Archived — Gazette Notice No. DGTP-006-03 — Expansion of Spectrum for Fixed Wireless Access in the 3500 MHz Range

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-006-03 — Expansion of Spectrum for Fixed Wireless Access in the 3500 MHz Range

Intent

This Notice announces an expansion of the spectrum available for Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) systems in the 3500 MHz range and provides further guidelines for the licensing of FWA on a first-come, first-served basis in rural areas. The sub-band 3475-3500 MHz (a 25 MHz block) is being added to the existing core band 3500-3650 MHz which was recently announced in Gazette Notice DGTP-002-03.1

Discussion

Recently, the Department rearranged the spectrum in the 3500 MHz range to accommodate priority spectrum for radiolocation and commercial FWA systems. This resulted in the band 3500-3650 MHz being designated as the core spectrum for FWA systems with the view to reduce the potential interference from high-power radiolocation systems. Also, the Department established that the primary allocation for fixed and radiolocation services was being retained in the band 3450-3500 MHz, with Canadian footnote C15, to protect the Government of Canada radar operations.

In DGTP-002-03, the Department indicated that it would not authorize any new FWA systems in the band 3450-3500 MHz until the interference environment, caused by radiolocation operation on FWA systems, had been fully characterized. Since then, the Department has finalized its assessment of the potential interference environment. Based on this assessment, the Department is designating additional spectrum for FWA systems and is removing some prohibitions previously established.

In releasing this additional spectrum across Canada, there will be more opportunity to develop local distribution facilities to accommodate new services and service providers.

Decisions

The Department is expanding the spectrum available for FWA systems based on further assessment and characterization of the potential out-of-band radar interference into the 3500 MHz range. The spectrum expansion is outlined below: 

  • The frequency block 3475-3500 MHz (Block D) is being released for FWA systems in all regions of Canada, with the exception of Vancouver Island;

  • Based on the extended studies, the band 3500-3525 MHz (Block E) is now designated in the Vancouver and Whistler areas of Southwestern B.C. Special mitigation measures may be required in the Vancouver area;

  • FWA systems will not be authorized on Vancouver Island, except where good shielding exists from mountainous terrain, particularly in inland locations, to mitigate interference from shipborne radiolocation operations. Such systems may be authorized, on a case-by-case basis, in spectrum blocks above 3500 MHz;

  • No FWA operators using the band 3500-3650 MHz should offer emergency service (i.e. 911) on Vancouver Island. This advisory is based on the high potential for interference.

In summary, the spectrum available for FWA systems in 3475-3650 MHz provides three paired blocks of 25 + 25 MHz with 100 MHz separation (i.e. Blocks D and H, E and J, and Block F and K). Block G remains as an unpaired block.

Band Plan and Designation Status
Block Frequencies (MHz)
A 3400 - 3425 Radiolocation C5*
B 3425 - 3450 Radiolocation C5*
C 3450 - 3475 FWA - suspended: Radiolocation C15*
D 3475 - 3500 FWA - new core spectrum Radiolocation C15*
E 3500 - 3525 FWA- core spectrum
F 3525 - 3550 FWA- core spectrum
G 3550 - 3575 FWA - core spectrum
H 3575 - 3600 FWA - core spectrum
J 3600 - 3625 FWA - core spectrum
K 3625 - 3650 FWA - core spectrum
L 3650 - 3675 (reserved)
M 3675 - 3700 (reserved)

* Refer to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

Further licensing guidelines are being enunciated in addition to the existing 1998 Spectrum Policy and Licensing Provisions for Fixed Wireless Access Systems in Rural Areas in the Frequency Range 3400-3700 MHz for applications processed under a first-come, first-served (FCFS) basis in rural and remote areas. The Department wishes to further promote the availability of advanced and affordable telecommunications services to rural and remote areas. This includes the availability of local distribution networks that may offer a range of telecommunications services, i.e. broadband Internet service. Accordingly, with the release of this additional spectrum, the Department is establishing further criteria to assess promising FWA applications so as to promote and accelerate the development of advanced services to rural areas.

Additional provisions to the existing 1998 Spectrum Policy and Licensing Provisions for Fixed Wireless Access Systems in Rural Areas in the Frequency Range 3400-3700 MHz are herewith established for the licensing of spectrum on a FCFS basis in rural areas. These will apply for the near term pending the issuance of the Policy and Licensing Framework for the upcoming auction.

The Department wishes to further clarify the existing licensing process for rural FWA applications, in particular the requirements under the initial six-month licence term, as follows: 

  1. the Department will continue to issue to new applicants, an initial six-month licence term for a block pair of 25 + 25 MHz, with the expectation that the licensee will have installed equipment or begun service of FWA systems before the licence expires;
  2. if the licence term expires prior to equipment installation or services beginning, renewal for another six-month licence term would not be automatic. Applicants seeking another six-month licence would require strong justification, including financing and service commitments. As an example, if an applicant had obtained financial resources from a government agency or a financial institution, or had contracted for radio equipment, these would be considered strong indicators that the applicant has the resources and commitment to implement. Failure to demonstrate these commitments to the Department, by the end of the six-month licence term, will render the spectrum available for other applicants; and
  3. in certain situations, where business projections and economics are such that the applicant can demonstrate to the Department that a second pair of blocks (i.e. 25 + 25 MHz) is justified, in addition to the first pair (for a total of 100 MHz), the Department may authorize such applications. Of course, applicants seeking renewal for a second six-month licence term will be subject to (ii) above.

