Archived — Gazette Notice No. DGTP-008-04

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-008-04 - Revisions to Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 3-30 GHz Frequency Range and Further Consultation

This Notice announces the publication of a document on revisions to the spectrum utilization policies for services in certain bands in the frequency range 3-30 GHz, including revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations adopted on a provisional basis. The document also initiates further consultation on proposals for policy revisions for services in certain bands in the frequency range 3-95 GHz.

In 2002, the department launched a broad consultation with proposals to introduce new services and system applications in a number of bands as well as to reconcile the spectrum use of fixed and fixed-satellite services in shared bands. This was in response to a number of changes in technology and the Canadian telecommunications infrastructure, as well as new opportunities in this spectrum range. Among the interests is the provision of new broadband services using multimedia satellite and new terrestrial wireless access including license-exempt applications.

The spectrum utilization policies established in this document are based on the extensive public comment received in response to the consultation of 2002 as well as broad discussion with industry. The decisions focus on increasing flexibility of service offerings for both fixed and fixed-satellite services, recognizing the importance of harmonizing spectrum use in a North American market, particularly for satellite services and commercial consumer devices.

Invitation to Comment

Provisional Changes

In the policy document, Industry Canada has adopted a few allocation changes on a provisional basis. In the absence of compelling arguments to the contrary, these changes will be adopted in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations. The Department invites interested parties to provide their views and comments by November 2, 2004 regarding these provisional changes.

Further Consultation

Industry Canada raises a number of issues in the frequency range 3-95 GHz for public comment. The Department invites interested parties to provide their views and comments by January 14, 2005 for the items of further consultation.

Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following email address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director of Spectrum and Radio Services, Industry Canada, Room 1611A, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (DGTP-008-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained at the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

October 1, 2004

____________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette no DGTP-008-04

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-008-04 - Révisions apportées aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans la gamme de fréquences 3-30 GHz et consultation supplémentaire

Par le présent avis, le Ministère annonce la publication d'un document portant sur des révisions apportées aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre en ce qui concerne les services offerts dans certaines bandes de la gamme de fréquences 3-30 GHz, y compris des révisions au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences adoptées à titre provisoire. Dans le document, le Ministère annonce aussi une consultation supplémentaire sur des propositions en vue de révisions aux politiques régissant la prestation de services dans certaines bandes de la gamme de fréquences 3-95 GHz.

En 2002, le Ministère avait entrepris une vaste consultation au sujet de propositions en vue d'introduire de nouveaux services et de nouvelles applications de systèmes dans un certain nombre de bandes, ainsi qu'en vue de concilier l'utilisation des fréquences par les services fixe et fixe par satellite dans des bandes partagées. Cette consultation avait été menée en réponse à un certain nombre de changements technologiques, compte tenu de l'infrastructure des télécommunications au Canada et de nouvelles possibilités dans cette gamme de fréquences. Parmi les intérêts, notons la prestation de nouveaux services à large bande faisant appel à des satellites multimédias et de nouveaux services d'accès sans fil terrestres, y compris des applications exemptes de licence.

Les politiques d'utilisation du spectre établies dans le document décrit aux présentes font suite à des observations exhaustives reçues du public en réponse à cette consultation, ainsi qu'à de vastes discussions avec l'industrie. Les décisions visent principalement l'accroissement de la souplesse en matière de prestation des services fixe et fixe par satellite, compte tenu de l'importance d'harmoniser l'utilisation des fréquences dans le contexte d'un marché nord-américain, en particulier dans le cas des services par satellite et des dispositifs commerciaux grand public.

Invitation à présenter des observations

Modifications provisoires

Dans le document de politique, Industrie Canada a adopté quelques modifications d'attribution à titre provisoire. En l'absence d'arguments probants contraires, ces modifications seront intégrées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences. Le Ministère invite les parties intéressées à lui faire part de leur point de vue et de leurs observations sur les modifications provisoires d'ici le 2 novembre 2004.

Industrie Canada soulève un certain nombre d'enjeux dans la gamme de fréquences 3-95 GHz, pour lesquels il invite le public à lui faire part de ses observations. Le Ministère invite les parties intéressées à lui faire part de leur point de vue et de leurs observations sur les enjeux qui font l'objet d'une consultation supplémentaire d'ici le 14 janvier 2005.

Peu après la date limite, les observations reçues seront affichées le site Web Gestion du spectre et des télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à soumettre leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse de courriel wireless@ic.gc.ca, accompagnées d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation.

Les documents présentés par écrit doivent être adressés au directeur des Politiques du spectre et de la radiocommunication, Industrie Canada, Pièce 1611A, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Ils doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-008-04).

Obtention d'exemplaires

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles en version électronique sur le site Web de la gestion du spectre et des télécommunications, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

La version imprimée officielle des avis de la Gazette est disponible sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en appelant le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada, au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 1 octobre 2004

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

___________________________
Larry Shaw

Date de modification :