Archived—Approval Letter to Bell Canada and Rogers Communications Inc. Regarding Licence Transfer to Inukshuk Wireless Partnership

Licence Transfer to Inukshuk Wireless Partnership (PDF, 2 MB, 7 pages)


March 30, 2006

Ottawa Ontario
K1A 0C8

Mr. Kenneth Englehart
VP, Regulatory Affairs
Rogers Communications Inc.
333 Bloor Street East
Toronto, Ontario M4W 1G9

Mr. Mirko Bibic
Chief, Regulatory Affairs
Bell Canada
110 O'Connor Street, 14th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1H1

Dear Sirs:

Thank you for your letter of August 2, 2005, in which you applied for the transfer of Inukshuk's Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) licences.

Industry Canada officials have reviewed your application for a transfer and barring unforeseen circumstances will approve the licence transfer to Inukshuk Wireless Partnership pursuant to Section 4.5.2 of the policy and licensing procedures for 2500 MHz MCS Systems upon receipt and approval of the executed documents required relating to the Canadian ownership and control. Given the significant interest and anticipated developments surrounding the 2500 MHz band, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify several issues.

Mobile Use

Of particular interest is that in the United States, as well as in other countries, the decision has been made to include a mobile allocation in this band. The Department supports this development and is interested in ensuring that Canadians are able to maximize the benefits derived from this spectrum, recognizing the importance of harmonizing this band with other markets.

As noted in the conditions of licence (attached for your information), the MCS licences continue to be restricted to fixed service. The Department has determined that the equipment currently deployed has a limited degree of incidental mobility that is acceptable. However, the sale and marketing of any service intended to be used by subscriber terminals while in motion is prohibited. Should any licensee authorized under the fixed service in the band 2500-2690 MHz wish to offer services in the future that equal or exceed the mobile capabilities of technologies such as 802.16e, the licensee will be required to apply to the Department for a mobile authorization prior to any implementation of such services.

The use of this band for mobile applications will be subject to a revised spectrum policy that is expected to be released in the near future. The addition of mobile services constitutes a fundamental reallocation. The added regulatory flexibility to permit mobile services, together with the greater spectrum efficiencies associated with mobile technologies and the increased value associated with mobile spectrum, constitute a significant material change. Accordingly, the implementation of mobile services justifies a reassessment of the licensing requirements, including the amount of spectrum to be retained by incumbent licensees.

Service Deployment

Condition of licence 2 requires deployment and maintaining commercial service to all areas identified on the attached Detailed MCS Deployment Schedule.

For the purposes of this condition of licence, as well as the evaluation referred to in condition of licence 1, commercial service is defined as:  

  • a) the licensee has installed sufficient base station transmitting and receiving equipment, together with related switching and ancillary equipment such that the service offering is available to seventy percent of the households within the specific deployment area (city or community);
  • b) the service is being offered for sale to the public;
  • c) the service is being provided within a reasonable period of time to those opting for it.

Alternatively, items b) and c) of this definition will be deemed to be met if the licensee or its associated resellers have subscribers equivalent to at least five percent of the households in the particular deployment area.

As outlined in your letter to the Deputy Minister, dated September 12, 2005, an evaluation will be made as of December 31, 2009, to determine the extent to which deployment has taken place and to what extent there remains "unused" spectrum. This evaluation to be conducted by the Department, may include an assessment by an independent third party selected by the Department. The evaluation will be done on the basis of both geographic areas deployed, as well as the amount of spectrum put to productive and spectrally efficient use in those areas deployed. In terms of geography, the smallest assessment area will be defined by Statistics Canada Census Subdivisions and the smallest assessment in terms of spectrum will be units of 1 MHz.

Following the above-noted evaluation, upon notification by the Department, you will be required to surrender the licences immediately. A renewal licence for the term to March 31, 2011, will be issued covering those particular geographic areas and those parts of the spectrum where the licensee has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Department that the spectrum has been put to productive and spectrally efficient use taking into account commercially available technology, cost considerations and good engineering practices.

