International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Notice:

Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Contents


Role and Work of the Union

The International Telecommunication Union is unique among international organizations in that it was founded on the principle of cooperation between governments and the private sector. With a membership encompassing telecommunication policy-makers and regulators, network operators, equipment manufacturers, hardware and software developers, regional standards-making organizations and financing institutions, ITU's activities, policies and strategic direction are determined and shaped by the industry it serves.

Structure and Activities

The three Sectors of the Union – Radiocommunication (ITU-R), Telecommunication Standardization (ITU-T), and Telecommunication Development (ITU-D) – work today to build and shape tomorrow's networks and services. Their activities cover all aspects of telecommunication, from

  • setting standards that facilitate seamless interworking of equipment and systems on a global basis
  • adopting operational procedures for the vast and growing array of wireless services
  • and,
  • designing programmes to improve telecommunication infrastructure in the developing world

Each of the three ITU Sectors works through conferences and meetings, where members negotiate the agreements which serve as the basis for the operation of global telecommunication services.

Plenipotentiary Conference

The supreme authority of the Union is the Plenipotentiary Conference, a meeting composed of delegations from the Union's Member States, held every four years to adopt the underlying policies of the organization and determine its structure and activities.

Council

The role of the Council is to consider, in the interval between plenipotentiary conferences, broad telecommunication policy issues to ensure that the Union's activities, policies and strategies fully respond to today's dynamic, rapidly changing telecommunication environment. It also prepares the ITU strategic plan.


ITU Council Working Groups

Organization of Council Working Groups

The Council Working Groups were created at the Plenipotentiary in 2002.

These groups will report separately on each of their activities.

  • will review the functions of the three ITU Sectors;
  • consider the obligations of Sector Members;
  • study the current structure, working methods and procedures of the Sectors;
  • will examine the functioning of the Coordination Committee including the tasks of the Deputy Secretary-General and the role of the other elected officials;
  • will examine the method by which the amount of the contributory unit and of the financial contributions of Sector Members and Associates should be determined;
  • the appropriate proportion between the financial contributions of Sector Members and Associates and those of Member States;
  • the financial consequences of denunciation; and
  • will review all the relevant provisions of the basic texts of the Union concerning observers.

Council Group on Financial Regulations

The Council Working Group on Financial Regulations was established in 2003 to review and recommend appropriate modifications to the Financial Regulations of the Union. The mandate was extended in 2004 to include the review of the Management of the Union, the recommendation of the consultancy project and the report of the New Council Oversight Group with a view to harmonize their respective activities.
[ Council Group on Financial Regulations ]

New Council Oversight Group (NCOG)

The Group was established following the June 2004 Council session, with a mandate, composition and working methods of the Council Oversight Group to oversee the implementation of the recommendations of the Group of Specialists.
[ New Council Oversight Group ]

Council Group on World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS)

The Council Working Group on WSIS is open to all Member States and Sector Members.

Canada reviews the preparatory activities of the ITU in preparation to the Summit; develops an information document on the functions of ITU in relation to the Summit; considers ITU's contribution relating to developments in the field of information and telecommunications in the context of international security.
[ Council Group on World Summit on the Information Society ]

Council Group on International Telecommunication Regulations (ITRs)

The Council Working Group on ITRs was established in 2002 to review the ITRs and to report to Council 2005 for transmission to the 2006 Plenipotentiary Conference. Members are to study ITRs and prepare recommendations on which provisions, if any, should be terminated, retained in the ITRs, transferred to the Constitution or Convention, or embodied in ITU Recommendations.
[ Council Group on International Telecommunication Regulations ]

Council Ad Hoc Group On Cost Recovery for Satellite Network Filings (SATBAG)

This ad hoc group, established in 2002, continues to consider the alternative basis for charging that does not depend on numbers of pages. It will also determine the factors to be considered for evaluation, as well as practical implications of applying cost attribution to activities associated with processing satellite network filings towards application of full cost recovery.
[ Ad Hoc Group of Council on Cost Recovery for Satellite Network Filings ]


Radiocommunication Sector (ITU-R)

World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC)

World radiocommunication conferences are international treaty-making conferences held under the auspices of ITU's Radiocommunication Sector. WRC revise and update the Radio Regulations, which govern the use of the spectrum by a growing number of services worldwide.
[ World Radiocommunication Conference ]

Radiocommunication Assembly (RA)

Radiocommunication assemblies (RA) are responsible for approving the programme of work for the ITU-R study groups, for setting up the structures required to carry out this work, for making work assignments (including conference preparatory work and radiocommunication studies), and for determining the priority, urgency and time-frame for completion of studies.
[ Radiocommunication Assembly ]

Conference Preparatory Meeting (CPM)

The Conference Preparatory Meeting (CPM) prepares a consolidated report concerning regulatory, technical, operational and procedural matters to be used in support of the work of World and Regional Radiocommunication Conferences.

