Archived — Notice No. DGRB-004-03

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-004-03 — Unassigned Personal Communications Services (PCS) Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range

Intent

This Gazette Notice is to inform interested parties that the Department intends to licence the Personal Communications Services (PCS) spectrum not assigned following the PCS spectrum auction process completed in 2001, either on a First-come, First-served basis (FCFS) or, where demand exceeds supply, by auction. Should an auction be required, the Department intends to adopt a simplified and streamlined process recognizing that the number of licences is small and the level of contention will likely be limited.

Discussion

On November 5, 1999, the Minister of Industry initiated a competitive licensing process for additional spectrum for Personal Communications Services (PCS). There was 40 MHz of spectrum divided into four paired blocks (5 MHz + 5 MHz ) in the 2 GHz frequency range. The licences were defined geographically, essentially along provincial boundaries, with some exceptions. In January 2001, the Department proceeded with the auction which resulted in 52 out of the 62 PCS spectrum licences being awarded to successful bidders. Ten PCS spectrum licences received no bidding activity.

In the document entitled Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range (found at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf02076.html) the Department stated that any "licences that go unsold will be offered in a re-auction that will begin between six and twelve months after the close of the initial auction." As well, in the document entitled Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada (2001) (found at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01626.html), it is stated that "should a licence not receive a bid during the auction, the Department may make this licence available for licensing through an alternative process (such as first-come, first served) at a later date following the close of the auction". The Department believes that it is now an appropriate time to offer the unassigned PCS spectrum, primarily on a FCFS basis and secondarily, should demand for a licence exceed supply, by auction.

The PCS licences available are: 

2-07A – Northern Quebec
2-07B – Northern Quebec
2-07C – Northern Quebec
2-07D – Northern Quebec
2-11B – Saskatchewan
2-14A – Yukon, N.W.T. & Nunavut
2-14B – Yukon, N.W.T. & Nunavut
2-14C – Yukon, N.W.T. & Nunavut
2-14D – Yukon, N.W.T. & Nunavut
2-15F – QuebecTel Area

* Licences for all blocks are 5 MHz + 5 MHz symmetrically-paired blocks, however, the Department may consider applications for portions of these blocks.

A complete list of current licensees and unassigned PCS spectrum licences from the 2001 auction is available at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf05550.html.

Further details on the 2001 spectrum auction licensing process are available on the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range Web page and apply to the process outlined in this Gazette Notice.

Decision and Process

One of the goals of the Department, as outlined in the 2001 Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada, is to release spectrum for licensing in a timely manner so that it can be used and produce benefits for all Canadians. Generally spectrum is not withheld, except when advocated by specific policy issues.

The Department recognizes the importance of encouraging a competitive marketplace to ensure that economic benefits are maximized. Measures available to the Government to promote a competitive post-auction marketplace include the application of two guiding competition principles, as outlined in the Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada. The two guiding competition principles address the restriction of spectrum acquisition by certain entities and the placing of limits on the amount of spectrum any one entity may hold. The Department will not impose any additional restrictions on eligibility to either the First-Come, First-Served or the streamlined auction process.

First-Come, First-Served Process

The Department intends to make the unassigned spectrum available, where possible, using the First Come, First-Served (FCFS) process.

All licensees must be eligible to become radiocommunication carriers as described in Section 10(2) of the Radiocommunication Regulations, and as such must meet the related ownership and control requirements (refer to CPC-2-0-15 at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01763.html). Furthermore, the licence conditions applicable to the spectrum awarded through the 2 GHz PCS auction will also apply to any licence issued through the FCFS process. These licence conditions are available at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf05471.html.

In order to determine whether demand can be accommodated by an FCFS process, all interested parties must submit an application by the deadline outlined below, under Additional Details.

Fees

In December 2002, the Department issued the Consultation on a New Fee and Licensing Regime for Cellular and Incumbent Personal Communications Services (PCS) Licensees. In the paper, the Department proposes a harmonization of fees for carriers holding cellular and/or PCS licences. Comments and reply comments have been received and are currently under consideration. The Department proposes that any licences issued under this licensing process be subject to the fees that will be established as a result of that consultation process. Further information on the licence fee consultation is available at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf05584.html.

Auction Process

Should the demand for a particular licence surpass the available supply, the Department intends to make the spectrum available by a simple and streamlined auction process. Only applications submitted before the deadline outlined below, under Additional Details, will be eligible to participate in the auction.