Open Network

During the original competitive process, the Inukshuk application made many references to its commitment to establish an open network whereby it would allow access to its network on a wholesale basis to those who intended to offer broadband wireless services. You are reminded that the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) has retained certain powers and duties, including those with respect to section 24 and subsection 27(2) of the Telecommunications Act with respect to your services. As such, the CRTC may deal with any issue or evidence of a dispute regarding the reasonableness of the terms on which access is being offered to a third party.

Learning Plan

Please note that the annual requirements for deployment and learning plan investments will be assessed in accordance with the conditions of licence. These requirements, as well as all other requirements of licence, must be met on an ongoing basis in order for the licensee to be considered in compliance with the conditions of licence.

In closing, I would point out that the terms and conditions established for the MCS licences will not restrict the Minister from taking any action in the future under the powers conferred under the Radiocommunication Act.

Should you have any questions or require assistance with the above, please contact me at (613) 990-4817.

Sincerely,



Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Enclosures

Licence Conditions for 2500 MHz Multipoint Communications Systems Licensees - Inukshuk Wireless Partnership

Date modified:

Archivé — Lettre d'approbation envoyée à Bell Canada et Rogers Communications Inc. au sujet du transfert de licence à Inukshuk Wireless Partnership

La traduction a été mise à jour le 31 mars 2006

au sujet du transfert de licence à Inukshuk Wireless Partnership (PDF, 107 Ko, 7 pages)


Le 30 mars 2006

Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

(Traduction)

M. Kenneth Englehart
V.-P., Affaires réglementaires
Rogers Communications Inc.
333, rue Bloor Est
Toronto (Ontario) M4W 1G9

M. Mirko Bibic
Responsable, Affaires réglementaires
Bell Canada
110, rue O'Connor, 14e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 1H1

Messieurs,

Je vous remercie pour votre lettre du 2 août 2005, dans laquelle vous présentiez une demande de transfert de licence pour les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) d'Inukshuk.

Les fonctionnaires d'Industrie Canada ont examiné votre demande de transfert et, à moins de circonstances imprévues, approuveront le transfert de licence à Inukshuk Wireless Partnership, conformément à l'article 4.5.2 de la politique et des procédures d'obtention d'une licence pour les systèmes STM de 2500 MHz sur réception et approbation des documents passés nécessaires relativement à la part de propriété et de contrôle canadiens. Compte tenu de l'intérêt substantiel et des développements prévus au sujet de la bande de 2 500 MHz, j'aimerais saisir l'occasion pour clarifier quelques points.

Utilisation des services mobiles

Plus particulièrement, les États-unis, ainsi que d'autres pays, ont décidé d'inclure une attribution au service mobile dans cette bande. Le Ministère appuie cette initiative et est intéressé à s'assurer que les Canadiens soient en mesure de maximiser les avantages découlant de ce spectre et qu'ils puissent reconnaître l'importance de l'harmonisation de cette bande avec celles des autres marchés.

Comme noté dans les conditions de la licence (ci-jointes à titre de renseignement), les licences STM sont toujours restreintes au service fixe. Le Ministère a déterminé que l'équipement actuellement en usage a un niveau limité de mobilité accessoire acceptable. Toutefois, la vente et la commercialisation de tout service qui sera utilisé par des terminaux d'abonné en mouvement sera interdit. Si un titulaire de licence autorisé selon le service fixe de la bande de 2 500 à 2 690 MHz désire offrir des services à l'avenir qui équivalent aux capacités des technologies ou qui excèdent les capacités des technologies telles 802.16e, on exigera du titulaire de présenter une demande d'autorisation de service mobile auprès du Ministère avant de mettre en oeuvre de tels services.

L'utilisation de cette bande en vue d'applications mobiles sera soumise à une politique révisée relative au spectre que l'on prévoit publier prochainement. L'ajout du service mobile constitue une nouvelle attribution fondamentale. La flexibilité réglementaire supplémentaire relativement à l'autorisation du service mobile, la plus grande efficacité du spectre associée aux technologies du service mobile ainsi que la valeur accrue relative au spectre du service mobile, constituent un changement important. Par conséquent, la mise en oeuvre du service mobile justifie une réévaluation des exigences en matière de licence, y compris le montant du spectre à conserver par les titulaires de licences.

