SP 462/467 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy to Permit Licence-Exempt Devices in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub-bands 462/467 MHz

Issue 2
August 2016

Preface

Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP) 462 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy to Permit Licence‑Exempt Family Radio Devices in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub‑bands 462-467 MHz, merged with SP 462/467 MHz — Spectrum Provisions for Introducing Licence‑Exempt Radios in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub‑bands 462/467 MHz is hereby released as a single spectrum utilization policy.

List of changes:

Issue 2 reflects the following main changes:

  1. Merging (SP) 462 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy to Permit Licence‑Exempt Family Radio Devices in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub‑bands 462-467 MHz with SP 462/467 MHz — Spectrum Provisions for Introducing Licence‑Exempt Radios in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub‑bands 462/467 MHz to create one spectrum utilization policy.
  2. Allowing the operation of General Mobile Radio Service‑M (GMRS‑M) in the 462 MHz frequency band.
  3. Removing the channels in the 467 MHz range which were reserved for possible future use as repeater input channels for GMRS.

Issued under the authority
of the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

space to insert signature

Martin Proulx
Acting Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

space to insert signature

Peter Hill
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch


Contents


1. Introduction

The purpose of this document is to announce the release of updated spectrum policy provisions for the frequency sub‑bands 462/467 MHz. This updated spectrum policy merges SP 462 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy to Permit Licence‑Exempt Family Radio Devices in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub‑bands 462-467 MHz (SP 462 MHz) with Spectrum Utilization Policy SP 462/467 MHz — Spectrum Provisions for Introducing Licence‑Exempt Radios in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub‑bands 462/467 MHz into a single spectrum utilization policy.

Furthermore, these provisions allow for the introduction of General Mobile Radio Service (GMRS‑M) devices in Canada. GMRS-M devices have similar technical specifications to existing GMRS devices but provide for different applications, including dog tracking devices, pet containment units, and intercom systems. These devices are permitted to operate on a licence‑exempt basis on specific frequencies in the 462 MHz frequency range.

2. Background

The Department believes that Canadian consumers should have access to the latest technology, including radiocommunication devices that provide advanced features and services. The Department continues to take steps to ensure these products are available in the Canadian marketplace. The Department has introduced Family Radio Service (FRS) and General Mobile Radio Service (GMRS) in the past to provide easy access to two‑way communications for personal and business use.

After the introduction of Multi‑Use Radio Service (MURS) in the U.S., which operates in the VHF frequency band, these products were examined for use in Canada. However, in Canada, MURS frequencies are currently used by a variety of licensees, including public safety services (i.e. police and fire departments).

In recent years, users and manufacturers of licence‑exempt MURS devices have voiced their interest and need for these devices in Canada. Although functionally similar to FRS and GMRS radios, MURS devices may also provide for specialized two‑way communications such as dog tracking devices, pet containment units, intercom systems, and various other communication systems. In the U.S. these devices, which have been in operation since 2002, operate on five specific frequencies in the VHF band. Recognizing the need for similar operational provisions in Canada and recognizing the current usage of the VHF band by Canadian incumbent services, including public safety services, the Department has identified five frequencies in the 462 MHz frequency range and appropriate technical specifications for the operation of similar types of devices and applications. Furthermore, the Department is establishing the term "GMRS‑M" to distinguish these devices and their applications from the traditional two‑way handheld GMRS radios introduced in Canada in 2004.

3. Spectrum Provisions

3.1 FRS Frequencies and Operations

The use of FRS devices is permitted in the mobile frequencies (using 25 kHz channel spacing) listed in Table 1 provided that the devices have received equipment certification from the Department and comply with appropriate Radio Standards Specifications (RSS).

