Archived — Notice No. DGTP-007-04

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-007-04 - Proposed Clarification to the Government Satellite-use Policy for the Delivery of Broadcasting Services

Intent

1. The intent of this Gazette Notice is to seek comments on a proposal to amend the policy concerning the use of Canadian satellite transmission facilities for the delivery of satellite broadcasting services to the public as authorized by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) under the Broadcasting Act. This Notice addresses an exceptional situation where specialized satellite facilities are needed to deliver particular satellite broadcasting services and in the instance where no Canadian satellite facilities are, or expected to be, available to deliver such services.

Background

2. In October 2003, the Departments of Industry and Canadian Heritage received a request from the CRTC to clarify the government satellite-use policy for the transmission of Canadian programming services in Canada, in particular digital radio by satellite. The CRTC had received an application to establish subscription satellite radio service using one of two U.S. satellite networks operating in the S-band (2320-2345 MHz). More specifically, the CRTC is seeking a clarification of the 1995 satellite-use policy, which was enunciated during the proceedings for the distribution of Direct-to-Home (DTH) satellite services. 1

sa

3. In 1995, the CRTC and others identified a need for the Government to clarify its satellite policy concerning the use of Canadian satellite facilities for the transmission of Canadian programming service to the public, and in particular for Direct-to-Home (DTH) satellite distribution services. A policy statement was particularly important at the time as one of the DTH applicants was to make use of a Canadian satellite facility for the distribution of all its programs while another applicant was proposing to use only a U.S. satellite facility. A main consideration at the time, while having regard to certain telecommunications and broadcasting policy objectives, was not to confer any significant advantage to one satellite broadcaster over the other, in terms of satellite capacity, availability and transmission costs.

4. Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage issued the 1995 satellite-use policy referred to above clarifying the use of Canadian satellite facilities as it applies to broadcasting undertakings. Two main provisions were established as follows:

  • the undertaking should make use of Canadian satellite facilities to carry (i.e. receive and/or distribute to Canadians) all Canadian programming services but may use either Canadian or non-Canadian satellite facilities to carry foreign originated services that are intended primarily for foreign audiences and are authorized, in whole or in part, for distribution by the CRTC; and
  • under no circumstances should an undertaking use exclusively foreign satellites for the distribution of its services to Canadians. However, in the case of emergencies leading to lack of availability of Canadian or foreign satellite facilities, back-up agreements between the two countries [Canada-United States] would be utilized.

5. The satellite-use policy statement reflected the 1995 environment where the Canadian fixed-satellite market was not open to competition and a number of DTH applicants were competing for access to the limited Canadian fixed-satellite facilities, in addition to potential use of foreign satellites.The policy also reflected the objective in the Broadcasting Act that "each broadcasting undertaking shall make maximum use, and in no case less than predominant use, of Canadian creative and other resources in the creation and presentation of programming unless the nature of the service provided by the undertaking, such as specialized content or format or the use of languages other than French and English, renders that use impracticable, in which case the undertaking shall make the greatest practicable use of those resources". At that time, a satellite relay distribution undertaking was also required to rely on Canadian satellite facilities to network distant Canadian programming signals to cable head-ends.

6. The government satellite-use policy, outlined in the provisions above, did not contemplate a situation where Canadian specialized satellite facilities would not be available to deliver a particular broadcasting service, such as subscription digital radio by satellite.

7. On December 23, 2003, the CRTC announced in Broadcasting Public Notice CRTC 2003-68 that it had received an application for a broadcasting licence to carry on a satellite audio distribution undertaking for direct reception by subscribers and consequently, called for applications from any parties wishing to seek authority to provide subscription broadcasting distribution service, or some other form of multi-channel subscription radio programming undertaking.

8. By the February 16, 2004 deadline, the CRTC received two satellite radio broadcasting applications to use the U.S. satellite transmission facilities to carry, in part, some Canadian programming services. These two satellite radio networks operate in the S-band (2320-2345 MHz) which has been allocated by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) to a number of countries, including the United States. Canada has not sought a country broadcasting satellite allocation to develop its own satellite radio facilities in the S-band. The CRTC also received a stand-alone terrestrial subscription radio broadcasting application.

