Gazette Notice No. DGRB-005-03

Department of Industry

Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1

Notice No. DGRB-005-03 — Radio Authorization Fees for Wireless Telecommunication Systems that Operate in the Radio Frequency Bands 824.040 MHz to 848.970 MHz , 869.040 MHz to 893.970 MHz or 1850 MHz to 1990 MHz

Introduction

Certain technological advances and regulatory measures which support different privileges and conditions for similar services have created marketplace distortions among service providers in the cellular and Personal Communications Services (PCS) industry. In an effort to create a marketplace framework for the wireless telecommunications industry that is fair, efficient and competitive, the department recognizes the need for a common regulatory framework which minimizes marketplace distortions such as licensing fee costs that inhibit network expansion into lesser populated areas.

On December 21, 2002, Industry Canada issued a notice that invited public comments on all aspects of the paper entitled Consultation on a New Fee and Licensing Regime for Cellular and Incumbent Personal Communications Services (PCS) Licensees. The document explained the department's proposal for the transition of cellular and incumbent PCS licences to spectrum licences with the enhanced privileges of transferability and divisibility, similar to those of auctioned PCS licences. The proposal would also eliminate the requirement for radio licences other than in specified exceptional circumstances, and establish a common fee regime. The proposed common fee regime for cellular and incumbent PCS licensees would use a rate that takes into account the amount of spectrum assigned (i.e. number of MHz) and the total population included in the service area.

The department proposed a licence fee of $1,500,000 per 1 MHz of national spectrum which results in a licence fee of $0.052 per 1 MHz of assigned spectrum per person in a defined geographic area. The department also proposed a multi-year implementation time frame before the full measure of the new fee would become payable. Implementation would be graduated, based on the difference between the licence fees payable at March 31, 2003, and the final amount payable. This graduated implementation would apply to licensees who would see an increase in their current annual licence fees as well as for those who would see a decrease in their fees, including situations where geographic partitioning and spectral disaggregation take place.

In response to the consultation, several respondents said the proposed fee level is too high; represents an overall increase in fees to the industry that will negatively impact customers; and is a burden to an industry that is not yet profitable. These respondents proposed a lower fee. Industry Canada analysed all the comments received on the various aspects of the policy and licensing process and concurrent with this notice, the department announced the release of its policy document entitled Spectrum Licensing Policy for Cellular and Incumbent Personal Communications Services (PCS), which defined the final policy for the transition of cellular and incumbent PCS licensees to the new licensing regime. The cellular and 1995 PCS licensees will all pay the same annual rate in 2011 and the department will adopt a fee level based on the 2003 licence renewal fees of $129,982,841 paid by these service providers. This equates to $1,053,957 per MHz nationally or $0.03512361 per person given that the 2001 census population of Canada was 30,007,094.

To determine this fee, the department redistributed the total fee paid by cellular and incumbent PCS licensees in 2003 amongst the service providers by determining the amount of assigned spectrum bandwidth and the population in each licensee's service area.

The minimum fee for an authorization is set at $1,000. The department will implement the new fee over a seven-year time frame after which time the full measure of the new fee becomes payable. Implementation will be graduated based on the difference between licence fees payable at March 31, 2003 and the final amount payable. This graduated implementation will apply to both licensees seeing an increase in their current annual licence fees and to those seeing a decrease in their fees including situations where partitioning and disaggregation take place.

Complete details of the fees, established in accordance with the licensing policy and the client procedures circular, are set out in the following fee schedule.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective April 1, 2004. The fees are applicable to radio authorizations issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1) (a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish wireless telecommunication systems in accordance with the terms of the radio authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"service area" means the defined geographic area specified in the radio authorization;

"specified frequencies" means the range of frequencies, or portion thereof, in the frequency bands 824.040 MHz to 848.970 MHz , 869.040 MHz to 893.970 MHz or 1850 MHz to 1990 MHz specified in the radio authorization;

"person" means the number of individual people in a census area as determined by Statistics Canada in the 2001 Census and as specified for the service area in the radio authorization;

"wireless telecommunication system" means a radiocommunication system which operates on specified frequencies in the service area specified in the radio authorization;

"renewal fee" means the annual fee payable for the continuance in force of the radio authorization until the radio authorization expires;

"new fee" means the applicable annual, prorated or renewal fee fixed under sections 2 to 5 or section 6; and

"old annual fee" means,

  1. pursuant to the Radiocommunication Regulations, the applicable annual radio licence fees, paid by the holder of the radio authorization as of April 1, 2003 for the operation of stations on the specified frequencies, and
  2. for fiscal year 2004/2005 and subsequent fiscal years set out in Schedule I, the previous fiscal year's annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person as determined on February 1st of that year.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

2. (1) The annual radio authorization fee, payable with respect to the specified frequencies upon which a wireless telecommunications service provider is authorized to operate, is for each 1 MHz, or portion thereof, $0.03512361 per person for the authorized service area specified in the radio authorization.

