Archived—Gazette Notice SMSE-003-07

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMSE-003-07 - Amendment of RSS-187 and Renumbering as RSS-287

Notice is hereby given that Industry Canada is amending Radio Standards Specification 187, which sets out minimum requirements for the certification of transmitters and receivers in a radiocommunication system to provide emergency situation communication in the bands 121.5 MHz, 243 MHz and 406 MHz.

Notice is also given that RSS-187 is being renumbered as RSS-287. This is being done in accordance with the convention adopted by Industry Canada by which Radio Standards Specifications (RSSs) covering equipment subject to both certification and licensing are numbered in the 100s, those covering equipment subject to certification but exempt from licensing (like this standard), the 200s and those covering equipment exempt from both certification and licensing, the 300s.

This RSS was amended in order to include technical requirements for new devices called Maritime Survivor Locator Devices (MSLDs), which operate in the band 121.5 MHz, and to permit certification of Class 2 Personal Locator Beacons (PLBs). A general reformatting of the document was carried out and contact information was updated. This revised RSS is:

Radio Standards Specification 287, Issue 1, Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacons (EPIRB), Emergency Locator Transmitters (ELT), Personal Locator Beacons (PLB), and Maritime Survivor Locator Devices (MSLD) (RSS-287)

General Information

The above document will come into force as of the date of publication of this notice.

This document has been coordinated with industry through the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC).

The Radio Equipment Technical Standards Lists will be amended to reflect the above changes.

Any inquiries regarding this notice should be directed to the Manager, Radio Equipment Standards, telephone: 613-990-4699, fax:613-991-3961,
email: res.nmr@ic.gc.ca.

Interested parties should submit their comments within 90 days of the date of publication of this notice. Shortly after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following email address: res.nmr@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Canada K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and notice reference number (SMSE-003-07).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at: www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the notices can be ordered by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

February 5, 2007



_________________
R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette SMSE-003-07

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la Radiocommunication

Avis no SMSE-003-07 - Modification du CNR-187 et sa renumérotation en CNR-287

Avis est par la présente donné qu'Industrie Canada modifie le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 187, qui prescrit les exigences minimales requises pour la certification des émetteurs et des récepteurs radio des stations dans les situations d'urgences dans les bandes 121,5 MHz, 243 MHz et 406 MHz.

Avis est aussi donné que le CNR-187 est renuméroté comme CNR-287. Ceci en conformité avec la convention adoptée par Industrie Canada par laquelle les Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) de la série 100 s'appliquent aux équipements pouvant faire l'objet d'une accréditation et d'une délivrance de licences. Les équipements assujettis à une accréditation mais exemptés de licences sont regroupés sous la série 200 (comme dans le cas présent). Enfin, la série 300 comprend les équipements exemptés d'accréditations et de licences.

Ce CNR a été modifié pour incorporer les prescriptions techniques concernant les nouveaux appareils appelés dispositifs maritimes de localisation des survivants (DMLS), fonctionnant dans la bande 121,5 MHz, et de permettre l'accréditation de balises de localisation personnelles (BLP) de classe 2. Les autres modifications comprennent des modifications générales au format du document et une mise à jour de l'information relative aux organismes à contacter. La version modifiée s'intitule :

Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 287, 1re édition, Radiobalises de localisation des sinistres (RLS), radiobalises de secours (RBS), balises de localisation personnelles (BLP) et dispositifs maritimes de localisation des survivants (DMLS) (CNR-287)

Renseignements généraux

Le document susmentionné entrera en vigueur à la date de publication de cet avis.

Ce document a fait l'objet d'une coordination avec l'industrie par l'entremise du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR).

Des modifications seront apportées aux Listes des normes applicables au matériel radio afin de refléter les changements susmentionnés.

Toute question sur cet avis devrait être adressée au Gestionnaire, Normes du matériel radioélectrique, téléphone : 613-990-4699, télécopieur : 613-991-3961, courriel : res.nmr@ic.gc.ca.

Les intéressés peuvent présenter leurs observations en deçà de 90 jours de la date de publication du présent avis. Peu après la clôture de la période de commentaires, toutes les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (Wordperfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : res.nmr@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitations utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Génie du spectre, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), Canada, K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE-003-07).

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette du Canada ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l'adresse suivante: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les versions officielles des Avis de la Gazette du Canada sont affichées sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html, ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 5 février 2007

Le Directeur général,
Génie du spectre



_______________
R.W. McCaughern