Table 1 — FRS Frequencies Designated for the use of Family Radio Devices

FRS CHANNEL NUMBERS AND FREQUENCIES (MHz)
462.5625(1)467.5625(8)
462.5875(2)467.5875(9)
462.6125(3)467.6125(10)
462.6375(4)467.6375(11)
462.6625(5)467.6625(12)
462.6875(6)467.6875(13)
462.7125(7)467.7125(14)

3.2 GMRS and GMRS‑M Frequencies and Operations

In the 2004 policy, the Department identified 15 simplex frequencies in the 462 MHz range for GMRS use. In addition, the Department indicated that 8 frequencies in the 467 MHz range were reserved for possible future use as repeater input channels (and were not available for simplex communications).Footnote 1 Since the release of the 2004 policy that allow GMRS operations in Canada, the Department has reviewed the need for these frequencies and decided that these frequencies will no longer be made available for GMRS.

GMRS radios will operate on 15 simplex frequencies, of which 7 frequencies are shared with FRS operations, as shown in Table 2. GMRS‑M devices will operate on the five frequencies designated in Table 2 below. Of these frequencies, one is shared with GMRS and 4 are shared with both GMRS and FRS.

Table 2 — GMRS, GMRS‑M Frequencies

GMRS/GMRS‑M CHANNEL NUMBERS AND FREQUENCIES (MHz)
1462.5500GMRS/GMRS‑M
2462.5625GMRS*
3462.5750GMRS
4462.5875GMRS*
5462.6000GMRS
6462.6125GMRS/GMRS‑M*
7462.6250GMRS
8462.6375GMRS/GMRS‑M*
9462.6500GMRS
10462.6625GMRS/GMRS‑M*
11462.6750GMRS
12462.6875 GMRS/GMRS‑M*
13462.7000GMRS
14462.7125GMRS*
15462.7250GMRS

*Indicates frequencies shared with Family Radio Services (FRS).

Refer to the appropriate Radio Standard Specification (RSS) for details on permissible operation modes and other technical specifications.

4. Land Mobile Licensing Moratorium and Status

In 2000 and 2004, with the release of policy decisions to allow FRS and GMRS into Canada, the Department established moratoriums on licensing of land mobile services in each of the respective bands. Land mobile licensees that choose to remain on the related frequencies may receive interference, and are subject to the provisions of the Spectrum Utilization Policy released when the applicable moratorium was established.

Only licence‑exempt devices which meet the technical specifications outlined in the appropriate RSS will be authorized to use the frequencies shown in Tables 1 and 2, as applicable. No new land mobile systems are permitted on these frequencies.

5. Supplementary Information

Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada (June 2007)

6. Implementation

Parties interested in the implementation of these spectrum policy provisions should contact a spectrum manager in the nearest Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada local office.

Issued under the authority
of the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development,
in accordance with the Radiocommunication Act and Regulations made thereunder.

space to insert signature

Martin Proulx
Acting Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

space to insert signature

Peter Hill
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

  • Email
  • RSS
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

PS 462/467 MHz — Politique sur l'utilisation du spectre afin de permettre l'exploitation de dispositifs exempts de licence dans les sous-bandes de fréquences de 462/467 MHz du service mobile terrestre

2e édition
Août 2016

Préface

La politique sur l'utilisation du spectre (PS) 462 — Politique d'utilisation du spectre autorisant les dispositifs radio domestiques exemptés de licence dans les sous bandes de fréquences 462‑467 MHz du service mobile terrestre, fusionnée avec la PS 462/467 MHz — Disposition de la politique d'utilisation du spectre visant l'exploitation de produits du service radio mobile général exempts de licence à 462/467 MHz est publiée en tant qu'unique politique d'utilisation du spectre.

Liste des modifications

La 2e édition fait état des principaux changements suivants :

  1. La fusion de la PS 462 MHz — Politique d'utilisation du spectre autorisant les dispositifs radio domestiques exemptés de licence dans les sous bandes de fréquences 462‑467 MHz du service mobile terrestre et de la PS 462/467 MHz — Disposition de la politique d'utilisation du spectre visant l'exploitation de produits du service radio mobile général exempts de licence à 462/467 MHz en unique politique d'utilisation du spectre.
  2. Permettre l'exploitation de dispositifs du service radio mobile général – M (SRMG‑M) dans la bande de fréquences de 462 MHz.
  3. Retirer les canaux de la gamme de 467 MHz qui étaient réservés pour emploi éventuel en tant que canaux d'entrée de répéteurs pour les SRMG.