(2) The minimum annual radio authorization fee with respect to an authorization issued under subsection 2(1) is $1000.

(3) The applicable annual radio authorization fee payable pursuant to subsection 2(1) or (2) applies to all new authorizations issued effective April 1, 2004 with respect to specified frequencies in a service area: 

  1. never assigned to any licensee by the department prior to April 1, 2004, or
  2. returned to the department for reassignment after April 1, 2004.

Prorated Fee

3. The prorated balance of the then-current fiscal year's authorization fee for the applicable specified frequencies for the authorized service area is due on the date of the issuance of the radio authorization.

4. The month that the Minister issues the initial annual radio authorization determines the applicable prorated fee.

5. The prorated fee is 1/12 of the total applicable annual authorization fee for each month until March 31 of the then-current fiscal year.

Renewal Fee

6. The renewal fee is the applicable annual radio authorization fee.

Fee Adjustments for Phased Implementation During Fiscal Years 2004 to 2011

7. During fiscal years 2004 to 2011, the applicable annual, prorated or renewal fee set out in sections 2 to 6 is adjusted in accordance with section 8 or 9 and Schedule I for: 

  1. all incumbent cellular or 1995 Personal Communications Services (PCS) licensees, or
  2. after April 1, 2004, any new licensee who is authorized specified frequencies in a service area as a result of the transfer of the specified frequencies in a service area, whether in whole or part, from an incumbent cellular or 1995 PCS licensee.

Annual Fee Increase

8. (1) Where the old annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person is less than the new annual fee set out in section 2, the applicable annual fee for the then-current fiscal year is increased by: 

  1. the applicable fee adjustment factor set out in column II of item 1 of Schedule I for fiscal year 2004/2005, multiplied by the difference between the new annual fee set out in section 2 and the old annual fee; or
  2. the applicable fee adjustment factor set out in column II for items 2 to 7 of Schedule I for each of the following fiscal years multiplied by the difference between the new annual fee set out in section 2 and the applicable old annual fee for the previous fiscal year.

(2) When B < C, the adjusted annual fee, A, for the then-current fiscal year is:

A= B + D (C - B)

where

A is the adjusted annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person for the then-current fiscal year;

B is the old annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person for the fiscal year 2003/2004; for the fiscal year 2004/2005 and for subsequent fiscal years set out in Schedule 1, B is the previous fiscal year's applicable annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person;

C is the annual new fee of $0.03512361 per MHz per person set out in section 2; and

D is the applicable adjustment factor set out in Schedule 1.

Annual Fee Decrease

9.(1) Where the old annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person is more than the new annual fee set out in section 2 the applicable annual fee for the then-current fiscal year is decreased by: 

  1. the applicable fee adjustment factor set out in column II of item 1 of Schedule 1 for fiscal year 2004/2005, multiplied by the difference between the old annual fee and the new annual fee set out in section 2; or
  2. the applicable fee adjustment factor set out in column II for items 2 to 7 of Schedule I for each of the following fiscal years multiplied by the difference between the applicable old annual fee for the previous fiscal year and the new annual fee set out in section 2.

(2) When B > C, the adjusted annual fee, A, for the then-current fiscal year is:

A= B - D (B - C)

where

A is the adjusted annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person for the then-current fiscal year;

B is the old annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person for the fiscal year 2003/2004; for the fiscal year 2004/2005 and for subsequent fiscal years set out in Schedule 1, B is the previous fiscal year's applicable annual fee expressed as a dollar value per MHz per person;

C is the new annual fee of $0.03512361 per MHz per person set out in section 2; and

D is the applicable adjustment factor set out in Schedule 1.