9. On July 8, 2004, the CRTC issued a notice indicating that a public hearing will commence on November 1, 2004 to examine the three subscription radio applications.

Discussion

10. The government's general objective has been to promote the availability of a range of satellite facilities to provide advanced and efficient telecommunications and broadcasting services to Canadians. Canada has opened its telecommunications market for both fixed-satellite and mobile-satellite services and has committed to continue this policy under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on basic telecommunications. In 1998, Industry Canada released a policy framework to open the Canadian fixed-satellite telecommunications market to competition. The policy framework indicated that this included the transport of broadcasting services such as, the transport of program feeds for news gathering, the delivery of network programs to affiliates, and the delivery of programming services to distribution undertakings. However, the policy also indicated that "the telecommunications services covered by the [WTO] agreement exclude 'telecommunications services supplied for the transmission of services regulated under the Broadcasting Act where such services are intended for direct reception by the public.' More specifically, Direct-to-Home (DTH) broadcasting services whether they use fixed satellites or direct broadcast satellites (DBS) are excluded from this agreement." 2 The policy then essentially re-stated the 1995 satellite-use policy mentioned above.

11. In considering the CRTC request for a clarification of the government satellite-use policy the situation can be summarized as follows:

  1. Canada has no satellite facility capable of distributing digital satellite radio broadcasting and is unlikely to have such a facility in the future;
  2. Canada has not secured with the ITU the required spectrum resources at the S-band to develop its own specialized satellites; and
  3. Spectrum could be made available domestically to accommodate the provision of digital satellite radio broadcasting in Canada using US satellite facilities.

12. Also, spectrum could be made available to accommodate the provision of subscription terrestrial radio broadcasting in the L-band (e.g. part of the 1452-1492 MHz digital radio band and some adjacent spectrum).

Proposed Amendment to Satellite-use Policy

13. In view of the situation outlined above, the Departments of Industry and Canadian Heritage are of the preliminary view that potential digital satellite radio broadcasting services raise an exceptional circumstance. Without prejudice to the current licensing process announced in the CRTC's Notice CRTC 2003-68, both departments acknowledge the need to clarify the satellite-use policy with regards to broadcasting undertakings and wish to propose that the policy provisions read as follows:

  1. the undertaking should make use of Canadian satellite facilities to carry (i.e. receive and/or distribute to Canadians) all Canadian programming services but may use either Canadian or non-Canadian satellite facilities to carry foreign originated services that are intended primarily for foreign audiences and are authorized, in whole or in part, for distribution by the CRTC;
  2. in exceptional circumstances, where no Canadian satellite facilities are available, or likely to be available in a reasonable time frame, to accommodate specialized satellite delivery of a broadcasting service to the public e.g. satellite radio services including vehicular reception, the use of foreign satellite facilities is permitted to distribute Canadian programming services; and

    Note: Specialized satellite delivery in the context of this provision is meant to differentiate unique satellite transmission/reception, such as for vehicular reception, not achievable by conventional Canadian satellite facilities used for DTH, e.g. direct broadcast satellite and fixed satellite in the 12 GHz range.

  3. in the case of emergencies leading to lack of availability of Canadian satellite facilities for broadcasting undertakings, back-up arrangements with foreign satellite operators could be utilized, on an interim basis, with appropriate authorization.

    (This proposed provision (iii) reflects the current satellite communications environment where satellite operators routinely enter into back-up arrangements to ensure continuation of services during emergencies, such as a satellite failure.)

14. Recognizing the need to provide the CRTC with guidance in the use of satellite facilities for new broadcasting services to Canadians, it is proposed to amend the satellite-use policy as prescribed above and written submissions are invited in that respect. Respondents are asked to provide their views on the proposed amendment, the reason for their position and how the public interest would be served.

15. Interested parties should submit their comments no later than November 29, 2004. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received and any other relevant information will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following email address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (DGTP-007-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act

October 21, 2004

____________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy

____________________________
René Bouchard
Director General
Broadcasting Policy and Innovation


Reference Documents


Footnotes

1 Letter to the CRTC dated June 14, 1995, from Harry Swain, Deputy Minister, Industry Canada, and Marc Rochon, Deputy Minister, Canadian Heritage.

