SAB-002-06 — Consultation on Implementation Matters Related to the Band Plan and the Mobile Service for the Band 2500‑2690 MHz

A policy statement published in the Canada Gazette on April 1, 2006, includes a statement that the Department will harmonize the 2500 MHz band plan to be compatible with the US band plan and will consult on implementation matters. The Department expects that this consultation will be released this winter. This consultation will include a discussion of the issues related to setting a firm transition date to allow for nation-wide implementation of the band plan and the mobile service. There may be advantages to having a common transition date for incumbent MCS fixed service and MDS broadcasting service licences. Changes to existing operations could be planned and executed in a coordinated fashion. The Department notes that most MCS and MDS licence terms end in 2011. Given the above, the Department will not consider renewing any broadcasting certificates for any MDS licences beyond 2011 until the next round of consultations clarifies the timing for the implementation of the mobile service and the new band plan. For more information, please refer to the letter to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) dated September 27, 2006.


Mr. Michel Arpin
Vice-Chairperson Broadcasting
Canadian Radio-television and
Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N2

Dear Mr. Arpin:

Subject: Spectrum Planning Activities and Auction of Unassigned MDS Broadcasting Spectrum

In a letter to Andrée Wylie, the previous Vice-Chairperson Broadcasting, dated June 20, 2003, we informed the Commission and the industry, that a moratorium was being imposed on the availability of MDS spectrum for areas where MDS broadcasting distribution licences have not been issued. We indicated that we would carry out public consultation on rationalizing the spectrum allocations, adding mobile services and moving to a new harmonized band plan.

The conclusions to our consultation can be found in a policy statement made by the Department of Industry, dated March 30, 2006 (copy attached). Since the release of this statement, Industry Canada officials met with their CRTC counterparts to inform them of the new policy. In the policy statement, the Department indicates that it will auction the unassigned MDS spectrum as soon as possible. The policy states that the spectrum assigned in the auction process may be used by the successful bidder for mobile, fixed or broadcasting services. Should licensees wish to offer broadcasting services, they would do so in accordance with CRTC requirements and any applicable broadcasting certificate.

The policy statement further indicates that the Department will harmonize the band plan to be compatible with the US band plan and will consult on implementation matters. We also encourage existing incumbents, including MDS licensees, to transition to the new band plan as they implement new services.

Spectrum auctions are generally preceded by a public consultation phase where views are sought on a broad range of policy, technical and procedural matters. I expect that this consultation will be released this winter. This consultation will include a discussion of the issues related to setting a firm transition date to allow for nation-wide implementation of the band plan and mobile service.

As the Department will be consulting on implementation matters relating to the band plan, including timing, there may be advantages to having a common transition date for existing MCS and MDS licences. Changes to existing operations could be planned and executed in a coordinated fashion. We note that most MCS and MDS licence terms end in 2011. Given the above, the Department will not consider renewing any broadcasting certificates for any MDS licences beyond 2011 until the next round of consultations clarifies the timing for the implementation of the mobile service and the new band plan.

We will keep you and your staff informed as this file moves forward.

Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies
and Telecommunications Sector


Annex A 

Notice Number DGTP-002-06 — Policy Provisions for the Band 2500–2690 MHz to Facilitate Future Mobile Service.

A. Intent

The purpose of this notice is to announce the Department's policy on the use of the spectrum in the band 2500–2690 MHz. On November 16, 2001, fixed and mobile services were allocated throughout the band 2500–2690 MHz. At that time, Industry Canada indicated that the use of the mobile service would be subject to the development of appropriate licensing considerations. On April 30, 2004, the Department initiated a public consultation on the use of the band 2500–2690 MHz through Canada Gazette notice DGTP-004-04, that considered the ongoing spectrum planning activities and the licensing approach for all services allocated in the band.

B. Consultation

Comments received indicated that technology is evolving rapidly with the promise of converged fixed and mobile services. There remains some uncertainty on the timing and amount of spectrum required to implement mobile services. Some operators indicated a desire to pursue new wireless opportunities, including mobile, while others were uncertain as to the timing for the implementation of new services. As a result, the Department is not prepared to launch a spectrum re-farming exercise at this time that would require displacement of incumbents and changes to their spectrum assignments. Nonetheless, enabling the mobile service gives effect to the fundamental reallocation of the spectrum made in 2001. There is an overriding policy need to accommodate the introduction of new services, such as mobile and broadband Internet access and to encourage the most efficient use of the spectrum. Consequently, the development of licensing considerations appropriate to the mobile service are important.