ITU-R Study Groups

The radiocommunication study groups study questions, such as use of the radio-frequency spectrum in terrestrial and space radiocommunication and of the geostationary-satellite and other satellites orbits; characteristics and performance of radio systems; operation of radio stations; and radiocommunications aspects of distress and safety matters.
[ ITU-R Study Groups ]

Radiocommunication Advisory Group (RAG)

The Radiocommunication Advisory Group (RAG) reviews the priorities and strategies adopted by the ITU-R Sector; monitors progress of the work of the Study Groups; provides guidance for the work of the Study Groups; and recommends measures for fostering cooperation and coordination with other organizations and with other ITU Sectors.


Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T)

World Telecommunication Standardization Assembly (WTSA)

World telecommunication standardization assembly approve the work programme of ITU-T and determine the priorities, urgency and time-frame for completion of work relating to the preparation of standards. Assemblies also approve, modify or reject draft ITU-T Recommendations (de facto standards) and consider the reports of the study groups and the Telecommunication Standardization Advisory Group. In addition, they decide on the structure of study groups and on the allocation of Questions to be studied by each study group. To facilitate the participation of developing countries in the work of ITU-T study groups, the Assembly aims to identify and group together Questions of interest to developing countries. A world telecommunication standardization assembly is held every four years.
[ World Telecommunication Standardization Assembly ]

ITU-T Study Groups

The 13 study groups of ITU-T cover a huge range of topics relating to the smooth and efficient functioning of a growing range of telecommunication equipment and services. Topics covered include numbering systems, multimedia services and systems, network and service operation, tariff and accounting principles, telecommunication network management systems, signalling, transmission and transport systems, data networks, and new value-added services such as universal international freephone numbers.
[ ITU-T Study Groups ]

Telecommunication Standardization Advisory Group (TSAG)

The Telecommunication Standardization Advisory Group (TSAG) assists the Director of TSB by regularly reviewing the priorities, programmes and strategies of the Sector, providing guidelines for the work of the study groups, and working to foster inter-organization cooperation with other relevant standardization bodies, including industry forums and consortia. Comprising representatives from the ITU Member States and ITU-T Sector Members who participate on an equal footing, TSAG meets as often as necessary, but at least once a year.
[ Telecommunication Standardization Advisory Group ]


Telecommunication Development Sector (ITU-D)

World Telecommunications Development Conference (WTDC)

World Telecommunication Development Conferences (WTDC) are convened every four years with the purpose of reviewing the progress made in telecommunication in developing countries and to establish ICT development priorities, strategies and Action Plans for the future. Priority is accorded to the expansion and modernization of networks, the mobilization of resources and regulatory reform needed to boost telecommunication penetration and access in the world's poorer countries.
[ World Telecommunications Development Conference ]

ITU-D Study Groups

ITU-D manages two study groups: one in the area of strategy and policy and the other in development and management. These groups serve as a forum for developing and developed countries and public and private sector organizations to meet, with the purpose of devising innovative solutions which address specific problem areas as identified by the World Telecommunication Development Conference

Telecommunication Development Advisory Group (TDAG)

The Telecommunication Development Advisory Group (TDAG) advises the Director of BDT on the formulation of strategies for the Development Sector and on the preparation and implementation of BDT's budget and operational plan. TDAG reviews priorities, programmes, operations, financial matters and strategies relating to the activities of the Sector. TDAG also reviews progress in the implementation of the Sector's work programme, provides guidelines for the work of study groups and proposes measures aimed at fostering cooperation and coordination with development and financial institutions.
[ Telecommunication Development Advisory Group ]


ITU Telecom

ITU Telecom has been responsible for showcasing many of the technological advances that we now take for granted – ISDN, satellite broadcasting systems, digital and optical switching systems, ATM, cellular telephony, and most recently IP telephony, the Internet, and third-generation mobile. Many of these new technologies have proved an enormous boom to developing countries, which can use them to tackle chronic problems that have long hindered network growth.

