Low-power Licence-exempt Radiocommunication Devices — Frequently Asked Questions


Overview

Do you use cordless telephones, baby monitors, family radio service (FRS) walkie-talkies, remote garage door openers, or wireless local area networks (sometimes referred to as wireless LANs or Wi-Fi devices)? If so, you are among a growing number of consumers who use a special category of radio equipment, referred to by Industry Canada, as low-power licence-exempt radiocommunication devices. Regardless of the wireless device in question, it is important to know if the equipment you own or intend to buy is permitted for use in Canada.

The requirement to obtain a radio licence depends mainly upon the type of radio equipment being used. Special regulatory provisions permit the use of certain radio devices without the need for a radio licence in Canada, and the popularity of these devices, especially those designed to operate within the 2.4 gigahertz (GHz) and 5.8 GHz frequency bands, has increased dramatically.

Consumers and businesses alike prefer the convenience and low cost of licence-exempt radio devices, and Industry Canada recognizes their benefit to Canadians. Industry Canada strives to provide a radio environment in which both licensed and licence-exempt radio devices can operate harmoniously, and therefore it is important for consumers to understand the benefits and limitations of licence-exempt radio equipment in order to make informed purchasing decisions.

The objective of this document is to provide answers to a few of the more commonly asked questions regarding licence-exempt radio devices. Complete titles of all documents referred to are provided in the Relevant Documents and Links section.

Questions

Regulation and Use in Canada

Interference

Options for Licensing

Equipment Certification for Use in Canada

Definitions

1. What does the term "licence-exempt" mean?

The Radiocommunication Act gives Industry Canada the authority to regulate radiocommunications in Canada. Under the Act, the use of most radiocommunication devices requires that a radio authorization, typically a licence, first be obtained from Industry Canada. In contrast, licence-exempt radio devices are an exception to this requirement, and Industry Canada has established special provisions which allow for the purchase and use of licence-exempt radio devices that operate within specially designated frequency bands.

In addition to applicable licensing requirements, all radiocommunication devices must also comply with appropriate Industry Canada policies, regulations and technical standards before they can be imported, sold or used in Canada. The process whereby radio equipment manufacturers demonstrate compliance with Industry Canada technical standards is referred to as certification.

It should be noted that although a radio device may not require a licence for use in Canada, this same device may not be licence-exempted for use in other countries. For this reason, those planning to use licence-exempt radio devices outside of Canada must respect foreign radiocommunication licensing and operational requirements.

What are the main differences between licensed and licence-exempt radio devices?

Generally, users of radio devices that require a licence must first provide Industry Canada with detailed technical information, undergo a thorough interference and operational assessment, and pay an annual licence fee. Along with other information, a resulting radio station licence specifies the station's transmitting and receiving frequencies, operating parameters (i.e. transmitter power) and the station's location and/or area of operation.

Conversely, licence-exempt radio equipment users are not required to pay annual licence fees; do not have to provide any technical information; and can operate anywhere in Canada provided that only specially designated frequency bands are used and other applicable regulatory and technical standards are met.

Although it may seem advantageous to not require a radio licence, users of licence-exempt radio devices can face other difficulties. The most common problem encountered is radio interference, often resulting from other licensed or licence-exempt radio users operating within the same general area. Consequences can range from reduced radio equipment performance to complete system failure.

It should be understood that, unlike licensed radio systems that are provided some assurance of interference-free operation by Industry Canada, licence-exempt radio devices operate on a strict "no-interference, no-protection" basis in relation to all other radio systems. This means that licence-exempt radio devices are neither permitted to cause interference, nor can they claim protection from any that they may receive. It is for this reason that Industry Canada will not normally investigate reports of radio interference affecting licence-exempt radio devices. See What happens if my licence-exempt radio device receives interference?

3. Aren't all low-power radio devices automatically licence-exempt?

No. Although licence-exempt radio devices generally transmit signals at low-power levels, the power level alone does not determine if a licence from Industry Canada is required. By law, licence exemptions only apply to radio equipment that has been tested and certified to comply with specific technical standards, and operates in specially designated frequency bands. Such restrictions are necessary to ensure equitable access to limited radio frequency spectrum by all radio users, as well as to ensure the orderly development of radiocommunications in Canada.

Technical standards relevant to most licence-exempt radio devices can be found in either RSS-210, or RSS-310.