2 See Annex C to the Policy Framework for the Provision of Fixed Satellite Services (RP-008), found on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site.

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-007-04

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-007-04 - Éclaircissement proposé à la politique gouvernementale d'utilisation de satellites pour la prestation de services de radiodiffusion

But

1. Le présent avis de la Gazette vise à solliciter des observations sur les modifications proposées à la politique concernant l'utilisation d'installations canadiennes de transmission par satellite pour la prestation de services de radiodiffusion par satellite au public qui ont été autorisés par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion. Le présent avis traite d'une situation exceptionnelle, où la prestation de services de radiodiffusion par satellite particuliers nécessite le recours à des installations satellitaires spécialisées et qu'aucune installation satellitaire canadienne n'est disponible, ou ne serait disponible, pour la prestation de ces services.

Contexte

2. En octobre 2003, le CRTC a présenté une demande au ministère de l'Industrie et au ministère du Patrimoine canadien afin qu'ils éclaircissent la politique gouvernementale d'utilisation de satellites pour la transmission de services de programmation canadiens au Canada, particulièrement des services de radiodiffusion audionumérique par satellite. Le CRTC a reçu une demande relative à la mise en place d'un service de radiodiffusion sonore par satellite par abonnement qui utiliserait un des deux réseaux satellitaires américains fonctionnant dans la bande S (2 320-2 345 MHz). Plus particulièrement, le CRTC demande d'éclaircir la politique d'utilisation de satellites établie en 1995, qui a été citée lors des instances sur la distribution des services de radiodiffusion directe (SRD) par satellite 1.

3. En 1995, le CRTC et d'autres intervenants ont déterminé que le gouvernement devait éclaircir sa politique sur l'utilisation d'installations satellitaires canadiennes pour la transmission de services de programmation canadiens au public, en particulier pour la distribution de services de radiodiffusion directe (SRD) par satellite. À l'époque, un énoncé de politique était particulièrement important, car un requérant de SRD proposait l'utilisation d'une installation satellitaire canadienne pour la distribution de toute sa programmation, tandis qu'un autre proposait l'utilisation d'une installation satellitaire américaine seulement. À ce moment-là, il était important de ne pas conférer un avantage significatif à un radiodiffuseur par satellite en particulier (en termes de capacité, de disponibilité et de coût de transmission) tout en tenant compte de certains objectifs visés par les politiques de télécommunications et de radiodiffusion.

4. Industrie Canada et Patrimoine canadien ont publié en 1995 une politique d'utilisation de satellites, mentionnée ci-dessus, pour éclaircir l'utilisation des satellites canadiens à l'intention des entreprises de radiodiffusion. Ses deux principales dispositions se lisent comme suit :

  • l'entreprise devrait utiliser des installations satellitaires canadiennes pour le transport (c.-à-d. la réception et/ou la distribution aux auditoires canadiens) de la totalité des services de programmation canadiens, mais peut utiliser des installations satellitaires canadiennes ou non pour le transport des services en provenance de l'étranger qui sont principalement destinés à des auditoires étrangers et dont le CRTC a autorisé, en tout ou en partie, la distribution;
  • une entreprise ne peut en aucun cas utiliser exclusivement des satellites étrangers pour la distribution de ses services aux Canadiens et Canadiennes. Toutefois, dans des situations d'urgence menant à une absence de disponibilité d'installations satellitaires canadiennes ou étrangères, des ententes entre les deux pays [Canada et États-Unis] visant l'utilisation de satellites de remplacement pourraient être utilisées.

