Archived—Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations 9 kHz to 275 GHz (2005 Edition)

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Released May 2005
Amended January 2006
Amended February 2007

Table of Contents


If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us to obtain other appropriate formats.


Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations 9 kHz to 275 GHz (2005 Edition)

(Incorporating Decisions of the 2003 World Radiocommunication Conference)

Amendments:

  • New footnote C13A added to recognize the use of spectrum for satellite radio services in Canada (DGTP-010-05) — January 2006
  • New footnote C11 added and allocation changes made consequential to Proposals and Changes to the Spectrum in Certain Bands Below 1.7 GHz (DGTP-004-05) — January 2006
  • New footnote 5.388A added and allocation changes made consequential to Consultation on a Framework to Auction Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range including Advanced Wireless Services (DGTP-002-07) — February 2007

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-002-05 — Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

This Notice announces the release of the revised Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations. Proposals to amend the Canadian Table were made in Gazette Notice DGTP-012-04, dated December 4, 2004, based on most of the decisions adopted by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) at the World Radio Conference 2003 (WRC-2003).

The Canadian Table allocates frequency bands to radio services within the scope of the International Table and as required to meet Canadian needs. Canadian footnotes provide the particular provisions and conditions for use of those radio services in Canada.

The Department has, or will, initiate separate public consultations on domestic allocations in several frequency bands. Allocation decisions will be announced in due course. These bands include:

  • 216–222 MHz;
  • 1710–2200 MHz; and
  • 3650–3700 MHz.

With the exception of the above allocation proceedings under way, the revisions incorporated into the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations reflect the results of the consultation on the WRC-2003 decisions.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and the revised Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home?OpenDocument.

Official printed copies of Canada Gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

May 14, 2005

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


The revised Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations is available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at the following address: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home?OpenDocument.

Spectrum and Radio Policy
Telecommunications Policy Branch
Room 1610A, 300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario,
Canada
K1A 0C8


Foreword

The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations assigns the electromagnetic spectrum between 9 kHz and 275 GHz (275–400 GHz is unallocated at this time) and establishes the frequency allocations available for radio services in Canada. The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations is based on the provisions of the Final Acts resulting from the various World Radio Conferences (WRC), including the WRC 2003, convened by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).

This update does not cover a number of frequency bands which are under active review for spectrum allocations. These bands include:

  • 216–222 MHz;
  • 1710–2200 MHz; and,
  • 3650–3700 MHz.

The Canadian Table and the associated general information will, from time to time, need to be revised. Such revisions occur when changes to the ITU Table are made as a result of World Radiocommunications Conferences or particular Canadian radio service requirements. The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations reflects international changes while taking into account Canadian requirements to ensure that government, commercial and private users have full flexibility to develop new radio applications.

The Canadian Table is intended to respond to Canadian domestic spectrum requirements, and consequently reflects Industry Canada's spectrum allocation and utilization policies developed through public consultation. It should be noted, therefore, that the Canadian Table differs, where necessary, from the ITU Table.

Canadian radio systems and spectrum utilization policies set the necessary elements for the use of frequency bands and/or radio services. Spectrum policies have traditionally designated the use of a radio service to certain applications in a particular frequency band, or bands. The spectrum designations are intended to accommodate a diversity of applications and users. Examples include designating the use of a mobile radio application for public safety applications or designating a fixed allocation to point-to-multipoint systems.

In some cases the use of a band, or the use of a service in a band, is withheld pending the development of a spectrum utilization policy. In cases where no spectrum utilization policy provisions exist in a given band, and there is no footnote withholding use, spectrum access may be available on a case-by-case basis.

Spectrum utilization policies developed in recent years have given more attention to defining the relationship between co-primary services in the same band. In some cases however, spectrum utilization policy provisions exist for one service but not another co-primary service allocated in a given band. This is particularly true where the implementation of the co-primary service is infrequent. In this case, coordination and authorization of systems within the service are generally handled on a case-by-case basis, taking into account the utilization designations for the other service.

Information on the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and its interpretation with respect to various spectrum utilization policies issued by Industry Canada can best be obtained by contacting:

Director
Spectrum and Radio Policy
Telecommunications Policy Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1A 0C8
E-mail address: wireless@ic.gc.ca

Archivé — Tableau canadien d’attribution des bandes de fréquences 9 kHz‑275 GHz (édition 2005)

Publié en mai 2005
Modifié en janvier 2006
Modifié en février 2007

Table des matières


Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au document ci-dessous, veuillez communiquer avec nous afin de l'obtenir dans un autre format approprié.


Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences 9 kHz – 275 GHz (édition 2005)

(Incorporant les décisions de la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications – 2003)

Modifications :

  • Le renvoi C13A a été ajouté pour tenir compte de l'utilisation du spectre par les services de radio par satellite au Canada (DGTP-010-05) — janvier 2006
  • Le renvoi C11 à été ajouté et des changements d'attribution ont été apportés suite aux Propositions et modifications de fréquences dans certaines bandes inférieures à 1,7 GHz (DGTP-004-05) — janvier 2006
  • Le renvoi 5.388 à été ajouté et des changements d'attribution ont été apportés suite aux Consultation sur un cadre de mise aux enchères de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz, y compris pour les services sans fil évolués (DGTP-002-07) – février 2007

Ministère de l'industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-002-05 — Révisions du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Le présent avis annonce la publication du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences révisé. Des propositions de modifications au Tableau canadien ont été présentées dans l'avis de la Gazette DGTP-012-04 le 4 décembre 2004. Elles s'appuyaient sur la plupart des décisions adoptées par l'Union internationale des télécommunications à la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications 2003 (CMR-2003).