ITU Telecom brings together the most influential representatives of government and the telecommunications industry for the exchange of ideas, knowledge and technology for the benefit of the global community, and in particular the developing world. [ ITU Telecom ]

Date modified:

Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT)

Note :

Une partie des informations de ce site Web été fournie par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Table des matières


Rôle et activités de l'Union

L'Union internationale des télécommunications se distingue des autres organisations internationales en ce sens qu'elle repose sur le principe de la coopération entre pouvoirs publics et secteur privé. Ses membres sont aussi bien des décideurs et des représentants des organismes de réglementation du secteur que des opérateurs de réseaux, des équipementiers, des concepteurs de matériels et de logiciels, des organisations régionales de normalisation ou encore des institutions de financement; les activités, stratégies et orientations de l'UIT sont donc déterminées et conçues par l'industrie qu'elle a pour mission de servir.

Structure et activités

Les trois secteurs de l'Union – Secteur des radiocommunications (UIT-R), Secteur de la normalisation des télécommunications (UIT-T) et Secteur du développement des télécommunications (UIT-D) – collaborent aujourd'hui à la mise en place des réseaux et des services de demain. Leurs activités s'étendent à toutes les branches des télécommunications:

  • normalisation visant à faciliter l'interfonctionnement transparent des équipements et des systèmes à l'échelle mondiale
  • adoption de procédures d'exploitation pour une gamme de services hertziens qui ne cesse de s'élargir
  • élaboration de programmes destinés à améliorer les infrastructures de télécommunication dans les pays en développement

Les travaux de chacun des trois secteurs de l'UIT trouvent leur aboutissement dans des conférences ou réunions au cours desquelles les membres négocient les accords qui servent de base à l'exploitation des services de télécommunication dans le monde.

Conférence de plénipotentiaires

L'autorité suprême de l'Union est la Conférence de plénipotentiaires, composée de délégations des États membres de l'Union et qui se réunit tous les quatre ans pour définir les grandes orientations stratégiques de l'organisation et déterminer sa structure et ses activités.
[ Conférence de plénipotentiaires ]

Conseil

Dans l'intervalle qui sépare les conférences de plénipotentiaires, le Conseil a pour rôle d'examiner les grandes questions de politique des télécommunications afin que les orientations politiques, les activités et la stratégie de l'Union soient parfaitement adaptées à l'environnement dynamique et en perpétuelle mutation qui est aujourd'hui celui des télécommunications. Il établit également le Plan stratégique de l'UIT.
[ Conseil ]


Groupes de travail du Conseil de l'UIT

Les Groupes de travail du Conseil de l'UIT incluent :

Organisation des Groupes de travail du Conseil

Ces Groupes de travail du Conseil ont été établis à la Conférence de plénipotentiaires en 2002.

Chaque groupe fera un rapport séparé sur chaque domaine de travail.

  • examine les fonctions des trois Secteurs;
  • examine les obligations des membres des secteurs; étudie la structure, les méthodes de travail et les procédures actuelles des Secteurs;
  • examine le fonctionnement du Comité de coordination, y compris les tâches du vice-secrétaire général et le rôle des autres fonctionnaires élus;
  • examine la méthode utilisée pour déterminer le montant de l'unité contributive et des contributions financières des memberes des secteurs et des associés;
  • la proportion qu'il convient d'établir entre les contributions financières des membres des secteurs et des associés et celles des États membres;
  • les conséquences financières des dénonciations; et
  • examine toutes les dispositions pertinentes des textes fondamentaux de l'Union concernant les observateurs.

Groupe du Conseil sur le Règlement financier

Le Groupe de travail sur le Règlement financier a été établi en 2003 pour réviser et recommander les modifications nécessaires au Règlement financier de l'Union. Le mandat a été prolongé en 2004 pour inclure l'examen de la gestion de l'Union, la recommandation du projet de consultation et le rapport du nouveau groupe de Contrôle du conseil dans le but d'harmoniser leurs activités respectives.
[ Groupe du Conseil sur le Règlement financier ]

Nouveau groupe de contrôle du Conseil (NCOG)

Le Groupe a été établi à la suite de la session du Conseil en Juin 2004, avec un mandat, une composition et des méthodes de travail du Groupe de contrôle chargé de superviser la mise en œuvre des recommandations du Groupe de spécialistes.
[ Nouveau groupe de contrôle du Conseil ]

Groupe de travail du Conseil sur le Sommet mondial sur la société de l'information (SMSI)