The licences awarded under the auction process will be subject to the same requirements as noted under the First-Come, First-Served process above and as outlined in the Final Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf02136.html.

The licences will be assigned by a streamlined auction process, allowing for a more rapid conduct of an auction than is usually possible in a large, multi-licence auction.

Additional Details

In order to determine whether demand can be accommodated by a FCFS process, all interested parties must submit an application, including the name and the address of the applicant, the frequency block (or portion thereof) and the geographic area. The application can be found at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf08094.html.

Where demand for a licence exceeds the supply, all applications relating to that licence will automatically be set aside for an auction process. Applicants will then be contacted by the Department for further instruction and auction details. Auction participants will be provided with a bidder information document containing the full details of the auction process.

To ensure that applications are fully considered, they must be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. EDT, December 8, 2003 to Industry Canada at the following address:

Manager, Wireless Networks
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
300 Slater Street, 15th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to therein are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

October 31, 2003



______________________
Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Archivé — Avis no DGRBB-004-03

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-004-03 — Fréquences du service de communications personnelles (SCP) non délivrées dans la bande de fréquences de 2 GHz

Intention

Le présent avis de la Gazette vise à informer les parties intéressées que le Ministère compte délivrer, soit selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi (PAPS) ou lorsque la demande dépasse l'offre, par le biais d'enchères, le spectre du service de communications personnelles (SCP) qui n'a pas été assigné lors de la vente aux enchères du spectre SCP terminée en 2001. Si des enchères devaient avoir lieu, le Ministère à l'intention d'adopter un processus simplifié, compte tenu du petit nombre de licences et du faible nombre d'interventions prévu.

Discussion

Le 5 novembre 1999, le ministre de l'Industrie a mis en branle un processus comparatif de délivrance de licence pour les fréquences supplémentaires du service de communications personnelles (SCP). Le spectre additionnel était de 40 MHz, divisé en quatre blocs appariés (5 MHz + 5 MHz) de la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz. Les licences ont été définies géographiquement, essentiellement selon les limites provinciales, à quelques exceptions près. Enjanvier 2001, le Ministère a fait une vente aux enchères et 52 des 62 licences pour l'exploitation du spectre SCP ont été délivrées aux soumissionnaires gagnants. Aucune soumission n'a été faite pour dix des licences SCP.

Dans le document intitulé Politique et procédures pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP supplémentaires dans la bande de fréquences de 2 GHz à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf02076.html) le Ministère mentionne que « les licences qui n'auront pas été délivrées seront mises à nouveau aux enchères de six à douze mois après la fin de la vente aux enchères initiale ». De plus, dans la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada (2001) (disponible à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01626.html) on souligne que « si aucune soumission n'est présentée à l'égard d'une licence durant les enchères, le Ministère se réserve la possibilité de rendre cette licence disponible pour délivrance par un autre moyen (p. ex. selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi) à une date ultérieure après la clôture des enchères ». Selon le Ministère il est maintenant approprié d'offrir le spectre SCP non délivré, en premier lieu selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi (PAPS) et en second lieu, si la demande pour une licence en particulier dépasse l'offre, par le biais d'une vente aux enchères.

Voici les licences SCP disponibles :

2-07A – Québec-Nord
2-07B – Québec-Nord
2-07C – Québec-Nord
2-07D – Québec-Nord
2-11B – Saskatchewan
2-14A – Yukon, T.-N.-O. & Nunavut
2-14B – Yukon, T.-N.-O. & Nunavut
2-14C – Yukon, T.-N.-O. & Nunavut
2-14D – Yukon, T.-N.-O. & Nunavut
2-15F – Zone QuebecTel

* Les licences pour tous les blocs s'appliquent aux blocs symétriques appariés de 5 MHz + 5 MHz ; cependant, le Ministère pourrait considérer les demandes relatives à des portions de ces blocs.

Une liste complète des titulaires de licences et des licences de spectre SCP non délivrées lors des enchères de 2001 est disponible à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf05550.html

De plus amples renseignements sur le processus de délivrance de licences octroyées par l'enchère de 2001 sont disponibles à la page Web Mise aux enchères de fréquences supplémentaires dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz, qui s'appliquent aussi au processus décrit dans le présent avis de la Gazette.

