SAB-001-07 — Spectrum Planning Activities and Review of the 1995 Transitional Digital Radio Policy

May 28, 2007

Mr. Michel Arpin
Vice-Chairperson, Broadcasting
Canadian Radio-television and
Telecommunications Commission
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Central Building
1 Promenade du Portage
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0N2

Dear Mr. Arpin:

Subject: Spectrum Planning Activities and Review of the 1995 Transitional Digital Radio Policy

I would like to commend the Commission for proceeding to review its transitional policy for digital radio broadcasting (DRB), as announced in the Broadcasting Public Notice CRTC-2006-160. This advisory letter, by Industry Canada, is submitted on the public record in response to the above-mentioned Notice.

The transitional policy established by the Commission and the L-band (1452–1492 MHz) DRB allotment plan developed by the department have been in place since 1995. The actual roll-out of L-band DRB to date has been slow for several reasons cited in the Notice, including: limited availability and relatively high cost of the L-band DRB receivers in the market; lack of different radio programming in the L-band; and the emergence of new digital technologies and distribution platforms. The department notes that for these reasons, the Commission has concluded that a review of the provisions for DRB is necessary.

Moreover, the department agrees that a new service model will need to be developed for DRB and that the in-band on-channel (IBOC) technology, already adopted in the U.S., may play a part in that model. IBOC enables the transition to digital without consuming additional spectrum. It also allows for the provision of supplementary program information and multicast services.

The department concurs with the need to reassess the L-band DRB, noting that in terms of global developments, it no longer appears to be part of the solution for the radio broadcasting move to digital. Instead, there is a definite trend toward enabling more comprehensive multimedia applications in this band.

In light of these developments, the department will undertake a public consultation to review the L-band allocation and to determine whether an expanded scope for flexible use of the band would be beneficial. As well, the department is currently developing a standard for the implementation of IBOC.

In order to facilitate the public consultation on the future of L-band, effective immediately, the department will apply the following criteria when receiving applications for broadcasting certificates:

  • no broadcasting certificates will be granted for new L-band DRB stations;
  • the department will not grant broadcasting certificates for L-band DRB stations that have not been implemented, including subscription radio stations.

Further, in April 2004, the department sent a letter to the Commission in response to its national multi-channel subscription broadcasting proceeding. In that letter, the department indicated that it would be prepared to make some spectrum available in the band 1 492–1 499 MHz to accommodate the requirements of a terrestrial subscription radio service. This was done to address the anticipated lack of free channels in the allotment plan for DRB systems in the Windsor to Montreal corridor. To date, this system has not been implemented and, therefore, the department will not grant a broadcasting certificate within the band 1 492–1 499 MHz.

The forthcoming consultation will deal with the issues of incumbent DAB stations currently operating in the band as well as any associated transition requirements.

We will keep you and your staff informed as this file moves forward.

Sincerely,




Michael Binder
Assistant Deputy Minister
Spectrum, Information Technologies
and Telecommunications Sector

c.c. Ron Parker, Visiting Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Sector

Date modified:

BCS-001-07 — Planification du spectre et examen de la politique de 1995 pour la transition à la radio numérique

Le 28 mai 2007

Monsieur Michel Arpin
Vice-président, Radiodiffusion
Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Édifice central
1, promenade du Portage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0N2

Monsieur,

Objet : Planification du spectre et examen de la politique de 1995 pour la transition à la radio numérique

Je tiens à féliciter le Conseil pour sa décision de procéder à l'examen de sa politique de transition à la radiodiffusion numérique (DRB), tel qu'annoncé dans l'avis public de radiodiffusion CRTC-2006-160. La présente lettre est envoyée à titre d'avis public en réponse à l'avis susmentionné.

La politique transitionnelle établie par le Conseil et le plan d'allotissement de la bande L (1452–1492 MHz) pour la DRB élaboré par le Ministère sont en vigueur depuis 1995. Jusqu'à présent le déploiement de la DRB dans la bande L a été lent pour plusieurs raisons citées dans l'avis : rareté et prix relativement élevé des récepteurs de DRB sur la bande L; absence de programmation radio différente sur la bande L; et émergence de nouvelles technologies numériques et plates-formes de distribution. Le Ministère prend note que pour ces raisons, le Conseil a déterminé qu'un examen des dispositions relatives à la DRB est nécessaire.

De plus, le Ministère est d'avis qu'un nouveau modèle de service devra être élaboré pour la DRB et que la technologie In-Band On-Channel (IBOC) déjà adoptée aux É.-U. pourrait faire partie de ce modèle. La technologie IBOC rend possible la transition au numérique sans consommer davantage de spectre. De plus, elle permet d'offrir davantage d'information de programmation et de services multi-diffusion.

Le Ministère convient qu'il faut réévaluer la DRB dans la bande L et note que l'évolution mondiale ne semble plus représenter la solution pour la transition vers le numérique. On observe plutôt une tendance certaine vers l'habilitation d'applications multimédias plus exhaustives dans cette bande.

Compte tenu de ces développements, le Ministère entreprendra une consultation publique pour examiner l'allotissement de la bande L et pour déterminer s'il serait utile d'élargir la portée d'une utilisation flexible de cette bande. De plus, le Ministère élabore actuellement une norme pour mettre en oeuvre la technologie IBOC.

Pour faciliter la consultation publique concernant l'avenir de la bande L, le Ministère appliquera dès maintenant les critères suivants aux demandes de certificats de radiodiffusion qu'il recevra :

  • aucun certificat de radiodiffusion ne sera accordé pour de nouvelles stations de DRB dans la bande L;
  • le Ministère n'accordera aucun certificat à des stations de DRB sur la bande L qui ne sont pas déjà en ondes, notamment aux stations radio par abonnement.

De plus, en avril 2004, le Ministère a envoyé une lettre au Conseil en réponse à sa consultation nationale au sujet de la radiodiffusion multivoies par abonnement. Dans cette lettre, le Ministère indiquait qu'il serait prêt à offrir une partie du spectre dans la bande 1 492–1 499 MHz pour répondre aux exigences d'un service terrestre de radio par abonnement. Cette mesure fut prise en prévision d'une pénurie de canaux libres dans le plan d'allotissement pour la DRB dans le corridor Windsor-Montréal. Jusqu'à présent, ce système n'a pas été mis en oeuvre et le Ministère n'accordera donc pas de certificat de radiodiffusion dans la bande 1 492–1 499 MHz.

La prochaine consultation portera sur les difficultés des stations de diffusion audionumérique titulaires actuellement en ondes dans cette bande, ainsi que sur les besoins relatifs à la transition.

Nous vous tiendrons informés, vous et votre personnel, de l'évolution de ce dossier. Veuillez accepter, Monsieur, mes sincères salutations.

Le sous-ministre adjoint
Secteur du spectre, des technologies de l'information et des télécommunications



Michael Binder

c.c. Ron Parker, sous-ministre adjoint principal invité, Secteur de la politique stratégique

Date de modification :