Regulation and Use in Canada

4. How are licence-exempt radio devices regulated for use in Canada?

According to the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, licence-exempt radio devices are only exempted from the requirement to have a radio licence. All other aspects and sections of the Act and the Regulations still apply. As a result, licence-exempt radio devices must still comply with the relevant technical standards outlined in RSS-210 and RSS-310, as well as other regulatory requirements. For more information, see How is licence-exempt radio equipment authorized and approved for use in Canada?

5. What else do I need to know when using licence-exempt radio devices?

It is important for current and prospective licence-exempt radio device users to be aware that although a radio licence may not be required, only those devices that comply with applicable technical standards, operational and regulatory requirements are permitted for sale and use in Canada. Devices manufactured for licence-exempt use in other countries often do not meet Canadian regulatory or technical standards and may, in fact, cause or receive radio interference.

Licence-exempt devices must also comply with Industry Canada's radio frequency exposure compliance standard RSS-102. For the purpose of regulating exposure to radio frequency fields, Industry Canada has adopted Health Canada's Safety Code 6.

Licence-exempt radio systems using antenna supporting structures may also be subject to other Industry Canada procedures, including CPC 2-0-03 and CPC 2-0-02.

Industry Canada sets the technical standards and specifications for all licence-exempt radio devices to be used in Canada, and can offer advice on the interpretation of these requirements. The Department can also provide information and discuss alternatives should you wish to establish a licensed radio system. For advice and information, please contact your nearest Industry Canada district office.

6. Can I bring purchased licence-exempt radio devices from other countries into Canada?

Although licence-exempt radio devices sold in other countries often have similar technical parameters, they may not meet applicable Industry Canada regulatory requirements. For this reason, it is illegal for consumers to import radio devices into Canada that do not bear a label with an Industry Canada certification/registration number. Please see RSP-100 for more information.

In addition, importers of radiocommunication equipment should be aware that other federal regulatory requirements may apply. For more information regarding radio equipment importation requirements, please consult the Canadian Border Services Agency.

Interference

7. What happens if my licence-exempt radio device causes interference?

Licence-exempt radio devices generally emit very low-power radio signals, and as such do not normally affect other radio services. In addition, Industry Canada has established technical standards to minimize the potential for interference between radio services. Regardless, licence-exempt radio devices are required to operate on a no-interference, no-protection basis in relation to other radio services in Canada, meaning that they can neither cause radio interference, nor claim protection from it.

Industry Canada considers licensed radio systems to have priority over all licence-exempt radio operations. Should a licence-exempt radio device cause interference to a licensed radio system, the licence-exempt radio user may be required to cease operation or have their equipment professionally modified and re-certified to ensure that it will no longer cause interference.

In the case of interference between licence-exempt radio users, it should be noted that such devices are frequently designed to share specially designated frequency bands in Canada, and therefore no one user has priority over another. For this reason, goodwill and a spirit of mutual cooperation is encouraged to resolve such interference problems. It should also be noted that even despite these efforts, effective solutions may not always be found as licence-exempt radio devices can vary greatly in usage and technical sophistication.

8. What happens if my licence-exempt radio device receives interference?

Licence-exempt radio devices are typically designed to function within specially designated shared frequency bands, and Industry Canada develops technical standards to minimize the potential for interference. However, interference to licence-exempt radio devices may occur from various sources, including non-communication devices that operate within the same frequency band. The effects of radio interference can range from degraded equipment performance to complete system failure.

Since licence-exempt radio devices are authorized on a no-interference, no-protection basis, Industry Canada will not normally intervene if these devices should receive interference.

Before seeking external sources of interference, affected users are advised to first ensure that their own licence-exempt radio devices continue to meet applicable Industry Canada technical standards. Often interference can occur if the licensed-exempt device has been damaged or technically modified.

Should it be determined that interference is being caused by another licence-exempt radio device, both parties are encouraged to arrive at an amicable solution. If, however, a licensed radio system is considered to be the likely source, affected licence-exempt radio users can locate existing licensees by searching Industry Canada's Spectrum Direct website. Remember that licensed systems have priority over licence-exempt systems. (See What happens if my licence-exempt radio device causes interference?)