Schedule I

  Column I Column II
Item Fiscal year Annual Fee Adjustment Factor
1 2004/2005 0.142857
2 2005/2006 0.166665
3 2006/2007 0.2
4 2007/2008 0.25
5 2008/2009 0.333335
6 2009/2010 0.5
7 2010/2011 1

General Notes: 

  1. The aggregate fees are rounded to the nearest dollar.
  2. The annual renewal fees are due on or before March 31 for the subsequent fiscal year commencing on April 1.
  3. These fees may be revised from time to time as circumstances warrant or as more recent census data becomes available.
  4. The licensing policy, client procedures circular and maps of the service areas and their populations are available on the Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Allan Rock
Minister of Industry

Date modified:

Avis de la Gazette no DGRB-005-03

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, L.C. 1995, ch. 1

Avis no DGRB-005-03 — Droits d'autorisation de radiocommunication pour les systèmes de télécommunications sans fil exploités dans les bandes de fréquence radio de 824,040 MHz à 848,970 MHz , de 869,040 MHz à 893,970 MHz ou de 1 850 MHz à 1 990 MHz

Introduction

Certains progrès technologiques et certaines mesures réglementaires qui appuient différents privilèges et conditions applicables à des services similaires ont faussé le marché entre les fournisseurs de services dans l'industrie du cellulaire et du service de communications personnelles (SCP). Dans une initiative visant la création du cadre réglementaire d'un marché juste, efficient et concurrentiel pour l'industrie des télécommunications sans fil, le Ministère reconnaît le besoin d'un cadre réglementaire commun qui réduit au minimum les distorsions du marché comme les coûts liés aux droits de licence qui freinent l'extension des réseaux dans les zones moins populeuses.

Le 21 décembre 2002, Industrie Canada a émis un avis invitant le public à faire part de ses commentaires sur tous les aspects du document intitulé Consultation sur un nouveau régime de droits et de délivrance de licences applicable aux titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires et du service de communications personnelles (SCP) en place. Le document explique la proposition du Ministère visant la transition des licences de systèmes cellulaires et du SCP en place vers des licences de spectre pour les doter de privilèges accrus de transférabilité et de divisibilité, semblables à ceux des licences de SCP mises aux enchères. La proposition éliminerait également la nécessité de licences radio, sauf dans des circonstances exceptionnelles spécifiées, et mettrait sur pied un régime de droits communs. Le régime de droits communs proposé visant les titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires et de SCP en place serait fondé sur un taux qui tient compte de la gamme de fréquences assignées (nombre de MHz) et de la population totale de la zone de service.

Le Ministère a proposé des droits de licence de 1 500 000 $ par MHz de spectre national résultant à des droits de licence de 0,052 $ par 1 MHz de spectre par personne dans une zone géographique déterminée. Le Ministère a également proposé un échéancier de mise en œuvre de plusieurs années avant que la totalité des nouveaux droits devienne exigible. La mise en œuvre s'effectuerait graduellement, selon la différence entre les droits de licence exigibles le 31 mars 2003 et le montant final exigible. Cette mise en œuvre graduelle s'appliquerait tout autant aux titulaires de licence dont les droits annuels augmenteraient qu'à ceux dont les droits annuels diminueraient, y compris aux situations de fractionnement et de désagrégation.

En réponse à la consultation, plusieurs répondants ont dit que le droit proposé est trop élevé, qu'il représente une hausse globale des droits imposés à l'industrie qui aura une influence défavorable sur la clientèle, et qu'il constitue un fardeau pour une industrie qui n'est pas encore rentable. Ces répondants ont proposé un droit moins élevé. Industrie Canada a analysé tous les commentaires reçus sur les divers aspects de la politique et du processus de délivrance de licence et, en même temps que cet avis, le Ministère a annoncé la publication de son document intitulé Politique de délivrance de licence d'utilisation du spectre applicable aux titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires et du service de communications personnelles (SCP) en place, dans lequel le Ministère définit la politique finale pour la transition des titulaires de licences cellulaires et de licences SCP au nouveau régime de délivrance de licence. Les titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires et les titulaires de licence de SCP autorisés en 1995 paieront tous le même taux annuel en 2011 et le Ministère adoptera un droit fondé sur les droits de renouvellement de licence de 2003 de 129 982 841 millions de dollars payés par ces fournisseurs de services, ce qui équivaut à 1 053 957 $ par MHz à l'échelle nationale ou à 0,03512361 $ par personne, puisque, selon le recensement de 2001, la population du Canada s'élevait à 30 007 094 habitants.

