Archived—Gazette Notice DGRB-001-06

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-001-06Call for Applications to License Satellite Orbital Positions

This notice announces the release of a paper, under the above title, and commences a comparative licensing process to facilitate the timely development and operation of satellite space stations using specific frequency bands at several orbital positions. Interested parties are invited to submit applications to Industry Canada for utilizing these resources.

Industry Canada has received applications from several parties indicating interest in developing Canadian satellites using the orbital positions and frequency bands being offered in this process. Given this and other potential interest, and in accordance with the Policy Framework for the Provision of Fixed Satellite Services (RP-008) issued in 1998 and revised in Septembert 2005, and the Guidelines on the Licensing Process and Spectrum Release Plan (2001 Edition) (RP-020), Industry Canada is now issuing a Call for Applications to License Satellite Orbital Positions.

The Call for Applications invites applications for the use of various bands of fixed and broadcasting satellite spectrum at several different satellite orbital positions. The orbital positions and spectrum being made available are considered valuable resources for Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications. This satellite licensing initiative provides an opportunity for the Canadian broadcasting and satellite industry to invest in additional satellite facilities that will serve to meet Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications requirements for capacity, promote economic growth in Canada, and offer the Canadian satellite industry an opportunity to participate in the North American satellite capacity market and beyond.

Owing to the importance of these resources for Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications, Canadian satellite users will be provided an opportunity in this satellite licensing process to participate directly. Prospective applicants in this process are encouraged to consult with Canadian satellite users in the development of their satellite plans and applications. Applicants are also required, as part of their applications, to provide their plans for providing capacity to satisfy Canadian requirements. These plans will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site for public comment. All comments will be taken into consideration when the Department evaluates the applications received.

Submitting Applications

Instructions for the submission of applications, as well as submission requirements and associated deadlines, are included in the Call for Applications.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official printed copies of Gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

July 7, 2006



________________________________
Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunication and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGRB-001-06

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-001-06Appel de demandes de licences relatives à des positions orbitales de satellite

Le présent avis annonce la publication d'un document portant le titre en rubrique de même que le lancement d'un processus comparatif de délivrance de licences dans le but de faciliter la mise au point et l'exploitation en temps opportun de stations spatiales de télécommunications par satellite utilisant des bandes de fréquences précises à plusieurs positions orbitales. Les parties intéressées sont invitées à envoyer des demandes à Industrie Canada pour l'utilisation de ces ressources.

Industrie Canada a reçu des demandes de plusieurs parties qui ont fait part de leur intérêt à mettre au point des satellites canadiens utilisant des positions orbitales et des bandes de fréquences disponibles dans le cadre du présent processus. Devant cet intérêt et d'autres manifestations éventuelles d'intérêt, et conformément au Cadre de politique pour la prestation des services fixes par satellite (PR-008), publié en 1998 et révisé en septembre 2005, et aux Lignes directrices sur le processus d'autorisation et plan de libération de fréquences (édition de 2001)(PR-020), Industrie Canada publie maintenant un Appel de demandes de licences relatives à des positions orbitales de satellite.

L'appel de demandes est une invitation à présenter des demandes en vue de l'utilisation de différentes bandes de fréquences du service fixe par satellite (SFS) et du service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) à plusieurs positions orbitales. Les fréquences et les positions orbitales offertes sont considérées comme des ressources précieuses pour la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications canadiennes. La présente initiative de délivrance de licences de services par satellite constitue, pour l'industrie canadienne de la radiodiffusion et des services par satellite, l'occasion d'investir dans d'autres installations à satellite appelées à répondre aux besoins des Canadiennes et des Canadiens en capacité pour la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications, de promouvoir la croissance économique au Canada et d'accéder au marché nord-américain et à d'autres marchés des services par satellite.

Étant donné l'importance de ces ressources pour la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications canadiennes, les utilisateurs canadiens de services par satellite auront l'occasion de participer directement au présent processus de délivrance de licences de services par satellite. Nous encourageons les requérants éventuels dans le cadre du présent processus à consulter les utilisateurs canadiens de services par satellite durant la mise au point de leurs plans et de leurs demandes concernant les services par satellite. Les requérants doivent aussi joindre à leurs demandes leurs plans en vue de fournir la capacité pour satisfaire aux besoins canadiens. Ces plans seront versés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, pour solliciter les observations du public. Toutes les observations seront prises en considération lorsque le Ministère évaluera les demandes reçues.

Présentation des demandes

Les instructions à suivre pour la présentation des demandes, ainsi que les exigences de présentation et les délais connexes, sont compris dans l'appel de demandes.

Pour obtenir des copies

La version électronique du présent avis et des documents qui y sont mentionnés est disponible sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut également obtenir des copies officielles des avis dans la Gazette sur support papier à partir du site Web de la Gazette du Canada à : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en téléphonant au comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 7 juillet 2006

Directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion



______________________________
Jan Skora

Date de modification :