9. How can I find out if there are licensed radio users in my area?

Industry Canada's Spectrum Direct website provides information on licensed, site-specific radio systems in Canada. From the homepage, under the heading Radio Frequency Search, select Geographical Area. The geographical search option is based on site co-ordinates (latitude and longitude), and will provide information on site-specific licensed radio systems operating within a specified radius. Please note that the Spectrum Direct website does not provide search information for licence-exempt radio systems, or for Personal Communications Services (PCS), cellular or other auctioned-spectrum licensees.

Options for Licensing

10. I currently operate a wireless local area network. What are my options if I want to change frequency bands or even get a radio licence?

The options available to you depend upon your specific radiocommunications needs and whether you wish to continue using licence-exempt radio equipment. For advice and information, please contact your nearest Industry Canada district office.

Equipment Certification for Use in Canada

11. What legislation governs the manufacture, importation, distribution, lease, sale and use of radio equipment in Canada?

The Radiocommunication Act requires that anyone wishing to manufacture, import, distribute, lease, sell or use radio equipment in Canada must ensure that devices are tested and certified to meet applicable technical standards. This requirement also applies to licence-exempt radiocommunication devices, whether locally manufactured or imported for use in Canada.

12. How is licence-exempt radio equipment authorized and approved for use in Canada?

The Radiocommunication Act provides Industry Canada with the authority to regulate radiocommunication in Canada, which includes authorizing the use of radio devices. Under the Act, most radiocommunication devices require a user-specific radio authorization or licence before they can be used in Canada. In contrast, licence-exempt radio devices are exempted from this requirement.

All licence-exempt radio equipment must meet specific Industry Canada regulatory requirements and technical standards before it can be imported, sold or used in Canada. The process whereby equipment manufacturers demonstrate compliance with Industry Canada's technical Standards is referred to as certification.

Industry Canada's Certification and Engineering Bureau provides up-to-date information on all radiocommunication equipment certified for use in Canada. Certification information for specific types of radio devices can be obtained directly by reviewing Industry Canada's Radio Equipment List (REL) database or by contacting the Bureau.

13. How do I know if licence-exempt radio equipment is approved for use in Canada?

Before a licence-exempt radio device can be sold in Canada, manufacturers must demonstrate to the Department that the device meets applicable technical and regulatory requirements. Once a radio device has been approved for use in Canada, Industry Canada will provide the manufacturer with a certification/registration number. All radio devices approved for use in Canada will bear a label noting Industry Canada's certification/registration number. If the radio device is not labeled with an Industry Canada certification/registration number, it is not approved for use in Canada.

14. Where can I find more information on technical standards for low-power licence-exempt radio devices?

The following documents provide additional information on Industry Canada's regulatory and technical requirements for low-power licence-exempt radiocommunication devices.

RSS-Gen sets out general requirements and provides information for the certification of radiocommunication equipment in Canada.

RSS-210 and RSS-310 describe the technical requirements applicable to most licence-exempt radio devices in Canada. Information on technical standards for other licence-exempt radio devices is also available from the Licence-exempt Radio Apparatus Standards List.

Information concerning Industry Canada's radio equipment certification process is available in RSP-100.

Specific enquiries concerning radio equipment certification can also be directed to: 

Chief, Certification and Engineering Bureau
Industry Canada
3701 Carling Avenue (Building 94)
P.O. Box 11490, Station H
Ottawa, Ontario K2H 8S2
Telephone: 613-990-4218
Fax: 613-990-5009
E-mail: certification.bureau@ic.gc.ca

Relevant Documents and Links

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance exempts de licence — Foire aux questions


Aperçu

Avez-vous un téléphone sans fil, un moniteur dans la chambre de bébé, un walkie-talkie le service radio domestique (SRD) , un ouvre-porte de garage ou un réseau local sans fil (parfois appelés LAN sans fil ou dispositifs Wi-Fi)? Si c'est le cas, vous comptez parmi un nombre croissant de consommateurs qui utilisent une catégorie spéciale de matériel radio, qu'Industrie Canada sous le nom de dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance exempts de licence. Peu importe votre choix de dispositifs sans fil, il est important de savoir si le matériel que vous possédez ou que vous comptez acheter est autorisé pour utilisation au Canada.