Pour fixer ce tarif, le Ministère a réparti la totalité des droits payés par les titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires et du SCP en place en 2003 entre les fournisseurs de services en déterminant la largeur de bande du spectre assigné et la population dans la zone de service de chaque titulaire de licence.

Le droit minimal pour une autorisation est fixé à 1 000 $. Le Ministère mettra en œuvre le nouveau droit selon un échéancier de sept ans, après lequel temps la totalité des nouveaux droits devient exigible. La mise en œuvre s'effectuera graduellement, selon la différence entre les droits de licence exigibles le 31 mars 2003 et le montant final exigible. Cette mise en œuvre graduelle s'appliquera tout autant aux titulaires de licence dont les droits annuels augmenteraient qu'à ceux dont les droits annuels diminueraient, y compris aux situations de fractionnement et de désagrégation.

Les détails complets des droits applicables, établis conformément à la politique de délivrance de licences et à la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients, sont énoncés dans le barème de droits ci-après.

Barème de droits

Aux termes de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le ministre de l'Industrie fixe, les droits ci-après, en date du 1eravril 2004. Les droits sont applicables aux autorisations de radiocommunication émises par le Ministre aux termes de l'alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication en vue d'établir des systèmes de télécommunications sans fil conformément aux conditions de l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

Interprétation

1. Aux fins du présent barème de droits,

« zone de service » désigne la zone géographique définie qui est spécifiée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication;

« fréquences spécifiées » désigne la gamme des fréquences, ou une partie de cette gamme, dans les bandes hertziennes de 824,040 MHz à 848,970 MHz, de 869,040 MHz à 893,970 MHz ou de 1 850 MHz à 1 990 MHz qui sont spécifiées dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication;

« personne » désigne le nombre de personnes dans un territoire de recensement tel que déterminé par Statistique Canada dans le recensement de 2001 et tel que précisé pour la zone de service dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication;

« système de télécommunications sans fil » désigne un système de radiocommunications exploité sur des fréquences spécifiées dans la zone de service spécifiée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication;

« droits de renouvellement » désigne les droits annuels à acquitter pour que l'autorisation de radiocommunication demeure en vigueur, jusqu'à l'expiration de cette autorisation;

« nouveau droit » désigne le droit annuel, proportionnel ou de renouvellement établi en vertu des articles 2 à 5, ou de l'article 6;

« ancien droit annuel » désigne,

  1. en vertu du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, les droits de licence radio annuels applicables que le titulaire de l'autorisation de radiocommunication a payés au 1er avril 2003 pour exploiter des stations sur les fréquences spécifiées;
  2. pour l'exercice 2004-2005 et les exercices subséquents mentionnés à l'annexe I, le droit annuel de l'exercice précédent exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne, tel que déterminé le 1er février de cette année.

Droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel

2.   (1) Le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel payable à l'égard des fréquences spécifiées pour lequel un fournisseur de télécommunications sans fil est autorisé à exploiter correspond à 0,03512361 $ par 1 MHz, ou portion de MHz , par personne pour la zone de service autorisée spécifiée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

(2) Le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel minimal à l'égard d'une autorisation émise aux termes du paragraphe 2(1) est de 1 000 $.

(3) Le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel payable en vertu du paragraphe 2(1) ou (2) s'applique à toute nouvelle autorisation émise à compter du 1er avril 2004 à l'égard des fréquences spécifiées dans une zone de service :

  1. qui n'ont jamais été assignées à un titulaire de licence par le Ministère avant le 1er avril 2004; ou
  2. qui ont été retournées au Ministère pour réaffectation après le 1er avril 2004.

Droit proportionnel

3. Le droit proportionnel du droit d'autorisation pour l'exercice en cours applicable aux fréquences spécifiées pour la zone de service autorisée est dû à la date de délivrance de l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

4. Le mois de délivrance de l'autorisation annuelle initiale de radiocommunication par le Ministre détermine le droit proportionnel applicable.

5. Le droit proportionnel correspond à 1/12 du droit d'autorisation annuel applicable par mois, jusqu'au 31 mars de l'exercice en cours.

