Archived — Gazette Notice No DGTP-002-04

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-002-04 - Mobile Service Allocation Decision and Designation of Spectrum for Public Safety in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz (SP-746 MHz)

Intent

The purpose of this Notice is to announce the release of a spectrum policy document under the above-mentioned title. This document announces Industry Canada's decision to allocate the mobile service in the frequency band 746-806 MHz on a co-primary basis with the broadcasting service, and designate some spectrum for public safety. This notice also seeks comment on the technical and licensing considerations for an efficient implementation of this spectrum for public safety.

On June 8, 2001, the Department released a consultation paper entitled, Proposal to Introduce the Mobile Service on a Co-primary Basis with the Broadcasting Service in the Frequency Band 746-806 MHz (DGTP-004-01). Significant public input was received on this consultation from the broadcasting, mobile wireless and public safety communities. Since that time, the Department has carried out studies of the Digital Television Transition Allotment Plan, has negotiated changes within the allotment plan with the United States to accommodate public safety and has commissioned technical sharing studies between the Broadcasting and public safety applications. Also, the Department has introduced a moratorium on television channels 63 and 68 to prepare the spectrum to be used for public safety applications.

Submitting Comments

Interested parties should submit their comments on the issues raised in SP-746, no later than January 14, 2005. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following email address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director of Spectrum and Radio Services, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and notice reference number (DGTP-002-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

September 23, 2004

_____________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

________________________
Robert W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette no DGTP-002-04

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-002-04 - Décision sur une attribution au service mobile et désignation de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz (PS-746 MHz)

But

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication de la politique d'utilisation du spectre sous le titre mentionné ci-dessus. Le document traite de l'annonce de la décision d'Industrie Canada sur une attribution au service mobile dans la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, et désigne des fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique. Le présent avis sollicite également des observations sur des considérations techniques et de délivrance de licence pour une mise en oeuvre efficace des fréquences pour la sécurité publique.

Le 8 juin 2001, le Ministère a publié le document de consultation intitulé Projet d'introduction du service mobile, à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, dans la bande de fréquences 746-806 MHz (DGTP-004-01). Des personnes provenant des milieux de la radiodiffusion, des services mobiles sans fil et de la sécurité publique ont apporté d'importants commentaires lors de la consultation. Depuis, le Ministère a mené des études dans le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique, a négocié des modifications dans le plan d'allotissement avec les États-Unis pour introduire les services de la sécurité publique et a lancé une étude technique sur le partage entre la radiodiffusion et les applications de la sécurité publique. Le Ministère a, de plus, instauré un moratoire sur les canaux de télévision 63 et 68 afin de préparer les fréquences pour les applications de la sécurité publique.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs observations sur les points soulevés dans la PS-746 au plus tard le 14 janvier 2005. Peu après la fin de la période de réception des commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le Ministère demande aux intéressés de présenter leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca; ils doivent prendre soin d'indiquer le logiciel utilisé, le numéro de la version et le système d'exploitation.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au directeur des Services du spectre et de la radiodiffusion, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-002-04).

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

La version imprimée officielle des avis de la Gazette est disponible sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 23 septembre 2004

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

___________________________
Larry Shaw

Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre

___________________
Robert W. McCaughern