Industry Canada Advisory Letter — The Use of Unplanned Over-the-Air (OTA) Broadcasting Television Spectrum and the Manufacturing and Importation for the Sale of Digital Capable Television Receiving Apparatus

September 26, 2006

Mrs. Diane Rhéaume
Secretary General
Canadian Radio-Television
and Telecommunications Commission
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N2

Dear Mrs. Rhéaume:

Subject: Industry Canada Advisory Letter - The Use of Unplanned Over-the-Air (OTA) Broadcasting Television Spectrum and the Manufacturing and Importation for the Sale of Digital Capable Television Receiving Apparatus

  1. I would like to commend the Commission for proceeding to review certain aspects of the regulatory framework for OTA television as announced in Notice of Public Hearing CRTC-2006-5. Industry Canada remains committed to support the digital television (DTV) licensing process in its activities in considering engineering briefs and broadcasting certification. This advisory letter is submitted on the public record in response to the above-mentioned Notice.
  2. The North American market for digital television is moving rapidly, with both Canada and the United States (US) offering television viewers digital programming via cable and satellite.

    In addition, the US is moving with equal speed to implement OTA digital television services. This is being driven to some extent by competition from cable and satellite delivery platforms. It is also mandated by the direction of the US Congress to maximize the public benefit that will accrue from freeing up the valuable spectrum resource in a post-DTV transition, for new advanced wireless radiocommunication services.
  3. Industry Canada has been planning to use both pre and post DTV transition television spectrum resources for sometime now. This has been done in a careful stepped manner to accommodate the needs of broadcasters during the digital transition. In June 2006, the release of the department's Radio System Policy RP-061 culminated years of work to free-up the first pair of television channels (63 and 68) for critical public safety applications. In addition, this spectrum policy refined the criteria for the limited use of television channels 2 to 59 in support of advanced communications in rural and remote areas.
  4. In an effort to further encourage the implementation of DTV in Canada and move towards the freeing-up valuable spectrum resources for new advanced wireless services, permit me to advise the Commission and broadcasting applicants of the following criteria that Industry Canada will apply when receiving applications for the use of television channels 2-69.
  5. Criteria for the Review of Applications for Television Stations on Channels 2-69

    Effective January 2007, the department will apply the following channel-specific criteria when receiving applications for broadcasting certificates:

    Channels 52-69

    No broadcasting certificates will be granted for
    1. new analogue television stations;
    2. applications predicated on changes to the technical parameters of existing analogue television stations which would result in increased spectrum utilization; and
    3. new digital television stations, except for a digital channel allotment that is already associated with an existing analogue station. Such a certification would only be valid until the transition to digital television (DTV) has been completed.

    Channels 2-51

    No broadcasting certificates will be granted for

    1. new analogue television stations, except for those ones already predicated in the digital television transition allotment plan on paired allotments with both the analogue and digital channels in the 2-51 channel range; and
    2. the provision of analogue broadcasting on a digital channel allotment.


    Advanced Wireless Services in Television Channels 2-59

    In regard to Industry Canada's recent radio system policy RP-06 on the use of television channels 2-59 to provide advanced wireless services to remote rural areas of Canada, the department would like to further advise the Commission and broadcasting applicants that, with a view to ensuring that new remote rural applications do not constrain broadcasting services, the Department will only consider authorizing fixed radiocommunication applications, such as fixed wireless access.
  6. The department had previously stated that "The Allotment Plan envisaged that the core spectrum for DTV broadcasting would eventually reside in channels 2-59. Some allotments were assigned in channels 60-69 during the transition period to accommodate simulcasting."2 However, in consultation with the industry, the department is now developing a post-transition DTV allotment plan that will eventually accommodate DTV broadcasting in channels 2-51. In a post DTV transition environment, broadcasters will be no longer be permitted to use their extra channel that they may have been using during the transition period from analogue to digital television services.
  7. Shut Down Date for Analogue Television

    Given the potential for alternative use of spectrum to be freed-up by the transition to DTV, Industry Canada is of the view, from the perspective of efficient and effective management of the radio spectrum, that serious consideration should be given to specifying a date for the shut down of OTA analogue television. Such a date could be closely aligned within a North American market with a view to ensuring that Canadians will be able to receive Canadian OTA DTV within a North American market time frame. This could also contribute to Canadian broadcasters maintaining their viewership, particularly in markets along the Canada/US border where American television stations are rapidly moving to DTV.
  8. DTV Technical Requirements Related to the Manufacturing and Importation for the Sale of Digital Capable Television Receiving Apparatus

    Industry Canada will amend its technical rules to require that, as of a certain date, all new television sets and other consumer apparatus capable of receiving OTA television signals, include built-in ATSC3 tuners. The effective date for bringing into force of such a requirement will be determined in connection with the establishment of a date for the shut down of OTA analogue TV.