L'exigence d'obtenir une licence radio dépend principalement du type de matériel radio utilisé. Des dispositions réglementaires spéciales permettent l'utilisation de certains dispositifs radio sans obligation de licence au Canada. Conséquemment la popularité de ces dispositifs, notamment ceux conçus pour fonctionner dans les bandes de fréquences de 2,4 gigahertz (GHz) et de 5,8 GHz, a augmenté énormément.

Tant les consommateurs que les entreprises préfèrent la commodité et le coût réduit des appareils radio exempts de licence, et Industrie Canada reconnaît l'avantage de ces dispositifs pour la population canadienne. Industrie Canada s'efforce de fournir un environnement radioélectrique dans lequel des dispositifs radio autorisés par licence et des dispositifs radio exempts de licence peuvent être exploités harmonieusement. Par conséquent, il importe que les consommateurs comprennent les avantages et les limitations du matériel radio exempt de licence afin de prendre des décisions d'achat judicieuses.

Le présent document vise à fournir des réponses à quelques-unes des questions les plus courantes au sujet des dispositifs radio exempts de licence. Les titres complets de tous les documents de référence figurent à la section Documents et liens pertinents.

Questions

Réglementation et utilisation au Canada

Brouillage

Options de délivrance de licences

Certification du matériel pour utilisation au Canada

Définitions

1. Que veut dire le terme « exempt de licence »?

La Loi sur la radiocommunication confère à Industrie Canada le pouvoir de réglementer les radiocommunications au Canada. En vertu de la Loi, l'utilisation de la plupart des dispositifs de radiocommunication exige qu'on obtienne d'abord une autorisation de radiocommunication, normalement une licence, d'Industrie Canada. En revanche, les dispositifs radio exempts de licence font exception à cette exigence, et Industrie Canada a établi des dispositions spéciales qui prévoient l'achat et l'utilisation de dispositifs exempts de licence qui fonctionnent dans des bandes de fréquences spécialement désignées.

En plus des exigences en matière de licences, tous les dispositifs de radiocommunication doivent aussi respecter les politiques, règlements et normes techniques pertinents d'Industrie Canada, avant qu'ils puissent être importés, vendus ou utilisés au Canada. Le processus selon lequel les fabricants de matériel radio démontrent la conformité aux normes techniques d'Industrie Canada est appelé la certification.

Il est à noter qu'il est possible qu'un même dispositif radio soit exempt de licence au Canada mais que par contre, il soit nécessaire d'obtenir une licence pour l'utiliser dans d'autres pays. Par conséquent, ceux qui prévoient utiliser des dispositifs radio exempts de licence à l'étranger doivent respecter les exigences en matière de licences de radiocommunication et d'exploitation du pays en cause.

2. Quelles sont les principales différences entre les dispositifs radio autorisés par licence et les dispositifs radio exempts de licence?

En règle générale, les utilisateurs de dispositifs radio exigeant une licence doivent d'abord fournir à Industrie Canada de l'information technique détaillée, se soumettre à une évaluation rigoureuse de brouillage et de fonctionnement et payer des droits de licence annuels. En plus d'autres renseignements, une licence de station radio spécifie les fréquences d'émission et de réception de la station, les paramètres d'exploitation (p. ex. la puissance d'émission) et l'emplacement ou la région d'exploitation de la station.

Par contre, les utilisateurs de matériel radio exempt de licence ne sont pas tenus de payer des droits de licence annuels, n'ont à fournir aucune information technique et peuvent exploiter ce matériel n'importe où au Canada, à condition d'utiliser seulement les bandes de fréquences spécialement désignées et de respecter les autres normes réglementaires et techniques applicables.

Bien qu'il puisse sembler avantageux de ne pas avoir à obtenir une licence radio, les utilisateurs de dispositifs radio exempts de licence peuvent devoir faire face à d'autres problèmes. Le problème le plus courant est le brouillage radioélectrique, provenant souvent d'autres utilisateurs de matériel radio autorisé par licence ou exempt de licence émettant dans un même secteur général. Les conséquences peuvent aller de performances réduites du matériel radio à la défaillance complète du système.

Il faut dire qu'au contraire des systèmes radio autorisés par licence qui ont un certain degré de fonctionnement sans brouillage assuré par Industrie Canada, les dispositifs radio exempts de licence fonctionnent strictement en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection par rapport à tous les autres systèmes radio. Cela veut dire que les dispositifs radio exempts de licence ne doivent pas causer de brouillage, ni ne peuvent réclamer aucune protection contre le brouillage qu'ils peuvent subir. Voilà pourquoi, normalement, Industrie Canada ne fait pas enquête sur des rapports de brouillage radioélectrique à des dispositifs exempts de licence. Voir Qu'est-ce qui arrive si mon dispositif radio exempt de licence subit du brouillage?

