Archived — Gazette Notice SMBR-002-05

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMBR-002-05Digital Television (DTV) Transition Allotment Plan, Issue 3

The Department announces publication of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan, Issue 33.

In October 2004, the Department issued Gazette Notice DGTP-002-04 to announce a new spectrum utilization policy for the 700 MHz band. This spectrum utilization policy allocated the frequency sub-bands 764-770 MHz, 770-776 MHz, 794-800 MHz and 800-806 MHz 1 to mobile services for public safety communications. This re-allocation of broadcasting spectrum to mobile services required some adjustments to the current DTV transition allotment plan. This new Issue 3 of the DTV transition plan provides new channel allotments for an NTSC 2 station operating on channel 68 as well as for 12 planned DTV stations allotted on television channels 63 and 68. The list of allotments in Issue 3 reflects these amendments.

The Department proceeded with these adjustments to the allotments after coordination with the United States of America. Accordingly, the Letter of Understanding Between the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and Industry Canada Related to the Use of the 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz , 174-216 MHz and 470-806 MHz Bands for the Digital Television Broadcasting Service Along the Common Border was amended to reflect the necessary changes.

The latest changes to television allotments and assignments are in the departmental broadcast television database. Parties interested in the latest additions or changes should contact the Directorate, Broadcasting Applications Engineering at 613-990-4948.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to herein, are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of Canada Gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at
819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

May 21, 2005

________________________
R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch


Footnotes

1 TV channel pairs 63/68 and 64/69 respectively.

2 NTSC stands for National Television System Committee, which developed the NTSC television broadcast system standard in 1953.

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette SMBR-002-05

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMBR-002-05 — Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN), 3e édition

Le Ministère annonce la publication du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN), 3e édition.

En octobre 2004, le Ministère a publié l'avis de la Gazette no DGTP-002-04 pour annoncer une nouvelle politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant la bande de 700 MHz, dans laquelle il a attribué les sous-bandes de fréquences 764-770 MHz, 770-776 MHz, 794-800 MHz et 800-806 MHz 1 aux services mobiles pour les communications de sécurité publique. Cette ré-attribution aux services mobiles de fréquences réservées à la radiodiffusion a entraîné des rajustements Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN). La 3e édition du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN) prévoit l'allotissement de nouveaux canaux à une station NTSC 2 exploitée au canal 68 et à 12 stations TVN prévues aux canaux 63 et 68. La liste des allotissements de la 3e édition du Plan d'allotissement reflète ces modifications.

Le Ministère a apporté ces rajustements aux allotissements après les avoir coordonnés avec les États-Unis. Par conséquent, la Lettre d'entente entre la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d'mérique et Industrie Canada relativement à l'utilisation des bandes 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz pour le service de télévision numérique le long de la frontière commune a été révisée pour refléter les modifications nécessaires.

Les plus récents changements aux allotissements et assignations en télévision numérique sont reflétés dans la base de données de radiodiffusion télévisuelle du Ministère. Les personnes qui sont intéressées à ces plus récents changements ou additions aux allotissements ou assignations peuvent contacter la direction générale du Génie des applications de la radiodiffusion, au 613-990-4948.

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis et les documents auxquels il réfère sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version imprimée officielle des avis de la Gazette à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html, ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada, au
819-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 21 mai 2005



Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre

_______________
R.W. McCaughern


Renvois

1 Paires de canaux de télévision 63/68 et 64/69 respectivement.

2 L'abréviation « NTSC » désigne le National Television System Committee (aux États-Unis). Ce comité a élaboré la norme du système de télévision NTSC en 1953.

Date de modification :