Virtual Licence FAQs

January 9, 2002

1. What is the Virtual Radio Licence concept?

The Virtual Radio Licence will replace the Department's existing, paper-based, radio licence renewal process with one that is electronic-based and client friendly. Rather than consulting a paper document that may or may not be current, licensees will have anytime-anywhere access, via the Internet, to their licence information, with the option to print hard copies of their licences if they wish to do so.

2. Why is the Department implementing a Virtual Radio Licence? Why not continue to issue paper licences each year?

Under the current paper-based process, the Department issues approximately 300,000 renewed licences annually. For licensees with only a few licence documents, this may not be a burden but for licensees such as utility companies, police departments and telephone companies, this results in the filing of literally thousands of documents each year.

Moreover, given that most of these licences are identical to those that they replace, except that the expiry date has advanced by one year, there seems little benefit to the client or the Department in continuing with that practice.

3. When will this changeover take place?

Our target date for implementation is April 1, 2002.

4. How do you respond to those who would contend that there appears to be a reduction in service from the Department and should, therefore, see a reduction in fees?

Whether or not a paper licence is issued, the value of that spectrum, or the fee for its use, would not be affected. Radio licence fees are, in part, a recovery of cost associated with the management of the radio spectrum. The balance, i.e., the fee component over and above cost, is a payment designed to recover, for the people of Canada, some of the value of the benefits associated with the licence.

5. What will happen to the owners of aircraft and ships that are engaged in foreign voyages? Foreign administrations will want to see hard copy licences, not an entry in a database.

The Department prints and distributes 6000-6500 licences annually for such ships and aircraft. It will continue to do so to satisfy the requirements of foreign administrations.

6. What about those licensees that may not yet be "Web-enabled"? How will they get replacement copies of their licences?

For most licensees with "mature" radio systems, the information on their radio licences does not change from one year to the next. Thus, their most recent hard copy licence is likely to contain all the information that they need. Replacing that document, on an annual basis, provides little value but imposes costs that can be important.

Statistics show that Internet access is increasing in Canada. While only 26% of Canadians were accessing the "Net" from their homes in 1998 that number has risen to 46% in 2000. Over the same period, the number of Canadians accessing the Internet from their work has risen from 14% to 22%. Predictions indicate that nearly 8 million Canadian households and 6.5 million businesses will have Internet access by 2002.

Licensees, lacking on-site access to the Internet, are likely to have an alternate means of access, either from their own residence, that of a friend or neighbor or through the local library.

7. Will the Department continue to issue new licences? How are licensees to know what terms and conditions apply to their licences if they never receive any?

The Department will continue to issue new licences as well as amended radio licences for those stations that undergo a technical amendment (e.g. a change of frequency, station location or area of operation, etc.). Note that licensees will be notified when amendments are made either to their licences or to associated licence appendices. Should licences become lost or damaged, licensees will be able to access an up-to-date version at anytime from Industry Canada's Spectrum Direct website.

8. Are licensees still required to retain hard copies of their radio licences?

No. With increased access to the Internet and the availability of the Virtual Radio Licence, anyone requiring access to the information that normally appears on the face of the radio licence will be able to obtain that information on-line.

9. As a Canadian taxpayer, how is this transition to a Virtual Radio Licence going to benefit me?

During the 1999/2000 licence renewal season, the current, paper-based, radio licence renewal system cost the taxpayer $273,000 in printing and mailing costs alone.

10. Is the Minister not required by law to issue hard copy licences?

No. Neither the Radiocommunication Act nor the Radiocommunication Regulations specify the form in which a radio licence must be issued.

Section 33 of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act permits any Minister of the Crown to "… use electronic means to create, collect, receive, store, transfer, distribute, publish or otherwise deal with documents or information whenever a federal law does not specify the manner of doing so." Section 35(4) of that Act notes that any federal law that allows for the issuance of a paper document now includes the authority to issue the document electronically.

Foire aux questions sur la licence virtuelle

Le 9 janvrier 2002

1. Qu'entend-on par licence radio virtuelle?

La licence radio virtuelle est un système informatique convivial qui remplacera le processus de renouvellement de licences radio sur papier du Ministère. Au lieu de consulter un document papier qui pourrait être désuet, les titulaires de licences pourront avoir accès par l'entremise d'Internet, partout et en tout temps, aux renseignements concernant leur licence, qu'ils pourront imprimer au besoin.

2. Pourquoi est-ce que le Ministère à décidé de mettre en place une licence radio virtuelle? Pourquoi ne pas continuer à délivrer chaque année des licences papier?

Le processus actuel sur papier oblige le Ministère à envoyer environ 300 000 licences renouvelées par année. Les titulaires de licences qui ne reçoivent que quelques documents n'y voient peut-être pas d'inconvénient, mais pour les titulaires comme les entreprises de services, les services de police et les compagnies de téléphone, cela se traduit littéralement par des milliers de documents à classer par année.