C. Conclusion and Decision

In the formulation of this policy, it is recognized that: market demand should play a role in the development of new services for Canadians; mobile spectrum is very valuable; and there are numerous technological advances occurring in the 2500 MHz band. Several interested parties have asked for a flexible licensing approach to allow the implementation of new services. The Department agrees that a flexible approach to the use of the spectrum is desirable as it allows market forces to play a greater role in determining its best use.

The added regulatory flexibility to permit the mobile service, together with the greater spectrum efficiencies associated with mobile technologies and the increased value associated with mobile spectrum, constitute a significant material change. The implementation of the mobile service justifies a re-assessment of the licensing requirements including the amount of spectrum retained by incumbent licensees.

The Department is therefore adopting the following policy provisions:

  1. For Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) in the sub-band 2500–2596 MHz:
    1. Operators may continue to offer broadband Internet access services in accordance with the fixed service definition and in accordance with the 2500 MHz Multipoint Communications Systems Policy and Licensing Procedures of June 1999;
    2. Operators are advised that under the fixed service they cannot offer service to subscriber stations that are intended to be used while in motion. Consequently licensees or their affiliates cannot use the 2500 MHz spectrum to offer for sale and/or provide service to battery operated hand held terminals or provide network mobility features such as handoff between base stations.
  2. For Multipoint Distribution Systems (MDS) in the sub-band 2596–2686 MHz:
    1. Any of the previously allocated MDS broadcasting spectrum in the 2500 MHz band can also be used for fixed telecommunications services. The MDS operators may continue to offer broadcasting distribution services, in accordance with a licence from the CRTC;
    2. Should an existing MDS operator wish to offer fixed broadband Internet access services, they may apply to the Department for a spectrum licence under the fixed service in the band 2596–2686 MHz. Conditions of licence will be applicable and may include terms and conditions of licence similar to current MCS authorizations.
  3. The licensing of mobile service in the 2500 MHz band: 
    1. The un-assigned spectrum in the band 2596–2690 MHz, in a number of areas of Canada, is available for the development of mobile service, as well as for fixed broadband access, in accordance with the new band plan (see section 5). Significant interest has been shown recently by entities to access this prime spectrum to develop new wireless services;
    2. Should an existing MCS or MDS licensee, authorized to operate in the 2500 MHz band, wish to offer mobile services, they may apply to the Department for a new spectrum licence in the mobile service. The Department may issue a new spectrum licence which will include mobile service for approximately two-thirds of the originally authorized spectrum in the 2500 MHz band and one-third will be returned to the Department subject to the following:

      In order to implement mobile service, the Department will adopt a new band plan (see section 5), taking into account the needs of incumbents and other requirements. The spectrum that needs to be returned to the Department from the incumbents in order to be authorized to provide mobile service will be:

      1. the band 2535–2568 MHz (33 MHz), and,
      2. the band 2657–2690 MHz (33 MHz),
      3. the Department will establish additional guidelines in accordance with the policy framework discussed below.
  4. Auction process:

    The Department will initiate a public consultation as soon as possible to establish the policy framework for licensing spectrum permitting mobile in the band using an auction process. The framework will provide the basis for an initial auction of unassigned spectrum plus any spectrum returned by incumbents at that time, and for subsequent auctions of spectrum which becomes available. It is anticipated that this consultation will address, inter alia, competition issues (such as head-start, spectrum cap, roaming and measures for encouraging new entrants) and licence fees.
  5. For the transition to a new band plan:
    1. Consistent with its long-term policy, the Department will harmonize the band plan to be compatible with the U.S. band plan, as appropriate;
    2. Requests by licensees to change their spectrum assignment to the new band plan will be encouraged, and the Department's decisions will be based on relevant considerations, including impact on other licensees, technical and related matters at that time;
    3. The Department reserves the right:
      1. to decide whether to implement a new band plan as contemplated in this policy;
      2. to decide when to adopt and to implement the new band plan; and
      3. to take any action to ensure that the new band plan is implemented and that the incumbents fully conform to the new band plan and this policy, at a date determined by the Department and after due notice; and
    4. The Department will consult the industry on the implementation of the new band plan.

D. Future action

This policy does not bind or prevent the Minister from taking any action in the future under the powers conferred to the Minister under the Radiocommunication Act.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site.