Droit de renouvellement

6. Le droit de renouvellement est le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel applicable.

Rajustements des droits pour la mise en œuvre par étapes au cours des exercices 2004 à 2011

7. Au cours des exercices 2004 à 2011, le droit annuel, proportionnel ou de renouvellement, applicable prévu aux articles 2 à 6 est rajusté conformément à l'article 8 ou 9 et à l'annexe I : 

  1. pour tous les titulaires de licence de systèmes cellulaires en place ou du service de communications personnelles (SCP) autorisés en 1995; ou
  2. après le 1er avril 2004, pour tout nouveau titulaire qui obtient une autorisation pour des fréquences spécifiées dans une zone de service à la suite du transfert des fréquences spécifiées dans une zone de service, en tout ou en partie, d'un titulaire de licence de systèmes cellulaires en place ou d'un titulaire de licence du SCP autorisé en 1995.

Augmentation du droit annuel

8. (1) Lorsque l'ancien droit annuel exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne est inférieur au nouveau droit annuel mentionné à l'article 2, le droit annuel applicable pour l'exercice en cours est augmenté de la manière suivante : 

  1. le facteur de rajustement du droit applicable mentionné dans la colonne II de l'élément 1 de l'annexe I pour l'exercice 2004-2005, multiplié par la différence entre le nouveau droit annuel mentionné à l'article 2 et l'ancien droit annuel; ou
  2. le facteur de rajustement du droit applicable mentionné dans la colonne II pour les éléments 2 à 7 de l'annexe I pour chaque exercice suivant, multiplié par la différence entre le nouveau droit annuel mentionné à l'article 2 et l'ancien droit annuel applicable pour l'exercice précédent.

(2) Lorsque B < C, le taux annuel rajusté, A, pour l'exercice en cours est

A= B + D (C - B)

A représente le droit annuel rajusté exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne pour l'exercice en cours;

B représente l'ancien droit annuel exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne pour l'exercice 2003-2004; pour l'exercice 2004-2005 et pour les exercices subséquents mentionnés dans l'annexe I, B représente le droit annuel applicable de l'exercice précédent exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne;

C représente le nouveau droit annuel de 0,03512361 $ par 1 MHz par personne mentionné à l'article 2;

D représente le facteur de rajustement applicable mentionné dans l'annexe I.

Réduction du droit annuel

9. (1) Lorsque l'ancien droit annuel exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne est supérieur au nouveau droit annuel mentionné à l'article 2, le droit annuel applicable pour l'exercice en cours est réduit de la manière suivante  : 

  1. le facteur de rajustement du droit applicable mentionné dans la colonne II de l'élément 1 de l'annexe I pour l'exercice 2004-2005, multiplié par la différence entre l'ancien droit annuel et le nouveau droit annuel mentionné à l'article 2; ou
  2. le facteur de rajustement du droit applicable mentionné dans la colonne II pour les éléments 2 à 7 de l'annexe I pour chaque exercice suivant, multiplié par la différence entre l'ancien droit annuel applicable pour l'exercice précédent et le nouveau droit annuel mentionné à l'article 2.

(2) Lorsque B > C, le droit annuel rajusté, A, pour l'exercice en cours est

A= B - D (B - C)

A représente le droit annuel rajusté exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne pour l'exercice en cours;

B représente l'ancien droit annuel exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne pour l'exercice 2003-2004; pour l'exercice 2004-2005 et pour les exercices subséquents mentionnés dans l'annexe I, B représente le droit annuel applicable de l'exercice précédent exprimé selon la valeur en dollars de 1 MHz par personne.

C représente le nouveau droit annuel de 0,03512361 $ par 1 MHz par personne mentionné à l'article 2;

D représente le facteur de rajustement applicable mentionné dans l'annexe I.


Annexe I

  Colonne I Colonne II
Élement Exercise Facteur de rajustement du droit annuel
1 2004-2005 0,142857
2 2005-2006 0,166665
3 2006-2007 0,2
4 2007-2008 0,25
5 2008-2009 0,333335
6 2009-2010 0,5
7 2010-2011 1

Notes générales : 

  1. Le droit cumulatif est arrondi au dollar le plus près.
  2. Le droit de renouvellement annuel est dû le 31 mars ou avant cette date pour l'année financière subséquente commençant le 1er avril.
  3. Ces droits pourront être revus au besoin en fonction des circonstances ou des plus récentes données de recensement.
  4. Les politiques de délivrance de licences, les Circulaires des procédures concernant les clients et les cartes des zones de service et leur population sont disponibles sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le ministre de l'Industrie,
Allan Rock

Date de modification :