3. Tous les dispositifs radio de faible puissance ne sont-ils pas automatiquement exempts de licence?

Non. Bien que les dispositifs radio exempts de licence émettent généralement des signaux de faible puissance, le niveau de puissance ne détermine pas à lui seul si une licence d'Industrie Canada est requise. En vertu de la Loi, les exemptions de licence ne s'appliquent qu'au matériel radio qui a été mis à l'essai, a été certifié comme étant conforme à des normes techniques particulières et qui fonctionne dans des bandes de fréquences spécialement désignées. Ces restrictions sont nécessaires pour garantir à tous les utilisateurs d'appareils radio l'accès équitable au spectre limité des radiofréquences, ainsi que pour garantir le développement ordonné des radiocommunications au Canada.

Les normes techniques pertinentes à la plupart des dispositifs radio exempts de licence se trouvent soit dans le CNR-210, soit dans le CNR-310.

Réglementation et utilisation au Canada

4. Comment l'utilisation des dispositifs radio exempts de licence est-elle réglementée au Canada?

D'après la Loi sur la radiocommunication et le Règlement sur la radiocommunication, les dispositifs radio exempts de licence ne sont exemptés que de l'exigence d'avoir une licence radio. Tous les autres aspects et articles de la Loi et du Règlement s'appliquent quand même. Par conséquent, les dispositifs radio exempts de licence doivent respecter les normes techniques pertinentes décrites dans le CNR-210 et le CNR-310, ainsi que d'autres exigences réglementaires. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir Comment le matériel radio exempt de licence est-il autorisé et approuvé pour utilisation au Canada?

5. Qu'est-ce qu'il faut savoir de plus lorsqu'on utilise des dispositifs radio exempts de licence?

Il importe que les utilisateurs de dispositifs radio exempts de licence actuels et éventuels soient conscients que, bien qu'une licence radio puisse ne pas être requise, seuls les dispositifs conformes aux normes techniques, aux exigences de fonctionnement et règlements applicables sont vendus et utilisés au Canada. Souvent, les dispositifs fabriqués en vue de l'utilisation exemptée de licence dans d'autres pays ne répondent pas aux normes réglementaires et techniques du Canada et peuvent causer ou subir du brouillage.

Les dispositifs exempts de licence doivent également respecter la norme de conformité aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences d'Industrie Canada CNR-102. Aux fins de la réglementation de l'exposition humaine aux champs de radiofréquences, Industrie Canada a adopté le Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada.

Les systèmes radio exempts de licence et faisant appel à des bâtis d'antenne sont souvent assujettis à d'autres procédures d'Industrie Canada, y compris le CPC-2-0-03 et le CPC-2-0-02 .

Industrie Canada établit les normes et spécifications techniques pour tous les dispositifs radio exempts de licence pour utilisation au Canada et offre des conseils sur l'interprétation de ces exigences. De plus, le Ministère vous fournira des renseignements et des solutions de rechange si vous désirez établir un système radio autorisé par licence. Pour obtenir des conseils et de l'information, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de district d'Industrie Canada le plus proche.

6. Puis-je importer au Canada des dispositifs radio exempts de licence achetés à l'étranger?

Bien que les dispositifs radio exempts de licence vendus dans d'autres pays aient souvent des paramètres techniques similaires, il se peut qu'ils ne répondent pas aux exigences réglementaires d'Industrie Canada. Aussi est-il illégal pour les consommateurs d'importer au Canada des dispositifs radio qui ne portent pas d'étiquette affichant un numéro de certification/d'enregistrement d'Industrie Canada. Voir le PNR-100 pour de plus amples renseignements.

