Archived—Gazette Notice SMSE-005-06

Comments Received

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMSE-005-06Consultation Paper on Public Safety Radio Interoperability Guidelines

The intent of this notice is to initiate public consultation through the release of the above-mentioned document to develop public safety radio interoperability guidelines.

Discussion

In cases of emergencies and in day-to-day operations, public safety agencies rely heavily on the ability to communicate with each other by radio. The Department recognizes the need for improved radio interoperability and has taken action such as making priority spectrum available and developing associated spectrum policies, processes and technical standards.

The issue of radio interoperability is a broad and complex matter. It involves the convergence of issues such as governance through the cooperation of all public safety agencies, standard operating procedures for the different types of usage situations, training of personnel and exercises to ensure full functionality as well as the technology to allow communications.

The focus of this consultation is on the issue of radio interoperability among public safety agencies in the area of technology, which includes radio frequency issues. This consultation paper provides an opportunity for comments on the definition of radio interoperability and other associated terms, as well as on an outline of different levels of radio interoperability, and the method that the Department would use to ensure the capability of public safety systems to meet the appropriate level of radio interoperability.

Interested parties are invited to submit their comments by September 4, 2006 to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering Branch. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments, in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following e-mail address: interoperability@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and notice reference number (SMSE-005-06).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of Canada Gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazettee Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

June 3, 2006



_________________
R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette SMSE-005-06

Commentaires reçus

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la Radiocommunication

Avis no SMSE-005-06Document de consultation sur des lignes directrices visant l'interopérabilité radio des services de sécurité publique

Le présent avis a pour objet de lancer une consultation publique par la publication du document susmentionné visant l'établissement de lignes directrices visant l'interopérabilité radio des services de sécurité publique.

Description

Dans les situations d'urgence et pour leurs opérations quotidiennes, les organismes de sécurité publique dépendent largement de leur capacité à communiquer entre eux par radio. Le Ministère reconnaît la nécessité d'améliorer l'interopérabilité radio, et considère l'efficacité et le bien-fondé de certaines solutions, telles rendre disponibles des fréquences prioritaires et établir des politiques, des processus et des normes techniques applicables à l'utilisation du spectre.

La question de l'interopérabilité radio est vaste et complexe. Elle comporte diverses facettes, comme la gouvernance par le biais de la coopération de tous les organismes de sécurité publique, la mise en œuvre de procédures normalisées pour les différents types d'utilisation, la formation du personnel, les exercices destinés à garantir une fonctionnalité totale et le choix de la technologie de communications.

La consultation qui est lancée porte sur les aspects technologiques de l'interopérabilité radio assurés par les organismes de sécurité publique, ce qui comprend les questions liées aux fréquences radioélectriques. Le document de consultation donne l'occasion de présenter des commentaires sur la définition de l'interopérabilité radio et autres expressions connexes, sur ses différents niveaux et sur la méthode que le Ministère utiliserait pour veiller à ce que la capacité des nouveaux systèmes de sécurité publique atteigne le niveau approprié d'interopérabilité radio.

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires au plus tard le 4 septembre 2006 au Directeur général, Génie du spectre. Après la clôture de la période de présentation des commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : interoperabilite@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Génie du spectre, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE-005-06).

Pour obtenir des copies

Cet avis ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version imprimée officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 3 juin 2006

Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre



_________________
R.W. McCaughern

Date de modification :