Décision et processus

Selon le Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre de 2001, l'un des objectifs du Ministère est de libérer du spectre pour la délivrance de licences en temps opportun, afin que le spectre puisse être utilisé et que tous les Canadiens puissent en tirer profit. De manière générale, le spectre n'est pas retenu, à moins que des politiques précises ne le prévoient.

Dans l'optique de maximisation des avantages économiques, le Ministère reconnaît qu'il est important de favoriser un marché concurrentiel. Les mesures à la disposition du gouvernement pour la promotion d'un marché concurrentiel pour le spectre assigné après les enchères incluent l'application de deux principes directeurs en matière de concurrence, comme le souligne la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada. Les deux principes de concurrence concernent les restrictions en matière d'acquisition du spectre par certaines entités et les limites sur la quantité de spectre pouvant être acquise par une entité. Le Ministère n'imposera pas de restrictions supplémentaires quant à l'admissibilité, qu'il s'agisse du processus premier arrivé, premier servi ou du processus de délivrance de licence simplifié.

Processus du premier arrivé, premier servi

Dans la mesure du possible, le Ministère compte rendre disponible le spectre non délivré selon le processus du premier arrivé, premier servi (PAPS).

Aux termes du paragraphe 10(2) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, tous les titulaires de licences doivent être admissibles au statut de transporteur de radiocommunications et ainsi, doivent répondre aux exigences en matière de propriété et de contrôle (voir CPC-2-0-15 à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01763.html). De plus, les conditions de licence applicables au spectre délivré suite aux enchères de fréquences SCP de la gamme de 2 GHz s'appliqueront également à toute licence délivrée par le biais du processus du PAPS. Les conditions de licences sont disponibles à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf05471.html.

Afin de déterminer si le processus du PAPS peut se prêter à la demande, toutes les parties intéressées doivent présenter une demande à la date indiquée à la section Détails supplémentaires ci-dessous.

Droits

En décembre 2002, le Ministère a publié le document Consultation sur un nouveau régime de droits et de délivrance de licences applicable aux titulaires de licences cellulaires et du service de communications personnelles (SCP) en place. Dans ce document, le Ministère propose une harmonisation des droits pour les entreprises de télécommunications titulaires de licences cellulaires et/ou du SCP. Les commentaires et les commentaires en réponse ont été reçus et ils sont actuellement à l'étude. Le Ministère propose que toutes les licences délivrées dans le cadre de ce processus d'autorisation soient assujetties aux droits qui seront établis suite à ce processus de consultation. Pour plus d'information sur la consultation sur les droits de licences, consultez le site http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf05584.html

Processus de délivrance de licence par enchère

Si la demande pour une licence spécifique dépasse l'offre, le Ministère compte rendre le spectre de fréquences disponible par le biais d'un processus simplifié. Seules les demandes soumises à la date mentionnée à la section Détails supplémentaires ci dessous, seront admissibles à participer aux enchères.

Les licences délivrées par la biais du processus d'enchères seront assujetties aux mêmes exigences, comme l'indique le processus du premier arrivé, premier servi susmentionné et comme le souligne le document Politique et procédures pour la mise aux enchères de fréquences SCP supplémentaires dans la bande de fréquences de 2 GHz (à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf02136.html).

Les licences seront délivrées selon un processus simplifié, soit des enchères plus rapides qu'à l'habitude lorsqu'il s'agit d'enchères d'envergure concernant plusieurs licences.

Détails supplémentaires

Afin de déterminer si le processus du PAPS peut se prêter à la demande, toutes les parties intéressées doivent présenter une demande incluant le nom et l'adresse du soumissionnaire, le bloc de fréquences (ou la portion de celui-ci) et le secteur géographique. Le formulaire de demande peut être téléchargé à partir de http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf08094.html

Lorsque la demande pour une licence en particulier dépasse l'offre, toutes les soumissions à l'égard de cette licence seront automatiquement mises de côté pour un processus d'enchères. Le Ministère communiquera ensuite avec les soumissionnaires pour leur fournir des instructions et de plus amples renseignements sur les enchères. Les participants aux enchères recevront un document d'information à l'intention des soumissionnaires contenant les particularités du processus.

Les demandes doivent être envoyées à Industrie Canada au plus tard le 8 décembre, à 17 h HAE, pour assurer leur pleine considération. Voici les coordonnées :

Gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil
Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion
300, rue Slater, 15e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut aussi obtenir des copies officielles des avis de la Gazette sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 31 octobre 2003


Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion



______________________
Jan Skora

Date de modification :