Archived—Gazette Notice DGTP-005-05

Note:  Refer to Gazette Notice DGTP-008-05: Extension to the Comment Period for Consultation Paper: Proposed Spectrum Utilization Policy, Technical and Licensing Requirements for Broadband Public Safety in the Band 4 940-4 990 MHz

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-005-05Proposed Spectrum Utilization Policy, Technical and Licensing Requirements for Broadband Public Safety in the Band 4 940-4 990 MHz

The intent of this Notice is to initiate public consultation through the release of the above-mentioned spectrum document to accommodate broadband public safety services in the frequency band 4 940-4 990 MHz.

Discussion

The provision of public safety and national security services relies heavily on advanced communications. The need for new wireless technologies and radio applications has put significant pressure to find priority spectrum for these requirements.

With the modernization of telecommunications and broadcasting infrastructures, the Department has been able to allocate new spectrum to meet critical public safety and security needs. For example the digitization of over-the-air TV broadcasting has opened a modest amount of priority spectrum for public safety in the range 746-806 MHz. The Department has since released Spectrum Utilization Policy 3-30 GHz (October 2004), which in part, designated the band 4 940-4 990 MHz for broadband public safety communications.

In response to this new broadband public safety designation, the Department received responses from several Canadian public safety agencies. These agencies stressed how critical the band 4 940-4 990 MHz is to support advanced broadband technologies which enable high-speed wireless transfers of large files, images and video, as well as intranet access, at specified locations. These agencies further indicated the importance of dedicated spectrum for broadband applications.

The Department has worked over the past years towards improving the critical communication and infrastructure of public safety agencies as well as ensuring access to spectrum resources. This consultation initiative to open broadband spectrum for public safety services represents an example of the Department's commitment to address public safety and security spectrum needs. Further, this consultation proposes to establish the spectrum policy, technical and licensing provisions to allow public safety agencies early implementation of critical broadband systems in the band 4 940-4 990 MHz.

Interested parties are invited to submit comments on the proposal for the implementation of broadband public safety services in the band 4 940-4 990 MHz.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments no later than October 7, 2005, in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT ) to the following email address: wireless@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director, Spectrum and Radio Policy, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 1604A, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and Notice reference number DGTP-005-05.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of the consultation paper are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained at the Canada Gazette Web site at: http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

June 23, 2005



______________________________________
Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGTP-005-05

Note :  Veuillez vous référer à l'Avis de la Gazette No. DGTP-008-5 - Prolongation de la période des commentaires pour le document de consultation : Projet de politique d'utilisation du spectre et exigences techniques relatives à la délivrance des licences pour les services de sécurité publique large bande dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-005-05Projet de politique d'utilisation du spectre et exigences techniques relatives à la délivrance des licences pour les services de sécurité publique large bande dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz

Le présent avis a pour but de lancer une consultation publique suite à la publication du document sur le spectre susmentionné en vue de permettre l'exploitation des services de sécurité publique large bande dans la bande de fréquences 4 940-4 990 MHz.

Discussion

La prestation de services de sécurité publique et de sécurité nationale dépend fortement des communications de pointe. Le Ministère subit d'importantes pressions pour trouver des fréquences prioritaires permettant de répondre aux besoins des nouvelles technologies sans fil et applications radio.

Avec la modernisation des télécommunications et des infrastructures de radiodiffusion, le Ministère a attribué de nouvelles fréquences pour répondre aux besoins critiques en matière de sûreté et de sécurité publiques. Par exemple, la numérisation du système canadien de radiodiffusion en direct a permis de libérer quelques fréquences prioritaires pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande 746-806 MHz. Depuis, le Ministère a publié la Politique d'utilisation du spectre 3-30 GHz (octobre 2004) qui, notamment, désigne la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz pour les communications des services de sécurité publique large bande.

Suite à cette nouvelle désignation pour les services de sécurité publique large bande, le Ministère a reçu des commentaires de plusieurs organismes de sécurité publique canadiens. Ces organismes ont indiqué l'importance de la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz en ce qui concerne les technologies large bande évoluées. Celles-ci permettent le transfert sans fil haute vitesse de gros fichiers, d'images et de la vidéo, ainsi que l'accès intranet à des emplacements spécifiés. Ils ont également mentionné la nécessité de disposer de fréquences réservées aux applications large bande.

Au cours des dernières années, le Ministère s'est penché sur l'amélioration des communications et des infrastructures critiques des organismes de sécurité publique ainsi que sur le maintien de l'accès aux ressources du spectre. Ce projet de consultation, visant à libérer de larges bandes de fréquences pour les services de sécurité publique, est un exemple de l'engagement du Ministère à répondre aux besoins en fréquences des organismes de sûreté et de sécurité publiques. De plus, à l'issu de la présente consultation, le Ministère se propose d'établir la politique d'utilisation du spectre ainsi que les règles techniques et de délivrance de licence pour permettre aux organismes de sécurité publique de mettre en oeuvre rapidement leurs systèmes large bande critiques dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz.

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à présenter leurs commentaires sur la proposition de mise en en oeuvre des services de sécurité publique large bande dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz.

Envoi des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à transmettre leurs commentaires avant le 7 octobre 2005, sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : wireless@ic.gc.ca, avec une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur, Politique du spectre et de la radiocommunication, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 1604A, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis DGTP-005-05.

Pour obtenir des copies

Il est possible d'obtenir électroniquement des copies du document de consultation sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications, à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil.

On peut aussi obtenir des copies officielles des avis de la Gazette sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html, ou en communiquant avec le service des ventes des Publications du gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 23 juin 2005

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications



_____________
Larry Shaw

Date de modification :