RP-SAT — Satellite-Use Policy to accommodate Broadcasting Services to the Canadian Public

September 26, 2005

Ms. Diane Rhéaume
Secretary General
Canadian Radio-television and
Telecommunications Commission
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N2

Dear Ms. Rhéaume:

This is in response to your letter concerning applications considered by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) to establish broadcasting undertakings to provide satellite digital radio services using non-Canadian facilities. Your letter raised the need for the government to clarify its policy regarding the use of Canadian satellites for the transmission of Canadian broadcasting services in Canada, and in particular, digital radio by satellite.

The 1995 satellite policy clarification was issued to the CRTC in the context of direct-to-home (DTH) satellite broadcasting distribution. The clarification was in response to a specific set of circumstances related to the availability of Canadian satellite facilities. The policy statement did not contemplate a situation where Canadian satellite facilities would not be available to accommodate a particular broadcasting service requirement.

In considering the CRTC's request, the government undertook a public consultation on proposed amendments to its policy. This public consultation provided an opportunity for all interested parties to provide their views on the proposed amendments and their potential impacts on the broadcasting system.

The government has considered the public comments received. It has also considered the uniqueness of the satellite facilities required to deliver digital satellite radio broadcasting services and the absence of Canadian satellite facilities. In addition, evidence was presented that the costs of establishing a stand-alone Canadian satellite radio broadcasting facility would be prohibitive and uneconomical given the size of the potential market. Finally, we have confirmed that Canada does not have the spectrum resources, nor could it obtain appropriate spectrum for the operation of a stand-alone Canadian satellite radio broadcasting facility in less than five to eight years.

On June 16, 2005, the CRTC approved all three subscription radio applications that were considered at a public hearing in November 2004. Two of the new services, SIRIUS Canada Inc. and Canadian Satellite Radio Inc. (CSR), will depend on the use of American satellites for their delivery. The other service (CHUM/Astral) will exclusively use terrestrial transmission facilities.

Five petitions were received by the Governor in Council. Three of the petitions challenged the CRTC's two satellite decisions and two were challenging all three CRTC decisions. On September 9, 2005, the government upheld the CRTC decisions. At that time, the government welcomed the requests by CSR and SIRIUS Canada for the CRTC to amend their licences to enhance their offering of Canadian and French-language programming.

It is after our careful review of the policy and taking into account the circumstances surrounding this case, that the government will modify its policy to allow only for the use of foreign specialized satellite facilities for the transmission of Canadian digital broadcasting satellite subscription radio services in Canada. For your information, a copy of the revised policy is enclosed.

Should you have any additional questions on this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Hurtubise
Deputy Minister
Industry Canada

Judith A. LaRocque
Deputy Minister
Canadian Heritage

Enclosure



ANNEX

Satellite-Use Policy to accommodate Broadcasting Services to the Canadian Public

September 26, 2005

The following is a revision of Canadian policy concerning the use of Canadian satellite facilities, as it applies to broadcasting undertakings.

In 1995, the Government of Canada clarified its satellite-use policy to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) in the context of direct-to-home (DTH) satellite broadcasting distribution. This policy was subsequently amended to reflect Canada's obligations made under the WTO Agreement on Basic Telecommunications regarding the transport of broadcasting services Footnote 1. The policy did not contemplate situations where Canadian satellite(s) would not be available to accommodate a particular broadcasting service. In 2004, in response to a request from the CRTC, the government carried out a public consultation that proposed changes to the policy that would permit expanded use of foreign satellites in exceptional cases. The government is, herewith, modifying the satellite-use policy to permit the use of the foreign specialized satellite facilities for the transmission of Canadian broadcasting satellite radio services in Canada.

One of the policy objectives in Section 7 of the Telecommunications Act is: "to promote the use of Canadian transmission facilities for telecommunications within Canada and between Canada and points outside Canada". A long-standing application of this policy is to ensure the use of Canadian satellite facilities for Canadian programming provided by broadcasting undertakings and destined for Canadians.

A policy objective of the Broadcasting Act is that: "each broadcasting undertaking shall make maximum use, and in no case less than predominant use, of Canadian creative and other resources in the creation and presentation of programming, unless the nature of the service provided by the undertaking, such as specialized content or format or the use of languages other than French and English, renders that use impracticable, in which case the undertaking shall make the greatest practicable use of those resources".

