of the respondents, 66 percent recommended deletion of the mandatory Morse code requirement. At the same time, RAC Directors conducted surveys of their constituents, and these results also were taken into account in preparing their proposal. In addition to recommending the deletion of the Morse code requirement, the proponents also recommended other changes, such as increasing the pass mark for the Basic qualification. Many of the recommendations are included as related matters in the proposal.

In October 2003, RAC presented the proposal, as a draft, to the Canadian Amateur Radio Advisory Board (CARAB) meeting, and in July of 2004, this proposal was formally presented to Industry Canada.

Interested parties should submit their comments on the issues raised in the RAC proposal no later than 60 days from the date of this Gazette notice. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT). All comments should make reference to "Comments - Gazette Notice DGRB-003-04" and be sent to the following email address: dospaa@ic.gc.ca along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (DGRB-003-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum. The RAC proposal can also be found at: http://www.rac.ca/.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

August 20, 2004



Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette no DGRB-003-04

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-003-04 - Consultation sur les « Recommandations de Radio Amateurs du Canada à Industrie Canada concernant le code Morse et autres sujets connexes »

Le présent avis vise à inviter le public à faire des commentaires sur la proposition citée en rubrique. Si cette proposition est adoptée, elle pourrait entraîner des modifications au cadre de réglementation régissant le service de radioamateur au Canada et, en particulier, à la Circulaire 2, Normes sur l'exploitation des stations radio autorisées dans le service de radioamateur(CIR-2), qui est la norme régissant le service de radioamateur au Canada.

Introduction

Conformément au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, pris en application de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le service de radioamateur est un « Service de radiocommunication qui a pour objet l'utilisation d'appareils radio pour la formation personnelle, l'intercommunication ou les recherches techniques par des individus qui s'intéressent à la radiotechnique uniquement à des fins personnelles et sans but lucratif ».

Les radioamateurs aiment communiquer avec d'autres radioamateurs au pays et partout dans le monde. Ils utilisent diverses techniques de manipulation radio allant des modes élémentaires, qui comprennent la modulation par tout ou rien d'ondes radio entretenues (CW) en faisant appel au code Morse international, à des modes plus complexes, comme les techniques de communication utilisées dans la télévision à balayage lent et la radiocommunication en mode paquets. Le service de radioamateur est, en raison du potentiel de propagation mondiale de signaux d'amateur dans les bandes hautes fréquences (HF), un service international, et il est régi à l'échelle internationale par l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), dont le Canada est un pays membre.

Historiquement, la Réglementation de l'UIT exigeait que tous les radioamateurs connaissent le code Morse international pour utiliser les fréquences inférieures à 30 MHz.

Lors de la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications de 2003 (CMR-2003), les administrations membres de l'UIT ont pris la décision de retirer du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT l'obligation de connaître le code Morse comme compétence exigée pour le service d'amateur, mais ont laissé les administrations individuelles libres de maintenir ou non cette exigence. Depuis la CMR-2003, plus de vingt administrations, dont la Suisse, qui a été la première à le faire le 5 juillet 2003, ont cessé d'exiger la connaissance du Morse pour l'utilisation des fréquences inférieures à 30 MHz dans la bande HF du service d'amateur.

Au fil des ans, les fonctionnaires du Ministère ont collaboré avec les radioamateurs et leurs organismes pour favoriser l'évolution du service. Dans le cadre de cet effort, le Ministère consulte les radioamateurs en tenant des réunions régulièrement avec Radio Amateurs du Canada (RAC), l'association nationale qui représente les radioamateurs canadiens.

Pour établir un fondement à une recommandation destinée à Industrie Canada, RAC a effectué, en juillet et en août 2003, un sondage sur Internet auprès des radioamateurs canadiens concernant la suppression ou le maintien de l'exigence du code Morse. L'association a reçu plus de 1 400 réponses valides, ce qui représente un bon échantillon statistique des quelque 51 500 radioamateurs canadiens. Parmi les répondants, 66 pour 100 recommandaient l'élimination de l'exigence du code Morse. Durant la même période, les directeurs de RAC ont effectué un sondage auprès de leurs membres, et les résultats obtenus ont été pris en compte dans la préparation de la proposition. En plus de la recommandation visant à supprimer l'exigence de la connaissance du code Morse, les auteurs de la proposition recommandent également d'autres changements, comme l'augmentation de la note de passage pour l'obtention du certificat avec compétence de base. Bon nombre de ces recommandations sont incluses dans la partie traitant des autres sujets connexes dans la proposition.

En octobre 2003, RAC a présenté l'ébauche de la proposition au Comité consultatif sur la radio amateur canadienne (CCRAC) et, en juillet 2004, la proposition a été présentée officiellement à Industrie Canada.

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires aux questions soulevées dans la proposition de RAC doivent être reçues dans les 60 jours suivant la date de publication du présent avis. Après la clôture de la période de présentation des commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : dospaa@ic.gc.ca avec le titre « Commentaires - Avis de la Gazette DGRB-003-04 ». Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGRB-003-04).

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre. Les recommandations du RAC sont aussi disponibles sur le site de RAC à: http://www.rac.ca/fr/.

La version imprimée officielle du présent avis est disponible sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 20 août 2004

Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion



Jan Skora

Date de modification :