5. L'énoncé de politique sur l'utilisation de satellites reflétait le contexte qui régnait en 1995 alors que le marché canadien du service fixe par satellite n'était pas ouvert à la concurrence et qu'un certain nombre de requérants du SRD se disputaient l'accès au nombre limité d'installations canadiennes du service fixe par satellite, en plus de l'utilisation éventuelle de satellites étrangers. La politique reflétait l'objectif suivant, énoncé dans la Loi sur la radiodiffusion : « toutes les entreprises de radiodiffusion sont tenues de faire appel au maximum, et dans tous les cas au moins de manière prédominante, aux ressources -- créatrices et autres -- canadiennes pour la création et la présentation de leur programmation à moins qu'une telle pratique ne s'avère difficilement réalisable en raison de la nature du service -- notamment, son contenu ou format spécialisé ou l'utilisation qui y est faite de langues autres que le français ou l'anglais -- qu'elles fournissent, auquel cas elles devront faire appel aux ressources en question dans toute la mesure du possible ». À ce moment-là, une entreprise de distribution par relais satellite devait également avoir recours à des installations satellitaires canadiennes pour transmettre aux têtes de ligne les signaux de programmation canadienne provenant de réseaux distants.

6. La politique gouvernementale d'utilisation de satellites, énoncée dans les dispositions susmentionnées, n'a pas envisagé la situation où des installations spécialisées canadiennes ne seraient pas disponibles pour offrir un service de radiodiffusion particulier, comme le service de radiodiffusion audionumérique par satellite par abonnement.

7. Le 23 décembre 2003, le CRTC a annoncé dans l'avis public de radiodiffusion CRTC  2003-68 qu'il avait reçu une demande de licence visant l'exploitation d'une entreprise de distribution de services sonores pouvant être reçus directement par satellite, et par conséquent, a invité toutes les parties intéressées à obtenir une autorisation en vue d'exploiter un service de distribution de radiodiffusion par abonnement, ou toute autre forme d'entreprise de programmation de radiodiffusion sonore à canaux multiples par abonnement, à présenter une demande.

8. À la date limite du 16 février 2004, le CRTC avait reçu deux demandes concernant la radiodiffusion sonore par satellite à l'aide d'installations satellitaires américaines pour transporter, en partie, certains services de programmation canadiens. Ces deux réseaux radio par satellite utilisent la bande S (2 320-2 345 MHz), que l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) a attribuée à un certain nombre de pays, dont les États-Unis. Le Canada n'a pas demandé qu'on lui attribue des fréquences pour le développement de ses propres installations de radiodiffusion sonore par satellite dans la bande S.  Le CRTC a aussi reçu une demande visant l'exploitation d'installations autonomes de radiodiffusion sonore de Terre par abonnement.

9. Le 8 juillet 2004, le CRTC a publié un avis qu'il tiendra une audience publique à partir du 1er novembre 2004 afin d'étudier les trois demandes de licence de radio par abonnement.

Discussion

10. L'objectif global du gouvernement vise à favoriser la disponibilité d'une gamme d'installations satellitaires afin de fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes des services de télécommunications et de radiodiffusion efficaces et de pointe. Le Canada a ouvert son marché des télécommunications aux services mobiles et fixes par satellite et s'est engagé à maintenir cette politique conformément à l'Accord sur les télécommunications de base conclu avec l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). En 1998, Industrie Canada a publié un cadre stratégique en vue d'ouvrir le marché des services fixes de télécommunications par satellite à la concurrence. Le cadre stratégique indiquait que cela comprenait le transport de services de radiodiffusion, comme le transport des signaux d'émissions de journalisme électronique, le transport de la programmation réseau aux affiliées et la prestation de services de programmation aux entreprises de distribution. Cependant, la politique mentionnait également que « les services de télécommunications couverts par l'entente [avec l'OMC] excluentles "services de télécommunications fournis pour la transmission de services réglementés par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, lorsque ces services doivent être reçus directement par le grand public". Plus spécifiquement, les services de radiodiffusion directe à domicile (SRD), qu'ils utilisent des satellites de services fixes ou des satellites de radiodiffusion directe, sont exclus de cette entente. » 2 La politique reprend généralement la politique d'utilisation de satellites (1995) citée plus haut.

11. En ce qui a trait à la demande du CRTC concernant l'éclaircissement de la politique gouvernementale d'utilisation de satellites, la situation se résume comme suit :

  1. Le Canada ne possède pas d'installations satellitaires capables de distribuer de la radiodiffusion audionumérique par satellite et il est improbable qu'il en acquière dans le futur;
  2. Le Canada n'a pas obtenu de l'UIT la gamme de fréquences nécessaire dans la bande S pour développer ses propres satellites spécialisés;
  3. Des fréquences pourraient être offertes sur le plan national pour permettre la radiodiffusion audionumérique au moyen d'installations satellitaires américaines.