In this context, where a Canadian broadcasting undertaking wishes to use foreign satellite facilities, the Canadian policy concerning the use of satellite facilities for direct reception of broadcasting services by the public should be interpreted as follows:

  1. the undertaking should make use of Canadian satellite facilities to carry (i.e. receive and/or distribute to Canadians) all Canadian programming services but may use either Canadian or non-Canadian satellite facilities to carry foreign originated services that are intended primarily for foreign audiences and are authorized, in whole or in part, for distribution by the CRTC;
  2. in exceptional circumstances, where no Canadian satellite facilities are available to accommodate specialized satellite delivery of a digital satellite subscription radio service to the public, including vehicular reception, the use of foreign satellite facilities is permitted to provide Canadian programming services; and
  3. in the case of emergencies leading to lack of availability of Canadian satellite facilities for broadcasting undertakings, back-up arrangements with foreign satellite operators could be utilized, on an interim basis, with appropriate authorization.

    Note: Specialized satellite delivery in the context of provision (ii) is meant to differentiate unique satellite transmission/reception, such as for vehicular reception, not achievable by conventional Canadian satellite facilities used for DTH, e.g. direct broadcast satellite and fixed satellite in the 12 GHz range.

This statement is a result of a collaboration between Industry Canada and Canadian Heritage, following a public consultation on proposed amendments to the policy. Effective September 26, 2005, it supersedes the clarification provided in Annex C of Industry Canada's Radio Systems Policy, RP-008, Policy Framework for the Provision of Fixed Satellite Service, December 4, 1998.


Footnote

Return to footnote reference 1 See Annex C to Industry Canada's Radio Systems Policy RP-008, Policy Framework for the Provision of Fixed Satellite Services.

PR-SAT — Politique relative à l’utilisation des satellites pour offrir au public canadien des services de radiodiffusion

Le 26 septembre 2005

Madame Diane Rhéaume
Secrétaire générale
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N2

Madame,

La présente donne suite à votre lettre au sujet des demandes examinées par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) qui portent sur l'établissement d'entreprises de radiodiffusion offrant des services de radio numérique par satellite à partir d'installations non canadiennes. Dans votre lettre, vous notez la nécessité pour le gouvernement de préciser sa politique à l'égard de l'utilisation des satellites canadiens pour la transmission des services canadiens de radiodiffusion et, en particulier, de la radio numérique par satellite.

La clarification de la politique sur les services par satellite de 1995 a été présentée au CRTC dans le contexte de la distribution de radiodiffusion directe par satellite (SRD). Cette clarification correspondait à des circonstances particulières en rapport avec la disponibilité d'installations satellitaires canadiennes. Le texte de la politique ne tenait pas compte du cas où il n'existerait pas d'installations satellitaires canadiennes pour répondre à un besoin particulier de service de radiodiffusion.

Au moment d'examiner la demande du CRTC, le gouvernement a entrepris une consultation publique au sujet des modifications proposées de sa politique. Cette consultation publique a donné à toutes les parties intéressées une occasion d'exprimer leur point de vue à propos des modifications proposées et de leur impact potentiel sur le système de radiodiffusion.

Le gouvernement a tenu compte des commentaires du public. Il a aussi tenu compte du caractère unique des installations satellitaires nécessaires pour offrir des services de radio numérique par satellite et de l'absence d'installations satellitaires canadiennes. En outre, on a montré que le coût de l'établissement d'une installation satellitaire canadienne indépendante de diffusion de la radio numérique serait prohibitif et peu économique en raison de la taille du marché potentiel. Finalement, nous avons confirmé que le Canada ne dispose pas du spectre requis et qu'il ne pourrait pas en obtenir une partie suffisante avant cinq à huit ans pour pouvoir exploiter une installation canadienne indépendante de diffusion de la radio par satellite.

Le 16 juin 2005, le CRTC a approuvé trois demandes de service radio par abonnement examinées lors d'une audience publique en novembre 2004. Deux nouveaux services, SIRIUS Canada Inc. et Canadian Satellite Radio Inc. (CSR) fourniront leurs services à partir de satellites américains. L'autre service (CHUM/Astral) utilisera exclusivement des installations terrestres de transmission.

Cinq demandes ont été reçues par le gouverneur en conseil. Trois contestaient les deux décisions du CRTC au sujet des satellites et deux contestaient les trois décisions du CRTC. Le 9 septembre 2005, le gouvernement a confirmé les décisions du CRTC. À ce temps là, le gouvernement a accueilli les demandes de CSR et SIRIUS Canada au CRTC de modifier leurs licences afin d'améliorer l'offre de programmation canadienne et en français.

C'est après que nous ayons examiné soigneusement les circonstances, que le gouvernement modifiera sa politique, de manière à permettre l'utilisation d'installations étrangères spécialisées, uniquement pour la transmission par satellite de services de radio numérique par abonnement au Canada. À titre d'information, vous trouverez, ci-joint, une copie de la politique révisée.