Official printed copies of Canada Gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

March 30, 2006

 

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch
Industry Canada

Date modified:

BCS-002-06 — Consultation sur la mise en œuvre du plan d'attribution des bandes et le service mobile dans la bande 2500‑2690 MHz

Un énoncé de politique publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 1 avril, 2006 indique, entre autres, que le Ministère harmonisera le plan d'attribution des bandes pour la bande du 2 500 MHz afin d'en garantir la compatibilité avec celui des États-Unis et qu'il tiendra une consultation sur les aspects de la mise en œuvre. Le Ministère prévoit que cette consultation aura lieu au cours de l'hiver. Cette consultation permettra de préciser la date de transition pour l'élaboration, à l'échelle nationale, du plan d'attribution des bandes et du service mobile. Il serait sans doute avantageux d'établir une date de transition commune pour les licences existantes de STM et de SDM pour assurer la cohérence de la planification et de l'exécution des modifications apportées aux systèmes en place. Le Ministère constate que la plupart des licences de STM et de SDM arriveront à l' échéance en 2011. Compte tenu de la situation décrite ci-dessus, le Ministère n'envisage pas le renouvellement d'aucun certificat de radiodiffusion, quelle que soit la licence de SDM, au delà de 2011, tant que la prochaine série de consultations n'aura pas permis d'établir clairement l'échéancier de la mise en œuvre du service mobile et le nouveau plan d'attribution des bandes pour cette bande. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter la lettre au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC), en date du 27 septembre 2006.


Monsieur Michel Arpin
Vice-président de la radiodiffusion
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et
des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC)
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2

Monsieur,

Objet : Activités de planification du spectre et mise aux enchères de fréquences de radiodiffusion non assignées aux SDM

Dans une lettre adressée le 20 juin 2003 à votre prédécesseur, Madame Andrée Wylie, nous informions le Conseil et l'industrie de l'imposition d'un moratoire sur la disponibilité des fréquences pour les SDM dans les régions où aucune licence de distribution de radiodiffusion n'avait encore été délivrée pour ces systèmes. Nous indiquions alors qu'une consultation publique portant sur la rationalisation de l'attribution des fréquences, l'ajout du service mobile, de même que sur la transition vers un nouveau plan harmonisé pour cette bande de fréquences aurait lieu.

Les conclusions de notre consultation font partie d'un énoncé de politique du ministère de l'Industrie daté du 30 mars 2006 (copie ci-jointe). Depuis la publication de cet énoncé, des représentants d'Industrie Canada ont rencontré leurs homologues du CRTC pour les informer de la nouvelle politique. Dans l'énoncé de politique, le Ministère a indiqué qu'il mettrait aux enchères, dès que possible, les fréquences non assignées aux SDM. La politique précise qu'un soumissionnaire retenu serait autorisé à utiliser les fréquences assignées au cours des enchères pour assurer des services mobiles, fixes ou de radiodiffusion. Dans l'éventualité où un titulaire de licence voudrait offrir des services de radiodiffusion, il ou elle serait tenu de le faire conformément aux exigences du CRTC et selon les conditions applicables du certificat de radiodiffusion.

L'énoncé de politique indique également que le Ministère harmonisera le plan de fréquences pour cette bande afin d'en garantir la compatibilité avec celui des États-Unis et qu'il tiendra une consultation sur les aspects de la mise en œuvre. En outre, il encourage les titulaires actuels, notamment les titulaires de SDM, à effectuer une transition vers le nouveau plan de fréquences à mesure de la mise en œuvre de leurs services.

En général, les enchères du spectre sont précédées d'une phase de consultation publique au cours de laquelle on recueille les points de vue sur une vaste gamme de questions relatives à la politique, à l'aspect technique et aux procédures. Je prévois que cette consultation aura lieu au cours de l'hiver. Elle permettra de préciser la date de transition pour l'élaboration, à l'échelle nationale, du plan d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et du service mobile.

Comme le Ministère tiendra une consultation sur la mise en œuvre du plan de fréquences, notamment sur son échéancier, il serait sans doute avantageux d'établir une date de transition commune pour les licences existantes de STM et de SDM pour assurer la cohérence de la planification et de l'exécution des modifications apportées aux systèmes en place. Nous constatons que la plupart des licences de STM et de SDM arriveront à l'échéance en 2011. Compte tenu de la situation décrite ci-dessus, le Ministère n'envisage pas le renouvellement d'aucun certificat de radiodiffusion, quelle que soit la licence de SDM, au delà de 2011, tant que la prochaine série de consultations n'aura pas permis d'établir clairement l'échéancier de la mise en œuvre du service mobile et le nouveau plan de fréquences pour cette bande.