Publication autorisée par le ministre
d'Innovation, Sciences et Développment économique

Directeur général intérimaire
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
Martin Proulx
Directeur général
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre

Champ de saisie de la signature
Peter Hill

Table des matières


1. Introduction

Le présent document vise à annoncer la publication des dispositions de la politique sur le spectre mise à jour quant aux sous bandes de fréquences de 462/467 MHz. Elle a pour objet la fusion de la PS 462 MHz — Politique d'utilisation du spectre autorisant les dispositifs radio domestiques exemptés de licence dans les sous bandes de fréquences 462/467 MHz du service mobile terrestre et la politique d'utilisation du spectre avec la PS 462/467 MHz — Disposition de la politque d'utilisation du spectre visant l'exploitation de produits du service radio mobile général exemptés de licence à 462/467 MHz en unique politique d'utilisation du spectre.

De plus, ces dispositions permettent l'entrée des dispositifs du service radio mobile général (SRMG‑M) au Canada. Ceux‑ci possèdent des caractéristiques techniques similaires à celles des dispositifs de SRMG existants, mais permettant d'utiliser différentes applications, notamment des dispositifs de repérage de chiens, des systèmes anti‑fugue d'animaux de compagnie et des systèmes d'interphone. L'exploitation de ces appareils sur une base exempts de licence est autorisée pour des fréquences particulières dans la bande de fréquences de 462 MHz.

2. Contexte

Le Ministère estime que les consommateurs canadiens devraient avoir accès à la plus récente technologie, y compris aux appareils de radiocommunications qui offrent des fonctionnalités et des services avancés. On continue de prendre des mesures en vue de s'assurer que ces produits sont disponibles sur le marché canadien. Auparavant, le Ministère a mis en place le service radio familial (SRF) et le service radio mobile général (SRMG) en vue d'offrir un accès facile aux transmissions bilatérales aux fins d'utilisation personnelle et professionnelle.

Après la mise en place du service radio multi utilisations (MURS) aux États‑Unis, qui fonctionne dans la bande de fréquences VHF, on a étudié ces produits en vue de les employer au Canada. Cependant, au Canada, les fréquences MURS sont actuellement employées par divers détenteurs de licence, notamment les services de sécurité publique, tels les services de police et les services d'incendie.

Au cours des dernières années, les utilisateurs et fabricants de dispositifs MURS, qui sont exempts de licence, ont fait part de leur intérêt et de leur besoin pour ce type d'appareils au Canada. Bien qu'ils fonctionnent de façon similaire aux radios du SRF et du SRMG, les dispositifs MURS peuvent également offrir des transmissions bidirectionnelles, comme les dispositifs de repérage de chiens, les systèmes anti fugue d'animaux de compagnie, les systèmes d'interphones et divers autres types de dispositifs de communication. Aux É.‑U., ces appareils fonctionnent sur cinq fréquences particulières dans la bande VHF et sont exploités depuis 2002. En reconnaissant le besoin d'établir des dispositions d'exploitation semblables au Canada ainsi que l'utilisation actuelle de la bande VHF par les services titulaires canadiens, notamment par les services de sécurité publique, le Ministère a relevé cinq fréquences dans la gamme de 462 MHz et les spécifications techniques appropriées pour l'exploitation de dispositifs et d'applications de ce type. En outre, il introduit le terme "SRMG‑M" afin de distinguer ces appareils et leurs applications des habituels appareils radio bidirectionnels portatifs du SRGM, arrivés au Canada en 2004.

3. Dispositions applicables au spectre

3.1 Fréquences du SRF et exploitation

L'utilisation des dispositifs du SRF est permise dans les fréquences mobiles (en utilisant des canaux espacés de 25 kHz) indiquées au tableau 1, pourvu que les dispositifs en question aient été homologués par le Ministère et respectent les Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR).