Déploiement du service

La condition de la licence 2 exige le déploiement et le maintien du service commercial à toutes les régions identifiées dans l'horaire détaillé ci-joint. Aux fins de cette condition de licence, ainsi que de l'évaluation nommée dans la condition de la licence 1, un service commercial est défini comme suit : 

  • a) licencié a installé de l'équipement de transmission et de réception suffisant pour une station de base, ainsi que de l'équipement connexe de commutation et auxiliaire de telle sorte que l'offre de service soit disponible à soixante-dix pour cent des ménages à l'intérieur de la région de déploiement précisée (ville ou collectivité);
  • b) le service est offert (en vente) au public;
  • c) le service est offert selon un délai raisonnable à ceux qui optent pour ce service.

Autrement, les points b) et c) de cette définition seront considérés comme remplis si le licencié ou ses revendeurs associés ont l'équivalent d'au moins cinq pour cent des ménages comme abonnés dans la région de déploiement précisée.

Comme l'indique votre lettre adressée au sous-ministre et datée du 12 septembre 2005, un examen sera effectué en date du 31 décembre 2009, afin de déterminer à quel point la mise en oeuvre a été faite et ce qui reste du spectre inutilisé. Cet examen qui sera effectué par le Ministère, comprendra peut-être une évaluation d'un tiers indépendant choisi par le Ministère. L'évaluation se fera aussi bien au niveau des zones géographiques mises en oeuvre que sur la quantité de spectre mis à utilisation, en terme de productivité et de spectre, dans les zones ou la mise en oeuvre aura été faite. Du point de vue géographique, la plus petite zone d'évaluation du spectre sera définie selon les subdivisions de recensement de Statistique Canada et en ce qui concerne le spectre, elle le sera en unités de 1 MHz.

À la suite de l'évaluation susmentionnée, sur avis du Ministère, vous serez tenus de rendre vos licences immédiatement. Une licence renouvelée pour le terme jusqu'au 31 mars 2011 sera délivrée et couvrira les régions géographiques précisées et les parties du spectre où le titulaire a démontré, à la satisfaction du Ministère, que le spectre est utilisé de façon productive et efficace en tenant compte de la technologie disponible sur le marché, des coûts et des bonnes pratiques d'ingénierie.

Réseau ouvert

Durant le processus concurrentiel, la demande d'Inukshuk rappelait à maintes reprises son engagement à établir un réseau ouvert au sein duquel il offrirait l'accès à son réseau en gros aux fournisseurs qui prévoient offrir des services à large bande sans fil. Je tiens à vous rappeler que le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a conservé certains pouvoirs et fonctions, y compris ceux en vertu de l'article 24 et au paragraphe 27(2) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, relativement aux services que vous offrez. À ce titre, le CRTC peut traiter tout enjeu ou preuve de conflit au sujet du caractère raisonnable des conditions auxquelles l'accès est offert à un tiers.

Plan d'apprentissage

Veuillez prendre note que les exigences annuelles relatives aux investissements en matière de mise en oeuvre et de plan d'apprentissage feront l'objet d'un examen, conformément aux conditions de licence. Ces exigences, de même que toutes autres exigences en matière de licence, doivent être constamment respectées afin que l'on puisse considérer que le détenteur d'une licence est en conformité avec les conditions de celle-ci.

Enfin, j'aimerais souligner que les conditions établies pour les licences de STM n'empêcheront pas le Ministre de prendre des mesures à l'avenir, conformément aux pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Si vous avez des questions ou avez besoin d'aide au sujet des points énumérés plus haut, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi au (613) 990-4817.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Messieurs, l'assurance de mes meilleurs sentiments.

Le directeur général,
Direction générale de la Réglementation
des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion



Jan Skora

Pièces jointes

Conditions de licence pour les titulaires de licence de systèmes de télécommunications multipoint à 2 500 MHz - Inukshuk Wireless Partnership

Date de modification :