Le Groupe de travail du Conseil sur le SMSI est ouvert aux États membres et aux membres de secteurs. Le Canada examine la préparation des activités de l'UIT pour la préparation du Sommet; développe un document d'information sur le fonctionnement de l'UIT en relation au Sommet; considère les contributions de l'UIT en rapport au développement de l'information et des télécommunications dans le contexte de la sécurité internationale.
[ Groupe de travail du Conseil sur le Sommet mondial sur la société de l'information ]

Groupe de travail du Conseil sur le règlement des télécommunications (RTI)

Le Groupe de travail du Conseil sur le RTI a été établi en 2002 pour réviser le RTI et faire un rapport au Conseil 2005 pour être transmis à la Conférence des plénipotentiaires 2006. Les membres doivent étudier le RTI et élaborer des recommandations sur les dispositions de celui-ci qu'il conviendrait, le cas échéant, de supprimer, de maintenir ou de transférer dans la Constitution ou la Convention ou qui devraient faire l'objet de recommandations de l'UIT.
[ Groupe de travail du Conseil sur le règlement des télécommunications ]

Groupe Ad Hoc sur le recouvrement des coûts appliqué au traitement des fiches de notification des réseaux à satellites

Établi en 2002, le Groupe ad hoc sur le recouvrement des coûts appliqué au traitement des fiches de notification des réseaux à satellite continuera d'examiner la nouvelle base de détermination des droits ne dépendants pas du nombre de pages. Le Groupe déterminera les facteurs à prendre en considération pour l'évaluation, ainsi que les conséquences pratiques d'une imputation des coûts aux activités liées au traitement des fiches de notification des réseaux à satellite, en vue de la mise en application du recouvrement intégral des coûts.
[ Groupe Ad Hoc sur le recouvrement des coûts appliqué au traitement des fiches de notification des réseaux à satellites ]


Secteur des radiocommunications (UIT-R)

Conférences mondiales des radiocommunications (CMR)

Les conférences mondiales des radiocommunications sont des conférences internationales habilitées à conclure des traités organisées par le Secteur des radiocommunications de l'UIT. Les participants à ces conférences révisent et mettent à jour le Règlement des radiocommunications qui régit l'utilisation qui est faite du spectre par un nombre croissant de services dans le monde.
[ Conférences mondiales des radiocommunications ]

Assemblées des radiocommunications (AR)

Les assemblées des radiocommunications (AR) sont chargées d'approuver le programme de travail des commissions d'études de l'UIT-R, de mettre en place les structures nécessaires à l'exercice de cette tâche, d'attribuer les travaux (y compris les travaux préparatoires des conférences et les études sur les radiocommunications), de déterminer les degrés de priorité et d'urgence des études et d'en fixer les délais de réalisation.
[ Assemblées des radiocommunications ]

Réunion de préparation à la conférence (RPC)

La réunion de préparation à la conférence (RPC) élabore un rapport de synthèse concernant les questions réglementaires, techniques, opérationnelles et de procédures visant à faciliter le travail de ces conférences de radiocommunications mondiales et régionales.

Commissions d'études de l'UIT-R

Les commisions d'études des radiocommunications étudient les questions telles que l'utilisation du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques dans les radiocommunications de Terre et les radiocommunications spatiales et celle des satellites géostationnaires et d'autres orbites; les caractéristiques et la qualité de fonctionnement des systèmes radioélectriques; le fonctionnement des stations de radiocommunication; et les aspects radiocommunications des questions relatives à la détresse et à la sécurité.
[ Commissions d'études de l'UIT-R ]

Groupe consultatif des radiocommunications (GRC)

Le Groupe consultatif des radiocommunications (GRC) examine les priorités et les stratégies adoptées par le Secteur UIT-R; examine les progrès accomplis par les commissions d'études dans leurs travaux; fournit des lignes directrices relatives aux travaux des commissions d'études; et recommande des mesures visant à encourager la coopération et la coordination avec d'autres organisations et avec les autres secteurs de l'UIT.