For further information or clarification of these policy provisions, consult the appropriate regional office.

The Department will publish, in the near future, a policy and licensing framework for the auctioning of FWA spectrum in the core band 3475-3650 MHz.

To Obtain Copies

Copies are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Paper copies can be obtained for a fee from:

St. Joseph Print Group Inc.
1165 Kenaston Street
P.O. Box 9809, Station T
Ottawa, Ontario
K1G 6S1
Phone Number: 613-746-4005
Toll free number: 1-888-562-5561
Fax: 819-779-2833
E-mail: DLSOrderdesk@eprintit.com

April 11, 2003

Issued under the authorization
of the Radiocommunication Act

______________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy

________________________
R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch


Footnote

1 DGTP-002-03 - Restructuring the Spectrum in the Band 3400-3650 MHz to More Effectively Accommodate Fixed and Radiolocation Services

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette no DGTP-006-03 — Extension du spectre des systèmes d'accès fixe sans fil dans la gamme de 3500 MHz

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-006-03 — Extension du spectre des systèmes d'accès fixe sans fil dans la gamme de 3500 MHz

Objet

Le présent avis annonce l'extension du spectre de fréquences accessible aux systèmes d'accès fixe sans fil (AFSF) dans la gamme de 3500 MHz et présente des lignes directrices supplémentaires pour la délivrance des licences AFSF en milieu rural selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. La sous - bande de 3475-3500 MHz (bloc de 25 MHz) s'ajoute maintenant à la bande principale existante de 3500-3650 MHz, qui a fait récemment l'objet de l'avis DGTP-002-031 publié dans la Gazette du Canada.

Discussion

Récemment, le Ministère a restructuré la plage de fréquences de 3500 MHz afin de répondre aux besoins de fréquences prioritaires des opérations de radiolocalisation et des systèmes AFSF commerciaux. La bande de 3500-3650 MHz a alors été désignée comme la bande principale des systèmes AFSF afin de réduire le brouillage que peuvent causer les systèmes de radiolocalisation à haute puissance. En outre, le Ministère a établi que l'attribution à titre primaire aux services fixes et de radiolocalisation était maintenue dans la bande de 3450-3500 MHz, avec le renvoi canadien C15, pour protéger les opérations radar du gouvernement canadien.

Dans l'avis DGTP-002-03, le Ministère a indiqué qu'il n'autoriserait aucun nouveau système AFSF dans la bande 3450-3500 MHz tant que les caractéristiques du brouillage que le service de radiolocalisation cause aux systèmes AFSF n'auront pas été établies complètement. Depuis lors, le Ministère a terminé son évaluation de l'environnement de brouillage éventuel. À la lumière de cette évaluation, le Ministère attribue des fréquences supplémentaires aux systèmes AFSF et supprime certaines restrictions antérieures.

L'attribution de ces nouvelles fréquences à l'échelle du Canada favorisera le développement d'installations de distribution locales pour répondre aux besoins de nouveaux services et de fournisseurs de services.

Décisions

Se fondant sur une évaluation et une caractérisation plus poussées des risques de brouillage radar hors bande dans la gamme de 3500 MHz, le Ministère attribue un spectre élargi aux systèmes AFSF, conformément aux dispositions suivantes : 

  • Le bloc de fréquences 3475-3500 MHz (bloc D) est désormais accessible aux systèmes AFSF dans toutes les régions du Canada, à l'exception de l'île de Vancouver;
  • Sur la base des études poussées qui ont été faites, la bande 3500-3525 MHz (bloc E) est maintenant désignée dans les régions de Vancouver et de Whistler, dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Des mesures particulières d'atténuation pourraient être requises dans la région de Vancouver;
  • Les systèmes AFSF ne seront pas autorisés dans l'île de Vancouver, sauf dans les endroits où le terrain montagneux crée un bon effet d'écran qui atténue le brouillage provenant d'activités de radiolocalisation menées à bord de navires. Ces systèmes pourraient être autorisés, cas par cas, dans des blocs de fréquences au-dessus de 3500 MHz.
  • Aucun exploitant de système AFSF utilisant la bande 3500-3650 MHz ne devrait offrir de service d'urgence, p. ex. 911, dans l'île de Vancouver, étant donné les risques élevés de brouillage.

En résumé, le spectre accessible aux systèmes AFSF dans la bande 3475-3650 MHz comprend trois blocs appariés de 25 + 25 MHz avec un espacement de 100 MHz, soit les blocs D et H, E et J, et bloc F et K.  Bloc G reste comme un bloc sans appariés.