En outre, les importateurs de matériel de radiocommunication devraient être conscients que d'autres exigences réglementaires fédérales peuvent s'appliquer. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences d'importation de matériel radio, veuillez consulter le site de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Brouillage

7. Qu'est-ce qui arrive si mon dispositif radio exempt de licence cause du brouillage?

Règle générale, les dispositifs radio exempts de licence émettent des signaux de très faible puissance et, comme tels, ne gênent pas les autres services radio. En outre, Industrie Canada a établi des normes techniques pour minimaliser le risque de brouillage entre services radio. Quoi qu'il en soit, les dispositifs exempts de licence doivent fonctionner en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection par rapport aux autres services radio au Canada, ce qui veut dire qu'ils ne doivent pas causer de brouillage et ne peuvent revendiquer aucune protection contre le brouillage subi.

Industrie Canada estime que les systèmes radio autorisés par licence ont priorité sur toute exploitation de matériel radio exempt de licence. Si un dispositif radio exempt de licence cause du brouillage à un système radio autorisé par licence, l'utilisateur de l'appareil radio exempt de licence peut être tenu de cesser l'exploitation de l'appareil ou de faire modifier l'appareil par un professionnel et de le faire certifier à nouveau pour garantir qu'il ne causera plus de brouillage.

Dans le cas du brouillage entre utilisateurs d'appareils radio exempts de licence, il est à noter que ces dispositifs sont souvent conçus pour partager des bandes de fréquences spécialement désignées au Canada, de sorte qu'aucun utilisateur n'a priorité sur aucun autre. Voilà pourquoi nous comptons sur la bonne volonté et l'esprit de coopération de chacun pour résoudre ces problèmes de brouillage. Il est également à noter que, même malgré ces efforts, on ne trouve pas toujours de solution efficace, car les dispositifs radio exempts de licence varient grandement en termes d'utilisation et de degré de régularité technique.

8. Qu'est-ce qui arrive si mon dispositif radio exempt de licence subit du brouillage?

Les dispositifs radio exempts de licence sont normalement conçus pour fonctionner dans des bandes de fréquences partagées spécialement désignées, et Industrie Canada élabore des normes techniques pour minimaliser le risque de brouillage. Toutefois, le brouillage aux dispositifs radio exempts de licence peut provenir de diverses sources, y compris des dispositifs non reliés aux communications qui fonctionnent dans la même bande de fréquences. Les effets du brouillage radioélectrique peuvent aller du fonctionnement dégradé du matériel à la défaillance complète du système.

Puisque les dispositifs exempts de licence sont autorisés selon un régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection, Industrie Canada n'intervient normalement pas lorsque ces dispositifs subissent du brouillage.

Avant de chercher des sources de brouillage externes, nous conseillons aux utilisateurs de s'assurer d'abord que leurs propres dispositifs radio exempts de licence continuent de répondre aux normes techniques d'Industrie Canada. Souvent, il y aura brouillage si le dispositif exempt de licence a été endommagé ou modifié au point de vue technique.

Si on conclut que le brouillage est causé par un autre dispositif radio exempt de licence, les deux parties sont encouragées à trouver une solution à l'amiable. Par contre, si c'est un système radio autorisé par licence qui est considéré comme étant la source probable, les utilisateurs d'appareils radio exempts de licence peuvent localiser les titulaires de licence en consultant le site Web Spectre en direct d'Industrie Canada. N'oubliez pas que les systèmes autorisés par licence ont priorité sur les systèmes exempts de licence. (Voir Qu'est-ce qui arrive si mon dispositif radio exempt de licence cause du brouillage?)

9. Comment puis-je déterminer s'il y a des utilisateurs d'appareils radio titulaires de licence dans mon secteur?

Le site Web Spectre en direct d'Industrie Canada fournit de l'information sur les systèmes radio autorisés au Canada selon le site. À partir de la page d'accueil, sous la rubrique Recherche de fréquences, sélectionnez l'option Par zone géographique. Cette option de recherche est basée sur les coordonnées (latitude et longitude) du site et fournira de l'information sur les systèmes radio autorisés par licence exploités dans un rayon spécifié du site particulier. Veuillez noter que le site Web Spectre en direct ne fournit pas de renseignements sur la consultation de sites sur des systèmes radio exempts de licence, ni pour des équipements SCP, des téléphones cellulaires ou autres équipements autorisés par licence délivrée par enchère.

Possibilités de délivrance de licences

10. J'exploite un réseau local sans fil. Quelles sont les possibilités si je veux changer de bande de fréquences ou même obtenir une licence radio?