En outre, comme la plupart de ces licences sont identiques à celles qu'elles remplacent, exception faite de la date d'expiration, il semble y avoir peu d'avantages pour le client ou le Ministère de continuer ainsi.

3. Quand ce changement aura-t-il lieu?

Nous avons fixé la date de mise en oeuvre au 1er avril 2002.

4. Comment comptez-vous répondre à ceux qui prétendent recevoir moins de services du Ministère et qui, par conséquent, voudraient se voir attribuer une diminution des droits?

Qu'on délivre ou non une licence papier ne changera en rien la valeur de ce spectre ou les droits associés à son utilisation. Les droits de licence radio servent, en partie, à récupérer les coûts associés à la gestion du spectre des radiofréquences. Le reste, un fois qu'on l'a retranché des droits, est un paiement servant à récupérer, pour les Canadiens, une partie de la valeur des avantages associés à la licence.

5. Qu'adviendra-t-il des propriétaires d'aéronefs ou de navires qui sont en voyage à l'étranger? Les administrations étrangères exigeront une copie papier des licences et non un identificateur d'enregistrement dans une base de données.

La DAA imprime et distribue annuellement 6000 à 6500 licences pour ce genre d'aéronefs ou de navires. Ce qu'elle continuera de faire pour répondre aux exigences des administrations étrangères.

6. Qu'adviendra-t-il des titulaires de licences qui n'ont pas accès à Internet? Comment obtiendront-ils des copies de remplacement de leurs licences?

L'information consignée sur les licences radio de la plupart des titulaires dont les systèmes de radiotélécommunication existent depuis longtemps, ne change pas d'une année à l'autre. Ainsi, leur plus récente copie de licence renferme probablement tous les renseignements dont ils pourraient avoir besoin. Le remplacement annuel de ce document est peu utile, mais engendre des coûts qui peuvent s'avérer importants dans bien des cas.

Des statistiques révèlent une croissance de l'accès Internet au Canada. Le nombre de Canadiens qui avaient accès à Internet à partir de chez eux est passé de 26 % en 1998 à 46 % en 2000. Au cours de la même période, le nombre de Canadiens qui avaient accès à Internet à partir du travail est passé de 14 % à 22 %. On prévoit que près de 8 millions de foyers et 6,5 millions d'entreprises au Canada auront accès à Internet d'ici 2002.

Compte tenu de ces statistiques, la transition vers « les licences virtuelles » devrait se faire en douceur. Les titulaires de licences qui n'ont pas accès sur place à Internet, ont tout probablement une autre façon d'y avoir accès, soit à partir de la maison ou de celle d'un ami, soit à partir de la bibliothèque municipale.

7. Le Ministère continuera-t-il à délivrer de nouvelles licences? Comment les titulaires vont-ils savoir quelles modalités s'appliquent à leurs licences s'ils n'en reçoivent jamais?

Le Ministère continuera de délivrer de nouvelles licences et des licences radio modifiées aux stations qui subissent un changement technique (p. ex., un changement de fréquence, d'emplacement de la station, etc.). Notez que les titulaires seront notifiés quand il y aura des modifications soit à leurs licences ou aux annexes qui y sont associées. Si les licences sont perdues ou endommagées, les titulaires pourront se procurer en tout temps une version à jour par l’intermédiaire du site Spectre en direct d’Industrie Canada.

8. Les titulaires sont-ils toujours obligés de conserver une copie papier de leurs licences radio?

Non. Étant donné l'accès Internet accru et la disponibilité de la licence radio virtuelle, toute personne ayant besoin de l'information habituellement inscrite sur la licence radio, pourra obtenir cette information en ligne en consultant la base de données du Ministère.

9. Comment cette transition vers la licence radio virtuelle avantagera-t-elle les citoyens canadiens?

Au cours de la période de renouvellement des licences en 2000, le système de renouvellement actuel des licences papier a coûté 273 000 $ aux contribuables, uniquement en frais d'impression et d'envoi.

10. Selon la Loi, le ministre n'est-il pas obligé de délivrer des copies papier des licences?

Non. Ni la Loi sur la radiocommunication, ni le Règlement sur la radiocommunication ne stipulent le support sur lequel une autorisation radio doit être délivrée.

L'article 33 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques autorise tout ministre de la Couronne à « faire usage d'un moyen électronique pour créer, recueillir, recevoir, mettre en mémoire, transférer, diffuser, publier ou traiter de quelque autre façon des documents ou de l'information, si aucun moyen particulier n'est prévu à l'égard de ces actes par un texte législatif. » Selon l'article 35(4) de cette loi, tout pouvoir conféré par un texte législatif de publier ou traiter de quelque autre façon un document comprend dorénavant le pouvoir de publier une version électronique du document.

Date de modification :