Plan d'attribution et état de désignation
Bloc Fréquences (MHz)
A 3400 - 3425 Radiolocalisation C5*
B 3425 - 3450 Radiolocalisation C5*
C 3450 - 3475 AFSF - suspendu : Radiolocalisation C15*
D 3475 - 3500 AFSF - nouvelle bande principale - Radiolocalisation C15*
E 3500 - 3525 AFSF- bande principale
F 3525 - 3550 AFSF- bande principale
G 3550 - 3575 AFSF - bande principale
H 3575 - 3600 AFSF - bande principale
J 3600 - 3625 AFSF - bande principale
K 3625 - 3650 - bande principale
L 3650 - 3675 (réservé)
M 3675 - 3700 (réservé)

* Fait référence au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

De nouvelles lignes directrices viennent compléter la politique de 1998, Politique du spectre et dispositions sur l'attribution de licences pour les systèmes fixes d'accès sans fil dans les régions rurales dans la gamme de fréquences de 3400 à 3700 MHz, sur l'utilisation des fréquences et la délivrance des licences en ce qui concerne les demandes traitées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi dans les régions rurales et éloignées. Le Ministère tient à promouvoir davantage l'accessibilité de services de télécommunications de pointe à prix abordable dans les régions rurales et éloignées, entre autres l'accessibilité de réseaux de distribution locaux pouvant offrir une variété de services de télécommunications, p. ex. le service Internet à large bande. Par conséquent, avec l'attribution de ces nouvelles fréquences, le Ministère établit de nouveaux critères pour l'évaluation des demandes AFSF afin de promouvoir et d'accélérer le développement de services de pointe dans les régions rurales.

Des dispositions complémentaires à la politique de 1998, Politique du spectre et dispositions sur l'attribution de licences pour les systèmes fixes d'accès sans fil dans les régions rurales dans la gamme de fréquences de 3400 à 3700 MHz, sur l'utilisation des fréquences et la délivrance des licences sont établies par les présentes en ce qui concerne la délivrance de licences de spectre selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi, dans les régions rurales. Ces dispositions seront applicables à court terme, d'ici à ce que soit publié un cadre de politique et de délivrance de licences pour les prochaines enchères.

Le Ministère tient à apporter les précisions suivantes au sujet du processus de délivrance de licences pour des systèmes AFSF exploités en milieu rural, en particulier, les conditions sous le terme de licence de six mois initial :

  1. le Ministère continuera de délivrer aux nouveaux requérants, une licence valide pour une période initiale de six mois pour une paire de blocs de 25 + 25 MHz, le titulaire de licence étant censé avoir installé l'équipement nécessaire ou commencé à servir des systèmes AFSF avant l'expiration de la licence;
  2. si la licence expire avant l'installation de l'équipement ou le début du service, son renouvellement pour six mois ne sera pas automatique. Les requérants désireux d'obtenir un renouvellement de six mois devront produire à cette fin de solides justifications, y compris des engagements financiers et des engagements de service. Par exemple, le fait d'avoir obtenu des ressources financières d'un organisme public ou d'un établissement financier, ou d'avoir passé des contrats pour l'acquisition d'équipement radio, serait considéré comme une indication probante que le titulaire de licence a des ressources et des engagements pour la mise en œuvre du service. À défaut de fournir ces justifications au Ministère, à la fin de la période de six mois, le titulaire devra libérer les fréquences visées pour d'autres requérants.
  3. dans certains cas, lorsque des projections commerciales et des données économiques le justifient, et que le requérant peut démontrer au Ministère qu'une deuxième paire de blocs est justifiée, le Ministère pourra autoriser l'attribution d'une deuxième paire de blocs (25 + 25 MHz) en plus de la première (pour un total de 100 MHz). Les requérants qui désirent le renouvellement pour une deuxième période de licence de six mois seront assujettis à (ii) ci-dessus.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou des précisions au sujet de ces dispositions de politique, veuillez consulter votre bureau régional.

Le Ministère publiera prochainement un cadre de politique et de délivrance de licences pour les enchères de fréquences AFSF dans la bande principale de 3475-3650 MHz.

Pour obtenir des copies

Le document est disponible sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut également obtenir des copies sur support papier, contre paiement, auprès du :

Groupe d'imprimerie St-Joseph inc.
165, rue Kenaston
Case postale 9809,
Succursale T
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1G 6S1
Téléphone : 613-746-4005
Numéro sans frais : 1-888-562-5561
Télécopieur :  819-779-2833
Courriel : DLSOrder desk@eprintit.com

Le 19 avril 2003

Publié en vertu de
de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

______________________
Larry Shaw
Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

________________________
R.W. McCaughern
Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre,


Renvois

1 Avis DGTP-002-03 - Restructuration du spectre dans la bande 3400-3650 MHz pour répondre plus efficacement aux besoins des services fixes et de radiolocalisation

Date de modification :