Les possibilités qui vous sont ouvertes dépendent de vos besoins particuliers en radiocommunication et de votre désir de continuer ou non à utiliser le matériel radio exempt de licence. Pour obtenir des conseils et des renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de district d'Industrie Canada le plus proche.

Certification du matériel pour utilisation au Canada

11. Quelle loi régit la fabrication, l'importation, la distribution, la location à bail, la vente et l'utilisation du matériel radio au Canada?

La Loi sur la radiocommunication exige que quiconque désire fabriquer, importer, distribuer, louer à bail, vendre ou utiliser du matériel radio au Canada doit s'assurer que les dispositifs sont mis à l'essai et certifiés comme étant conformes aux normes techniques applicables. Cette exigence s'applique également aux dispositifs de radiocommunication exempts de licence, qu'ils soient fabriqués localement ou importés pour utilisation au Canada.

12. Comment le matériel radio exempt de licence est-il autorisé et approuvé pour utilisation au Canada?

La Loi sur la radiocommunication confère à Industrie Canada le pouvoir de réglementer les radiocommunications au Canada, ce qui comprend l'autorisation de dispositifs radio. En vertu de la Loi, la plupart des dispositifs de radiocommunication exigent une autorisation, ou licence, de radiocommunication propre à l'utilisateur, avant de pouvoir être utilisés au Canada. En revanche, les dispositifs radio exempts de licence sont dispensés de cette exigence.

Tout le matériel radio exempt de licence doit respecter les exigences réglementaires et les normes techniques pertinentes d'Industrie Canada, avant qu'il puisse être importé, vendu ou utilisé au Canada. Le processus selon lequel les fabricants de matériel démontrent la conformité aux normes techniques d'Industrie Canada est appelé la certification.

Le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques d'Industrie Canada fournit de l'information à jour sur tout le matériel de radiocommunication certifié pour utilisation au Canada. On peut obtenir des précisions sur la certification de types particuliers de dispositifs radio directement de la base de données Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) d'Industrie Canada ou par communication avec le Bureau.

13. Comment puis-je savoir si du matériel radio exempt de licence est approuvé pour utilisation au Canada?

Avant qu'un dispositif radio exempt de licence puisse être vendu au Canada, les fabricants doivent démontrer au Ministère que ce dispositif répond aux exigences techniques et réglementaires applicables. Une fois qu'un dispositif radio a été approuvé pour utilisation au Canada, Industrie Canada fournira au fabricant un numéro de certification/d'enregistrement. Tous les dispositifs radio approuvés pour utilisation au Canada doivent arborer une étiquette portant le numéro de certification/d'enregistrement d'Industrie Canada. Si le dispositif radio ne porte pas un numéro certification/d'enregistrement d'Industrie Canada, il n'est pas approuvé pour utilisation au Canada.

14. Où puis-je obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les normes techniques visant les dispositifs radio de faible puissance exempts de licence?

Les documents ci-dessous fournissent de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences réglementaires et techniques d'Industrie Canada relativement aux dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance exempts de licence.

Le CNR-Gen établit les exigences générales et fournit des détails sur la certification du matériel de radiocommunication au Canada.

Le CNR-210 et le CNR-310 décrivent les exigences techniques applicables à la plupart des dispositifs radio exempts de licence au Canada. De l'information sur les normes techniques visant d'autres dispositifs radio exempts de licence est également disponible dans la .

Vous trouverez des renseignements sur le processus de certification du matériel radio d'Industrie Canada dans le PNR-100.

Pour d'autres précisions concernant la certification du matériel radio, vous pouvez vous adresser au : 

Chef, Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques
Industrie Canada
3701, avenue Carling (Édifice 94)
C.P. 11490, succursale H

Téléphone : 613-990-4218
Fax : 613-990-5009
Courriel : certification.bureau@ic.gc.ca

Documents et liens pertinents

Il s'agit d'un lien avec le ministère de la Justice.
Le règlement sur la radiocommunication fait partie du cadre réglementaire utilisé pour gérer le spectre des radiofréquences.
CPC 2-0-02
Autorisation des bâtis d'antenne
Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) - base de données.
Il s'agit d'un lien avec le site Web Importateurs de l'ASFC.
Le site Web des services en ligne de la Gestion du spectre permet l'accès public à l'information sur l'utilisation des fréquences au Canada, au moyen d'une variété d'outils de recherche.

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :
  • Plus

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.