Nous tenons à vous assurer que nous vous tiendrons au courant de l'évolution du dossier et vous prions d'agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de nos meilleurs sentiments.

 

Michael Binder
Sous-ministre adjoint,
Secteur du spectre, des technologies de
l'information et des télécommunications


Annexe A

Avis no DGTP-002-06 — Dispositions de politique applicables à la bande 2 500–2 690 MHz pour faciliter la fourniture future du service mobile

A. But

Le présent avis a pour but d'annoncer la politique du Ministère sur l'utilisation du spectre dans la bande 2 500–2 690 MHz. Le 16 novembre 2001, des fréquences dans toute la bande 2 500–2 690 MHz ont été attribuées aux services fixe et mobile. Industrie Canada avait alors indiqué que les exploitations du service mobile devraient tenir compte de considérations appropriées en matière de délivrance de licences. Le 30 avril 2004, le Ministère a initié une consultation publique sur l'utilisation de la bande 2 500–2 690 MHz par l'entremise de l'avis de la Gazette du Canada DGTP-004-04. Ce document aborde, entre autres, les activités de planification d'utilisation des fréquences en cours, et décrit l'approche utilisée pour la délivrance de licences pour tous les services ayant une attribution dans la bande.

B. Consultation

Les commentaires reçus indiquent que la technologie évolue rapidement, et qu'on prévoit la convergence des services fixe et mobile. Des incertitudes planent encore quant à l'opportunité de mettre en œuvre des services mobiles et à la quantité de fréquences requises à cet effet. Certains exploitants ont fait savoir qu'ils désirent profiter de nouvelles occasions qui se présentent dans le domaine du sans fil, y compris dans le service mobile, alors que d'autres exploitants se disent incertains en ce qui concerne la pertinence de créer nouveaux services. Par conséquent, le Ministère n'est pas prêt à lancer, à l'heure actuelle, un exercice de réaménagement du spectre, car il nécessiterait le déplacement de titulaires de licence et occasionnerait des modifications à leurs assignations de fréquences. Néanmoins, la mise en œuvre des services mobiles traduit en pratique la modification importante aux attributions de fréquences effectuée en 2001. De plus, une politique permettant l'introduction de nouveaux services, p. ex. l'accès Internet mobile à large bande, et encourageant l'utilisation du spectre de la façon la plus efficace possible représente une priorité. L'élaboration de procédures de délivrance de licences convenant au service mobile devient donc une nécessité.

C. Conclusion et décision

Dans le cadre de l'élaboration de la politique, on reconnaît que la demande du marché devrait jouer un rôle en ce qui a trait au développement de nouveaux services pour les Canadiens. Les fréquences du service mobile représentent une ressource inestimable, et de nombreuses avancées technologiques touchent la bande 2 500 MHz. Plusieurs parties intéressées ont demandé la mise en place d'une approche souple de délivrance de licences pour faciliter la mise en œuvre de nouveaux services. Le Ministère reconnaît qu'une approche souple pour l'utilisation du spectre est souhaitable, étant donné qu'elle permet aux forces du marché de jouer un rôle plus décisif quant à la meilleure façon de l'utiliser.

La souplesse accrue de la réglementation pour encourager la création de services mobiles, de pair avec l'efficacité qui caractérise l'utilisation du spectre par les technologies mobiles, ainsi que la valeur accrue associée aux fréquences du service mobile, représentent une avancée. La mise en oeuvre de services mobiles justifie une réévaluation des exigences relatives à la délivrance de licences, y compris la plage de fréquences utilisée par les titulaires de licence.

Le Ministère a donc décidé d'adopter les dispositions suivantes :