12. Également, des fréquences pourraient être offertes afin de permettre la radiodiffusion sonore de Terre par abonnement dans la bande L (p. ex. une partie de la bande radio numérique 1 452 - 1 492 MHz et des bandes de fréquences adjacentes).

Modifications proposées à la politique d'utilisation de satellites

13. En raison de la situation décrite ci-dessus, le ministère de l'Industrie et le ministère du Patrimoine canadien sont d'avis préliminaire que les services potentiels de radiodiffusion audionumérique par satellite constituent une circonstance exceptionnelle. Indépendamment du processus de délivrance de licence en vigueur annoncé par le CRTC dans l'Avis CRTC 2003-68, les deux ministères ont reconnu le besoin d'éclaircir la politique d'utilisation de satellites par les entreprises de radiodiffusion et proposent les dispositions suivantes :

  1. l'entreprise devrait utiliser des installations satellitaires canadiennes pour le transport (c.-à-d. la réception et/ou la distribution aux auditoires canadiens) de la totalité des services de programmation canadiens, mais peut utiliser des installations de satellites canadiennes ou non pour le transport des services en provenance de l'étranger qui sont principalement destinés à des auditoiresétrangers et dont le CRTC a autorisé, en tout ou en partie, la distribution;
  2. dans des circonstances exceptionnelles où aucune installation satellitaire canadienne n'est disponible, ou ne pourrait être disponible dans un délai raisonnable, l'utilisation d'installations satellitaires étrangères est autorisée pour la distribution de services de programmation canadiens en vue de permettre la prestation de services spécialisés de radiodiffusion par satellite au public, p. ex. des services de radiodiffusion sonore par satellite où la réception est effectuée à bord de véhicules;

    Note : Dans le contexte de la présente disposition, l'expression « services spécialisés de radiodiffusion par satellite » est utilisée pour désigner les services qui font appel à des moyens d'émission/de réception par satellite uniques, comme la réception à bord de véhicules, qui ne peuvent pas être fournis par des installations satellitaires canadiennes classiques utilisées pour les SRD, p. ex. satellites de radiodiffusion directe et satellite des services fixes fonctionnant dans la gamme de 12 GHz.
  3. Dans des situations d'urgence menant à une absence de disponibilité des installations satellitaires canadiennes pour les entreprises de radiodiffusion, on pourrait recourir, sur une base temporaire, à des ententes de relève conclues avec des exploitants étrangers, avec l'autorisation appropriée.

(La disposition proposée (iii) reflète le contexte actuel des communications par satellite, dans lequel les exploitants de satellite concluent régulièrement des ententes de relève pour assurer la continuité des services en cas d'urgence, comme durant une panne de satellite).

14. En réponse au besoin de fournir au CRTC des lignes directrices sur l'utilisation des installations satellitaires pour la prestation de nouveaux services de radiodiffusion au public canadien, il est proposé d'apporter à la politique d'utilisation de satellites les modifications susmentionnées; on invite donc les parties intéressées à soumettre des observations par écrit à cet égard. On demande aux répondants de présenter leur point de vue sur les modifications proposées, la raison de leur position et la manière dont les intérêts du public seront servis.

15. Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires au plus tard le 29 novembre 2004. Après la clôture de la période de présentation des commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus et toute information pertinente seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-007-04).

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut aussi obtenir des copies officielles des avis de la Gazette sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Publication en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Le 21 octobre 2004

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

___________________________
Larry Shaw

Le directeur général,
Politique de radiodiffusion et de l'innovation

______________________________
René Bouchard


Documents de référence


Renvois

1 Lettre en date du 14 juin 1995 adressée au CRTC , par le sous-ministre d'Industrie Canada, M. Harry Swain et par le sous-ministre du Patrimoine canadien, M. Marc Rochon.

1 Voir l'annexe C du Cadre de politique pour la prestation des services fixes par satellite (PR-008), qui se trouve sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada.

Date de modification :