Si vous avez d'autres questions à ce sujet, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Sincèrement,

Suzanne Hurtubise
Sous-ministre
Industrie Canada

Judith A. LaRocque
Sous-ministre
Patrimoine canadien

Pièce jointe



ANNEXE

Politique relative à l'utilisation des satellites pour offrir au public canadien des services de radiodiffusion

Le 26 septembre 2005

Voici la version révisée de la politique canadienne relative à l'utilisation des installations canadiennes de transmission par satellite applicable aux entreprises de radiodiffusion.

En 1995, le gouvernement du Canada a précisé sa politique relative à l'utilisation des satellites au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) dans le contexte de la distribution de radiodiffusion directe par satellite (SRD). Cette politique a par la suite été modifiée de manière à concorder avec les obligations du Canada aux termes de l'Accord de l'OMC sur les télécommunications de base pour ce qui concerne le transport des services de radiodiffusion Note en bas de page 1. La politique ne tenait pas compte des cas où il n'existerait pas de satellites canadiens permettant d'offrir un service de radiodiffusion particulier. En 2004, en réponse à une demande du CRTC, le gouvernement a tenu une consultation publique proposant de modifier la politique, de manière à autoriser le recours accru à des satellites étrangers dans des cas exceptionnels. Le gouvernement modifie donc par la présente la politique relative à l'utilisation des satellites afin de permettre le recours à des installations satellitaires spécialisées étrangères dans le cas des services canadiens de radio transmis par satellite au Canada.

L'un des objectifs politiques de l'article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications est le suivant : « promouvoir l'utilisation d'installations de transmission canadiennes pour les télécommunications à l'intérieur du Canada et à destination ou en provenance de l'étranger ». Cette politique s'applique depuis longtemps pour veiller à ce que les installations satellitaires canadiennes servent à transmettre la programmation canadienne offerte par des entreprises de radiodiffusion et destinée à des Canadiens.

L'un des objectifs politiques de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion est le suivant : « toutes les entreprises de radiodiffusion sont tenues de faire appel au maximum, et dans tous les cas au moins de manière prédominante, aux ressources créatrices et autres canadiennes pour la création et la présentation de leur programmation à moins qu'une telle pratique ne s'avère difficilement réalisable en raison de la nature du service notamment, son contenu ou format spécialisé ou l'utilisation qui y est faite de langues autres que le français ou l'anglais qu'elles fournissent, auquel cas elles devront faire appel aux ressources en question dans toute la mesure du possible ».

Dans ce contexte, si une entreprise de radiodiffusion canadienne souhaite se servir d'installations satellitaires étrangères, la politique canadienne concernant l'utilisation d'installations de réception directe de services de radiodiffusion par le public devrait être interprétée comme suit : 

  1. l'entreprise devrait utiliser des installations satellitaires canadiennes pour le transport (c'est-à-dire la réception et/ou la distribution aux auditoires canadiens) de la totalité des services de programmation canadiens, mais peut utiliser des installations de satellites canadiennes ou non pour le transport des services en provenance de l'étranger qui sont principalement destinés à des auditoires étrangers et dont le CRTC a autorisé, en tout ou en partie, la distribution;
  2. dans des circonstances exceptionnelles où aucune installation satellitaire canadienne n'est disponible pour soutenir la prestation de services de radio numérique par abonnement au public utilisant des installations satellitaires spécialisées, incluant la prestation de services de radio numérique dont la réception s'effectue à bord de véhicules, des installations satellitaires étrangères peuvent être utilisées pour distribuer des services de programmation canadiens.
  3. dans des situations d'urgence menant à une absence de disponibilité des installations satellitaires canadiennes pour les entreprises de radiodiffusion, on pourrait recourir, sur une base temporaire, à des ententes de relève conclues avec des exploitants étrangers, avec l'autorisation appropriée.

Note : Dans le contexte de la présente disposition, l'expression « services spécialisés de radiodiffusion par satellite » est utilisée pour désigner les services qui font appel à des moyens d'émission/de réception par satellite uniques, comme la réception à bord de véhicules, qui ne peuvent pas être fournis par des installations satellitaires canadiennes traditionelles utilisées pour les SRD, par exemple satellites de radiodiffusion directe et satellite des services fixes fonctionnant dans la gamme de 12 GHz.

Cet énoncé est le fruit de la collaboration entre Industrie Canada et Patrimoine canadien, faisant suite à une consultation publique sur des modifications proposées de la politique. À compter du 26 septembre 2005, il remplace la clarification fournie dans l'annexe C de la Politique des systèmes radio 008 (PR-008), Cadre de politique pour la prestation des services fixes par satellite d'Industrie Canada, du 4 décembre 1998.


Note en bas de page

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1 Voir l'annexe C de la Politique des systèmes radio 008 (PR-008), Cadre de politique pour la prestation des services fixes par satellite d'Industrie Canada

Date de modification :