Tableau 1 — Fréquences du SRF destinées à l'utilisation des dispositifs du SRF

NUMÉROS DE CANAUX ET FRÉQUENCES (EN MHz) DU SRF
462,5625(1)467,5625(8)
462,5875(2)467,5875(9)
462,6125(3)467,6125(10)
462,6375(4)467,6375(11)
462,6625(5)467,6625(12)
462,6875(6)467,6875(13)
462,7125(7)467,7125(14)

3.2 Fréquences du SRMG et du SRMG‑M et exploitation

Dans la politique de 2004, le Ministère a relevé quinze fréquences simplex dans la gamme de 462 MHz pour l'emploi du SRMG. De plus, il a indiqué que huit fréquences dans la gamme de 467 MHz étaient réservées pour une éventuelle utilisation, en tant que canaux d'entrée de répéteurs (elles ne sont donc pas disponibles pour les transmissions simplex)note 1. Depuis la publication de cette politique qui permet l'exploitation de dispositifs du SRMG au Canada, le Ministère a analysé le besoin de ces fréquences et a déterminé qu'elles ne seront plus disponibles pour ce service.

Les radios du SRMG fonctionneront sur quinze fréquences simplex, dont sept seront également exploitées par les dispositifs du SRF, comme indiqué au tableau 2. Les dispositifs du SRMG‑M fonctionneront sur les cinq fréquences désignées au tableau 2 ci dessous. L'une d'entre elles est également utilisée par le SRMG, tandis que quatre autres sont aussi employées pour les appareils du SRMG et du SRF.

Tableau 2 — Fréquences pour les appareils du SRMG et du SRMG‑M

NUMÉROS DE CANAUX ET FRÉQUENCES (EN MHz) POUR LES APPAREILS DU SRMG ET DU SRMG‑M
1462,5500SRMG/SRMG‑M
2462,5625SRMG*
3462,5750SRMG
4462,5875SRMG*
5462,6000SRMG
6462,6125SRMG/SRMG‑M*
7462,6250SRMG
8462,6375SRMG/SRMG‑M*
9462,6500SRMG
10462,6625SRMG/SRMG‑M*
11462,6750SRMG
12462,6875 SRMG/SRMG‑M*
13462,7000SRMG
14462,7125SRMG*
15462,7250SRMG

*Indique les fréquences utilisées également par les dispositifs du service radio familial (SRF).

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les modes d'exploitation permis et autres spécifications techniques, consultez le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) approprié.

4. Moratoire sur la délivrance des licences du service terrestre mobile et état connexe

En 2000 et en 2004, conjointement avec la publication des décisions stratégiques afin de permettre l'exploitation des appareils du SRF et du SRMG au Canada, le Ministère a établi des moratoires sur la délivrance de licences du service mobile terrestre dans chacune des bandes respectives. Les titulaires des licences mobiles terrestres qui choisissent de continuer d'exploiter les fréquences connexes peuvent subir de l'interférence dans le cadre de leurs transmissions, et sont sujets aux dispositions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre publiée lors de l'établissement du moratoire concerné.

Seuls les dispositifs exempts de licence qui respectent les spécifications techniques décrites dans le CNR concerné seront autorisés à fonctionner sur les fréquences indiquées aux tableaux 1 et 2, s'il y a lieu. Aucun nouveau système terrestre mobile n'est autorisé sur ces fréquences.

5. Information supplémentaire

Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre (juin 2007)

6. Mise en œuvre

Les parties intéressées par la mise en œuvre de ces dispositions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre devraient communiquer avec un gestionnaire du spectre à leur bureau local d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada le plus proche.

Publication autorisée par le ministre
d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique
en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et de leurs réglements d'exécution.

Directeur général intérimaire
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
Martin Proulx
Directeur général
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre

Champ de saisie de la signature
Peter Hill
Date de modification :