Le Tableau canadien définit les bandes de fréquences attribuées aux services de radiocommunications, en tenant compte du Tableau international ainsi que des besoins de la population canadienne. Des renvois canadiens présentent les dispositions et conditions particulières d'exploitation de ces services radio au Canada.

Le Ministère tient ou tiendra des consultations publiques séparées sur les attributions canadiennes dans plusieurs bandes de fréquences. Les décisions d'attribution seront annoncées en temps opportun. Les bandes visées comprennent les bandes suivantes :

  • 216 – 222 MHz;
  • 1 710 – 2 200 MHz; et,
  • 3 650 – 3 700 MHz.

À l'exception des consultations en cours sur les attributions précitées, les révisions incorporées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences s'appuient sur les résultats de la consultation relative aux décisions de la CMR-2003.

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette ainsi que le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences révisé sontdisponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil.

On peut aussi obtenir des copies officielles des avis de la Gazette sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou encommuniquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 14 mai 2005

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

___________________________
Larry Shaw


La version électronique du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences révisé est disponible sur le site Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil.

Politique du spectre et de la radiocommunication
Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications
Pièce 1610A,
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0C8


Avant-propos

Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences vise les fréquences électromagnétiques comprises entre 9 kHz et 275 GHz (la gamme 275–400 GHz n'est pas attribuée pour le moment). Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences définit les fréquences attribuées aux services radio au Canada conformément aux dispositions des Actes finals des diverses Conférences mondiales des radiocommunications (CMR), y compris la CMR-2003, convoquées par l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT).

Cette mise à jour ne touche pas un certain nombre de bandes de fréquences pour lesquelles on étudie actuellement des modifications relatives aux attributions de fréquences et à la désignation des services. Ces bandes comprennent les suivantes :

  • 216 – 222 MHz;
  • 1 710 – 2 200 MHz; et,
  • 3 650 – 3 700 MHz.

De temps à autre, il faudra réviser certaines parties du présent tableau canadien et les renseignements généraux qui s'y rattachent. Ces révisions sont nécessaires lorsque l'UIT doit modifier son propre tableau à la suite d'autres Conférences mondiales des radiocommunications convoquées par l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT). Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences sera aussi révisé selon les modifications internationales et les exigences propres au Canada de sorte que les secteurs gouvernementaux, commerciaux et publics puissent bénéficier d'une certaine flexibilité pour innover dans ce domaine.

Le tableau canadien est destiné aux besoins internes du Canada en matière de fréquences radioélectriques et il reflète les politiques qu'Industrie Canada a élaborées sur l'utilisation du spectre à la suite de consultations avec le public. Par conséquent, le lecteur y remarquera, dans certains cas, des divergences par rapport au tableau de l'UIT.

Les politiques canadiennes sur les systèmes radio et l'utilisation du spectre établissent les éléments nécessaires à l'exploitation des bandes de fréquences et des services radio. Traditionnellement, les politiques du spectre désignent les applications d'un service radio qui peuvent être exploitées dans une ou plusieurs bandes de fréquences particulières, le but visé étant de répondre aux besoins de diverses applications et différents utilisateurs. On peut ainsi, par exemple, désigner une attribution du service radio mobile à l'usage des services de sécurité publique, ou une attribution du service fixe à l'usage des systèmes point-multipoint.

Dans certains cas, l'utilisation d'une bande ou l'exploitation d'un service dans une bande est empêchée en attendant qu'une politique d'utilisation du spectre soit élaborée. Lorsqu'une bande de fréquences donnée ne fait l'objet d'aucune politique d'utilisation du spectre, et qu'aucun renvoi n'en empêche l'exploitation, l'accès à cette bande peut être autorisé de manière ponctuelle.

Depuis quelques années, l'élaboration des politiques d'utilisation du spectre accorde plus d'attention à la définition des relations entre les services exploités dans la même bande à titre primaire conjoint. Dans certains cas, les politiques comprennent toutefois des dispositions visant un service donné, mais non un autre service autorisé dans la même bande à titre primaire conjoint. Cela se produit en particulier lorsque peu de systèmes sont mis en oeuvre dans le service autorisé à titre primaire conjoint. La coordination et l'autorisation des systèmes de ce service se font alors généralement de manière ponctuelle, en tenant compte des désignations applicables à l'utilisation de l'autre service.

On peut obtenir des renseignements sur le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et son interprétation par rapport aux diverses politiques sur l'utilisation du spectre émises par le Ministère, en s'adressant au :

Directeur
Politique du spectre et de la radiocommunication
Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0C8
Courriel : wireless@ic.gc.ca


Date de modification :