I trust that this information will further clarify the situation as we proceed toward the next stages of planning these spectrum resources for new advanced wireless services.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies
and Telecommunications

c.c. Michel Arpin Vice-Chair, Broadcasting , CRTC
Len Katz, Executive Director, Broadcasting and Telecommunications CRTC
Jean-Pierre Blais, Assistant Deputy Minister, Department of Canadian Heritage
Glenn O'Farrell, President and & CEO, Canadian Association of Broadcasters
Paul Frew, President, Radio Advisory Board of Canada


1 Radio System Policy RP-06 on the use of 700 MHz Spectrum for Public Safety Applications and Other Limited Use of Broadcasting Spectrum (Notice No. DGTP-001-06).

2 Proposal to Introduce the Mobile Service on a Co-primary Basis with the Broadcasting Service in the Frequency band 746-806 MHz (Notice No. DGTP-004-01).

3 Advanced Television Systems Committee.

Lettre d'avis d'Industrie Canada — Utilisation des fréquences de télédiffusion en direct non planifiées et fabrication et importation pour la vente de récepteurs de télévision compatibles avec le service numérique

26 septembre 2006

Madame Diane Rhéaume
Secrétaire générale
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N2

Madame,

Objet : Lettre d'avis d'Industrie Canada - Utilisation des fréquences de télédiffusion en direct non planifiées et fabrication et importation pour la vente de récepteurs de télévision compatibles avec le service numérique

  1. J'aimerais féliciter le Conseil d'effectuer l'examen de certains aspects du cadre réglementaire applicable à la télévision en direct, tel qu'annoncé dans l'Avis d'audience publique CRTC-2006-5. Industrie Canada maintient son engagement à soutenir le processus de délivrance de licences de télévision numérique (TVN) dans le cadre de ses activités en prenant en compte les mémoires techniques et la certification en radiodiffusion. La présente lettre est intégrée au dossier public en réponse à l'avis susmentionné.
  2. Le marché nord-américain de la télévision numérique évolue rapidement, le Canada et les États-Unis (É.-U.) offrant aux téléspectateurs une programmation numérique par câble et par satellite. En outre, les É.-U. passent aussi rapidement à la mise en oeuvre des services de télévision numérique en direct. Ce changement découle, dans une certaine mesure, de la concurrence exercée par les plates-formes de services par câble et par satellite. Il découle également des directives du Congrès américain visant à accroître les avantages pour le public résultant de la libération de ressources précieuses du spectre, après la transition à la TVN, qui pourront être utilisées pour de nouveaux services évolués de radiocommunication sans fil.
  3. Industrie Canada planifie déjà depuis un certain temps l'utilisation des ressources de spectre des phases antérieure et postérieure à la transition à la TVN. Cette utilisation a été dirigée avec soin de manière à se faire graduellement, afin de répondre aux besoins des radiodiffuseurs durant la transition à la TVN. En juin 2006, la publication de la Politique des systèmes radio PR-061 du Ministère a constitué l'aboutissement d'années de travail visant à libérer la première paire de canaux de télévision (63 et 68) pour des applications critiques de sécurité publique. De plus, cette politique du spectre a défini de façon plus précise les critères de l'utilisation limitée des canaux de télévision 2 à 59 pour la prestation de services évolués de communications dans les communautés rurales éloignées.
  4. Dans le but d'encourager davantage la mise en oeuvre de la TVN au Canada et de libérer des ressources précieuses du spectre pour de nouveaux services évolués sans fil, permettez-moi de porter à l'attention du Conseil et des requérants de licence de radiodiffusion les critères suivants qu'Industrie Canada appliquera lors de la réception de demandes pour l'utilisation des canaux de télévision 2 à 69.
  5. Critères d'examen des demandes pour les stations de télévision sur les canaux 2 à 69

    À compter de janvier 2007, le Ministère appliquera les critères suivants propres aux canaux lorsqu'il recevra des demandes pour des certificats de radiodiffusion :

    Canaux 52 à 69

    Aucun certificat de radiodiffusion ne sera accordé pour : 

    1. de nouvelles stations de télévision analogique;
    2. des demandes concernant des modifications des paramètres techniques des stations de télévision analogique existantes qui entraîneraient une utilisation accrue du spectre;
    3. de nouvelles stations de télévision numérique, sauf dans le cas d'un allotissement de canal de TVN déjà associé à une station analogique existante. Une telle certification serait valide seulement jusqu'à ce que la transition à la télévision numérique (TVN) soit terminée.