Secteur de la normalisation des télécommunications (UIT-T)

Assemblée mondiale de normalisation des télécommunications (AMNT)

L'Assemblée mondiale de normalisation des télécommunications approuve le programme de travail de l'UIT-T, détermine les priorités et l'urgence des travaux de normalisation et fixe les échéances correspondantes. L'Assemblée approuve, modifie ou refuse les projets de recommandation de l'UIT-T (normes de facto) et examine les rapports des commissions d'études et du Groupe consultatif de la normalisation des télécommunications. Elle décide en outre de la structure des commissions d'études et de l'attribution des questions devant être étudiées par chacune d'elles. Afin de faciliter la participation des pays en développement aux travaux des commissions d'études de l'UIT-T, l'Assemblée s'efforce d'identifier et de regrouper les questions qui intéressent ces pays. L'Assemblée mondiale de normalisation des télécommunications se tient tous les quatre ans.
[ Assemblée mondiale de normalisation des télécommunications ]

Commissions d'études de l'UIT-T

Les travaux des 13 commissions d'études de l'UIT-T portent sur des sujets très divers en relation avec le fonctionnement harmonieux et efficace d'un nombre croissant d'équipements et de services de télécommunication. Citons, parmi les sujets étudiés, les suivants: systèmes de numérotage, services et systèmes multimédias, exploitation des réseaux et des services, principes de tarification et de comptabilité, systèmes de gestion des réseaux de télécommunication, signalisation, systèmes de transmission et de transport, réseaux de données et nouveaux services à valeur ajoutée tels que les numéros universels de libre appel international.
[ Commissions d'études de l'UIT-T ]

Groupe consultatif de la normalisation des télécommunications (GCNT)

Le Groupe consultatif de la normalisation des télécommunications (GCNT) assiste le Directeur du TSB en étudiant à intervalles réguliers les priorités, les programmes et les stratégies du secteur, en fournissant des lignes directrices pour les travaux des commissions d'études et en encourageant la coopération interorganisations avec d'autres organismes de normalisation compétents, y compris les forums et consortiums professionnels. Composé de représentants des États membres de l'UIT et des Membres du Secteur de l'UIT-T qui participent à ses travaux au même titre que les premiers, le GCNT se réunit selon les besoins, mais au moins une fois par an.
[ Groupe consultatif de la normalisation des télécommunications GCNT ]


Secteur du développement des télécommunications (UIT-D)

Conférence mondiale de développement des télécommunications (CMDT)

Les Conférences mondiales de développement des télécommunications (CMDT), convoquées tous les quatre ans, ont pour but d'examiner les progrès réalisés en matière de télécommunications dans les pays en développement et d'établir les priorités de développement des TIC, les stratégies et les plans d'action futurs. Elles donnent la priorité à l'expansion et à la modernisation des réseaux, à la mobilisation des ressources et aux réformes réglementaires requises pour dynamiser les télécommunications et faciliter l'accès aux télécommunications dans les pays les plus pauvres. [ Conférence mondiale de développement des télécommunications ]

Commissions d'études de l'UIT-D

L'UIT-D compte deux commissions: l'une s'occupe des stratégies et politiques et l'autre du développement et de la gestion. Des représentants des pays développés et des pays en développement ainsi que des secteurs public et privé se réunissent dans ces commissions afin de trouver des solutions novatrices aux problèmes identifiés par la Conférence mondiale de développement des télécommunications.

Groupe consultatif pour le développement des télécommunications (GCDT)

Le Groupe consultatif pour le développement des télécommunications (GCDT) avise le Directeur du BDT sur la formulation des stratégies applicables au Secteur du développement ainsi que sur la préparation et la mise en œuvre du budget et du plan opérationnel du BDT. Le GCDT étudie aussi les priorités, les programmes, les opérations, les questions financières et les stratégies applicables aux activités du Secteur. Il examine également les progrès accomplis dans l'exécution du programme de travail du Secteur, fournit des lignes directrices relatives aux travaux des commissions d'études et recommande des mesures visant à encourager la coopération et la coordination avec des institutions de développement et de financement.
[ Groupe consultatif pour le développement des télécommunications ]


ITU Telecom

C'est à ITU Telecom qu'ont été présentées bon nombre des nouvelles technologies qui nous semblent aujourd'hui aller de soi: le RNIS, les systèmes de radiodiffusion par satellite, les systèmes de commutation numérique et optique, l'ATM, la téléphonie cellulaire et dernièrement, la téléphonie IP, l'Internet et les systèmes mobiles de troisième génération. Beaucoup d'entre elles sont une véritable aubaine pour les pays en développement qui peuvent en tirer profit pour remédier aux problèmes chroniques qui, depuis longtemps, freinent la croissance des réseaux.

ITU Telecom rassemble dans le domaine des télécommunications les représentants les plus influents des secteurs public et privé pour favoriser l'échange d'idées et de connaissances générales et techniques, dans l'intérêt de la communauté mondiale, en particulier des pays en développement.
[ ITU Telecom ]

Date de modification :