Archived — Gazette Notice No. DGTP-007-03

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-007-03 Consultation on the Spectrum for Advanced Wireless Services and Review of the Mobile Spectrum Cap Policy

Comments Received

This Notice announces the publication of a consultation paper, under the above title, which proposes the allocation and designation of spectrum for Advanced Wireless Services (AWS). Advanced Wireless Services include a wide range of services, such as third generation cellular, multimedia and broadband Internet. The industry has supported Industry Canada in its plans to identify spectrum for advanced mobile wireless services so as to keep Canada in step with developments in the United States and Europe on licensing activities. Consequently and pursuant to the work plan published in Radio Systems Policy-020, Guidelines on the Licensing Process and Spectrum Release Plan - 2001 Edition (RP-020), this first consultation document includes proposals and invites comments on spectrum allocations and band designations. In order for incumbents of mobile spectrum to access these new bands in a future licensing activity, a full review of the spectrum cap policy is also initiated. The consultation paper also invites comments on measures to promote advanced mobile telephony services in rural Canada.

The service capabilities envisaged from Advanced Wireless Services (new mobile and fixed applications) are very promising and could provide people on-the-move full participation in the knowledge-based economy. The public benefits of these advanced service offerings support the Department's initiative in proposing changes to spectrum allocations and designations which are laid out in this consultation paper.

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments on the issues raised in the consultation paper announced through this Notice. Interested parties should submit their comments no later than January 19, 2004 to ensure consideration. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT ) to the following e-mail address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Manager, Mobile Services, Telecom Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 1604A, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (DGTP-007-03).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of the consultation paper are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained at the Canada Gazette site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

October 10, 2003

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette no DGTP-007-03

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-007-03Consultation sur l'attribution de fréquences aux services sans fil évolués et Examen de la politique de plafonnement des fréquences du service mobile

Commentaires reçus

Le présent avis annonce la publication d'un document de consultation, sous le titre précité, qui propose l'attribution et la désignation de fréquences pour les services sans fil évolués (SSFE). Les SSFE comprennent toute une gamme de services, entre autres les services cellulaires de troisième génération, les services multimédia et l'accès Internet à large bande. L'industrie a appuyé les projets d'Industrie Canada visant à identifier des fréquences pour les services sans fil mobiles évolués de manière que le Canada emboîte le pas aux États-Unis et à l'Europe en ce qui concerne l'évolution des activités d'autorisation. Par conséquent, conformément au plan de travail publié dans la politique des systèmes radio 020, Lignes directrices sur le processus d'autorisation et plan de libération de fréquences - Édition 2001 (PR-020), le premier document de consultation comprend des propositions et invite les parties intéressées à présenter des observations sur les attributions et désignations de bandes de fréquences. Afin de permettre aux titulaires de licences du service mobile d'avoir accès à ces nouvelles bandes lors d'un futur processus de délivrance de licences, un examen complet de la politique de plafonnement des fréquences est aussi initié. Le document de consultation invite aussi les intéressés à présenter leurs commentaires sur les mesures à prendre pour promouvoir les services de téléphonie mobiles évolués dans les régions rurales au Canada.

Les services sans fil évolués (nouvelles applications mobiles et fixes) offrent des possibilités très prometteuses permettant aux personnes en déplacement de participer pleinement à l'économie du savoir. Les avantages de ces services évolués pour le public incitent le Ministère à proposer des modifications aux attributions et désignations de fréquences, qui sont exposées dans le présent document de consultation.

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à présenter leurs points de vue et commentaires sur les points soulevés dans le document de consultation annoncé dans le présent avis. Les intéressés doivent faire parvenir leurs commentaires au plus tard le 19janvier 2004. Peu après la période de présentation des observations, toutes les observations reçues seront versées pour consultation sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT ) à l'adresse électronique suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au gestionnaire, Services mobiles, Direction de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 1604A, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-007-03).

Pour obtenir des copies

Le document de consultation est disponible sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut aussi obtenir des copies officielles sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

Le 10 octobre 2003

Larry Shaw
Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

Date de modification :