    Canaux 2 à 51

    Aucun certificat de radiodiffusion ne sera accordé pour :

    1. de nouvelles stations de télévision analogique, sauf celles figurant déjà dans le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique sur les allotissements par paires avec les canaux de télévision analogique et numérique dans la plage des canaux 2 à 51;
    2. la prestation de services de radiodiffusion analogique sur un allotissement de canal de télévision numérique.

    Services évolués sans fil sur les canaux de télévision 2 à 59

    En ce qui concerne la récente Politique des systèmes radio PR-06 d'Industrie Canada sur l'utilisation des canaux de télévision 2 à 59 pour la prestation de services évolués sans fil dans les communautés rurales éloignées du Canada, le Ministère aimerait préciser à l'intention du Conseil et des requérants de licence de radiodiffusion que pour empêcher les nouvelles applications destinées aux communautés rurales éloignées de restreindre les services de radiodiffusion, le Ministère n'envisagera que l'autorisation d'applications de radiocommunication fixes, par exemple l'accès fixe sans fil.

  6. Le Ministère a indiqué précédemment que « Le Plan prévoyait que les fréquences de base de la TVN seraient celles des canaux 2 à 59. Des assignations supplémentaires ont été faites dans les canaux 60 à 69 pour permettre la diffusion simultanée pendant la transition ». 2 Cependant, en collaboration avec l'industrie, le Ministère élabore actuellement un plan d'allotissement post-transition pour la TVN qui répondra en fin de compte aux besoins de prestation de services de TVN sur les canaux 2 à 51. Dans un environnement postérieur à la transition à la TVN, les radiodiffuseurs ne seront plus autorisés à utiliser leurs canaux excédentaires qu'ils auraient pu utiliser durant la période de transition des services de télévision analogique aux services de télévision numérique.
  7. Date d'arrêt du service de télévision analogique

    Étant donné les possibilités d'utiliser à d'autres fins les fréquences qui seront libérées par la transition à la TVN, Industrie Canada est d'avis que, pour la gestion efficiente et efficace du spectre des radiofréquences, il faudrait sérieusement envisager de spécifier une date d'arrêt du service de télévision analogique en direct. Dans le cadre d'un marché nord-américain, cette date pourrait être établie de manière à permettre aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes de recevoir les émissions canadiennes de TVN en direct conformément à un échéancier du marché nord-américain. De plus, les radiodiffuseurs canadiens pourraient ainsi maintenir plus facilement leurs cotes d'écoute, en particulier sur les marchés desservant la région frontalière canado-américaine, où les stations de télévision américaines se convertissent rapidement à la TVN.

  8. Exigences techniques visant la TVN pour la fabrication et l'importation à des fins de vente de récepteurs de télévision compatibles avec le service numérique Industrie Canada modifiera ses règles techniques de manière à exiger qu'à compter d'une certaine date tous les nouveaux téléviseurs et autres appareils grand public capables de recevoir les signaux de télévision en direct comprennent des syntonisateurs ATSC3 intégrés. La date d'entrée en vigueur de cette exigence sera déterminée en rapport avec l'établissement d'une date d'arrêt du service de télévision analogique en direct.

J'ai bon espoir que ces renseignements apporteront des éclaircissements sur la situation à mesure que nous nous dirigeons vers les prochaines étapes de la planification de ces ressources du spectre en vue de les attribuer à de nouveaux services évolués sans fil.

Je vous prie d'accepter, Madame, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Le sous-ministre adjoint
Spectre, technologies de l'information et
télécommunications

Michael Binder

c.c. M. Michel Arpin, vice-président de la radiodiffusion, CRTC
M. Len Katz, directeur exécutif, Radiodiffusion et télécommunications, CRTC
M. Jean-Pierre Blais, sous-ministre adjoint, Patrimoine Canadien
M. Glenn O'Farrell, président et chef de la direction, Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs
M. Paul Frew, président, Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio


1 Politique des systèmes radio PR-06 sur l'utilisation des fréquences de la bande de 700 MHz pour des applications de sécurité publique et d'autres utilisations limitées des fréquences de radiodiffusion (Avis de la Gazette DGTP-001-06).

2 Projet d'introduction du service mobile, à titre primaire conjoint avec le service de radiodiffusion, dans la bande de fréquences 746–806 MHz (Avis de la Gazette DGTP-004-01).

3 Comité de systèmes de télévision évolués des États-Unis.

Date de modification :