Archived — Gazette Notice No DGTP-004-04

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-004-04 - Revisions to Allocations in the Band 2500-2690 MHz and Consultation on Spectrum Utilization

The purpose of this notice is to announce the policy paper entitled Revisions to Allocations in the Band 2500-2690 MHz and Consultation on Spectrum Utilization, and which adds new services to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations in the band 2500-2690 MHz in accordance with the Minister of Industry's announcement of November 16, 2001. The paper also proposes footnotes to establish the relationship between the various allocations, outlines current spectrum planning activities and requests comments on licensing unassigned spectrum in certain geographic areas.

The November 16, 2001 announcement indicated that mobile and fixed services would be allocated throughout the band 2500-2690 MHz and that incumbent licensees would be able to implement their networks according to existing business plans and conditions of licence. The announcement also indicated that Industry Canada would initiate a consultation process to seek views on licensing considerations arising from the changes in the frequency allocations.

Submitting Comments

Interested parties are invited to submit comments to certain issues raised in the policy paper. These comments are to be submitted by August 9, 2004. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following email address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General Telecommunications Policy, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (DGTP-004-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

April 30, 2004

Larry Shaw

Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette no DGTP4

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-004-04 - Révisions aux attributions de la bande 2500-2690 MHz et consultation sur l'utilisation des fréquences

Le présent avis a pour but d'annoncer la publication du document de politique intitulé Révisions aux attributions de la bande 2500-2690 MHz et consultation sur l'utilisation des fréquences visant l'ajout, dans le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, de nouveaux services dans la bande 2500-2690 MHz, conformément à l'annonce faite par le ministre de l'Industrie le 16 novembre 2001. Dans le document de politique, le Ministère propose également des renvois en vue de l'établissement de rapports entre les diverses attributions, donne un aperçu des activités de planification d'utilisation des fréquences en cours et sollicite les observations du public sur la délivrance de licences à l'égard des fréquences non assignées dans certaines régions géographiques.

L'annonce faite le 16 novembre 2001 indiquait que des fréquences seraient attribuées dans toute la bande 2500-2690 MHz aux services fixe et mobile, et que les titulaires de licence en place pourraient mettre en oeuvre leurs réseaux conformément à leurs plans d'affaires actuels et aux conditions de leurs licences. Dans l'annonce, on indiquait aussi qu'Industrie Canada entreprendrait une consultation pour solliciter des observations sur les questions d'autorisation découlant des changements apportés aux attributions de fréquences.

Présentation des observations

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs observations sur certains enjeux soulevés dans le document de politique, d'ici le 9 août 2004. Peu après la fin de la période de présentation d'observations, toutes les observations reçues seront versées au site Web de la gestion du spectre et des télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les parties intéressés sont invitées à faire part de leurs observations dans un format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel utilisé, le numéro de la version et le système d'exploitation utilisé.

Les observations doivent être envoyées, par écrit, au Directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Toutes les observations doivent citer la date de publication de l'avis dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, son titre et son numéro de référence (DGTP-004-04).

Obtention d'exemplaires

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles par voie électronique, au site Web de la Gestion du spectre et des télécommunications, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

La version imprimée officielle du présent avis est disponible sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 30 avril 2004

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications,

Larry Shaw

Date de modification :