  1. Pour les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) dans la sous-bande 2 500–2 596 MHz :
    1. Les exploitants peuvent continuer à offrir des services d'accès Internet à large bande conformément à la définition de service fixe et au document intitulé Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint dans la bande de 2 500 MHz, Politique et procédures de délivrance de licences, publié en juin 1999;
    2. Les exploitants sont avisés par les présentes que, dans le cadre du service fixe, ils ne peuvent pas offrir le service aux stations d'abonné conçues pour être utilisées en déplacement. Par conséquent, les titulaires de licence ou leurs affiliés ne peuvent pas utiliser la bande de 2 500 MHz pour offrir en vente et/ou fournir le service à des terminaux portatifs fonctionnant au moyen de piles ni fournir des fonctions de mobilité de réseau telles que le transfert entre stations de base.
  2. Pour les systèmes de distribution multipoint (SDM) dans la sous-bande 2 596–2 686 MHz :
    1. Toutes les fréquences de radiodiffusion déjà attribuées aux systèmes SDM dans la bande 500 MHz peuvent aussi être utilisées par des services fixes de télécommunications. Les exploitants de systèmes SDM peuvent continuer d'offrir des services de distribution de radiodiffusion, conformément à une licence du CRTC;
    2. S'ils souhaitent offrir des services d'accès Internet fixe à large bande, les exploitants de systèmes SDM existants peuvent présenter au Ministère une demande de licence de spectre dans la bande 2 596–2 686 MHz du service fixe. Des conditions de licence seront applicables et peuvent inclure des conditions semblables à celles des autorisations actuelles visant les systèmes STM.
  3. Délivrance de licences pour le service mobile dans la bande de 2 500 MHz :
    1. Dans certaines régions du Canada, les fréquences non assignées dans la bande 2 596–2 686 MHz sont disponibles pour le développement du service mobile, ainsi que pour l'accès fixe à large bande, en conformité avec le nouveau plan de répartition des bandes (voir paragraphe 5.). Dernièrement, des organismes ont manifesté un intérêt considérable pour cet avantageux bloc de fréquences qui leur permettrait de développer de nouveaux services sans fil;
    2. Si des titulaires de licence visant des systèmes STM ou SDM, et autorisés à utiliser la bande 2 500 MHz, souhaitent offrir des services mobiles, ils peuvent présenter au Ministère une demande de nouvelle licence de spectre dans le service mobile. Le Ministère pourra délivrer des nouvelles licences de spectre pour environ 2/3 des fréquences autorisées à l'origine dans la bande 2 500 MHz, et l'autre tiers de ces fréquences devra alors être retourné au Ministère selon les modalités suivantes :

      Afin de mettre en oeuvre le service mobile, le Ministère adoptera un nouveau plan d'attribution des bandes (voir paragraphe 5) tout en tenant compte des besoins des titulaires et autres exigences. Les fréquences que les titulaires devront retourner au Ministère afin d'être autorisés à offrir le service mobile seront :

      1. la bande 2 535–2 568 MHz (33 MHz);
      2. et la bande 2 657–2 690 MHz (33 MHz);
      3. le Ministère établira des lignes directrices supplémentaires conformément au cadre de politique décrit ci-dessous.
  4. Processus de vente aux enchères :

    Le Ministère lancera une consultation publique dès que possible pour établir le cadre de politique pour la délivrance de licences de spectre permettant le service mobile dans la bande en cause selon le processus de vente aux enchères. Ce cadre constituera la base pour une vente aux enchères initiale des fréquences non assignées, en plus de toute fréquence retournée par les titulaires à cette occasion, et pour les ventes aux enchères subséquentes des fréquences qui deviendront disponibles. Il est prévu que cette consultation abordera, entre autres choses, des questions de concurrence (telles que la longueur d'avance, l'itinérance et la promotion de nouveaux arrivants) et les droits de licence.
  5. Pour la transition à un nouveau plan de répartition des bandes :
    1. En accord avec la politique à long terme du Ministère, le plan d'attribution des bandes sera harmonisé, au besoin, avec le plan d'attribution des bandes des États-Unis;
    2. Les titulaires désirant changer leur assignation de fréquence en fonction du nouveau plan d'attribution des bandes sont encouragés à présenter une demande à cette fin, et les décisions du Ministère seront basées sur des considérations pertinentes, y compris l'incidence sur les autres titulaires ainsi que les enjeux techniques et autres du moment;
    3. Le Ministère se réserve le droit :
      1. de décider de mettre en oeuvre un nouveau plan de répartition des bandes de fréquences tel que décrit dans la présente politique;
      2. de décider de la date de la mise en oeuvre du nouveau plan de répartition des bandes de fréquences, et
      3. de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour garantir que le nouveau plan de répartition des bandes de fréquences soit mis en oeuvre à une date choisie par le Ministère et que les titulaires s'y conforment après avoir été dûment informés.
    4. le Ministère consultera les représentants de l'industrie concernant la mise en oeuvre du plan de répartition de bandes de fréquences.

D. Mesures appliquées à l'avenir  :

Cette politique ne contraint pas le Ministre, ni ne l'empêche de prendre des mesures ultérieures conformément aux pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont accessibles sur le site Web de gestion du spectre et télécommunications .

On peut aussi obtenir des copies imprimées officielles des avis publiés dans la Gazette du Canada sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 30 mars 2006

Larry Shaw
Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications
Industrie Canada

Date de modification :